Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (33 total).

Smart Growth America and National Complete Streets Coalition. 2022. Dangerous by design (rev ed). Washington, DC: Smart Growth America, 53 pp.

Annotation: This report presents recommendations and a national call to action to improve the safety of community streets and roads. The authors compare the relative safety of pedestrians in different states and metropolitan areas, factoring in measurable changes in walking danger during the COVID-19 pandemic. Topics include the most dangerous places to walk; street design; the characteristics of dangerous roads; and impact on vulnerable populations, including older adults, communities of color, and low-income neighborhoods.

Contact: Smart Growth America, 1707 L Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 207-3355 Web Site: http://www.smartgrowthamerica.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Motor vehicle accidents, Pedestrians, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Safety, State initiatives, Traffic safety, Transportation, Walking

Whitman A, De Lew N, Chappel A, Aysola V, Zuckerman R, Sommers BD. 2022. Addressing social determinants of health: Examples of successful evidence-based strategies and current federal efforts. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the social determinants of health (SDOH) and the ways in which health inequities can be mitigated to achieve better health outcomes. Housing, food and nutrition, transportation, social and economic mobility, education, and environmental conditions are among the contributing factors addressed. Evidence-based interventions and descriptions of federal programs that address SDOH are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: osaspeinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

Keywords: Economic factors, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Housing, Nutrition and food, Social factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Transportation

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2016. Nonemergency medical transportation: Updatred medical guidance could help states. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report examines non-emergency medical transportation (NEMT) in Medicare and Medicaid. Topics include key features of NEMT services and how these services are delivered, federal oversight, and challenges in providing NEMT and steps that state Medicaid agencies have taken to address them. Recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Contract services, Coordination, Costs, Medicaid, Model programs, Policy development, State agencies, Transportation of patients

[Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services]. 2016. Serving special populations: Rural areas–Fast facts for assisters. [Baltimore, MD: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services], 5 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for people who assist health care consumers living in rural areas provides information about health insurance eligibility and enrollment barriers and what assisters can do to bolster education and outreach efforts in rural areas. Scenarios and resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Communication, Community participation, Costs, Family support services, Health insurance, Outreach, Relationships, Resources for professionals, Rural populations, Transportation, Trust

Carney C, McGehe D, Harland K, Weiss M, Raby M. 2015. Using naturalistic driving data to assess the prevalence of environmental factors and driver behaviors in teen driver crashes. Washington, DC: AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 69 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to examine naturalistic data from crashes that involved adolescent drivers. Topics include characteristics of drivers and passengers, roadway and environment, crashes, vehicle-to-vehicle crashes, and single-vehicle crashes; and driver and passenger behaviors. Contents include a detailed description of the study methodology and the coding sheet with variable definitions.

Contact: AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, 607 14th Street, N.W., Suite 201, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5944 Fax: (202) 638-5943 E-mail: info@aaafoundation.org Web Site: http://www.aaafoundation.org/home/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Data analysis, Environment, External cause of injury codes, Motor vehicle crashes, Research methodology, Risk factors, Risk taking, Safety, Transportation injuries, Unintentional injuries

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 2014. Bicycle safety curriculum. Reston, VA: American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance; Washington, DC: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 3 items.

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help elementary-, middle-, and high-school-educators and recreation professionals teach safe bicycling to children. The two-part curriculum is aligned with the National Standards for K-12 Physical Education and includes lessons and assessments for the skills and knowledge students need to enjoy safe bicycling. It also contains a guide for parents on ways they can support safe bicycling, including guidance on selecting an appropriate bicycle and helmet for their child.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Bicycle safety, Consumer education materials, Curricula, Injury prevention, Recreational safety, School age children, Schools, Transportation injuries

National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention. 2012. National action plan for child injury prevention: An agenda to prevent injuries and promote the safety of children and adolescents in the United States. Atlanta, GA: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention, 91 pp.

Annotation: This action plan describes goals and actions in six domains that inform concrete actions within the field of injury prevention to reduce child and adolescent injury in the United States. The six domains include data and surveillance, research, communication, education and training, health systems and health care, and policy. Injury prevention efforts are discussed for motor vehicle crashes, suffocation, drowning, as well as fires, burns, and falls. The plan concludes with a summary of goals and actions. An archive of the September 10, 2013 webinar broadcast of part I is available.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

Full Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Burns, Children, Drowning, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Safety, Suffocation, Transportation injuries, Unintentional injuries

Levi J, Segal LM, Kohn D. 2012. The facts hurt: A state-by-state injury prevention policy report. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 75 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report provides information about state injury prevention policies and about recommendations for evidence-based strategies to reduce injuries in the United States. It focuses on a series of 10 injury-prevention indicators across each state that, collectively, offer an overview of areas of strength and weakness in the state's injury-prevention policies. Topics include vehicle injuries; violence-related injuries; falls; drowning; sports- and recreation-related injuries; injuries from poisoning; research tools for reducing injuries; and fire-related injuries.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Burns, Drowning, Falls, Injuries, Injury prevention, Poisoning, Recreational injuries, Research, Sports injuries, State initiatives, Transportation injuries, Violence

American Public Health Association, Safe Routes to School National Partnership. 2012. Promoting active transportation: An opportunity for public health. Washington, DC: American Public Health Association, 26 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides an overview of public health considerations in transportation planning and decision-making, emphasizing the importance of promoting physical activity and active modes of transportation such as biking and walking. The guide explains how transportation programs are organized and funded, and suggests ways that public health professionals can become leaders in the development of active transportation policies. It includes case studies of success stories, communication strategies to build relationships, and examples of various ways to become involved in transportation, land use, and built environment decisions at various levels (community, regional, and state). A variety of additional resources and ideas, are provided throughout the guide to help health professionals become actively engaged in the process of promoting active transportation.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: comments@apha.org Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Model programs, Physical activity, Planning, Policy development, Public health, Transportation, Urban environment

Children's Safety Network . 2012. Focus on bicycle safety: Resource guide 2012. Newton, MA: Children's Safety Network , 8 pp.

Annotation: This document contains data on bicycle-related injuries, information about bicycle helmet laws, prevention strategies and programs, evaluations of the effectiveness of wearing bicycle helmets and of making environmental changes to support safe bicycling, policies and campaigns to encourage bicycling, and bicycle helmet ratings and other safety guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: csninfo@edc.org Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bicycle helmets, Children, Environmental influences, Injuries, Injury prevention, Legislation, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Safety, Transportation injuries

Ragland DR, Orrick P. 2011. Transportation and health: Policy interventions for safer, healthier people and communities. [Washington, DC]: Partnership for Prevention; Berkeley, CA: University of California, Berkeley, Safe Transportation Research and Education Center, ca. 110 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the effects of transportation policies on public health in three key areas: motor vehicle-related injuries and fatalities; community design and active transportation; and the environment and environmental public health. In its analysis, the report describes which of the transportation policies can have immediate, mid-term, or long-term effects (for example, it explains how Installing streetlights and new sidewalks can have positive effects that are felt immediately. while creating boulevards for bicycles is more likely to bring about positive change over time). The information has been compiled to help shed light on the health effects of transportation policy and is intended to assist policy makers in identifying appropriate policy solutions, as well as informing other stakeholders (including the general public).

Contact: Partnership for Prevention, 1015 18th Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-0009 Fax: (202) 833-0113 E-mail: info@prevent.org Web Site: http://www.prevent.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Design, Environment, Motor vehicles, Policy, Policy development, Public health, Transportation

National Center for Safe Routes to School. 2011. Federal safe routes to school program: Progress report. [Chapel Hill, NC]: National Center for Safe Routes to School, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report, which aims is to inform policy and program decisions for the Federal Highway Administration, State Safe Routes to School (SRTS) coordinators, and policymakers and stakeholders at the federal, state and local levels, describes how federal and state agencies have met the requirements of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, and Efficient Transportation Equity Act, passed in August 2005. This legislation included funds to start the SRTS program. The report also discusses the legislation's reach and types of projects funded and provides an overview of how state SRTS programs are administered.

Contact: National Center for Safe Routes to School, 730 Martin Luther Kind, Jr. Boulevard, Suite 300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3430, Telephone: (866) 610-SRTS E-mail: http://www.saferoutesinfo.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.saferoutesinfo.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycles, Families, Legislation, Programs, Public policy, Safety, School age children, Schools, State programs, Transportation, Walking

Urban Design 4 Health. 2010. The hidden health costs of transportation. Washington, DC: American Public Health Association, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the various health care costs associated with the nation's transportation system, including costs related to traffic crashes, air pollution from traffic, obesity and overweight, lack of physical activity, and other factors such as noise, water quality, mental health (stress), and social cohesion. The report takes a look at research findings that link transportation-related decisions and policy with health impacts and costs, and includes case studies that show how health costs or benefits can be calculated for changes in pedestrian safety, air pollution, and physical activity. Recommendations for future transportation policy and investment are provided.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: comments@apha.org Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Cost effectiveness, Health care costs, Prevention, Transportation

National Commission on Children and Disasters. 2010. 2010 report to the President and Congress. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 185 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study that examined and assessed the needs of infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 18 in relation to the preparation for, response to, and recovery from all hazards, including major disasters and emergencies, by building upon the evaluations of other entities and reviewing their findings, conclusions, and recommendations. The report includes findings, conclusions, and recommendations on the following topics: physical health, mental health, and trauma; child care; child welfare; elementary and secondary education; sheltering, temporary housing, and affordable housing; transportation; juvenile justice; evacuation; and relevant activities in emergency management.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ pub. no. 10-M037; ISBN 978-1-58763-401-7.

Keywords: Adolescent heath, Adolescents, Child care, Child health, Child welfare, Children, Costs, Disaster planning, Education, Emergencies, Housing, Infant health, Infants, Juvenile justice, Mental health, Transportation, Trauma

National Commission on Children and Disasters. 2010. 2010 report to the President and Congress. Washington, DC: National Commission on Children and Disasters, 185 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study that assessed the needs of infants, children, and adolescents in relation to preparation for, response to, and recovery from all hazards, including major disasters and emergencies. The report includes specific findings, conclusions, and recommendations relating to (1) child health, mental health, and trauma; (2) child care in all settings; (3) child welfare; (4) elementary and secondary education; (5) sheltering, temporary housing, and affordable housing; (6) transportation; (7) juvenile justice; (8) evacuation; and (9) relevant activities in emergency management. The report also provides specific recommendations on the need for planning and establishing a national resource center on children and disasters and discusses the coordination of resources and services, administrative actions, policies, regulations, and legislative changes.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child care, Child health, Costs, Disaster planning, Disasters, Elementary education, Emergencies, Housing, Infant health, Juvenile justice, Legislation, Mental health, Public policy, Research, Secondary education, Service coordination, Transportation, Trauma

Trivedi P, Long T, eds. 2009. Framing Disabilities: The Influence of the Media—A Symposium. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 42 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings provide information about Framing Disabilities: The Influence of the Media—A Symposium, held on June 15, 2009, in Washington, DC. The symposium explored issues related to the representation of persons with disabilities in the media and how this representation influences the public's attitudes and perpetuates stereotypes, which in turn influence decisions about school placement; employment opportunities; housing choices; use of public transportation; access to health care; and other activities, programs, and supports.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucchd@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Conference proceedings, Employment, Infants with special health care needs, Mass media, Programs, Schools, Social support, Transportation

Taras H, Duncan P, Luckenbill D, Robinson J, Wheeler L, Wooley S, eds. 2004. Health, mental health, and safety guidelines for schools. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: American Academy of Pediatrics; [Castle Rock, CO]: National Association of School Nurses,

Annotation: This website presents a compendium of guidelines to help school administrators and others determine the breadth of school health, mental health, and safety issues and set priorities for action. It draws from published guidelines on specific components of school health and safety programs, as well as on overall coordination of these programs. Topics include health and safety infrastructure, programs and personnel, family and community involvement, health and safety education, physical education and activities, health and mental health services, nutrition and food services, physical environment and transportation, social environment, and staff health and safety.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Coordination, Environmental influences, Guidelines, Health education, Health services, Participation, Physical activity, School health programs, School personnel, Transportation

Waddell W, Diggs ML. 2003. SCDHEC/Head Start Oral Health Forum. [Columbia, SC]: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health and South Carolina Head Start Collaboration Office, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the activities of the South Carolina Head Start oral health forum held on April 3, 2003, in Columbia, South Carolina. The purpose of the forum was to develop an oral health strategic plan for the Head Start program in South Carolina. Key access issues identified during the forum workshops are discussed including access to oral health service providers, transportation, and financial resources. Potential initiatives developed by the work groups are also presented as information for continued planning by Head Start directors, staff, and parents to improve oral health access for children in communities throughout South Carolina. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Conferences, Final reports, Financing, Head Start, Oral health, South Carolina, Statewide planning, Strategic plans, Transportation, Work force

Berinstein P. 2000. Finding statistics online: How to locate the elusive numbers you need [2nd Ed]. Medford, NJ: Information Today, 356 pp.

Annotation: This book is intended as both a how-to-do-it text and a desktop reference. Chapter 2 and the glossary of statistical terms provide information on understanding and using statistics. The book shows how to effectively search the Internet and professional online services for needed numbers. It discusses where and how to start searching, important systems and sources, and how to evaluate data for reliability. Chapters 5 through 18 discuss how to find statistics on demographics and population; industry, market, and general business; finance and economics; health and medicine; science, agriculture, and the environment; history; public opinion and trends; politics and government; sports, entertainment, and the arts; the law and crime; international issues; technology; education; and transportation.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: custserv@infotoday.com Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0910965250.

Keywords: Art, Business, Crime, Demography, Economics, Education, Environment, Government, Health, History, Industry, Internet, Medicine, Political processes, Public opinion, Sports, Statistics, Technology, Transportation, Vital statistics

Shuptrine SC, Grant VC, McKenzie GG. 1998. Southern regional initiative to improve access to benefits for low income families with children. Columbia, SC: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 111 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a regional outreach initiative to help southern states identify ways to improve access to benefits for low-income working families with children. The report describes the development of information outreach materials, child health coverage, child care assistance, transportation solutions, and options for earned income tax credit. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: info@thesoutherninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child care services, Child health, Children, Families, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Low income groups, Southern United States, Tax credits, Transportation of patients