Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This booklet describes for parents the safety criteria they should look for when choosing furniture, equipment, and toys for infants. Detailed drawings and texts provide information on how to judge the safety of cribs, gates, high chairs, playpens, toys, walkers, carriers, carrier seats, changing tables, diaper pails, hook-on chairs, pacifiers, strollers, and carriages. Tips for the safe use of such items and for general household safety are also included, as is a checklist of safety features for each item.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: info@cpsc.gov Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Product safety, Safety, Toys

Annotation: This videotape is for new parents and discusses newborn care at home. It covers preparing the home before the baby arrives, normal infant development, and aspects of physical care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: fhaskins@admin2.mail.co.alameda.ca.us Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant health, Videotapes

Annotation: This project conducted activities on the state and county level, primarily addressing the risk for poisoning, burns, scalds, and motor vehicle injuries for children 4 years of age and younger. Project objectives were to: (1) Develop strategies to make passive injury prevention measures available and accessible, (2) develop incentives for the use of passive injury prevention measures, (3) provide the public with information so that informed decisions could be made to prevent childhood injury, and (4) develop a plan for injury surveillance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198364.

Keywords: Burns, Drowning, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Low income groups, Motor vehicle crashes, Poisoning, Safety

Annotation: The purpose of the Oklahoma Pediatric Injury Control Project was to increase the functional capacity of the Maternal and Child Health Service of the Oklahoma State Department of Health to address the problem of pediatric injuries. The objectives of the project address the leading causes of childhood mortality in Oklahoma - motor vehicle crashes, submersions and burns. The overall methodology focused on utilization of intra- and interagency coalitions. Specific strategies included car seat loaners programs, drowning and burn prevention education activities, and smoke alarm programs. The project successfully carried out objectives related to prevention of motor vehicle injuries, drowning and burns. By empowering collaborating agencies and programs, the project has assured continuation of a focus on prevention of pediatric injuries in Oklahoma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161569.

Keywords: Burns, Car Seats, Child, Community-Based Education Programs, Drowning, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicle crashes, Parents, Poisons, Safety

Annotation: The goal of this demonstration project was to develop and implement a comprehensive health and safety curriculum in child day care settings to improve the health status of children. A comprehensive educational program was developed and presented in the day care setting with a positive parenting component, a children's component, and a day care worker component. This educational curriculum demonstrated positive changes in child health indicators, day care environment, and safety, and increased knowledge of child development, health, and safety issues on the part of parents and day care workers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-182811.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Child safety, Health Education, Immunization, Parents, Preschoolers, Rural Populations, Urban Populations

Annotation: The overall goal of the Arizona EMSC project was to reduce childhood mortality and morbidity by (1) providing broad-based training and education in pediatric emergency care to medical personnel involved in the prehospital and early hospital emergency medical care, and (2) helping establish childhood injury prevention programs throughout the State. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121909.

Keywords: Bicycle Helmets, Bicycle Safety, Car seats, Drowning, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Injury Prevention, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC, Seat Belts

Annotation: This brochure provides simple steps that families can take to make their environment healthier. Topics include label reading, noise, carbon monoxide alarms, child safety, job hazards, allergies, water pollution, lead, radon, overheating, ozone, handwashing, healthy eating, tobacco products, and sun exposure.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-2233, Telephone: (919) 541-3345 Fax: (919) 541-4395 E-mail: webcenter@niehs Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Allergies, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Families, Lead poisoning, Radon, Safety, Sun exposure, Water pollution

Annotation: This pamphlet for parents describes care and safety for children age one year until entry into school. Topics include growth and development, building personality, discipline, prevention of disease and defects, prevention of accidents, proper nutrition, and daily child care. Additional topics include play and playthings, and care of the sick child. An index concludes the pamphlet.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Child safety, Developmental stages, Disease prevention, Hygiene, Injury prevention, Nutrition

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This brochure provides guidelines to help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in child care settings. It provides an overview of SIDS; a description of safe sleep practices for infants; and the rules that apply in the state of Minnesota when a death occurs in a child care setting. The brochure also describes sources of support and services that are available to providers who have lost an infant due to SIDS.

Contact: Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota, 2525 Chicago Avenue South; MS-50-2165, Minneapolis, MN 55404, Telephone: (612) 813-6285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 72-3812 Fax: (612) 813-7344 Web Site: http://www.childrensmn.org/patientfamily/family-services-a-resources/sid-center/the-minnesota-sudden-infant-death-center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Infants, Minnesota, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, State legislation

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Healthy Child Care America cooperative agreement program, which promotes improving children's health and safety in early education and child care programs where a majority of children under six years of age spend their day. It contains brief descriptions of each partner. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Training Institute for Child Care Health Consultants, University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, 116-A South Merritt Mill Road, CB# 8126, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8126, Telephone: (919) 966-3780 Fax: (919) 843-4752 E-mail: nti@unc.edu Web Site: http://www.nti.unc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health programs, Child care, Child safety, Consultants

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the roles and knowledge of a child care health consultant (CCHC), what a CCHC can do for a child care program, where to find information and national resources, and how to find and pay for a CCHC. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Training Institute for Child Care Health Consultants, University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, 116-A South Merritt Mill Road, CB# 8126, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8126, Telephone: (919) 966-3780 Fax: (919) 843-4752 E-mail: nti@unc.edu Web Site: http://www.nti.unc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child health programs, Child safety, Consultants

Annotation: This video introduces the role of the child care health consultant (CCHC) and presents the experiences of child care center directors, health consultants, and consultant trainers. It addresses what CCHCs do, how programs know they are effective, who can be a CCHC, and the role of the National Training Institute. The video may be viewed online, downloaded, or ordered for a small fee. A video transcript is also available on the website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Training Institute for Child Care Health Consultants, University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, 116-A South Merritt Mill Road, CB# 8126, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8126, Telephone: (919) 966-3780 Fax: (919) 843-4752 E-mail: nti@unc.edu Web Site: http://www.nti.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child health programs, Child safety, Consultants, Multimedia

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: These resources provide guidance for parents and other caregivers on creating a safe sleep environment for infants including bassinet, crib, and play yard safety. Resources include posters (Bare is Best and Keep Baby Safe in Play Yard Space), a safety guide (A Safer Generation of Cribs: New Federal Requirements), a 4-minute video (Learn How to Put Your Baby to Sleep Safely), and a 12-minute video (Safe Sleep for Babies). Links to guidance for businesses, news videos, recalls, a blog, and regulations are also provided.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: info@cpsc.gov Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Federal initiatives, Infant equipment, Multimedia, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides guidance for businesses and manufacturers about U.S. government standards and requirements for full-size infant cribs. Contents include the definition and purpose of the infant full-size crib. Topics also include limits for surface coating and lead and phthalate content, testing and certification; registration cards; and tracking labels. The type of mattresses that should be used in a full-size crib are also discussed. Companion guidance on non-full-size infant cribs is also available.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: info@cpsc.gov Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer protection, Infant equipment, Infants, Product safety, Standards

Annotation: This resource provides guidance for businesses and manufacturers about U.S. government standards and requirements for non-full-size infant cribs. Contents include the definition of the non-full-size infant crib, the reason for the standard, where the full standard can be found, which cribs must comply with the standard, and principal requirements for the cribs and their mattresses. Companion guidance on full-size infant cribs is also available.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: info@cpsc.gov Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer protection, Infant equipment, Infants, Product safety, Standards

Annotation: This chart lists the highest-rated strategies and change ideas from the first cohort of hospitals on the National Action Partnership to Promote Safe Sleep (NAPPSS-IIN). Categories include active endorsement of American Academy of Pediatric guidelines for infant safe sleep; knowledge, skills and self-efficacy of infant caregivers to practice safe sleep for every sleep; and activated community champions.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: info@nichq.org Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Infants, Model programs, Prevention, Safety, Sleep position