Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This project sought to increase the incidence and duration of breastfeeding in the state. The purpose of the project was to develop statewide strategies for breastfeeding promotion. Clients targeted were those least likely to breastfeed. Activities included developing and implementing industry policies that support working, breastfeeding women; conducting a public media campaign and establishing a toll-free hotline; counseling and educating low-income and minority women through WIC and MCH programs; and providing professional education. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196871.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infants, Low income groups, Minorities, Mothers, Nutrition, Outreach, WIC Program

Annotation: This starter kit contains resources to help health centers better understand health equity as a broad framework to explain and address structural factors, social determinants of health, and health disparities. The kit includes a collection of innovative strategies, as well as examples of data and measures to track and evaluate health equity efforts. A 13-minute video offers an overview of the starter kit as well as tips for easily navigating through the available tools and resources.

Contact: Health Outreach Partners, 405 14th Street, Suite 909, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 268-0091 Fax: (510) 268-0093 E-mail: http://outreach-partners.org/contact Web Site: http://outreach-partners.org/

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Community organizations, Health equity, Models, Outreach, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This toolkit introduces community-based strategies for addressing vaccine equity, drawing lessons from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials' Vaccine Equity Project. It provides guidance on partnering with community organizations, tailoring outreach to diverse populations, and implementing evidence-based practices to increase vaccination rates among racial and ethnic minority groups and in rural areas. The document outlines key strategies, shares case studies and insights from community action agencies, and includes a comprehensive resource section with tools for advancing vaccine equity. It emphasizes the importance of trust-building, addressing social determinants of health, and planning for program sustainability. The toolkit is intended for state and territorial health agencies and other organizations working to improve equity in public health initiatives.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community participation, Health equity, Outreach, Vaccination

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include customizable fact sheets, palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help people learn about how to take good care of their oral health and about how oral health is connected to overall health and well-being. Tools include radio public service announcements; social media graphics; social media posts; posters; content to include in e-mails, newsletters, and other outreach materials; and educational materials. A webinar about opportunities for sharing oral health materials and integrating them into health-education efforts is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral health, Outreach, Posters, Public awareness campaigns, Public awareness materials, Public service announcements

Annotation: This tool library provides links to resources for promoting oral health and encouraging families to enroll children who are eligible for Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Resources include videos, social media messages and images, web banners, web buttons, print materials, a Find a Dentist widget, posters, flyers, tear pads, templates, and fact sheets. A list of each state’s dental benefits for children is also available, along with information on a Centers for Medicare & Medicaid oral health initiative to help states ensure that children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP have access to oral health care.

Contact: Insure Kids Now, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Web Site: https://www.insurekidsnow.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health promotion, Medicaid, Oral health, Outreach, State Children', State health insurance programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet for families explains when and how to enroll in the Health Insurance Marketplace to receive affordable coverage. It explains how Affordable Care Act (ACA) Open Enrollment is a critical time to promote the opportunity for affordable health care coverage; describes what is included in the marketplace plans and what they cost; and offers step-by-step enrollment instructions. A companion document describes the ways in which Title V maternal and child health programs can promote enrollment during the ACA open season (see unique #39525)

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children', Enrollment, Families, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Outreach, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents best practices from community health centers that have implemented innovative care-coordination strategies for medical and dental integration. It provides an introduction to The Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program, and discusses patient outreach, appointment making, data collection, and integration activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Data collection, Oral health, Outreach, School age children, Service integration

Annotation: This assessment of Idaho's oral health workforce is divided into three sections. Section 1 discusses Idaho's current oral health workforce and includes information on characteristics of Idaho, access to oral health care, supply and distribution of dentists and dental hygienists, and education and training. Section 2 discusses Idaho's ability to provide oral health care to populations that are underserved and includes information about those populations, health professional shortage areas, access to oral health care by geographic location, Idaho's Medicaid workforce, and community outreach and initiatives. Section III discusses the future of Idaho's workforce and provides information about workforce projections, opportunities for workforce advancement, and workforce planning.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community outreach, Geographic factors, Health education, Idaho, Medicaid, Oral health, State information, State initiatives, Training, Work force

Annotation: This curriculum is designed for front line health workers (FLHWs) (e.g., community health workers, health educators, case managers, care coordinators, public health workers, peer health promoters) who provide oral health outreach, advocacy, patient education, care coordination, health care navigation, and social support for the communities they serve. The curriculum consists of four modules; the first is an introduction, and the remaining three focus on the oral health of children, women (including pregnant women), and adults. A facilitator handbook and resources for FLHWs are also included.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Community health services, Community outreach, Curricula, Health educators, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service coordination

