Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (551 total).

Oklahoma City-County Health Department. n.d.. Keep your baby safe from tobacco smoke. Oklahoma City, OK: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Body D. [2020]. The true cost of caregiving: Why an equitable care system for children, adults, and elders is essential to household financial security. Washington, DC: Aspen Institute Financial Security Program, 29 pp. (exec. summ. 3 pp.).

Annotation: This report illustrates four pillars of care: child care and early education, adult and elder care, family caregiving and self care, and professional caregiving. It addresses (1) how existing care systems support households; (2) what the greatest unmet care needs are for households; (3) how design principles can better address care needs; and (4) what promising policy proposals and opportunities exist to improve household financial security.

Contact: Aspen Institute, One Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036-1133, Telephone: (202) 736-5800 Fax: (202) 467-0790 Web Site: http://www.aspeninstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Costs, Early childhood education, Elder care, Financial support, Public policies

Casamassimo PS, Chin JR, Conte CE, Crystal YO, Ginsberg E, McGuire E, Estrella Yuson MR, Wright R. 2020. Treating tooth decay: How to make the best restorative choices for children's health. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This brief focuses on restorative choices for decayed teeth in children. It discusses the importance of treating tooth decay in children, what to consider when choosing the type of restoration, and how cavities are formed. Detailed information, including treatment name, description, best uses, success rates, and average costs, for specific types of restorations is presented. Action steps for policymakers, insurers, pediatric dentists, and parents and caregivers are included. The brief also offers tips for tooth decay prevention. zzz

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Financing, Oral health, Prevention, Treatment

Freed M, Neuman T, Jacobson G. 2019. Drilling down on dental coverage and costs for Medicare beneficiaries. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 25 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief reviews the state of oral health for older adults on Medicare. It describes the health and economic consequences of foregoing oral health care, sources of dental coverage, out-of-pocket costs of oral health care, and use of oral health services. Data and methods are discussed.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Costs, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicare, Older adults, Oral health, Statistical data

Lustig A, Cabrera M. 2019. Promoting health and cost control in states: How states can improve community health & well-being through policy change. Washington, DC: Trust for America's Health, 87 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report highlights evidence-based and -informed policies that states can adopt to improve health and well-being of their residents and to control healthcare costs. Policies cover these areas: the connection between health and learning; healthy living and connectedness through the built environment; healthy behaviors; healthy and affordable housing; and economic opportunities. It provides descriptions of the policies, summaries of the health and economic evidence, case examples of policy implementation, and considerations for implementation.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: info@tfah.org Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Evidence, Health care costs, Health policy, Public policy, State initiatives

Baker SD, Lee JY, Wright R. 2019. The importance of the age one dental visit. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 16 pp.

Annotation: This document focuses on the importance of taking a child to the dentist by age 1 to prevent oral disease. It discusses the prevalence of tooth decay in children and the consequences of delaying treatment, the cost savings that early prevention can confer, reducing costly trips to the emergency room by investing in prevention, the effectiveness of early intervention, and overcoming barriers to accessing oral health care early. It also discusses the benefits of integrating oral health care into primary care. zzz

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Early intervention, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Young children

Honigfeld L, Dworkin P. 2018. Investing in child health to ensure equity, population health, and long term cost savings: Opportunities in state health care reform. Farmington, CT: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 3 pp. (Issue brief; no. 62)

Annotation: This issue brief addresses value based payment as an important model in health care reform for children's services and offers recommendations for including children's health in health care reform efforts. Efforts in Connecticut are described.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: info@chdi.org Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Connecticut, Costs, Health care reform, Health equity, State programs

Fish-Parcham C. 2018. Treating pain is not enough: Why states' emergency dental benefits fall short. Washington, DC: Families USA, 12 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This document presents information from a survey conducted by Families USA of 14 states that cover emergency-only oral health services. Selected topics include what can be learned from states that offer emergency-only coverage, how responding states’ dental benefits differ, states in which managed-care plans provide adults with extra offerings, costs to states of paying for emergency department visits when appropriate oral health services are not available, the limited availability of alternative oral health care resources for adults, and the inadequacy of emergency-only dental care for individuals with serious medical conditions.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental insurance, Emergency medical services, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, State programs, Surveys

Shapiro L. 2017. Medicaid: Cost-effective coverage that works for kids. Washington, DC: First Focus, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Medicaid program and the benefits of Medicaid coverage for children. Topics include reducing the number of uninsured children; covering children in times of economic crisis; providing primary coverage for children of color; and ensuring access to comprehensive, child-specific services including services for children with special health care needs. Additional topics include program design and operation, affordability, and spending on children compared with spending on other populations.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Families, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Vulnerability

Sealant Work Group. 2017. Report of the Sealant Work Group: Recommendations & products. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides work group recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school- based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at highest risk for den- tal caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence- based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Children's Dental Health Project. 2017. Why dental coverage matters: A tool-kit. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, multiple items

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help educate policymakers about the importance of oral health coverage. Topics include why oral health is important, consequences of poor oral health, the need for affordable oral health coverage, key messages about oral health coverage, and oral health for children in health reform discussions.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Barriers, Children, Communication, Costs, Dental care, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Resources for professionals

