Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (785 total).

Federal Security Agency, Social Security Administration, Children's Bureau. n.d.. Infant and childhood mortality, maternal mortality, natality: 1947 chart book of trend data for the United States; profile data for each state. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, 93 pp.

National Center for Social Statistics. n.d.. Statistical summary of patients served in mental retardation clinics, fiscal year 1969. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare, Social and Rehabilitation Service, National Center for Social Statistics, 7 items. (NCSS report MR-1 (FY 69))

Annotation: This document provides data on services rendered to mentally retarded children in fiscal year 1969 by clinics supported in whole or in part by federal grants under Title V of the Social Security Act. The library also holds instructions and forms for reporting similar data in other years (1956, 1960, and 1974).

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: NCSS Report MR-1 (FY 69).

Keywords: Children, Clinics, Mental retardation, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

U.S. Government Accountability Office . 2022. Maternal health: Outcomes worsened and disparities persisted during the pandemic . Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office , 32 pp.

Annotation: This report to Congress describes 1) available federal data and what it reveals about maternal and neonatal outcomes and disparities during the COVID-19 pandemic, and 2) efforts by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) during the pandemic to address maternal health outcomes and disparities. The data is from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics’ (NCHS) National Vital Statistics System and its Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, a state-level surveillance system of survey-based data on maternal behaviors, attitudes, and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov

Keywords: Data, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives , Infectious diseases, Low birthweight, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Neonatal morbidity, Prenancy complications, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Statistics, Virus diseases

Children's Defense Fund. 2021. The state of America's children. Washington, DC: Children's Defense Fund, irregular.

Annotation: This series of reports is a compilation and analysis of national and U.S. state-by-state data on child population, child poverty, family structure, family income, housing and homelessness, hunger and nutrition, health, early childhood, education, child welfare, juvenile justice, and gun violence. Changes in key child and national well-being indicators are included.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child welfare, Data, Early childhood development, Education, Ethnic groups, Family characteristics, Gun violence, High risk groups, Population surveillance, Poverty, Statistics, Trends

Smith JC, Medalia C. 2021. Health insurance coverage in the United States. Washington, DC: U.S. Census Bureau, irregulator. (Current population reports )

Annotation: This report presents statistics on health insurance coverage in the United States based on information collected in the Current Population Survey Annual Social and Economic Supplement and the American Community Survey (ACS). The report presents an overall estimate of the year-to-year change in the health insurance coverage rates based on the ACS. Reports from prior years of the survey (1994 to 2020) are also available from the website. (Note: Due to the redesign of the health insurance section of the CPS ASEC, its estimates of health insurance coverage are not directly comparable to estimates from earlier years of the survey.)

Contact: U.S. Census Bureau, 4600 Silver Hill Road, Washington, DC 20233, Telephone: (301) 763-4748 E-mail: webmaster@census.gov Web Site: http://www.census.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Health insurance, Statistics

DiverityDataKids.org. 2020. Child opportunity index. Waltham, MA: DiverityDataKids.org,

Annotation: The Child Opportunity Index (COI) measures and maps the quality of resources and conditions that matter for children to develop in a healthy way in the neighborhoods where they live. It was developed in 2014 in collaboration with the Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity at Ohio State University and version 2.0 was released in 2020.

Contact: DiversityDataKids.org, Institute for Child, Youth, and Family Policy, Brandeis Universiy Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Waltham, MA Web Site: http://diversitydatakids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Neighborhoods, Social conditions, Statistics

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2020. Children with special health care needs. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 3 pp. (NSCH data brief)

Annotation: This brief provides a 2017-2018 data snapshot of children and youth with special health care needs (CHSYCN) from the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH). It covers types of special health care needs in this population, frequency/degree of activity limitations, prevalence of certain health conditions, key indicators and effective systems. It also describes the NCSH data collection.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Statistics

March of Dimes. 2020. Nowhere to go: Maternity care deserts across the U.S.. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report builds upon the 2018 report and continues to identify counties where a woman’s access to maternity health services may be limited or absent. It describes policy solutions and actions; gives summary data about maternity care deserts with a map showing each county in the U.S. and its level of access to maternity care; characteristics of maternity care deserts; information about and maps of hospitals, birth centers, providers, midwives and doulas; health insurance coverage; perinatal regionalization and risk-appropriate levels of care; and the covid-19 pandemic and access to maternity care.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, State surveys, Statistics

Anderson KA, Rast JE, Roux AM, Garfield T, Shattuck PT. 2020. National autism indicators report: Children on the autism spectrum and family financial hardship. Philadelphia, PA: A. J. Drexel Autism Institute, Life Course Outcomes Research Program, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the financial hardships facing families raising children on the autism spectrum. It discusses disability and sociodemographic characteristics of children with autism spectrum disorders, levels of family financial hardship, and safety net program use. Recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Family support services, Financial barriers, Financial support, Statistics

Nguyen US, Smith S, Granja MR. 2020. Young children in deep poverty: Racial/ethnic disparities and child wellbeing compared to other groups. New York, NY: National Center for Children in Poverty, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report presents analyses with data that highlight the needs of young children and families in deep poverty, along with updated recommendations. Topics covered include differences in health and development indicators across income groups, differences in family and community factors across income groups, and racial/ethnic disparities in young children's experience of deep poverty.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: info@nccp.org Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Ethnic factors, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Statistics, Young children

Keating K, Daily S, Cole P, Murphey D, Pina G, Ryberg R, Moron L, and Laurore J. 2019-. State of babies yearbook. Washington, DC: Zero to Three, annual.

