Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help school nurses and others who work with school-age children provide effective treatment for minor oral health emergencies or problems such as inflamed or irritated gum tissue, toothaches, a broken or displaced tooth, traumatic avulsion, and a lacerated lip or tongue. Topics include dental first aid and primary and permanent dentition. A dental-trauma decision tree is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website. Document Number: #134.

• PDF

Keywords: Emergencies, First aid, Oral health, School age children, School health, Trauma, Treatment

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs can actively engage state Medicaid agencies and work with state and local partners to ensure that Medicaid-eligible recipients continue to receive adequate health coverage once the COVID-19 federal public health emergency (PHE) funding ceases. The fact sheet focuses on the challenges posed by the required redetermination of Medicaid eligibility; the staff-intensive enrollment process; and the number of at-risk recipients whose job status changed during the pandemic.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Enrollment, Federal programs, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Public health, Title V, Virus diseases

Annotation: This tool can be used when conducting screenings in behavioral health settings to identify oral health problems. The tool explains what to do in an oral health emergency and includes questions to ask about access to and use of oral health care. Instructions for how the person conducting the screening should proceed, depending on how questions are answered, are included.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergencies, Health care utilization, Health screening, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse, Trauma

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to improve the capacity of health care, public health, and social services professionals to address maternal and child health in emergency preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities. The toolkit outlines basic planning steps, highlights key resources and promising practices, and explains critical data and information to be integrated into emergency planning for maternal and child health populations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Federal agencies, Infants, Women

Annotation: This fact sheet explores Medicaid policy options for states to meet the needs of children and youth with special health care eneds (CYSHCN) during the COVID-19 public health emergency (PHE) and discusses how future rollbacks of PHE modifications may affect CYSHCN populations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Children', Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Medicaid, Policy development, State health insurance programs, Virus diseases, Youth, s health insurance program

Annotation: This guide to the first five years of life gives parents and caregivers comprehensive guidance on essential baby and childcare topics including breastfeeding, immunizations, sleep, and much more. All of the advice, including the complete health encyclopedia, has been fully revised and updated to reflect current AAP policy

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Child care, Child development, Child health, Childbirth, Children, Developmental stages, Emergencies, First aid, Immunization, Infant development, Infant health, Infants, Parenting

Annotation: This tool is designed to aid school nurses, teachers, and athletic coaches in treating minor dental emergencies. It provides information about what to do in case of injury to a primary or permanent tooth, with different instructions depending on the nature of the injury. General information about what to do in a dental emergency is included.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php

• PDF

Keywords: Emergencies, Injury, Oral health, Treatment

Annotation: This flip chart provides instructions on what to do and what not to do to manage dental emergencies. It is designed for school nurses, school health aides, teachers, school administrators, Head Start coordinators, child care providers, other health and administrative personnel, and parents.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Emergencies, First aid, Oral health, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This fact sheet series provides information on emergency preparedness for pregnant women and families with infants. Topics include tips for getting ready before a disaster, planning emergency supplies, during and after a disaster, and knowing the signs of preterm labor. Separate fact sheets provide tips for creating a disaster kit and preparing for earthquakes, hurricanes, tornados, and wildfires. One fact sheet is available in English and Spanish. More information, including guidelines for customizing the fact sheets, is available from the website.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Emergencies, Families, Health planning, Infants, Life planning skills, Multimedia, Parents, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This website is a compendium of resources related to medical and public health issues of children in disasters and emergencies. Contents include links to journal articles and other documents and materials that may be useful in preparedness, mitigation, response and recovery activities. Resources are national or international in scope. Topics include natural disasters; chemical and biological agents, radiologicals and nuclear, and explosives (CBRNE); psychological and behavioral health; and special topics such as children with disabilities, school and care providers, hospital preparedness, resilience, and pandemics.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Communicable diseases, Databases, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Emergency medical services for children, Hospitals, International health, Mental health, Resilience, Resources for professionals, Schools, Special health care needs

Annotation: This report evaluates basic state emergency preparedness plans for children in each state and the District of Columbia, and highlights a critical standard that every state should have in place to address the most vulnerable children in child care. Standards discussed include an evacuation plan for children in child care, plans for reuniting children with their families after a disaster, a plan for children with disabilities and those with access and functional needs, and a multi-hazard plan for K-12 schools. The report provides state-by-state data with successful examples as well as a description of the study methodology.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Previous Reports

Keywords: Child care, Children, Children with special health care needs, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Infants, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes the evidence base on the clinical effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of different types of crisis services, and then presents case studies of different approaches that states are using to coordinate, consolidate, and blend fund sources in order to provide robust crisis services.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS Pub. No. (SMA)-14-4848.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Cost effectiveness, Crisis intervention, Emergencies, Financing, Integrated services, Mental health services, Program evaluation, Service coordination, State programs

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child mental health, Child safety, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Environmental health, Injury prevention

Annotation: This book, primarily for school administrators, also helps teachers, staff, counselors, and students find guidance in responding to a bias incident or hate crime. The guide is divided into three sections: before, during, and after a crisis occurs. Topics include assessing the school climate with an eye towards defusing tension, preventing escalation, and avoiding problems; key points to consider when responding to a bias or hate incident; and addressing long-term planning and capacity building for the future, including development of social and emotional skills.

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Crisis intervention, Emergencies, Hate crime, Needs assessment, School counseling, School health services, School personnel, School violence

Annotation: This index identifies strengths and gaps in the protections needed to keep people safe and healthy in the face of large-scale public health threats, and tracks how these protections vary across the U.S. and change over time. Contents include current and past findings and methodology, key changes, data, measures, guiding principles, and frequently asked questions. Topics include health security surveillance, community planning and engagement coordination, incident and information management, health care delivery, countermeasure management, and environmental and occupational health.

• Link

Keywords: Community coordination, Community participation, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Hazards, Health care delivery, Management information systems, Measures, Occupational health, Population surveillance, Safety, Trends

Annotation: This report focuses on efforts to address children's needs in the event of a chemical, biological, rediological, or nuclear (CBRN) incident. The report examines (1) the percentage of CBRN medical countermeasurments in the Strategic National Stockpile that are approved for pediatric use, (2) challenges the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) faces in developing and acquiring CBRN medical countermeasures for the pediatric population and the steps it is taking to address them, and (3) ways that DHHS has addressed the dispensing of pediatric countermeasures in its emergency response plans and guidance and ways that state and local governments have addressed this issue.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-13-438.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children, Emergencies, Disaster planning, Guidelines

Annotation: This peer-reviewed set of pediatric-focused curricular recommendations is a reference tool developed to aid in disaster education and training for health professionals. The tool is intended for educators, program directors, and curriculum developers to use in planning education and training on pediatric issues in disaster health for a wide range of health professionals. The resource is organized according to four phases of disaster response: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery. The recommendations weave these competencies and critical topics within a framework of an adapted model for disaster response.

Contact: National Center for Disaster Medicine and Public Health, University of the Health Sciences, 11300 Rockville Pike, Suite 1000, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 833-4444 Fax: (240) 833-4435 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ncdmph.usuhs.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Competency based education, Curricula, Disaster planning, Educational materials, Emergencies, Training materials

Annotation: This toolkit provides resources for pediatric practices, schools, and child care programs related to emergencies that impact children. The toolkit includes communication checklists for how to plan in advance, respond when an emergency occurs and help children recover from the experience. It also provides practice templates and guidelines related to infectious diseases, environmental hazards, text messaging, and social media; and a communications flowchart on sharing child-related information during a public health emergency.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Children, Communicable diseases, Communication, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental exposure, Pediatricians, Schools

Annotation: This guide is intended to help planning teams responsible for developing and revising school emergency operation plans (EOPs) in their efforts. The guide discusses the principles of school emergency management planning; a process for developing, implementing, and continually refining a school EOP with community partners (e.g., first responders and emergency management personnel) at the school building level; the form, function, and content of school EOPs; and other topics that support school emergency planning.

Contact: U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Nebraska Avenue Complex, Washington, DC 20528, Telephone: (202) 282-8000 E-mail: https://www.dhs.gov/main-contact-us Web Site: http://www.dhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Schools

Annotation: These guidelines describe the children and youth task force model, which strives to bring together agencies, organizations, and professionals that serve children and adolescents during disasters into a single forum for shared strategic coordination to meet children's and adolescents' needs. The guidelines, which are geared toward emergency management, human services, and public health professionals, introduce the concept of the model; provides recommendations to states, tribes, territories, and local communities interested in launching their own task forces; and outlines how the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Children and Families can provide support.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Families, Family support services, Program coordination, Task forces