Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (849 total).

Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children. n.d.. Fussy babies: Infants with regulatory disorders: A case study. Rockville, MD: Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children, 1 videotape1 (VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape discusses the effects of regulatory disorders through a case example of a seventeen month child. Common symptoms, assessment, and treatment interventions are discussed for this sensory disorder. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children, 12301 Academy Way, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 984-4444 Fax: (301) 881-8043 E-mail: info@louriecenter.org Web Site: http://www.louriecenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, Infant behavior, Infant stimulation, Videotapes

Bogenschneider K, Small S, Riley D. n.d.. An ecological, risk-focused approach for addressing youth-at-risk issues. Chevy Chase, MD: National 4-H Center, 24 pp.

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: info@fourhcouncil.edu Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors

San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project. n.d.. Including all of us: Caring for children with special needs in early childhood settings—Manual for child care providers. San Diego, CA: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 218 pp.

Annotation: This manual was developed to accompany an 8-hour class. It introduces the concept of mainstreaming and relates it to the principles of early childhood education and best practice guidelines for caring for children with special needs. Module one includes sections on the importance of working with families, ethical issues, laws protecting children with special needs, typical vs. atypical development, how children learn, suggestions for working with parents are included, and diversity resources. Module two deals with motor development and concludes with a bibliography and references. Module three covers social-emotional development and behavioral issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 6505 Alvarado Road, Suite 108, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-4373 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Americans With Disabilities Act, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Families, Learning, Legislation, Mainstreaming, Motor development, Parents, Psychosocial development, Special education

Werner EE. n.d.. Final report: The Kauai Study—Follow-up at adolescence. [Los Angeles, CA: University of California at Los Angeles?], 398 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to present the findings of the fourth phase of a longitudinal study of a multi-racial cohort of youth, born on the island of Kauai, Hawaii in 1955. The results of the first three phases of the study (prenatal period to age 10) were published in the book The Children of Kauai (1971). The purposes of this report are to follow up where the previous study left off at age 10, to document the course of the learning and behavior disorders diagnosed in childhood, to take a look at new problems and new promises in adolescence, to examine a concerned community's response to its at risk youth, to consider factors that contributed to improvement, and to evaluate the predictive power of the diagnostic tools of the previous phases of the study. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Hawaii, Learning disabilities, Reports

Oakland Healthy Start. n.d.. Fatherhood. Oakland, CA: Oakland Healthy Start, and Studio Three, Samuel Merritt College, 1 videotape (10:46 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch). (Oakland Healthy Start video series)

Annotation: This videotape contains parenting information for new fathers. It covers the psychological implications of parenthood and the changes it brings to the parent's life, the physical care of the baby, and an explanation of infant behavior. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-0978 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: fhaskins@admin2.mail.co.alameda.ca.us Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Fathers, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infant feeding, Parenting, Videotapes

Poisson S. n.d.. Maternal and Child Health Cooperative Agreement [Final report]. Rockville, MD: Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children, 52 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and implement comprehensive and family-centered approaches to early identification, assessment, and treatment of infants and young children who are at risk for or suffering from emotional and/or regulatory difficulties. To this end, the Regional Center for Infants and Young Children: (1) Monitored types of families and children referred to and receiving services from an agency specializing in the early detection of emotional disorders or potential risk; (2) developed principles and technology to identify infants and young children/families at risk for psychosocial and developmental difficulties; (3) developed comprehensive, family-centered approaches to assessment and diagnosis; (4) developed prevention-oriented, family-centered approaches to intervention; (5) developed and disseminated technical assistance and training approaches; (6) engaged State and local maternal and child health (MCH) agencies in the project; and (7) accessed multiple financial resources to support its efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158236.

Keywords: Affective Disorders, Behavioral Disorders, Data Collection, Family-Centered Health Care, High risk groups: Families, High risk infants, Parents, Regulatory Disorders, Screening Tools, Temperament

Hansen KA, Kaufmann RK, Saifer S. n.d.. Education and the culture of democracy: Early childhood practice. Washington, DC: Children's Resources International, 132 pp. (Step by Step: A program for children and families)

Annotation: This book provides a framework for understanding the relationship between early childhood education and the capacity to function effectively in a democracy. It offers guidance, examples, methods, and language to help prepare young children to grow within the culture of democracy. Topics include education and democracy; the child-centered classroom; creating a plan for the child-centered classroom; equality; skills, talent, and creativity; encouragement of positive behavior; development of healthy habits; communication with other children, parents, and others; family and community involvement, and the transition to elementary school.

