Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This online resource outlines the “Plan for Appropriate Tailored Healthcare in Pregnancy (PATH)" recommendations developed by an independent panel of maternal care experts convened by the University of Michigan and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). Based on a review of existing evidence, the site provides how-to guidance on prenatal care delivery and links to related resources for providers. An embedded 90-minute webinar presents an overview of ACOG's Redesigning Prenatal Care initiative and a roadmap to engage communities in the process.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Maternal health, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Professional education

Annotation: This flyer provides information on a training intended to help dental office staff understand the connection between behavioral health and oral health and their role in referring patients. The flyer presents percentages of those who completed the training who reported that it increased their confidence in having conversations with their patients and who recommended it to others. Also included is logistical information on the training, its cost, and requirements for participation.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Oral Health Unit, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov/health/prevention-and-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Oral health, Referrals, Training

Annotation: This systematic review addresses healthcare for postpartum individuals within 1 year after pregnancy. It addresses the comparative benefits and harms of (1) alternative strategies for postpartum healthcare delivery, and (2) extension of postpartum health insurance coverage or improvements in access to care. The target audience includes policymakers, Ob/Gyn's, Midwives, maternal-fetal medicine specialists, family medicine clinicians, primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, clinical guidelines, and other providers of care or support for postpartum individuals.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Document Number: 23-EHC010.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine , Health insurance, Healthcare delivery, Postpartum care, Prevention services

Annotation: This is a systematic review of risk factors associated with maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S. during the prenatal and postpartum periods, including social and structural determinants of health. The focus is primarily on research that examines factors to which pregnant and birthing people have been exposed and that may underlie poor perinatal health outcomes. The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention requested the review to inform the November 29 – December 1, 2022 Pathways to Prevention workshop cosponsored by the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Research on Women’s Health, the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities, and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racism, Risk factors, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This resource provides information on the importance of breastfeeding and the role of hospitals in breastfeeding success. It describes a program to encourage adoption of five evidence based maternity care practices that have been found to increase breastfeeding rates. Contents include current breastfeeding rates in Kansas, participating hospitals, endorsements, a hospital application agreement and form, and program logos and branding materials.

Contact: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, P.O. Box 1384, 100 East First, Hutchinson, KS 67504-1384, Telephone: (800) 369-7191 Secondary Telephone: (316) 662-8586 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Hospital accreditation, Infant health, Kansas, Maternal health, Model programs, State programs

Annotation: This systematic review presents evidence on the benefits and harms of screening for eating disorders in adults and adolescents; the accuracy of screening tools; and the benefits and harms of interventions for eating disorders that were screen detected or not previously treated for populations and settings relevant to primary care in the United States. PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, PsyINFO, and other sources were searched through December 18, 2020; additional literature, outside experts, and reviewers, were consulted through January 1, 2022.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Evidence based medicine, Feeding disorders, Literature reviews, Screening, Treatment

Annotation: This brief provides findings from a project conducted to integrate oral health care into behavioral health care for health professional organizations across the country using the ECHO model—a learning framework that can be applied across disciplines to effect sustainable change. The brief includes a project summary and a discussion of project accomplishments, an explanation of the need for and barriers to advancing the integration of oral health care and behavioral health care, and recommendations.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Mental health, Oral health, Service integration, Substance abuse

Annotation: This plan focuses on how different factors affect health equity in Texas. The plan contains four sections that examine which population groups are more likely to have poor access to health care, including oral health care. The sections look at the challenges faced by those living in rural areas of the state, mental and behavioral health and the ability of the state’s behavioral health care workforce to address these issues, and the role that telehealth can play in addressing health disparities. Additionally, each section considers how COVID-19 has impacted health care in Texas.

Contact: Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Department of State Health Services, P.O Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Web Site: https://www.dshs.texas.gov/chs/shcc/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Mental health, Oral health, Oral health equity, Rural health, State information, Strategic plans, Texas, Virus diseases

Annotation: This guide presents an overview of the telehealth landscape, describing the need, benefits, and challenges using this modality to address serious mental illness (SMI) and substance abuse disorders (SUD) among adults. It reviews the literature and research findings related to this issue, examines emerging and best practices, discusses gaps in knowledge, and identifies challenges and strategies for implementation. The guide is part of the Evidence-Based Resource Guide Series--a comprehensive set of modules with resources to improve health outcomes for people at risk for, experiencing, or recovering from SMI and/or SUD. It's designed for practitioners, administrators, community leaders, and others considering an intervention for their organization or community.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Document Number: PEP21-06-02-001.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Mental health, Mental illness, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Substance abuse, Substance use disorders, Telecommunication, Telemedicine

Annotation: This resource provides clinical preventive services recommendations related to tobacco smoking cessation in adults including pregnant women. Topics include behavioral and pharmacotherapy interventions. Contents include the full recommendation statement; supporting documents including the final research plan, evidence review, and evidence summary; a clinical summary; and related information for consumers and health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report discusses the impact of behavioral issues on the oral health of people experiencing homelessness (PEH) and how behavioral health and oral health professionals can work together to address behavioral health and oral health issues in this population. The report discusses the prevalence of behavioral issues and oral diseases among PEH, barriers to accessing health care in this population, consequences of behavioral issues and oral diseases, access to care, access to coordinated care challenges, recommendations for behavioral health and oral health integration, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on health care delivery.

