Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to improve the capacity of health care, public health, and social services professionals to address maternal and child health in emergency preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities. The toolkit outlines basic planning steps, highlights key resources and promising practices, and explains critical data and information to be integrated into emergency planning for maternal and child health populations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Federal agencies, Infants, Women

Annotation: This website is a compendium of resources related to medical and public health issues of children in disasters and emergencies. Contents include links to journal articles and other documents and materials that may be useful in preparedness, mitigation, response and recovery activities. Resources are national or international in scope. Topics include natural disasters; chemical and biological agents, radiologicals and nuclear, and explosives (CBRNE); psychological and behavioral health; and special topics such as children with disabilities, school and care providers, hospital preparedness, resilience, and pandemics.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: custserv@nlm.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Communicable diseases, Databases, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Emergency medical services for children, Hospitals, International health, Mental health, Resilience, Resources for professionals, Schools, Special health care needs

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-888393-28-9.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Crisis intervention, Developing countries, Disasters, High risk groups, International health, Mothers

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child mental health, Child safety, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Environmental health, Injury prevention

Annotation: This podcast provides information for parents, caregivers, teachers, administrators, other school staff, and behavioral health professionals about what kinds of responses to expect from children in the aftermath of disasters and how to help them cope in these situations, such as a school shooting. The podcast helps viewers learn to to identify comment reactions seen in children and adolescents following a disaster, identify ways to talk to and calm children and adolescents, understand how to work with children and adolescents impacted by disasters, and identify signs that mental health services may be needed.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Child behavior, Child mental health, Children, Communication, Communication skills, Counseling, Disasters, Mental health services, Multimedia

Annotation: This white paper considers the current science and practice of resilience interventions for children and adolescents who are susceptible to disasters or who have been exposed to disasters. The paper reviews ways ithat resilience research has influenced resilience interventions, considers specific illustrations of these resilience practices, and examines the evidentiary base for these activities. The paper places these disaster-related resilience interventions within a public health framework of primary, secondary, and tertiary prevention and explores the challenges of developing evidence-based resilience practices within the context of disasters.

Contact: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-2000 Fax: E-mail: contact@nas.edu Web Site: https://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/health-and-medicine-division Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Intervention, Prevention, Public health, Research, Resilience

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop convened in June 2013 by the Institute of Medicine Forum on Medical and Public Health Preparedness for Catastrophic Events to discuss disaster preparedness, response, and resilience relative to the needs of children and families, including children with special health care needs. It examines resilience strategies that lead to successful recovery in children after a disaster and discusses current approaches and interventions to improve recovery in children.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29458-4.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Families, