Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This U.S. National Physical Activity Plan is a comprehensive set of policies, programs, and initiatives designed to increase physical activity in all segments of the U.S. population. The Plan aims to foster a national culture that supports physically active lifestyles. Its ultimate purpose is to improve health, prevent disease and disability, and enhance quality of life. It provides recommendations for nine societal sectors: business and industry; community, recreation, fitness, and parks; education; faith-based settings; healthcare; mass media; public health; sport; and transportation, land use, and community design.

Contact: National Physical Activity Plan Alliance, 921 Assembly Street, Suite 212, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (866) 365-5122 Fax: (803) 777-2504 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.physicalactivityplan.org Available from the website.

• Program Website

Keywords: Business, Communities, Education, Health care, Health promotion, Industry, Initiatives, Mass media, Physical activity, Programs, Public health, Sports

Annotation: This resource provides businesses with cost-effective tips and solutions for any industry setting to support women who are breastfeeding. Users can search by industry or by solutions to find creative options for space and time, as well as options for supporting women in large companies and small businesses. Topics include room amenities, breast pumps, options for handling expressed milk, education and professional support, promoting services to employees, and privacy. Videos are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Employee benefits, Employer initiatives, Multimedia, Parent support programs, Policy development, Working mothers

Annotation: This report presents results from an environmental scan to document the role and extent of involvement of business in community, public health, and clinical care systems. Contents include the purpose and scope; an overview of the methods including the literature review, stakeholder interviews, and case studies; and results. Topics include key levers and drivers that are important to making the business case for engaging in population health efforts such as workplace wellness, cost savings, and businesses as knowledge base. Additional topics include the role of business in population health and population health strategies. The appendices contain snapshots of foundations, coalitions, and businesses working in community health.

Contact: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-2352 Fax: (202) 334-1412 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Business, Case studies, Literature reviews, Population health, Public health, Social media

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to support community prevention leaders as they develop coalitions and engage local businesses in prevention efforts to improve employee and resident access to healthy food, physical activity, and tobacco-free environments. The guide highlights examples of fruitful public health business partnerships, explores the basis for their success, and provides insights on how to replicate these successes elsewhere. Topics include engaging with businesses in the community, determining who to engage within the business community, building relationships and recruiting businesses, making the case to businesses, working in partnership with business stakeholders, and sustaining business involvement.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Business, Coalitions, Collaboration, Communities, Community programs, Costs, Financing, Food, Health, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public health, Smoking

Annotation: This document introduces clinical health professionals and health care organization administrative staff to business intelligence (BI) concepts as they apply to health care delivery. The document defines BI, describes its value to health care organizations and health professionals, highlights key performance measures, and describes the use of decomposition diagrams to identify performance issues and other issues that may otherwise be overlooked. The document also describes the BI maturity model, which highlights a health care organization’s level of integration.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Business, Health care delivery, Measures, Models, Service integration

Annotation: This technical implementation brief describes a tool that calculates the financial value of preventive health benefits for women of child-bearing age and children. In this brief, a simulated business case study is used to describe how an employer might use the calculator to analyze the cost-savings impact that implementing preventive benefits may have on direct health care costs as well as on indirect health and productivity costs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org

Keywords: Business, Case studies, Child health, Costs, Employee benefits, Health care reform, Health care systems, Models, Preventive health services, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents findings from interviews conducted with opinion leaders from a cross section of businesses, colleges, and military branches to gain their perspectives on how well adolescents are doing in terms of their physical, mental, and emotional health. The report also discusses these opinion leaders' views on health education and wellness for adolescents and ways to create a culture of health.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescent health, Business, Colleges, Emotional development, Health education, Interviews, Mental health, Military, Public policy

Annotation: This presentation discusses the business case for investing in maternal, child, and adolescent health (MCAH) and describes a model for improving MCAH through employer-sponsored benefits and health promotion programs. Contents include a description of a resource guide on MCAH plan design, education, and communication and related resources.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Business, Child heath, Employer initiatives, Maternal health, Models, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, State programs, Work family issues

Annotation: This 5-piece resource kit is intended for employers, human resource managers, expectant and new parents, and health professionals interested in encouraging businesses and public agencies to establish, maintain, and expand lactation support programs for their employees. The five components include 1) a business case for breastfeeding; 2) easy steps to supporting breastfeeding employees; 3) a toolkit with resources for building a lactation support program; 4) an employees guide to breastfeeding and working; and 5) an outreach marketing guide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Business, Costs, Economics, Family support programs, Infant health, Policy development, Women', Working mothers, Workplace health promotion, s health

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Public Health Informatics Institute, 325 Swanton Way, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (866) 815-9704 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phii.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Business, Child health, Integrated information systems, Models, Public health, Reports

Contact: Public Health Informatics Institute, 325 Swanton Way, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (866) 815-9704 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phii.org Available from the website.