Annotation: This yearbook compares national and state-by-state data on the well-being of infants and toddlers, in the areas of good health, strong families, and positive early learning experiences. The book also describes the indicator selection and ranking process, and giving advocates the tools to connect data to policy.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Early childhood education, Families, Health, Infants, State surveys, Statistics, Toddlers

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2019. Medicaid's role for women. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 9 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This report discusses the role of Medicaid for women and presents information describing the current state of the Medicaid program as it affects women. Topics include who is eligible for coverage, a profile of women enrolled in Medicaid, reproductive health, chronic conditions and disabilities, aging and long-term care, and access to care. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Health care financing, Medicaid, Statistics, Women's health

Radley DC, McCarthy D, Hayes SL. 2017. Aiming higher: Results from the Commonwealth Fund scorecard on state health system performance–2017 edition. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, annual.

Annotation: This report ranks states on more than 40 indicators of health system performance in five broad areas: health care access, quality, avoidable hospital use and costs, health outcomes, and health care equity. It also compares and evaluates trends across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, Infants, Measures, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Oral health, Preventive health services, Smoking, State initiatives, Statistics, Systems development, Trends

Segal LM, Martin A. 2017. A funding crisis for public health and safety: State-by-state public health funding and key health facts. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 23 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report examines the status of federal public health funding for states, state public health funding, and key health facts. Topics include an overview of federal funding for states from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), CDC's Public Health and Prevention Funding for states, Health Resources and Services Administration's funding by state, state public health funding, key health facts, rising epidemics, effective investments to curb crises and cut costs, and recommendations.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community based services, Data analysis, Federal programs, Government financing, Grants, Health statistics, Prevention programs, Public health infrastructure, State programs

Lorenzo SB, Pickett O. 2017. Maternal and child health data and statistics: Professional resource brief (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Roux AM, Rast JE, Anderson KA, Shattuck PT. 2017. National autism indicators report: Develomental disability services and outcomes in adulthood. Philadelphia, PA: A. J. Drexel Autism Institute, Life Course Outcomes Research Program, 78 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the needs of adults with autism spectrum disorders who have more severe challenges, including those who have just left the special education system and those who are at the end of their working years, to look at differences in services and outcomes across the life course. It includes data on individuals with other forms of developmental disabilities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Drexel Autism Institute, Drexel University, 3141 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, E-mail: https://drexel.ed Web Site: https://drexel.edu/autisminstitute/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Autism, Developmental disabilities, Developmental disability programs, Special health care needs, Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics. 2016. Health, United States 20__. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, annual.

Annotation: This annual report presents an overview of national trends in health statistics. Contents include charts with information on selected measures of life expectancy and mortality, fertility and natality, morbidity, disability measures, health risk factors, measures of health and disease prevalence, prevention, health insurance, use and access, and personal health care expenditures. The report also contains trend tables organized around four major subject areas: health status and determinants, use of health resources, health care resources, and health care expenditures and payers. Previous editions and related data products are available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Data, Health care utilization, Health objectives, Health statistics, Measures, Risk factors, Trends

Mohan A, Walker C. 2016. Early Head Start participants, programs, families, and staff in 2014. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Early Head Start and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include demographics, screenings, ongoing source of care, special health care needs, prenatal and postnatal health care, health insurance, oral examinations and mental health interventions, and child care subsidy.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Early Head Start, Federal programs, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Pregnant women, Statistics, Young children

Mohan A, Walker C. 2016. Head Start participants, programs, families, and staff in 2014. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Head Start and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include demographics, screenings, health insurance, ongoing source of care, special health care needs, and child care subsidy.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal programs, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Statistics, Young children

Mohan A, Walker C. 2016. Migrant and Seasonal Head Start participants, programs, families, and staff in 2014. Washington, DC: Center for Law and Social Policy, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet uses data from the Head Start Program Information Report to describe the characteristics of children enrolled in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start and their families and the services provided to them. Data are presented on participants, families, programs, and staff. Topics include screenings, ongoing source of care, special health care needs, prenatal and postnatal health care, health insurance, oral examinations and mental health interventions, racial/ethnic and linguistic diversity, and child care subsidy.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Families, Farm workers, Federal programs, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Migrants, Pregnant women, Statistics, Young children

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.