Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this Instructor's Manual is to assist individuals interested in conducting alcohol and other drug teaching sessions with pediatric medical students, residents, and/or faculty. The content are based on the work with medical students, residents, and faculty within The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. The Instructor's Manual contains six major sections: (1) Introduction; (2) The John Hopkins Pediatric Substance Abuse Curriculum (PSAC); (3) Developing the Program at Your Institution; (4) Teaching Strategies; (5) Substance Abuse Education Modules; and (6) Substance Abuse Educational Resources. Also provided are educational resources that can provide materials or resources to assist in conducing alcohol and other drug teaching sessions.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Manuals, Substance abuse

Annotation: This document outlines a curriculum for families that includes information on self-knowledge, awareness of the effects of alcohol and other drugs, and developing more effective behavior. The materials used in classes are not included with the document. Baby S.A.F.E. is funded by the Hawaii State Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Branch, and emphasizes prevention, early intervention, and treatment of substance-abusing women who use alcohol, tobacco, and legal or illegal drugs.

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Branch, Baby S.A.F.E. Program, 741-A Sunset Avenue, Room 208, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9022 Fax: (808) 733-9032 Web Site: http://health.hawaii.gov/mchb/home/baby-s-a-f-e-program Price unknown.

Keywords: Curricula, Families, Prevention programs, Substance abuse, Treatment, Women

Annotation: The project objectives were to: (1) Develop community capability to increase breastfeeding incidence and duration through education and advocacy, specifically through Breastfeeding Action Teams composed of Title V and other health professionals; (2) incorporate breastfeeding promotion and lactation management into curriculums of student/resident health professionals; and (3) establish a clearinghouse of breastfeeding resources at the Best Beginnings Program at Kansas University Medical Center, to be available to health care providers statewide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121842.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding Promotion, Curricula, Health Promotion, Information Services, Information Sources, Patient Education

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This training is designed to ensure that school-based dental sealant program staff have a thorough understanding of the history, operations, and underlying fundamentals of these programs. The training provides detailed guidelines for infection control in school-based programs; discusses tooth selection and assessment for dental sealants; reviews the dental-sealant-application process; and provides information about program operations. Post-tests are available with options for a completion certificate or for two continuing education credits for dentists and dental hygienists licensed in Ohio. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Curricula, Dental sealants, Distance education, Ohio, Oral health, School based management, School health programs, School personnel, Training

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to integrate oral health and overall health across systems in the state. It discusses school-based health centers and the impact that tooth decay in children and adolescents can have on school readiness, absenteeism, career readiness, and mental health and well-being. Also discussed are two policy opportunities: adopting K–12 education standards and including oral health in school-based drug-prevention-education and mental-health-promotion curricula.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent health, Curricula, Mental health, Ohio, Oral health, School age children, School health, School readiness, Statewide planning

Annotation: This curriculum is designed for front line health workers (FLHWs) (e.g., community health workers, health educators, case managers, care coordinators, public health workers, peer health promoters) who provide oral health outreach, advocacy, patient education, care coordination, health care navigation, and social support for the communities they serve. The curriculum consists of four modules; the first is an introduction, and the remaining three focus on the oral health of children, women (including pregnant women), and adults. A facilitator handbook and resources for FLHWs are also included.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health services, Community outreach, Curricula, Health educators, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service coordination

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises eight courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; and oral health for older adults. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum, designed for use with students in kindergarten through grade 2, grades 3-5, and grades 6–10, is intended to help students learn how to take care of their mouths and practice healthy habits that promote oral health. The curriculum, which consists of animated videos, discusses consuming healthy foods and drinks, the importance of healthy teeth, preventing tooth decay, toothbrushing, flossing, tobacco use, and lowering risk for oral disease. The curriculum is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: North Carolina Dental Society, c/o Faye Marley, Executive Director, 1600 Evans Rd., Cary, NC 27513, Telephone: (919) 677-1396 Fax: (919) 677-1397 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncdental.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Curricula, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Risk factors, School age children, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This list of oral health online curricula is intended for use by medical providers working at community health centers participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The purpose of the curricula is to enhance providers’ knowledge related to tooth decay, oral health risk assessment, oral health anticipatory guidance, and fluoride varnish application. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Community health centers, Curricula, Dental caries, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Service integration, Training

Annotation: This guide presents activity-based oral health lessons and resources for kindergarten and first grade classroom teachers. The lessons are designed to be integrated into curricula. Each lesson includes a summary, a learning goal, guidelines for how to prepare the lesson, and ideas for how students can share what they learned with their family. Resources such as a video, storybook, and wall chart are included.

Contact: Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™, 300 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (800) 468-6502 Secondary Telephone: (212) 310-2000 Web Site: https://www.colgate.com/en-us/mission/oral-health-commitment/bsbf Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Learning activities, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School-age children

Annotation: This curriculum for dental and dental hygiene students provides information on perinatal and infant oral health care. The modules cover oral health during pregnancy, infant oral health, the age 1 dental visit, and how to be a lifelong learner. The modules are designed to be integrated into a dental hygiene program curriculum. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This toolkit for undergraduate faculty provides curricula templates and resources that can be used when integrating oral health into an undergraduate nursing program. Topics include microbiology, anatomy and physiology, pathophysiology, research methods, pharmacology, health assessment and promotion, fundamentals, nursing care of adults and older adults, nursing care of children, maternity and women’s health, community, psychiatric-mental health, leadership in nursing, and professional nursing. Smiles for Life: A National Oral Health Curriculum is integrated throughout the toolkit.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: College students, Curricula, Health promotion, Nursing education, Oral health, Service integration

Annotation: This curriculum provides oral health professionals with information about children with special health care needs and oral health, oral health supervision, prevention of oral disease, and behavior guidance. The curriculum can help fulfill dental education and dental hygiene education program requirements on the management and treatment of patients with special health care needs. The curriculum can be taken for continuing education credit at no charge or for no credit (self-assessment). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Curricula, Dental care, Dental education, Disease prevention, Distance education, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Young children

Annotation: This packet is designed to help educators integrate oral health education into Connecticut's school health curricula. The packet comprises 6 lesson modules for educating students in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 about oral health and healthy behaviors. Each module lists objectives, questions, and related subject areas and can be used individually or in combination with recommended supportive activities and classroom materials. The revised online curriculum has modules for pre-kindergarten, kindergarten and grade 1, grades 2-3, grades 4-5, and grades 6-8.

Contact: Connecticut State Dental Association, 835 West Queen Street, Southington, CT 06489, Telephone: (860) 378-1800 Fax: (860) 378-1807 Web Site: http://www.csda.com Available from the website.

• 2008 Edition

Keywords: Connecticut, Curricula, Oral health, Preschool education, School age children, School health education, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This oral health education curriculum for use with students in grades 6–10 consists of six modules with lesson plans. Modules cover the following topics: keeping the mouth healthy; diet and oral health, oral health and tobacco use, injury prevention, oral fads, and careers in dentistry. Lesson plans include discussion information for the teacher, leading questions for the classroom, activities to assess student knowledge, additional resources, sample pre- and post-tests, and a Powerpoint presentation.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Curricula, Dental caries, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource provides materials for the SafeCare, an evidence-based, parent-training curriculum for parents of infants and children from birth to age 5 who are at-risk for or have been reported for child neglect or physical abuse. Topics include the evidence-base, cost-benefit, cost of implementation of SafeCare; the structure of the parent child/infant interaction, health, home safety, and family engagement skills modules; certification and support including the role of the home visitor, coach, and trainer; and implementation planning and sustainability. Curricula are available for providers (in English and Spanish), coaches, and trainers.

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development, 14 Marietta Street, N.W., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://healthy.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Curricula, Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Model programs, Motivation, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Program planning, Safety, Sustainability, Training, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to assist oral health professionals and teachers in educating students about good oral hygiene habits and the importance of oral health and oral health care. Contents include videos, games and quizzes, and activity sheets. Lesson plans for students in preschool through eighth grade with materials to support the lesson plans, information about careers in dentistry, and sample presentations are also included. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Curricula, Dental care, Educational materials, Materials for children, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This curriculum, which is designed to help health professionals provide oral health care and education to families of infants and children from birth through age 3, comprises 10 modules. Each module provides background information and a sample agenda. Topics include oral health and infancy, teething, the importance of primary teeth, the age 1 dental visit, oral health screenings, tooth decay, fluoride, toothbrushing and flossing, weaning, nutrition and feeding habits, oral habits, dental first aid, medications and oral health, and special conditions. Additional resources are included. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

• Online Order Form

Keywords: Curricula, Health literacy, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Parent education, Spanish language materials, Young children