Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what parents can do to help reduce the risk of SIDS/SUIDS and encourage safe sleep. It also includes recommendations for expectant mothers, as well as how to provide "tummy time" for an infant during its waking hours.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Risk prevention (Risk reduction?), SIDS, Safe sleep, Sleep position, Strangulation, Suffocation

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This infographic describes the dangers of SUIDS, environmental factors that can lead to it, and tips on how to lower the risks. Using graphs and illustrations, it displays statistics on unsafe sleep practices according to the race/ethnicity and age of the mother, and gives tips to parents and caregivers on sleep safety.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Best practices, Federal initiatives, Safe sleep, Suffocation

Annotation: This fact sheet provides recommended strategies and a selection of resources and evidence-based practices to aid Healthy Start grantee organizations, partners and their staff in promoting safe infant sleep practices among the women and families they serve. It includes individual and family level strategies, and community level strategies. Its declared benchmark is to increase the proportion of Healthy Start women participants who engage in safe sleep practices to 80%.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• PDF

Keywords: Asphyxia, Information resources, SIDS, Safe sleep, Suffocation

Annotation: This document outlines national goals and actions to further reduce suffocation-related injuries among infants and children. Examples of what can be done are organized within the following six domains: data and surveillance, research, communication, education and training, health systems and health care, and policy.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child death review, Children, Communication, Community action, Consumer education, Data, Goals, Health care systems, Infant death, Infant death review, Infants, Injuries, Injury prevention, National initiatives, Planning, Policy development, Population surveillance, Professional education, Research, Safety, Suffocation, Training

Annotation: This action plan describes goals and actions in six domains that inform concrete actions within the field of injury prevention to reduce child and adolescent injury in the United States. The six domains include data and surveillance, research, communication, education and training, health systems and health care, and policy. Injury prevention efforts are discussed for motor vehicle crashes, suffocation, drowning, as well as fires, burns, and falls. The plan concludes with a summary of goals and actions. An archive of the September 10, 2013 webinar broadcast of part I is available.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Burns, Children, Drowning, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Safety, Suffocation, Transportation injuries, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This brochure for parents and other caregivers provides tips for keeping infants safe during sleep. Topics include suffocation and safe sleep environments. The brochure is available in English, Spanish, Hmong, and Somali.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Fax: (651) 201-3590 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm Available from the website.

• English
• Program Website

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education, Environmental influences, Infants, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaign materials, SIDS, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation

Annotation: This webcast, which was sponsored by the Health Resources and Services Administration and held on March 24, 2011, focuses on infant suffocation deaths in the sleep environment and addresses the following topics: recent trends in infant suffocation death rates, circumstances of the sleep environment and risk factors in infant suffocation, state and local community efforts in risk reduction and prevention of infant suffocation, and community-based safe sleep and suffocation-prevention programs. Background information on sudden unexpected infant death is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• Audio File
• Presentation Slides

Keywords: Community programs, Infant death, Local MCH programs, Prevention, Risk factors, Safety, Sleep position, State programs, Suffocation, Trends

Annotation: Using a humorous scenario enacted by a young African-American couple, this PSA video illustrates how to make a crib safe for an infant to sleep in, to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and accidental suffocation. The video emphasizes that African-American infants are at increased risk for SIDS. Contact information for additional resources is provided.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Consumer education materials, Cultural factors, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors, SIDS, Suffocation, Safety, Sleep position, Videos

Annotation: This report uses data from the National Vital Statistics System and the National Electronic Injury Surveillance System -- All Injury Program to provide an overview of unintentional childhood and adolescent injuries related to drowning, falls, fires or burns, transportation-related injuries, poisonings, and suffocation, among others, during the period 2000-2006. Results are presented by age group and sex. The geographic distribution of injury death by state is presented, as well.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent death, Adolescents, Age factors, Burns, Child death, Children, Drowning, Injury surveillance systems, Motor vehicle injuries, Poisoning, Racial factors, Sex factors, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This annual report for 2006 provides information about the Missouri Child Fatality Review Program.The report is divided into four sections. Section 1 provides information about the program, confidentiality issues, different categories of child fatalities, a summary of findings related to infant deaths in Missouri in 2006, fetal and infant mortality review in Missouri, and sudden unexpected infant deaths. Section 2 focuses on motor vehicle fatalities and unintentional suffocation or strangulation. Section 3 focuses on homicides, fatal child abuse and neglect, suicides, the practical application of child death review, and prevention findings. Section 4 includes seven appendices on the following topics: autopsies; mandated activities for child fatalities; the process for child fatality review; Missouri incident child fatalities by county and by age, sex, and race; definitions; and death certificate manner of death.

Contact: Missouri Child Fatality Review Program, Missouri Department of Social Services, 221 West High Street, P.O. Box 1527, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1527, Telephone: (800) 487-1626 Web Site: http://www.dss.mo.gov/stat/mcfrp.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Confidentiality, Homicide, Infant death, Missouri, Motor vehicle injuries, SIDS, State programs, Strangulation, Suffocation, Suicide

Annotation: This web site archives the annual reports discussing the activities and achievements of the Ohio Child Fatality Review (CFR), the mission of which is to reduce the incidence of preventable deaths in Ohio. The reports include an executive summary, key findings, an overview of CFR, a summary of CFR data for annual deaths, special focus reports on motor vehicle deaths and SIDS and sleep-related deaths, natural deaths, suffocation and strangulation, firearms and weapons, drowning and submersion, child abuse and neglect, fire and burn, other causes of death and unknown causes of death, and suicide. In addition, the report presents child deaths by a map of counties, CFR law, and lists of CFR advisory committee members, CFR program staff, and local CFR board chairs.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Burns, Child abuse, Child death, Child death review, Child neglect, Drowning, Fire, Firearms, Motor vehicle deaths, Ohio, SIDS, Strangulation, Suffocation, Suicide, Weapons

Annotation: This report describes a study of consumer products, product characteristics, and factors that may contribute to the suffocation of infants. It identifies the relationship between soft bedding and the percent of infants diagnosed with sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) who may have died from suffocation.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infants, SIDS, Suffocation

Annotation: This website provides information for health professionals about the Safe 'n Sound program, how it can be used in hospitals and clinics, and how it can help parents protect their children from injury while at home or in a motor vehicles. Users' reviews are available on the site, as is information about childhood injuries, a toolkit, questions and answers, and information about getting started. The program is available for download free of charge from the website and can also be ordered on a flash drive.

Contact: St. Louis University, College for Public Health and Social Justice, 221 North Grand Boulevard, St. Louis, MO 63103, Telephone: (314) 977-4084 Web Site: http://www.slu.edu/publichealth.xml Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Burns, Children, Drowning, Falls, Suffocation, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle injuries, Motor vehicle safety, Poisoning, Programs, Safety, Young children