Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website links to a training guide and participant workbook that provide activities that focus on trauma as a way of understanding how children and adolescents in the child welfare system are especially vulnerable to mental health challenges. The training materials were developed to help providers think about the physical effects of trauma on children, adolescents and young adults; understand the biological underpinnings of their challenges; and identify children with a suspected mental health need. Included are activities to help providers administer the New Jersey Mental Health Screening Tool (MHST) to assist with identifying children who may have mental health need and require further assessment.

Contact: National Family Preservation Network, 3971 North 1400 East, Buhl, Idaho 83316, Telephone: (888) 498-9047 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nfpn.org/ Available from the website.

• Program Web Site

Keywords: Child welfare, Children', Interventions, New Jersey, Screening, State programs, Training, Trauma, s mental health

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help school nurses and others who work with school-age children provide effective treatment for minor oral health emergencies or problems such as inflamed or irritated gum tissue, toothaches, a broken or displaced tooth, traumatic avulsion, and a lacerated lip or tongue. Topics include dental first aid and primary and permanent dentition. A dental-trauma decision tree is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website. Document Number: #134.

• PDF

Keywords: Emergencies, First aid, Oral health, School age children, School health, Trauma, Treatment

Annotation: This policy brief uses data from the 2016-2018 National Survey of Children's Health to assess the differences in adverse and positive childhood experiences among rural and urban children. The study provides the questions from the NSCH that deal with adverse experiences, which include: divorce or separation of parents/guardians; death of parent/guardian; incarceration of parent/guardian; violence among parents/guardians; violence aimed at child; witnessing violence in the neighborhood; mental illness among family/household members; substance abuse among family/household members; discrimination based on ethnicity; low income, resulting in food and/or housing insecurity. The NSCH also provides positive experiences that can help balance the adverse events. Study results show that rural and minority children and adolescents have higher rates of exposure to adverse experiences than their peers, but that rural children were also more likely to have multiple different positive experiences, such as community service or volunteer work, school, church, and having a mentor for guidance.

Contact: Rural and Minority Health Research Center, Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: 803-251-6317 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://sc.edu/study/colleges_schools/public_health/research/research_centers/sc_rural_health_research_center/

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Family health, Maltreated children, Rural health, Rural populations, Stress, Trauma, Urban health, Urban populations

Annotation: This tool can be used when conducting screenings in behavioral health settings to identify oral health problems. The tool explains what to do in an oral health emergency and includes questions to ask about access to and use of oral health care. Instructions for how the person conducting the screening should proceed, depending on how questions are answered, are included.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergencies, Health care utilization, Health screening, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse, Trauma

Annotation: This table provides examples of the relationship between oral health and mental health problems and substance use. It addresses the relationship between oral health and mental health problems (i.e., anxiety, bipolar and obsessive-compulsive disorder, depression, eating disorders, issues related to trauma). It also addresses the relationship between oral health and use of substances such as cannabis, cocaine, methamphetamine, and opioids, as well as the relationship between oral health and substance-use-disorder treatment medications. The impact of oral health problems on mental health problems and substance use is also examined.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anxiety, Bipolar disorder, Compulsive behavior, Depression, Eating disorders, Emotional trauma, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse

Annotation: This paper describes a multi-state technical assistance project on statewide approaches to address adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) across the lifespan, starting in June 2020. It addresses the goals, policy, and programs developed and launched by five states (Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Wyoming) that were selected to participate in the project by the National Governors Association and its partner organizations. A summary of the states’ work focuses on the following: (1) Establishing trauma-informed states by creating a holistic, cross-agency vision for cultural change; (2) Developing a common, statewide language and lens around trauma and ACEs and implementing universal trauma awareness communications and/or training; (3) Improving the quality of ACEs surveillance data; and (4) Increasing access to ACEs screening and developing a comprehensive, trauma-informed system of care. Highlighted are lessons learned from states that served as models for statewide approaches that prevent and address ACEs (e.g., disruption in family life, loss of income, food insecurity, and social isolation) and the development of trauma-informed policies (Alaska, California, New Jersey, and Tennessee).

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Family health, High risk children, High risk families: Trauma, Model programs, Policy development, Prevention, Risk factors, State initiatives, Stress

Annotation: This resource first defines childhood adversity, and briefly describes how adversity experienced in childhood does (or does not) affect outcomes later in life. Next, it provides an overview of research on the effects that Early Head Start (EHS) and Head Start (HS) have on participating children and families who have experienced adversity. It then shifts to discussing adversity that EHS-CCP staff may have experienced and the effects of their experiences on their work with children, using a case study to illustrate approaches for supporting staff. The resource also highlights work that the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff (one of the six grantees involved in Child Trends’ study) has done to support staff who have experienced adversity and facilitate their work with children and families.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Early Head Start, Trauma, Young children

Annotation: This report from the Injury Center of the CDC provides an in-depth look at ACEs (Adverse Childhood Experiences). It enumerates some of the occurances that can be considered ACEs (such as abuse and neglect), the possible long-term effects (including mental health challenges, chronic diseases, and the loss of opportunities), and six strategies that can prevent ACEs (strengthening economic supports for families, interventions, etc.). The report also enumerates the Injury Center's four strategic goals and the objectives that will help them attain those goals. References point the reader to futher reading.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse prevention, Emotional trauma, Stress, Toxic stress, Violence prevention

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Dental care, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This document, which is based on the Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE) Study, provides background on childhood adversity and trauma; outlines the connection between ACE and oral health outcomes; and describes methods that dentists and other oral health professionals can embed in their practice, teaching, and research to promote health in all domains: physical, mental, and social-emotional. Trauma, toxic stress, and resilience are discussed, and a list of oral health conditions associated with a history of trauma and adversity is included.

