Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (842 total).

Bronheim S, Fiel S, Schidlow D, MagrabP, Boczar K, Dillon C. n.d.. Crossings: A manual for transition of chronically ill youth to adult health care. Harrisburg, PA: Pennsylvania Department of Health, 52 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families. n.d.. Bringing it together: Head Start-state collaboration projects. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, 67 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

American Academy of Pediatrics. n.d.. Family readiness kit: Preparing to handle disasters. (2nd ed.). Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 35 pp.

Annotation: This kit is designed for parents to use at home to help prepare for most kinds of disasters. It consists of an overview booklet, a "4 steps to safety readiness" guide, a child identification card, a list for recording local emergency phone numbers, and fact sheets on earthquake, flood, hurricane, terrorism, tornado, tsunami, and winter storms.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disaster planning

Family Voices; IMPACT. n.d.. Transitions--Growing up and away. Albuquerque, NM: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides tips to help parents of adolescents with special health care needs support their sons' and daughters' transition into adulthood.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents with special health care needs, Parenting, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

American Academy of Pediatrics and Dartmouth Institute of Health Policy and Clinical Practice. n.d.. AAP Child Health Mapping Project. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 1 v.

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices. n.d.. Questions to ask as you explore the possible use of an intervention. [Rockville MD]: National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document is designed to assist individuals and organizations in exploring the possible use of an intervention. Contents include questions on key topics and space for notes. Topics include implementations, adaptations, staffing, quality assurance mechanisms, training and technical assistance, and costs.

Contact: National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 Web Site: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Intervention, Program development, Program planning

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. n.d.. Discretionary grant performance measures. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 215 pp.

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Louisiana Oral Health Coalition. n.d.. Louisiana oral health state action plan 2018-2023. [no place]: Louisiana Oral Health Coalition, 12 pp.

Annotation: This action plan focuses on the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition’s goals related to improving the oral health of all Louisianans. It provides direction for achieving priorities set forth by stakeholders representing individual oral health champions and multiple organizations across the state. The plan describes three oral-health-promotion interventions across the state: Well Ahead Louisiana (a chronic-disease-prevention and health-care-access initiative of the Louisiana Department of Health), school dental sealant programs, and community water fluoridation. Information about the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition is provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health promotion, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State planning

Carter NL, Lowe E, with American Association for Community Dental Programs and the National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2023. Seal America: The prevention invention (4th ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 1 v.

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Nemours Children's Health System. 2023. Transition of Care . Jacksonville, FL: Nemours Children's Health System, multiple

Annotation: This website includes information for families about changes that occur when a child with a disability or with special health care needs becomes a legal adult. Teaching your child how to navigate the health care system and encouraging them to become actively involved in their medical care are among the topics explored in video and e-publication formats.

Contact: Nemours Children's Health System, 10140 Centurion Parkway North, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education, School to work transitions, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Procter and Gamble Company. 2023. Children's dental health. Cincinnati, OH: Procter and Gamble Company, multiple items.

Annotation: These public-awareness-campaign materials are designed for use during Children’s Dental Health Month (February) to encourage good oral health for children of all ages. Contents include activity sheets; a guide for parents; a poster for displaying in an office waiting room; a certificate to present to children; tools for classroom educators (customizable letter and teacher’s guide); and classroom resources, including lesson plans, demos and videos, and frequently asked questions.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Curriculum development, Learning, Multimedia, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention programs, Primary prevention, Program development, Program planning, Public awareness campaign materials, Teaching

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2023. Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project: A prenatal oral health medical-dental integration quality improvement project—Implementation guide. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2023. Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project: A prenatal oral health medical-dental integration quality improvement project—Overview and results. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation . 2023. Leading practices to advance equity and support of underserved communities throughout health and human services. Washington, DC: Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation,

Annotation: This electronic resource defines the term "equity" and provides links to the following tools to promote and advance health equity in underserved communities: (1) Equity assessment tip sheet; (2) In-depth equity assessment guide; (3) Guide to advancing equity through quantitative analysis; (4) Guide on advancing equity by incorporating intersectionality in research and analysis; (5) Tips on equitable communication; (6) Tips on engaging diverse groups of external partners; and 7) Practices for meaningfully engaging people with lived experience. The target audience includes state and local governments, tribal governments, and other private or nonprofit organizations focused on programs and policies relating to health and human services.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