Annotation: This brief examines how Medicaid can help schools better serve children and families and how schools can help students get the health care they need. It offers four recommendations to state and school district officials seeking closer linkages between health and education: (1) Ensure every eligible student has health coverage; (20 Help schools support and prioritize the comprehensive health needs of students as a pivotal factor in their ability to learn; (3). Increase access to school-based or school-linked preventive health care; and (4) Help schools serve as resource “hubs” for families and caregivers especially in underserved or remote areas.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Families, Medicaid, Outreach, School age children, School health programs, School linked programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This plan presents priorities for oral health in South Carolina during the period 2015–2020. Priorities discussed include strengthening public health infrastructure; improving access to oral health services for vulnerable populations; education and prevention; supporting the integration of public health priorities, as they relate to oral health, into higher education programs’ dental education; and policy and outreach. For each priority, recommendations are provided.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Fax: (803) 898-3323 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scdhec.gov

• PDF
• Entry Page

Keywords: Access to health care, Education, Oral health, Outreach, Prevention, Public health, Public policy, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This consensus study report provides a comprehensive analysis of health outcomes for school-aged children with disabilities. It reviews and assesses programs, services, and supports available to these children and their families and describes overarching program, service, and treatment goals. The report also examines outreach efforts and utilization rates; identifies which outcomes are measured and how they are reported; and describes what is known about the effectiveness of these programs and services.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Learning disabilities, Outcome evaluation, Outreach, Physical disabilities, School age children, Services

Annotation: This mobile app/platform is designed to help youth and others make progress towards the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDB) through mapping, mobilization, and measurement. Topics include ending poverty and hunger, good health, quality education, gender equality, clean water and sanitation, renewable energy, good jobs and economic growth, innovation and infrastructure, reduced inequalities, sustainable cities and communities, responsible consumption, climate action, life in water and on land, peace and justice, and partnerships. Contents include portals for groups and organizations to document opportunities for taking action and for reporting progress towards SDG goals. A video on how to use the app/platform and a toolkit for organizing communities are also available.

Contact: Creative Associates International, 5301 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (202) 966-5804 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.creativeassociatesinternational.com/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Community action, Goals, Information systems, Maps, Mobile application, Multimedia, Online systems, Outreach, Sustainability, Youth

Annotation: This report describes a project to integrate an oral-health-care program into an existing school-based clinic serving students attending a public charter school (kindergarten through grade 8) in Santa Ana, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Meeting agendas and minutes, a student consent form, and a program brochure and other outreach materials are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Outreach, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that school-based outreach groups identify as key in their efforts to successfully expand health care coverage. Contents include a review of the value and benefits of school-based outreach, steps for laying the groundwork for outreach efforts, a description of the outreach process based on lessons and experiences from successful school-based outreach programs, and links to online resources and groups who can provide additional information about the work highlighted in the guide.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Enrollment, Health insurance, Model programs, Outreach, Schools

Annotation: This fact sheet for people who assist health care consumers living in rural areas provides information about health insurance eligibility and enrollment barriers and what assisters can do to bolster education and outreach efforts in rural areas. Scenarios and resources are included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Communication, Community participation, Costs, Family support services, Health insurance, Outreach, Relationships, Resources for professionals, Rural populations, Transportation, Trust

Annotation: This report identifies issues associated with the undercount of young Hispanic children in the U.S. Census and provides recommendations to improve the accuracy of the count in the next census. Contents include information about the net undercount of young Latino children by state and by county, drivers of the undercount, and strategies to reduce it by 2020. Topics include identifying and pursuing research questions, developing networks that will reach households with young children, raising awareness among stakeholders, targeting outreach to locations with concentrations of Latino families, leveraging government programs that serve children and existing partnerships with local organizations, and reaching out to health professionals and families of preschoolers.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Hispanic Americans, Neighborhoods, Networking, Outreach, Participation, Public private partnerships, Research, Schools, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes a study to determine the effectiveness of using administrative data from the HUSKY Program’s medical administrative services organization to identify pregnant women for targeted oral health outreach. HUSKY is Connecticut’s public health coverage program for eligible children, parents, relative caregivers, senior citizens, individuals with disabilities, adults without children, and pregnant women within the income guidelines. The report describes study methods and presents results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Health insurance, Low income groups, Oral health, Outreach, Pregnant women, State programs, Statistical data