Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the importance of wearing mouth guards during athletic activities. It explains what mouth guards are and who should wear them. It describes the characteristics that mouth guards should have and explains the differences among three types of mouth guards: stock mouth guards, boil and bite mouth guards, and custom-made mouth guards. The fact sheet also discusses how to care for mouth guards and provides statistical information about mouth guard use.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Athletics, Consumer education materials, Injury prevention, Mouth guards, Mouth protectors, Safety equipment, Sports

Annotation: This U.S. National Physical Activity Plan is a comprehensive set of policies, programs, and initiatives designed to increase physical activity in all segments of the U.S. population. The Plan aims to foster a national culture that supports physically active lifestyles. Its ultimate purpose is to improve health, prevent disease and disability, and enhance quality of life. It provides recommendations for nine societal sectors: business and industry; community, recreation, fitness, and parks; education; faith-based settings; healthcare; mass media; public health; sport; and transportation, land use, and community design.

Contact: National Physical Activity Plan Alliance, 921 Assembly Street, Suite 212, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (866) 365-5122 Fax: (803) 777-2504 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.physicalactivityplan.org Available from the website.

• Program Website

Keywords: Business, Communities, Education, Health care, Health promotion, Industry, Initiatives, Mass media, Physical activity, Programs, Public health, Sports

Annotation: This toolkit provides resources to help schools implement Project UNIFY, an initiative that focuses on social inclusion that brings youth with and without intellectual disabilities together through sports and related activities. The resources describe Project UNIFY's vision, its major components, how to get started, implementation models, the connection to equal education and inclusion, evaluation reports, and the project's impact.

Contact: Special Olympics, 1133 19th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3604, Telephone: (202) 628-3630 Secondary Telephone: (800) 700-8585 Fax: (202) 824-0200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.specialolympics.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Physical fitness, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Inclusive schools, Information services, Mental retardation, School health programs, Sports

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of athletes in grades 7-10, coaches of athletes in grades 7-10, and parents with children who play sports in grades 1-10 about sports injuries and what is being done to keep young athletes safe while playing sports. The report provides information on sports injuries in children, players who play injured, injuries resulting from foul play, and opportunities to improve coaches' knowledge and skills. Tips on sports safety are also included.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Athletes, Child safety, Children, Injury prevention, International health, International programs, Program improvement, Recreational safety, Risk taking, Safety programs, Sports equipment, Sports injuries, Team sports

Annotation: This document summarizes physical activity and physical education policies and practices of secondary schools (middle schools, high schools) across 26 jurisdictions (18 states, 6 large urban school districts, 1 territory, and 1 tribe). Topics include requirements, curricula and standards, instruction, student assessment, school-based intramural sports programs or physical activity clubs, teacher qualifications, and professional development.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/NCCDPHP/dph Available from the website.

• PDF
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Assessment, Curricula, High schools, Inservice training, Middle schools, Physical activity, Physical education, School age children, Sports, Standards, Students, Teachers

Annotation: This document provides findings related to the effectiveness of community-based interventions to encourage use of helmets, facemasks, and mouth guards in contact sports and offers a general task force finding on the strength of available evidence to support such interventions. Information is presented on the rationale for the task force finding, including the basis for the finding, applicability and generalizability issues, data-quality issues, other benefits and harms, considerations for implementation, and evidence gaps.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• PDF

Keywords: Injury prevention, Intervention, Oral health, Research, Safety, Sports injuries

Annotation: This resources provides information on treating and preventing maxillofacial injuries, also referred to as facial trauma. Topics include the role of oral and maxillofacial surgeons in treating injuries to teeth, the mouth, jaws, and facial structures. The resource also discusses the importance of making safety gear such as protective mouth guards, masks, and helmets part of standard athletic equipment. Recommendations for injury prevention in specific sports are included.

Contact: American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, 9700 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, IL 60018-5701, Telephone: (847) 678-6200 Secondary Telephone: (800) 822-6637 Fax: (847) 678-6286 Web Site: http://myoms.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Facial injuries, Injury prevention, Oral health, Sports equipment, Sports injuries

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to help state maternal and child health and injury and violence prevention programs respond to the needs of infants, adolescents, and adults who are at risk for traumatic brain injury (TBI). Topics include fall prevention, motor vehicle safety, bicycle safety, sports safety, and abuse prevention. It also contains links to data, research studies, information on policy and legislation, prevention strategies, tools for program planning, and a list of national organizations that address TBI.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2020 Resource Guide
• Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycle injuries, Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child safety, Children, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Physical abuse, Sports injuries, Violence prevention

Annotation: This web site contains fact sheets to provide public health professionals with a summary of information on a traumatic brain injury (TBI) that affects many children and adolescents, Topics include an overview of sports-related concussions, strategies for preventing sports-related concussions and subsequent injury, legislation on sports-related concussions, the role of public health professionals in prevention, information and resources on TBI, as well as references and suggested readings.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheets
• Website

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Injury prevention, Public health education, Resources for professionals, Sports injuries

Annotation: This website contains tools to help those who play a role in keeping children and adolescents safe from concussion and other serious brain injuries. Included are fact sheets, videos, training courses, and tutorials to assist parents in selecting a safety helmet, recognizing the signs of concussion, and understanding the science behind brain injuries and how to safeguard against them.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Fax: (404) 653-0330 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

