Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors

Annotation: The main goal of this project was to improve services for infants and toddlers with disabilities (or at risk for disabililties) and for their families by developing an interstate network for early identification and intervention services for this population. Activities included a national network meeting, two regional conferences, an intensive course, small topical meetings, consultations, publications, and a newsletter. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103373.

Keywords: American Public Welfare Association, Children', Collaboration of Care, EPDST, Early Intervention, Environmental Risk, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies Coalition, High risk infants, Networking, PL 99-457, WIC Program, s Defense Fund

Annotation: This brochure provides simple steps that families can take to make their environment healthier. Topics include label reading, noise, carbon monoxide alarms, child safety, job hazards, allergies, water pollution, lead, radon, overheating, ozone, handwashing, healthy eating, tobacco products, and sun exposure.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-2233, Telephone: (919) 541-3345 Fax: (919) 541-4395 E-mail: webcenter@niehs Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Allergies, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Families, Lead poisoning, Radon, Safety, Sun exposure, Water pollution

Annotation: This website provides guidance on preventing exposure to secondhand smoke in the home. It emphasizes that there is no safe level of secondhand smoke exposure and offers practical tips for protecting oneself and family members. The site covers strategies for maintaining a smoke-free home environment, addressing misconceptions about ventilation, and extending protection to areas outside the home such as daycares and workplaces. It also discusses the risks associated with e-cigarettes and provides resources for smoking cessation, including phone numbers, smartphone apps, and websites. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Prevention , Smoking cessation

Annotation: This website describes steps parents can take to prevent secondhand smoke exposure in the home and provides links to quite lines in multiple languages, smartphone applications, and websites containing additional information and resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Parent participation, Passive smoking, Prevention, Smoking cessation

Annotation: [This website highlights the importance of smokefree environments; explains what child health clinicians can do to help; and provides links to fact sheets, presentations, and additional implementation tools.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Smoking

Annotation: This annual report applies a model of health to rank states across multiple measures related to the health and well-being of women of reproductive age, infants, and children. The 2023 report highlights several trends in mortality among women of reproductive age and children, including rising rates of maternal mortality, drug deaths among women and injury deaths among women and children. The 2023 report also highlights several changes that occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic, including a a drop in the percentage of 3- and 4-year-olds enrolled in early childhood education and decrease in the prevalence of electronic vapor product use among high- school students.

Contact: United Health Foundation, 9900 Bren Road East, Minnetonka, MN 55343, Telephone: (952) 936-3068 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.unitedhealthfoundation.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Full Report
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Environmental influences, Health behavior, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Infant health, Measures, Public policy, Racial factors, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Website
• 2012 Annual Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about implementing oral health services in Washington’s rural health clinics (RHCs). It discusses assessing a community’s oral health needs and how an RHC can address these needs, procuring funding and equipment, determining a dental encounter rate, recruiting staff, collaborating with primary care and emergency services, selecting health records software, and managing costs and patient processes. Getting started, implementing a program, program impact, and looking ahead are also addressed.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community programs, Financing, Oral health, Rural environment, Rural health, State materials, Washington

Annotation: This research brief reports the prevalence of self-reported secondhand smoke (SHS) exposure in homes and vehicles among US middle and high school students in 2019 and changes in SHS over time. The data is from the National Youth Tobacco Survey (2011-2019).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Data, Environmental exposure , High school students, Middle school students, National surveys, Passive smoking, Research, Smoking, Statistics, Youth

Annotation: This chart is designed to help pregnant women and parents choose which fish to eat, and how often to eat them, based on their mercury levels. Contents include best choices (lowest levels of mercury), good choices, and choices to avoid (highest mercury levels) and the number of servings per day. A description of serving sizes for adults and young children (ages 4 to 7) is included.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Environmental exposures, Environmental pollution, Nutrition, Parents, Pregnant women, Reproductive hazards

Annotation: This book, designed to be used by practicing pediatricians, offers information on the role of the environment in the illnesses of childhood and adolescence. The book is organized into five sections. Section 1 offers background information including developmental toxicity, breastfeeding, how to take an environmental history, and how to do a home inventory of environmental hazards. Sections 2 and 3 focus on chemical and physical hazards and on specific environments such as child care settings, preconceptual and prenatal exposures, schools, waste sites, and workplaces. Section 4 addresses a variety of environmental situations including arts and crafts, asthma, cancer, chemical-biological terrorism, environmental disparities, multiple chemical sensitivities, antibiotics in animal agriculture, and environmental threats in developing countries. Section 5 provides information on communicating about environmental hazards. Boxes, figures, and tables present statistical and other information throughout the book. Also included are six appendices, including the American Academy of Pediatrics' (AAP's) policy statements and technical reports, resources for environmental health, curricula for environmental education in schools, chairs of the AAP committee on environmental health, AAP patient education materials, and more. The book concludes with an index.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-218-7.

• 4th Edition
• 3rd Edition

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asthma, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Environmental pollution, Hazards, Pediatricians, Reference materials

Annotation: This report describes trends in tobacco use and the toll of tobacco use on the health and well-being of Alaska citizens. Contents include key indicators from state data sources and trends measured from the baseline year of 1996. Topics include cigarette consumption; tobacco-related deaths and economic costs; smoking and smokeless tobacco use among adults; cigarette smoking, cigar use, and smokeless tobacco use among children and adolescents; tobacco use during pregnancy; and secondhand smoke. Information about the Alaska Tobacco Prevention and Control Program, trend tables, and data sources are also included.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, 350 Main Street, Room 404, P.O. Box 110601, Juneau, AK 99811-0601, Telephone: (907) 465-3030 Fax: (907) 465-3068 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Alaska, Children, Data, Environmental exposure, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, State programs, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: This paper summarizes epidemiology reports and other evidence of drinking fountain-related health issues to reveal the extent of the problem and explores changes needed to improve the quality and use of this hydration option. Topics include a brief history of water fountains, evidence of contamination at water fountains such as microbial and heavy metal contamination, the Safe Drinking Water Act and national drinking water standards, and guidelines for cleaning and maintaining drinking water fountains. The paper concludes with a discussion of efforts needed to expand the science and practice of ensuring that drinking fountains remain clean, safe, and accessible.

Contact: Pacific Institute, 654 13th Street, Preservation Park, Oakland, CA Telephone: (510) 251-1600 Fax: (510) 251-2203 Web Site: http://www.pacinst.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-893790-77-3.

• Link

Keywords: Community base services, Environmental exposure, Federal legislation, Guidelines, Policy development, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Safety, Standards, Water, Water pollution

Annotation: This report presents findings from an analysis of housing disclosure policies of all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to their ability to help homebuyers make informed decisions about lead service lines before they sign a sales contract. Contents include information about lead in drinking water and why reducing exposure to lead is important, property disclosures, variation and limitations of state requirements, and conclusions. State disclosure requirements are included in the appendix.

Contact: Environmental Defense Fund, 257 Park Avenue, South, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 684-3322 E-mail: https://www.edf.org/contact Web Site: https://www.edf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Decision making, Environmental health, Housing, Lead, Policy analysis, Public policy, Safety, State legislation, Water

Annotation: This paper provides information about initiating interprofessional networks that integrate and coordinate person-centered oral health care in rural communities. Topics include oral health as a national issue with rural implications, interprofessional practice and the oral-systemic health connection, creating networks and a learning collaborative, state offices of rural health and medicaloral expanded care initiation, and challenges and opportunities for innovation. Examples from Colorado, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Collaboration, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Health care delivery, Information systems, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Provider networks, Rural environment, Rural health, Rural population, Service integration, South Carolina, State initiatives, Systems development, Technology, Work force

Annotation: This document presents the results of a comprehensive evaluation of the physical activity levels and the indicators influencing physical activity of children and youth in the United States. Contents include the methodology, abbreviations and definitions, benefits and guidelines for routine physical activity, and a summary of indicators and grades. Topics include overall physical activity, sedentary behaviors, active transportation, organized sport participation, active play, health-related fitness, family and peers, school, community and the built environment, and government strategies and investments. Data sources and references are included.

Contact: National Physical Activity Plan Alliance, 921 Assembly Street, Suite 212, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (866) 365-5122 Fax: (803) 777-2504 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.physicalactivityplan.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Health behaviors, Health policy, Physical activity, Statistical data

Annotation: This toolkit provides resources on indoor environmental quality and children's health and ways to improve the school environment. Contents include a sample op-ed, information on buying healthy products, an indoor air quality and pest management checklist, a green cleaning checklist, a guide for parents on lead in school drinking water, and a guide on disinfecting wipes. Additional contents include research, federal resources, a position statement, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Hazards, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Safety, School age children, School health, Schools

Annotation: This brief highlights oral health disparities within communities of color in California. Topics include oral health disparities and the impact of oral health inequities on communities of color, including oral health and children, oral health and employment, and oral health and chronic conditions. Also discussed are causes of oral health inequities, including lack of access to affordable care, absence of a culturally and linguistically competent work force, and social and environmental inequities. In addition, the brief provides policy recommendations (improving access to and quality of oral health care, ensuring that there is a culturally competent work force, and engaging in efforts to improve underlying socioeconomic inequities).

Contact: California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 1221 Preservation Park Way, Suite 200, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 832-1160 Fax: (510) 832-1175 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpehn.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Environmental influences, Equal opportunities, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Oral health, Policy development, Social factors, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: This report for educators and community leaders provides information about ways to limit children's exposure to lead in drinking water in schools and early childhood education facilities. Contents include information about the danger of lead in drinking water, how federal regulation has reduced exposure to lead in drinking water, deciding if a lead testing program is necessary, getting school buy-in for a program, involving external and community partners, preparing and taking lead samples, choosing remediation options, and communicating with the public. Recommendations are also included.

Contact: WKKF, One Michigan Avenue, East, Battle Creek, MI 49017-4012, Telephone: (269) 968-1611 Fax: (269) 968-0413 Web Site: http://www.wkkf.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name And Email Address

Keywords: Child care centers, Communication, Community action, Environmental exposure, Lead, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Lead poisoning screening, Regulations, School health programs, Schools, Testing, Water