Contact: Children's Resources International, 2801 New Mexico Avenue, N.W., Suite 1020, Washington, DC 20007, E-mail: pcoughlin@childrensresources.org Document Number: ISBN 1-889544-02-7.

Keywords: Child behavior, Communication, Communities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Elementary school children, Families, Parents, Preschool children, Young children

Healthy Teen Network and ETR Associates. n.d.. Weaving science & practice: Frequently asked questions about science-based approaches. Baltimore, MD: Healthy Teen Network, 20 pp.

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: info@healthyteennetwork.org Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Shelov SP, Altmann TR, Hannermann RE. 2019. Caring for your baby and young child: Birth to age 5. (7th ed.). New York, NY: Bantam Books, 1 v.

Annotation: This guide to the first five years of life gives parents and caregivers comprehensive guidance on essential baby and childcare topics including breastfeeding, immunizations, sleep, and much more. All of the advice, including the complete health encyclopedia, has been fully revised and updated to reflect current AAP policy

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

Keywords: Behavior, Child care, Child development, Child health, Childbirth, Children, Developmental stages, Emergencies, First aid, Immunization, Infant development, Infant health, Infants, Parenting

DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement. 2019. Effective communication for oral health professionals. Boston, MA: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, multiple videos.

Annotation: This series of videos presents skills and techniques that oral health professionals can use to engage patients or parents and help them make oral health behavior changes. The videos promote the principles of motivational interviewing, person-centered care, and trust and collaboration between the health care team and the patient or parent. Topics include engaging and agenda setting, following up on patient goals, an open-ended question during a caries-risk conversation, a closed-ended question during a caries-risk conversation, a caries-risk conversation, ask-tell-ask, questions and reflection while discussing patient values, and discussing fluoride with a parent.

Contact: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: http://www.dentaquestpartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Videos, Fluoride, Behavior, Collaboration, Risk assessment

Neufeld L, Gero A. [2017]. Adolescent oral health campaign final report: 2016-2017 school year. [Salt Lake City, UT: Utah Department of Health, Oral Health Program], 9 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about activities of the Adolescent Oral Health Campaign during academic year 2016–2017. The purpose of the campaign was to educate students in middle school and high school in Utah, especially along the Wasatch Front, about oral health. The goal was to increase positive oral health behaviors and increase use of oral health services. The report describes the campaign’s goals, objectives, methods, and results.

Contact: Utah Department of Health, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 142002, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2002, Telephone: (801) 273-2995 Web Site: http://health.utah.gov/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Final reports, Health behaviors, Health education, High school students, Middle schools, Oral health, State surveys, Students, Utah

American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health. 2017. Your teens may think that they don't need you anymore, but they'll always need their teeth!. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 3 items.

Annotation: These resources for parents provide guidance on helping adolescents make decisions that affect their oral health and overall health. Topics include toothbrushing, flossing, visiting the dentist, eating healthy foods, avoiding tobacco, and drinking water with fluoride. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: fluoride@aap.org Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Dental caries, Health behavior, Health literacy, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials

Sweetland J, Gibbons C, Vo C. 2017. Reframing school discipline: A strategic communications playbook. Washington, DC: FrameWorks Institute, 22 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines 12 evidence-based framing strategies that communicators in the education, justice, and civil rights sectors can use to challenge exclusionary discipline policies, build support for reducing racial disparities in disciplinary outcomes, and cultivate awareness of alternative approaches such as restorative justice and trauma-informed schools.

Contact: FrameWorks Institute, 1333 H Street, N.W., Suite 700 West, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: info@FrameWorksInstitute.org Web Site: http://www.FrameWorksInstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior, Communication, Discipline, Juvenile justice, Mental health, Schools, Stress, Students, Trauma

Jensen F. 2017. The power of the adolescent brain. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1 video (30 min.) (Think, Act, Grow (TAG) Talks)

Annotation: This video shares what researchers have learned about adolescent brain development, functioning, and capacity. It explains the strengths and potential of the adolescent brain; addresses learning, risk behavior, addiction, and mental health issues; and provides practical suggestions for families with adolescents. The video is available as a full-length (30 minute) program, as well as in short, individual segments, and is accompanied by citations, additional resources, a guide to technical terms, and discussion guides for professionals and family members.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Adolescent Health, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2846 E-mail: oah.gov@hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/ash/oah Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Child development, Families, Health promotion, Mental health, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Risk taking

Courtemanche C, Marton J, Ukert B, Yelowitz A, Zapata D. 2017. Early effects of the Affordable Care Act on health care access, risky health behaviors, and self-assessed health. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 71 pp. (NBER working paper; no. 23269)

Annotation: This paper analyzes data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System on the impact of the Affordable Care Act's (ACA's) 2014 provisions on a variety of outcomes related to health care access, risky health behaviors, and self-assessed health. The paper provides estimates of the overall effect of the ACA on these outcomes and examines differential impacts resulting from state heterogeneity with respect to the choice to expand Medicaid via the ACA.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health, Adults, Health behavior, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Population surveillance, State programs

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention PRAMStat System. 2017. Prevalence of selected maternal and child health indicators–United States, all sites, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), 2012 and 2013. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, multiple items.

Annotation: This document reports the prevalence of selected maternal and child health indicators. Topics include nutrition and physical activity, prepregnancy weight, substance use, intimate partner violence, depression, pregnancy intention and family planning, health care services, oral health, health insurance status, infant sleep practices, and breastfeeding practices.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Body weight, Depression, Domestic violence, Family planning, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Population surveillance, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperium, Safety, Sleep position, Substance use behavior

Oregon Health Authority. 2017. Behavioral Health Collaborative report. Salem, OR: Oregon Health Authority, 22 pp.

Annotation: This report presents recommendations for transforming the behavioral health system in Oregon into a coordinated-care model that will integrate behavioral health care with physical care and oral health care. Topics include governance and finance, standards of care and competencies, work force, and information exchange and coordination of care.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, 500 Summer Street, N.E., E-20, Salem, OR 97301-1097, Telephone: (503) 947-2340 Secondary Telephone: (877) 398-9238 Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: OHPBinfo@state.or.us Web Site: http://www.oregon.gov/oha Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior, Collaboration, Coordination, Mental health, Models, Oregon, Service integration, Statewide planning, Systems development, Work force

Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2017. Dear colleague [letter]. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This letter for health professionals provides information on best practices for oral health care for pregnant women and their young children. Topics include the importance of oral health care during pregnancy, the impact of tooth decay during pregnancy and early childhood, and helping women with low incomes access oral health care during pregnancy and the postpartum period. Additional topics include delivering oral health messages during pregnancy, implementing oral health interventions as part of well-child care, and providing comprehensive oral health care during pregnancy and beginning at age 1.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Dental caries, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Infants, Low income groups, Models, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Young children

Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2017. Protect your baby's smile & health before and after birth. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women provides information about oral health care during and after pregnancy and throughout life. It also offers information about tooth decay and steps that women can take to protect their infant’s oral health. Topics include the safety and importance of oral health care during pregnancy, obtaining oral examinations early, and taking care of oral health at home. Information about accessing oral health care is also included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation. 2017. Giving more babies a healthy start in life: An Anthem Foundation & March of Dimes collaboration to reduce preterm births. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes national and state initiatives to scale up and implement programs that encourage and facilitate first trimester prenatal care and help at-risk mothers commit to behaviors that reduce the numbers of low birthweight infants. Topics include a group prenatal care model called CenteringPregnancy®, smoking cessation programs, quality improvement initiatives related to the elimination of early elective deliveries, and Healthy Babies Are Worth the Wait Community Programs®.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community based programs, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health behavior, Health promotion, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Low birthweight, Models, National initiatives, Peer support programs, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.