Gupta N, Yarbrough C, Vujicic M, Blatz A, Harrison B. 2017. Medicaid fee-for-service reimbursement rates for child and adult dental care services for all states, 2016. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 15 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents findings from an analysis of Medicaid reimbursement rates for oral health care in all states and the District of Columbia. The brief discusses Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) reimbursement for child and adult services relative to dentists’ fees and private dental insurance reimbursement, as well as other aspects of Medic- aid FFS reimbursement, including reimbursement for adult services in states with extensive adult benefits within their Medicaid programs.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Dentists, Health care costs, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Physicians, Provider participation, Reimbursement, State programs

Oakes J, Maier A, Daniel J. 2017. Community schools: An evidence-based strategy for equitable school improvement. Boulder, CO: National Education Policy Center and Palo Alto, CA: Learning Policy Institute, 26 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines the research on community schools, with two primary emphases. First, it explores whether the 2015 federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) opens the possibility of investing in well-designed community schools to meet the educational needs of low-achieving students in high-poverty schools. And second, it provides support to school, district, and state leaders as they consider, propose, or implement a community school intervention in schools targeted for comprehensive support. An online research compendium summarizing the referenced studies referenced is also available.

Contact: Learning Policy Institute, 1530 Page Mill Road, Suite 200, Palo Alto, CA 94303, Telephone: (650) 332-9797 Web Site: https://learningpolicyinstitute.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Community development, Costs, Federal legislation, Intervention, Leadership, Policy analysis, Poverty, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research, Schools, Service integration, Students, Vulnerability

Children's Dental Services. 2017. Dental therapy: How mid-level providers can increase access to care, lower costs, and help increase the effectiveness of community clinics. Minneapolis, MN: Children's Dental Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about how using mid-level oral health professionals instead of dentists to perform some oral health services can help increase access to care, lower costs, and increase the effectiveness of community clinics in Minnesota. The document explains why Minnesota needs mid-level oral health professionals, lists universities in the state that offer dental therapy and advanced dental therapy degrees, and provides specifics showing how using dental therapists can decrease per-patient costs and increase the number of patients served. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway Street, N.E., Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 746-1530 Secondary Telephone: (866) 543-6009 Fax: (612) 746-1531 Web Site: http://childrensdentalservices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health care costs, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Children's Dental Health Project. 2016–. EndCavities. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

National Center for Health Statistics. 2016. Health, United States 20__. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, annual.

Annotation: This annual report presents an overview of national trends in health statistics. Contents include charts with information on selected measures of life expectancy and mortality, fertility and natality, morbidity, disability measures, health risk factors, measures of health and disease prevalence, prevention, health insurance, use and access, and personal health care expenditures. The report also contains trend tables organized around four major subject areas: health status and determinants, use of health resources, health care resources, and health care expenditures and payers. Previous editions and related data products are available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Costs, Data, Health care utilization, Health objectives, Health statistics, Measures, Risk factors, Trends

Georgia State University School of Public Health. 2016. SafeCare curriculum. Atlanta, GA: Georgia State University School of Public Health, 4 items.

Annotation: This resource provides materials for the SafeCare, an evidence-based, parent-training curriculum for parents of infants and children from birth to age 5 who are at-risk for or have been reported for child neglect or physical abuse. Topics include the evidence-base, cost-benefit, cost of implementation of SafeCare; the structure of the parent child/infant interaction, health, home safety, and family engagement skills modules; certification and support including the role of the home visitor, coach, and trainer; and implementation planning and sustainability. Curricula are available for providers (in English and Spanish), coaches, and trainers.

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development, 14 Marietta Street, N.W., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://healthy.gsu.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Curricula, Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Model programs, Motivation, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Program planning, Safety, Sustainability, Training, Young children

Reusch C. 2016. Preventing early childhood tooth decay: What states can do. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, Multiple items.

Annotation: This brief explains the implications of a simulation model for preventing dental caries in early childhood in New York and discusses opportunities to implement policies to align the oral-health-care-delivery system with established science. The brief describes a risk-based approach to oral health care and a number of other approaches for crafting dental benefits in a cost-effective manner. Contents include program-specific recommendations, systems-change opportunities, and Medicaid reform options.

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Disease management, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Intervention, Models, New York, Oral health, Policy development, Program improvement, Risk assessment, Service delivery systems, State initiatives, Young children

Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2016. Dental insurance coverage for Rhode Island adults: After the implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Providence, RI: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief explains why dental insurance coverage matters and describes opportunities for adults, including pregnant women, to obtain dental insurance under the Affordable Care Act. Contents include data on recent dental visits and on dental insurance status among adults in Rhode Island, information about changes in dental insurance coverage for the period 2012–2014 and about who does not have coverage, and recommendations to make dental insurance benefits more affordable and accessible.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2016. Immigration detention: Additional actions needed to strengthen management and oversight of detainees in medical care. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 65 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the provision and oversight of medical care, including care for women and children, in immigration detention facilities including care. Topics include the extent to which the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) has processes for administering detainee medical care and maintaining cost information for care, monitors and assesses compliance with medical care standards, and oversees processes to obtain and address complaints about detainee medical care.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Compliance, Costs, Immigrants, Medical assistance, Residential facilities, Standards, Women

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.