Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 9 (9 total).

n.d.. Posters. No place: No publisher, 9 posters.

Annotation: Each poster in this collection was prepared by an insurance company or a state agency. They direct attention to various issues in child safety. A poster by American Re-Insurance Company shows a child with his head bandaged, and cites the statistic on injuries when bike helmets are not worn. A second poster by American Re-Insurance Company repeats the statistic, but illustrates it with an overturned bike. The New York State Health Department poster shows a cross section of a house in which a hazardous activity is pictured in each room. The viewer is told that these hazards number forty, and is asked to identify them. The reverse side of the poster shows the answers. The remaining posters are by Massachusetts health and safety agencies. One shows a baby in a car seat and points out safety features of the seat. Another shows two gallon jugs: one of milk and one of bleach. The viewer is made to realize that a two year old would not know the difference. Three posters reinforce the "buckle up" message, and there is one on playground safety. Both English and Spanish are used in the posters.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5557 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycles, Car seats, Helmets, Poisoning, Posters, Residential injuries, Seat belts, Spanish language materials

Safe Routes Partnership. 2018. Roll bicycle education Into your physical education program. Fairfax, VA: Safe Routes Partnership, 4 pp.

Annotation: This guide from the "Safe Routes to School" Partnership encourages schools to incorporate bicycle education and safety into their physical education programs, thereby combining the goals of increasing physical activity and encouraging students to bike safely to school. The guide provides links to resources on bicycle education and suggestions on how to start such a program in local schools.

Contact: Safe Routes Partnership , 12587 Fair Lakes Circle #251, Fairfax, VA 22033, Web Site: https://www.saferoutespartnership.org/

Keywords: Bicycles, Educational objectives, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Physical fitness programs

Safe Routes Partnership . 2018. Roll up to a bicycle skills clinic. Fairfax, VA: Safe Routes Partnership, 2 pp.

Annotation: The Safe Routes to School National Partnership created this brochure to inform schools how to host a bicycle skills clinic (also called a "Bike Rodeo") on their playground. The skills clinic will encourage children and their families to use bicycles safely and more often. It includes tips on planning the event, and links to other resources on bike rodeos.

Contact: Safe Routes Partnership , 12587 Fair Lakes Circle #251, Fairfax, VA 22033, Web Site: https://www.saferoutespartnership.org/

Keywords: Bicycles, Educational objectives, Physical activity, Physical education, Physical fitness, Physical fitness programs

National Center for Safe Routes to School. 2011. Federal safe routes to school program: Progress report. [Chapel Hill, NC]: National Center for Safe Routes to School, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report, which aims is to inform policy and program decisions for the Federal Highway Administration, State Safe Routes to School (SRTS) coordinators, and policymakers and stakeholders at the federal, state and local levels, describes how federal and state agencies have met the requirements of the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, and Efficient Transportation Equity Act, passed in August 2005. This legislation included funds to start the SRTS program. The report also discusses the legislation's reach and types of projects funded and provides an overview of how state SRTS programs are administered.

Contact: National Center for Safe Routes to School, 730 Martin Luther Kind, Jr. Boulevard, Suite 300, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3430, Telephone: (866) 610-SRTS E-mail: http://www.saferoutesinfo.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.saferoutesinfo.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycles, Families, Legislation, Programs, Public policy, Safety, School age children, Schools, State programs, Transportation, Walking

Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center. 2009. Case study compendium. [Chapel Hill, NC]: Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center, 258 pp.

Annotation: This case study compendium contains a collection of brief, original case studies developed by the Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center and the Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals. The case studies cover pedestrian and bicycle projects and programs from across the United States and abroad, including engineering, education, enforcement, encouragement, planning, health promotion, and comprehensive safety initiatives. Each case study provides a context in which the program or project takes place, a description of the issues faced, and a discussion of how the community sought to address their concerns. A results section describes the successes and lessons learned from the planning or implementation of the activity. When available, data are provided to support results.

Contact: Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center, 730 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Suite 300 , Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (888) 823-3977 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pedbikeinfo.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bicycles, Case studies, Communities, Community programs, Education, Health promotion, Initiatives, Pedestrians, Safety

McMillan TE. 2009. Walking and biking to school, physical activity and health outcomes. Princeton, NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 6 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This brief summarizes research on active transport to school, physical activity levels, and health outcomes. It also explores the factors that influence walking and biking to school, including the impact of the Safe Routes to School program, a federal program that creates safe, convenient, and fun opportunities for children to walk and bike to and from school and aims to help children be more physically active.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bicycles, Child health, Federal programs, Physical activity, Research, Safety, Walking

Children's Safety Network Economics and Insurance Resource Center. 2005. Childhood injury: Cost and prevention facts. Landover, MD: National Public Services Research Institute, Children's Safety Network Economics and Insurance Resource Center, irregular.

Annotation: This fact sheet series present data and analysis on the cost and prevention of childhood injury. Topics include bicycle helmet use, child safety seat use, injury prevention counseling by pediatricians, poison control centers, sobriety checkpoints, and speed limits, Definitions of data types, incidence-based vs. prevalence-based costs, and resource vs. productivity costs are provided. References are also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Bicycle helmets, Bicycles, Car seats, Children, Costs, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Mortality, Motor vehicles, Poisoning, Speed, Statistics, Traffic injuries, Unintentional injuries, Young adults

Children's Safety Network. 1994. Building safe communities: State and local strategies for preventing injury and violence. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 190 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

Children's Safety Network. 1991. Child Health Day 1991: A selected annotated bibliography. [Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health], 31 pp.

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence