Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (428 total).

New York State Department of Health, Center for Community Health, Division of Epidemiology, Injury Control Program. n.d.. Violence prevention demonstration projects: Project summaries. Albany, NY: New York State Department of Health, Injury Control Program, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report summaries of five model programs in violence prevention supported by the New York State Department of Health. Several programs focus on training for youth and parents. Other topics addressed include mentoring, community service, mediation, conflict resolution, and rape crisis services.

Keywords: Model programs, New York, Violence prevention

Dating Violence Intervention Project. n.d.. Peer leader training manual. Boston, MA: Dating Violence Intervention Project, 31 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help peer leaders address date violence as peer counselors, classroom presenters, or public speakers. The manual includes an overview of the problem of dating violence, three recommended activities, guidelines for talking to adolescents about physical and sexual abuse, a checklist for peer leaders, an evaluation form, and educational handouts. The materials are appropriate for presentations to grades 8–12.

Contact: Dating Violence Intervention Project, 649 Massachusetts Ave, Suite 6, Cambridge, MA 02139, Telephone: (617) 868-1650 Fax: (617) 868-1651 E-mail: dvip@transitionhouse.org $10 plus 20% for mailing charge.

Keywords: Adolescents, Dating, Sexual assault, Violence

Human Relations Media. n.d.. Teenage crises: The fateful choices. Pleasantville, NY: Human Relations Media, 1 videotape (28 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape addresses many of problems encountered by adolescents including addiction, violence, pregnancy, AIDS, depression, and suicide. It discusses the importance of finding positive role models, setting goals, and defining a sense of purpose. Stories from a former gang member, an adolescent mother, a former substance abuser turned Olympic champion, and a young convict reveal how their difficulties began and trace the events that enabled them to turn their lives around.

Contact: Human Relations Media, 41 Kensico Drive, Mount Kisco, NY 10549, Telephone: (914) 666-9151 Fax: (914) 666-9506 E-mail: Letters@hrmvideo.com Web Site: http://www.hrmvideo.com/home.cfm $189.00 plus 5 percent shipping and handling.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Depression, Substance abuse, Substance dependence, Suicide, Videotapes, Violence

Gay Rosenthal Productions, and Gabco Productions. n.d.. Rough love. Denver, CO: National Coalition Against Domestic Violence, 1 videotape (50 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape considers the dynamics and consequences of adolescent dating violence. It is hosted by Gabrielle Carteris in a studio setting with adolescents, families, and professionals. The videotape includes interviews and real life stories. It focuses on verbal, emotional, physical, and sexual abuse; and it discusses topics such as jealousy and disrespect, generational patterns in violent behavior, and danger signs of abuse. It also describes the elements of a healthy relationship, indicates strategies for breaking the cycle of violence, and suggests ways that adults can help.

Contact: National Coalition Against Domestic Violence, 1120 Lincoln Street, Suite 1603 , Denver, CO 80203, Telephone: (303) 839-1852 Fax: (303) 831-9251 E-mail: mainoffice@ncadv.org Web Site: http://www.ncadv.org $25.00 plus 10 percent shipping; prepayment required.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Emotional abuse, Interpersonal relations, Materials for adolescents, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Videotapes, Violence

Great Expectations/Healthy Start. n.d.. Prenatal education curriculum. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations/Healthy Start, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This study guide consists of a series of brief training sessions on various aspects of prenatal and infant care. Curricula topics include the following: 1) anatomy and physiology of pregnancy; 2) breastfeeding; 3) alcohol, smoking, and drug abuse; 4) personal hygiene; 5) sexually transmitted diseases; 6) contraception/family planning; and 7) domestic violence. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Contraception, Curricula, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Great Expectations/New Orleans Healthy Start, Infant care, Infant health, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Prenatal nutrition, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance dependence, Training materials

Philips Sonicare. n.d.. Session One and Two—Complete Course with Assessment Test . [No place]: Philips Learning Connection Online Learning Center,

Annotation: This continuing education course is designed to educate dentists, dental hygienists, dental assistants, and others about the problems of child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, elder and vulnerable adult abuse and neglect, and human trafficking. The course aims to teach oral health professionals and other health professionals to recognize indicators of abuse and neglect and to inform them of their legal and ethical responsibilities related to reporting and referring victims.

Contact: Philips Learning Center, Telephone: (800) 692-4295 E-mail: info@theonlinelearningcenter.com Web Site: https://www.theonlinelearningcenter.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Domestic violence, Legal responsibility, Oral health, Professional education, Victims

Grantmakers in Health. 2019. Building an evidence-base for gun violence prevention: Research and data needs. Washington, DC: Grantmakers in Health, (Issue focus)

Annotation: This issue focus discusses federal research restrictions on gun violence prevention, status of the evidence base, and priorities for future research. It also lists examples of programs on this issue that are funded privately.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Firearm safety, Gun control, Research, Violence prevention

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention PRAMStat System. 2017. Prevalence of selected maternal and child health indicators–United States, all sites, Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS), 2012 and 2013. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, multiple items.

Annotation: This document reports the prevalence of selected maternal and child health indicators. Topics include nutrition and physical activity, prepregnancy weight, substance use, intimate partner violence, depression, pregnancy intention and family planning, health care services, oral health, health insurance status, infant sleep practices, and breastfeeding practices.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Body weight, Depression, Domestic violence, Family planning, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Population surveillance, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperium, Safety, Sleep position, Substance use behavior

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2017. The HRSA strategy to address intimate partner violence 2017-2020. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 53 pp.

Annotation: This document presents the Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA’s) Office of Women’s Health’s agency-wide collaborative initiative that puts into practice a strategy to address intimate partner violence (IPV). The document is organized into four priority areas describing how HRSA employees can address IPV: (1) train the health care and public health work force to address IPV, (2) develop partnerships, (3) increase access to high-quality IPV-informed health care, and (4) address gaps in knowledge about IPV. For each priority area, objectives, activities, and key outcomes are presented, and lead agencies and collaborators are identified.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, Parklawn Building, Room 18-46, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8664 Fax: (301) 443-8587 E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/WomensHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Family violence, Federal initiatives, Professional training: Access to health care, Women’s health

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2016. Women's preventive services: Required health plan coverage guidelines. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration,

Annotation: This website provides information about required health plan coverage guidelines for women's preventive services under the Affordable Care Act. It includes a table listing type of preventive service, guidelines for health insurance coverage, and frequency of coverage. Preventive service types listed include well-woman visits, gestational diabetes screening, human papillomavirus testing, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, counseling and screening for human immune-deficiency virus, contraceptive methods and counseling, and screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, HIV screening, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Human papillomavirus, Interpersonal violence, Legislation, Prevention, Reproductive health, Screening, Sexually transmitted infections, Testing, Women's health

Rivara F, Le Menestrel S, eds; National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Committee on the Biological and Psychosocial Effects of Peer Victimization: Lessons for Bullying Prevention. 2016. Preventing bullying through science, policy, and practice. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 310 pp.

Annotation: This document reports on the state of the science on the biological and psychosocial consequences of peer victimization and the risk and protective factors that either increase or decrease peer victimization behavior and consequences. Contents include information about the scope of the problem, social contexts that can either attenuate or exacerbate the effect of individual characteristics on bullying behavior, consequences of bullying behavior, preventive interventions, law and policy, and future directions.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Peer groups, Peer pressure, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, Social behavior, Violence prevention

CDC Foundation. 2016. Health and well-being for all: Accelerating learning about social determinants [Meeting-in-a-box]. Atlanta, GA: CDC Foundation, multiple items.

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health and health care professionals at all stages of professional development explore the determinants underlying health problems faced by patients and communities. It simulates a 6-step process for leading change to improve the community's health. The tool incorporates a big-picture visual with supporting materials including data cards, group dialogue exercises, and facilitator tips to identify and engage collaborators in addressing asthma, obesity, and gang violence. It also includes tips on using the materials, resources for hosting an event, a fact sheet for sharing information about the tool, and a webinar describing it's use.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (888) 880-4CDC Fax: (404) 653-0330 Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Behavior change, Collaboration, Facilitated communication, Interpersonal violence, Learning, Obesity, Problem solving, Program improvement, Role playing, Social change, Training

Pinderhughes H, Davis RA, Williams M. 2016. Adverse community experiences and resilience: A framework for addressing and preventing community trauma. Oakland, CA: Prevention Institute, 34 pp., exec. summ (6 pp.)

Annotation: This paper explores trauma at the population level and how it impacts efforts to prevent violence and improve other aspects of community health. The paper also presents a framework for addressing and preventing trauma at the community level. Topics include the community environment, the production of trauma from violence, community strategies to address community violence, elements of a resilient community, and promoting community resilience.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Culturally competent services, Economic factors, Emotional trauma, Geographic factors, Health promotion, Models, Prevention programs, Resilience, Social conditions, Social support, Sociocultural factors, Standards, Trauma, Trauma care, Violence prevention

Women's Preventive Services Initiative. 2016. Final report to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources & Services Administration: Recommendations for preventive services for women (abridged report). Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 33 pp.

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women's health

Michigan State Board of Education. 2016. State Board of Education statement and guidance on safe and supportive learning environments for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) students. Lansing, MI: Michigan Department of Education, 9 pp.

Annotation: These voluntary guidelines are intended to support schools in creating an inclusive environment for all students in Michigan. Contents include best practice strategies for school districts to create a supportive learning environment with specific guidance on supporting transgender and gender nonconforming students. Definitions are included.

Contact: Michigan State Board of Education, 608 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3324 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-5373---,00.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Child health, Child safety, Civil rights, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Learning, Michigan, Nonconformity, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, School districts, Schools, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Sexual harassment, Students, Violence prevention, Work force

Deinard AS, Ginsberg M, Burke S. 2016. Intimate partner violence and elder maltreatment: Implications for the dental professional (rev. ed.). Dallas, TX: Procter and Gamble Company, 1 v.

Annotation: This continuing education course for oral health professionals provides information about intimate partner violence (IPV) and elder maltreatment (EM) and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing IPV and EM. Topics include definitions and signs and symptoms of IPV and EM, patterns of IPV, ethical and legal responsibilities, and intervention techniques. A tool that educators can use for creating a student assignment is also available.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Continuing education, Dental care, Dentistry, Domestic violence, Intervention, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. [2015]. Bullying and absenteeism: Information for state and local education agencies. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief for state and local education agencies presents findings from the peer-reviewed literature on associations between in-person and electronic bullying victimization and missing school because of safety concerns among students in high school. The brief also describes what education agencies can do to prevent bullying. Topics include sharing information about potential education-related consequences of bullying, addressing electronic bullying beyond school boundaries, responding to co-occurring types of bullying, and opportunities for collaboration with health professionals.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Collaboration, High school students, Injury prevention, Research, School attendance, State agencies, Violence prevention

Philips Sonicare. 2015–. Mid-Atlantic Prevent Abuse and Neglect Through Dental Awareness. [no place]: Philips Oral Healthcare, 1 v.

Annotation: This course is designed to help oral health professionals and others recognize indicators of abuse and neglect and to inform them of their legal and ethical responsibilities related to reporting and referral. Topics include child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, elder abuse and neglect, and human trafficking.

Contact: Philips Learning Center, Telephone: (800) 692-4295 E-mail: info@theonlinelearningcenter.com Web Site: https://www.theonlinelearningcenter.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Continuing education, Dentistry, Domestic violence, Inservice training, Legal issues, Oral health, Preservice training, Referrals

Children's Defense Fund. 2015. Children in the states. Washington, DC: Children's Defense Fund, multiple items.

Annotation: This report lists statistics by state for children participating in: federally subsidized programs, the National School Lunch program during FY 1996, the School Breakfast Program during FY 1996, and the WIC Food program during FY 1996. For each state there is also a page listing statistics in the form of "every 23 hours a baby died, every 7 days a youth committed suicide." These are for infant morbidity and mortality, violence, lack of prenatal care, child abuse, lack of health insurance, and teenage and unmarried mothers.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org $5.95 plus $3.00 shipping and handling for the first item ordered, and $1.00 for each additional item ordered.

Keywords: Child health, Child welfare, Federal programs, Health insurance, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Statistics, Violence, WIC Program

Watson-Bah K, DeFrancis Sun B, Richards, J. 2015. Violence in the workplace: Prevention and intervention learning materials (upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, multiple items. (MCH Navigator training spotlight)

Annotation: This MCH Navigator training spotlight provides a compilation of resources on how people interact with potentially violent individuals during periods of high stress and emergency, as well as the broader prevention agenda of workplace mental wellness. Resources include an overview; online trainings and videos addressing negotiation, conflict resolution, and mental health; and hotlines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Conflict resolution, Mental health, Training materials, Violence, Violence prevention, Workplace

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.