Contact: Health & Medicine Policy Research Group, 29 E. Madison Suite 602, Chicago, IL 60602-4404, Web Site: http://www.hmprg.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health promotion, Oral health, Research, Resilience, Stress, Trauma

Annotation: This document describes strategies and approaches that can prevent adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) in the areas of economic support for families, promotion of social norms against violence and adversity, strong starts for children, skills teaching, connections with caring adults and activities, and interventions to lessen immediate and long-term harm. It also discusses sectors that can be involved in these efforts, including public health, and monitoring and evaluation.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Injury prevention, Trauma, Violence prevention, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet from the CDC defines ACEs (Adverse Childhood Experiences) and explains the negative impact over the life span that can occur when children are exposed to them. It presents many ways in which everyone (including healthcare providers, employers, and states and communities) can recognize the difficulties that families face and support programs that will promote healthy conditions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Emotional trauma, Stress, Toxic stress

Annotation: This document outlines 12 evidence-based framing strategies that communicators in the education, justice, and civil rights sectors can use to challenge exclusionary discipline policies, build support for reducing racial disparities in disciplinary outcomes, and cultivate awareness of alternative approaches such as restorative justice and trauma-informed schools.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Communication, Discipline, Juvenile justice, Mental health, Schools, Stress, Students, Trauma

Annotation: This report describes what is known about the availability of trauma centers for children and the outcomes for children treated at different types of facilities. The report also examines how, if at all, federal agencies are involved in supporting pediatric trauma care and how these activities are coordinated. Topics include the location of high-level pediatric trauma centers, the percentage of children who live within 30 miles of a high-level pediatric trauma center, and how well such centers work to lower mortality. Additional topics include federal interagency coordination to support hospital-based pediatric trauma care activities and training and resources available to physicians and nurses for pediatric trauma care. Examples are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-334.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Health care delivery, Injuries, Interagency cooperation, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Pediatric hospitals, Training, Trauma care, Trauma centers, Work force

Annotation: This report provides a foundational understanding of the relationship between trauma and gender -- with a focus on system-involved girls -- and provides an analysis of somatic interventions. In particular, the report maps the ways in which trauma-informed, gender-responsive, and culturally competent yoga and mindfulness programs can address the short- and long-term impact of trauma on girls in the juvenile justice system. Topics include the core components of somatic interventions for traumatized girls, data documenting positive effects, and specific policy and practice recommendations to increase access for system-involved girls.

Contact: Georgetown Law, Center on Poverty and Inequality, 600 New Jersey Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 661-6692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.law.georgetown.edu/academics/centers-institutes/poverty-inequality/index.cfm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent females, Culturally competent services, Ethnic factors, Intervention, Juvenile justice, Policy development, Sexuality, Therapeutics, Trauma care

Annotation: This report describes early childhood trauma and its effects, offers promising strategies for early care and education (ECE) programs and systems to help young children who have experienced trauma, and presents recommendations for state policymakers and other stakeholders looking to support trauma-informed ECE for this group.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Chlld care, Community based services, Early childhood education, Family support services, Policy development, Service integration, Systems development, Trauma care, Vulnerability, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This report presents an empirically-based framing strategy for communicating about fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD). Contents include a set of principles reflecting expert understanding of what fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) is, how alcohol affects fetal development, why women consume alcohol while pregnant, what the effects of FASD are, and how FASD can be prevented and addressed. The report also describes shared but implicit understandings, assumptions, and patterns of reasoning that shape how the public thinks about FASD, points at which expert and public understandings overlap and diverge, and key challenges in communicating about FASD. Recommendations are included.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption attitudes, Alcohol consumption behavior, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Beliefs, Communication, Culturally competent services, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Prevention services, Research, Trauma care

Annotation: This brief provides a framework for implementing organizational and clinical policy changes across the health care sector to address trauma. It highlights program and payment reforms at the payer and health system levels, as well as at the state and federal level to support the adoption of trauma-informed care approaches. Examples of adult- and child-focused treatment models are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care systems, Models, Organizational change, Policy development, Reimbursement, Trauma care, Treatment

Annotation: This paper explores trauma at the population level and how it impacts efforts to prevent violence and improve other aspects of community health. The paper also presents a framework for addressing and preventing trauma at the community level. Topics include the community environment, the production of trauma from violence, community strategies to address community violence, elements of a resilient community, and promoting community resilience.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Culturally competent services, Economic factors, Emotional trauma, Geographic factors, Health promotion, Models, Prevention programs, Resilience, Social conditions, Social support, Sociocultural factors, Standards, Trauma, Trauma care, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report summarizes an environmental scan of practices and programs for addressing trauma and related behavioral health needs in American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) youth. Contents include a summary of the scan scope and results, trauma-informed care and trauma-specific interventions, interventions focused on suicide prevention and substance use disorders, parenting interventions for youth and their guardians, aspirational frameworks, and common elements of programs addressing trauma and related behavioral health needs of AI/AN youth. The systematic database search methodology and summaries of interventions and evaluations are also provided.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indian, Intervention, Mental health, Model programs, Parenting, Program evaluation, Protective factors, Substance use disorders, Suicide prevention, Trauma, Trauma care, Youth