Keywords: Assessment, Ethnic factors, Evaluation, Facilitated communication , Health equity, Program planning, Racial factors, Underserved communities

2023. User's guide for implementation of on-the-job dental assistant training programs in community health centers. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 18 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that community health centers can use to implement in-house dental-assistant-training programs. The guide presents background information and discusses things to consider when planning a training program, including evaluating the need for a program,engaging key stakeholders, selecting leaders, developing a budget,selecting trainers, establishing trainee requirements and recruitment strategies, and other considerations. The guide also includes a readiness assessment and examples of organizations that have established dental assistant career ladders.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Careers, Community health centers, Dental assistants, Oral health, Training: Program planning

Ziemann M, Salsberg E, McManus M, White P, Schmidt A. 2023. Strengthening the adult primary care workforce to support young adults with medical complexity transitioning to adult health care. Washington, DC: George Washington University ,

Annotation: This report presents recommendations to strengthen the primary care workforce for young adults with medical complexity (YAMC) by promoting and increasing the supply of well-prepared adult primary care physicians for YAMC transitioning to adult care. Included is an overview of the YAMC population and the current care landscape, including health workforce and financing consideration. The recommendations were developed by a national advisory committee established by the National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health/Got Transition and the George Washington University Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity.

Contact: George Washington University , Fitzhugh Mullan Institute for Health Workforce Equity , 2175 K Street, NW, Suite 250, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-3423 Web Site: https://www.gwhwi.org/

Keywords: Adolescents, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Primary care, Professional education, Professional training, Program improvement, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Owen C, Hilton I, Thompson P. 2023. Partnering with academic institutions to develop service learning programs: Strategies for community health centers (2nd. ed.). Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 28 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides background on how community health centers (CHCs) can collaborate with academic institutions, residency programs, and other training programs to offer service-learning opportunities and foster increased interest in CHC careers among the next generation of the oral health workforce. The paper discusses a range of collaborative program models and considerations for CHCs related to developing an academic and/or training partnership. Also discussed are the benefits of academic partnerships, characteristics of successful partnerships, and challenges. A planning checklist is included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Clinics, Collaboration, Oral heath, Program planning, Programs, Service learning, Training programs

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors and American Mobile and Teledentistry Alliance. 2023. Mobile and portable school-based/school-linked oral health programs: Delivery models to expand care for children and adolescents. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report provides guidance for developing and implementing a school-based or school-linked mobile or portable oral health program. It discusses challenges and strategies for overcoming these challenges. Selected challenges discussed include workforce considerations; state dental practice acts, legislation, and other regulations limiting the provision of oral health care; community opposition; infrastructure issues; and infection-control issues. Strategies include program planning, developing policies and procedures, community engagement and education, care coordination, developing business plans and budgets, and implementing quality measures and evaluation.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Budgets, Health programs, Infection control, Legislation, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program planning, Quality assurance, Regulations, School health, Service coordination

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2023. Preparing for sustainability tool. Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 4 pp.

Annotation: This tool guides public health practitioners through planning for program sustainability. It outlines a process for articulating core values, identifying key sustainability domains, defining current and future states for each domain, and developing a comprehensive action plan. The tool provides worksheets for practitioners to draft core values, select 5-9 sustainability domains, map out current and future states, and create detailed action plans with measurable outcomes, resources needed, timelines, and responsible parties. It emphasizes that sustainability planning is an ongoing process and provides links to additional resources like the Program Sustainability Assessment Tool and Georgia Health Policy Center's Sustainability Framework.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Program planning, Public health, Sustainability

Schmidt A, McManus M, White P, The National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health; Slade R, Salus T, Bradley J., American Academy of Pediatrics . 2022. Coding and reimbursement tip sheet for transition from pediatric to adult health care (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, 32 pp. (Practice resource; no. 2)

Annotation: This tip sheet for professionals providing transition services in pediatric and adult primary and specialty care settings summarizes innovative transition payment models. Contents include alternative payment methodologies and transition-related CPT codes and corresponding Medicare fees. Enhanced fee-for-service payments, pay-for-performance, capitation, bundled payments, shared savings, and administrative or infrastructure payments are among the topics covered.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Financing, Model programs, Pediatric care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Transition planning, Young adults
    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.