• Website
• Fact Sheet For Highschool Parents

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injuries, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Safety, Sports equipment, Sports injuries

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses ways to reduce the risk of concussion during sports and recreational activities and the role of preventive equipment in prevention. The fact sheet includes tips for coaches, parents, and athletes, discusses findings from the literature and recommendations from professional organizations, and provides a list of related fact sheets.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Athletes, Child health, Education, Guidelines, Head injuries, Prevention, Safety, Sports, Training

Annotation: This report provides information about the science of sports-related concussion in children and adolescents. Topics include an overview of normal brain development; considerations pertaining to the recognition, diagnosis, and acute management of concussions; treatment and management of individuals with concussion symptoms that persist beyond the typical 1- to 2-week recovery period; issues surrounding repetitive head impacts that do not produce the signs and symptoms of a concussion, as well as multiple concussions; interventions that may reduce the risk of sports-related concussions; and legislation directed toward concussion education and athlete protection. A brief is also available.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website; print copy and ebook available for a charge from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29637-3.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Brain injuries, Children, Legislation, Patient care management, Research, Risk management, Sports injuries

Annotation: This document describes the benefits and potential risks to student athletes while playing sports and general recommended actions for schools, parents, and advocates to minimize or eliminate adverse outcomes among secondary school athletes. Topics include providing proper equipment, available health care professionals, and a safe environment. The document also provides specific recommended actions related to cardiac events, neurologic injuries, environmental / exertional conditions, and dietary / substance-induced conditions.

Contact: National Athletic Trainers' Association, 1620 Valwood Parkway, Suite 115, Carrollton, TX 75006, Telephone: (214) 637-6282 Secondary Telephone: (860) 437-5700 Fax: (214) 637-2206 Web Site: http://www.nata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Athletes, Community action, Health care delivery, Injury prevention, Parents, Physical activity, Policy development, Risk factors, Safety, Safety equipment, Secondary schools, Sports, Students

Annotation: This report provides information about state injury prevention policies and about recommendations for evidence-based strategies to reduce injuries in the United States. It focuses on a series of 10 injury-prevention indicators across each state that, collectively, offer an overview of areas of strength and weakness in the state's injury-prevention policies. Topics include vehicle injuries; violence-related injuries; falls; drowning; sports- and recreation-related injuries; injuries from poisoning; research tools for reducing injuries; and fire-related injuries.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Burns, Drowning, Falls, Injuries, Injury prevention, Poisoning, Recreational injuries, Research, Sports injuries, State initiatives, Transportation injuries, Violence

Annotation: This web page, which is part of a website about vision in general, provides information about eye health in sports and recreation. Topics include high-risk sports (baseball, basketball, and racquet sports), other risky leisure activities (such as home repairs, yardwork, cleaning, and cooking), and diagnosis of concussion in athletes. The site also offers options for finding an eye doctor by location and for asking an eye doctor questions.

Contact: American Academy of Ophthalmology, 655 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94109, Telephone: (415) 561-8500 Fax: (415) 561-8533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aao.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Baseball, Basketball, Eye care, Eye injuries, Physical activity, Prevention, Prevention, Sports injuries

Annotation: This report examines (1) what is known about the physical education (PE) opportunities that schools provide for students with disabilities and how schools provide these, (2) what is known about extracurricular athletic opportunities that schools provide for students with disabilities and how schools provide these, and (3) how the Department of Education assists states and schools in these areas. Recommendations for improving opportunities for students with disabilities in PE and athletics are offered.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Physical activity, Physical education, Programs, School age children, Schools, Sports

Annotation: This handbook provides health and safety information and tips for individuals who coach youth sports in Idaho. Topics include tobacco use prevention, asthma, sun safety, nutrition, diabetes, injury, and violence prevention. Contents include references, resources, and handouts.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Mentors, Physical activity, Prevention, Safety, Sports

Annotation: This brochure provides information about vision needs for school-age children and adolescents (ages 6-18). The brochure offers information on why good vision is important during this period and discusses vision skills needed for school success, signs of eye and vision problems, when a vision exam is needed, and sports vision and eye protection.

Contact: American Optometric Association, 243 North Lindbergh Boulevard, First Floor , St. Louis, MO 63141, Telephone: (314) 991-4100 Secondary Telephone: (800) 365-2219 Fax: (314) 991-4101 Web Site: http://www.aoanet.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Safety, School age children, Sports injuries, Vision, Vision disorders, Vision tests

Annotation: This document describes the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's research agenda, 2009-2018, which focuses on answering questions that will have a relatively rapid impact on how we prevent injuries and reduce their consequences. Topics include cross-cutting priorities for injury research, injury response; unintentional injury prevention at home and in the community, preventing injuries in sports, recreation, and exercise, (4) preventing transportation injuries; preventing child maltreatment, sexual violence and intimate partner violence, preventing suicidal behavior, and preventing youth violence.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Child abuse, Communities, Disabilities, Domestic violence, Injuries, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Recreational injuries, Rehabilitation, Research, Residential injuries, Sports injuries, Suicide prevention, Violence, Violence prevention

Annotation: This publication is geared toward helping health departments, coaches, and school administrators plan, implement, and evaluate tobacco-free sports policies, programs, and initiatives.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Campaigns, Child health, Community programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Resource materials, Schools, Smoking, Sports, Team sports