• Second Printing

Keywords: Business, Collaboration, Integrated information systems, Local health departments, Models, Public health

Annotation: This binder contains information to help develop and use a business case model to calculate the specific benefits and costs of integrating child health information systems. It includes an overview of the business case model; describes how to create a computer scenario and view the results; and explains how to interpret and modify the results to improve outcomes. Computer screen shots are provided to illustrate steps to follow in setting up and interpreting a scenario. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Public Health Informatics Institute, 325 Swanton Way, Decatur, GA 30030, Telephone: (866) 815-9704 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (800) 765-7520 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phii.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Business, Child health, Integrated information systems, Models, Public health

Annotation: This series of fact sheets discusses various classifications of uninsured Americans who could become the focus of incremental expansions, setting out key facts and basic policy design questions for each group. The following potential coverage clusters are discussed: (1) employees of small business, (2) workers who lose their jobs, (3) workers who decline employee coverage, (4) low-income parents, (5) low-income childless families, (6) the near-elderly, (7) young adults, (8) children, and (9) immigrants. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheets.

Contact: Economic and Social Research Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Suite 605, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-8877 Fax: (202) 833-8932 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.esresearch.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Families, Immigrants, Low income groups, Older adults, Parents, Public policies, Small businesses, Uninsured persons, Young adults

Annotation: This guide is for employers interested in health improvement, regardless of whether the company is looking to design a new program altogether or thinking about options to improve or expand existing programs. It provides the following: (1) information on the structure of health improvement programs, (2) the business case for health improvement, (3) examples of best practices, and (4) the means for evaluation. A summary is provided as well as tips and resources for employers. References are also included.

Contact: National Business Group on Health, 20 F Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20001-6700, Telephone: (202) 558-3000 Fax: (202) 628-9244 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.businessgrouphealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Business, Employee assistance programs, Employee benefits, Fiscal management, Models, Program development, Program evaluation, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This report summarizes RAND research from several publications dealing with states' efforts to insure the uninsured. The following topics are discussed: (1) making insurance more accessible to small businesses, (2) providing subsidies and expanding public programs, (3) constraints on states' ability to expand coverage, (4) supporting the safety net, and (5) conclusions. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report concludes with a list of selected RAND research on employment-based health insurance.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health insurance, Small businesses, State programs, Uninsured persons, Universal coverage

Annotation: This book is intended as both a how-to-do-it text and a desktop reference. Chapter 2 and the glossary of statistical terms provide information on understanding and using statistics. The book shows how to effectively search the Internet and professional online services for needed numbers. It discusses where and how to start searching, important systems and sources, and how to evaluate data for reliability. Chapters 5 through 18 discuss how to find statistics on demographics and population; industry, market, and general business; finance and economics; health and medicine; science, agriculture, and the environment; history; public opinion and trends; politics and government; sports, entertainment, and the arts; the law and crime; international issues; technology; education; and transportation.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0910965250.

Keywords: Art, Business, Crime, Demography, Economics, Education, Environment, Government, Health, History, Industry, Internet, Medicine, Political processes, Public opinion, Sports, Statistics, Technology, Transportation, Vital statistics

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-910965-28-5.

Keywords: Business, Competitive intelligence, Online databases

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Enrollment, Medicaid, New York, Small businesses, State Children', WIC Program, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a Massachusetts program called Success by Six Leadership Council, which actively enlisted business leaders as advocates for children, especially those from low-income families. The first part of the report explains lessons learned. The second part is a case study of the program.

Contact: Foundation for Child Development, 295 Madison Avenue, 40th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 867-5777 Fax: (212) 867-5844 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fcd-us.org Single copies available at no charge.

• PDF

Keywords: Business, Case studies, Child advocacy, Leadership, Legislation, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Policy development, Public policy

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Contact Phone: (202) 261-5591 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Business, Community participation, Fathers, Financial support, Media campaigns, Needs assessment, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Religious organizations, School linked programs