Contact: National Health Care for the Homeless Council, P.O. Box 60427, Nashville, TN 37206-0427, Telephone: (615) 226-2292 Fax: (615) 226-1656 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhchc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, Disease transmission, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report focuses on highlighting evidence-based policies that can be implemented to address the root causes of disease. The report identifies and reviews five policy areas: access to healthcare, economic mobility, affordable housing, safe and healthy learning environments for children, and health-promoting excise taxes. Based on an extensive review of the evidence, the report recommends federal and state-level policies to improve health outcomes, advance health equity, and reduce healthcare spending. The report concludes that America's chronic disease and health disparities crisis require policy interventions targeting structural racism and the social determinants of health.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Government financing, Health care disparities, Health policy, Health status disparities, Model programs, Policy analysis, Policy development, Taxes

Annotation: This toolkit compiles evidence-based and promising models and resources to support rural communities implementing maternal health programs across the United States. The modules in the toolkit contain resources and information focused on developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining rural programs to address the factors that affect and influence maternal health, such as health status, health behaviors, access to health care and social services, and quality of health care.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Evidence based medicine, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Maternal health, Model programs, Rural health, Rural populations, Women

Annotation: This systematic review was conducted to support the United States Preventive Services Task Force in updating its 2014 recommendation on daily low dose aspirin use during pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia. The report reviewed updated evidence on the effectiveness and potential harms of daily aspirin use during pregnancy to prevent morbidity and mortality associated with preeclampsia. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, and the Cochrane Collaboration Registry of Controlled Trials; results were limited to studies published between January 2013 and July 2019. The reviewed studies showed that daily aspirin use in pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia consistently led to beneficial effects on perinatal mortality, preterm birth, fetal growth restriction, and preeclampsia diagnosis.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Pregnant women, Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Preventive health services

Annotation: This systematic review updates the 2012 evidence review used to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on the benefits and harms of screening for gestational diabetes mellitus. Since gestational diabetes mellitus is mostly asymptomatic, screening for it during pregnancy could identify women who could benefit from treatments to reduce the adverse consequences of this condition. Data sources included MEDLINE, Embase, and CINAHL between 2010 and May 2020; other sources included ClinicalTrials.gov, reference lists of primary studies and systematic reviews through June 2021. The results of this review showed that screening tests can identify women with gestational diabetes at or after 24 weeks of gestation and treatment is associated with improvement in various maternal and neonatal outcomes without serious harms.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Evidence based medicine, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: In this video presentation, Dr. Nancy Byatt shares information on MCPAP-- the Massachusetts Child Pscychiatry for Moms program--which provides consultation to health care providers regarding behavioral/mental health and safe medications for pregnant or breastfeeding patients. MCPAP also helps to connect people to support groups and community-based services and serves as an example of behavioral and primary care integration that can be replicated.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: The database aggregates sample evidence-based/informed strategies that can be used as-is or adapted to develop Evidence-based or informed Strategy Measures (ESMs) for each of the MCH National Performance Measures (NPMs). The strategies are listed by National Performance Measure, from NPM 1-Well Woman VIsit throught NPM 15-Continuous and Adequate Insurance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Model programs

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about an environmental scan of emerging models of behavioral and oral health integration, as well as organizational or service-delivery barriers that organizations face when attempting to adopt coordinated or integrated care models. Topics include background and rationale for oral health and behavioral health integration, an environmental scan of integrated models, and policy considerations. Examples of models are presented.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Behavioral medicine, Health services delivery, Mental health, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This report summarizes factors influencing adolescent well-care performance in six top-performing state Medicaid programs. State Medicaid officials from the states with the highest adolescent well-care visit performance – RI, CT, TX, NY, NH, and MA – were interviewed to understand the factors contributing to their success.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Evaluation, Evidence based medicine, Health supervision, Medicaid, State programs, Well child care

Annotation: This training about standardizing the process of selecting teeth for dental sealant placement is geared toward oral health professionals. It comprises a PowerPoint presentation and pre- and post-tests. The training reviews evidence-based guidance for sealant use, addresses questions, and presents findings and recommendations. Examples of sound, cavitated, and noncavitated lesions on tooth surfaces and discussions about whether to select teeth for sealants are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Presentation
• Quizzes

Keywords: Dental sealants, Evidence based medicine, Health education, Oral health, Training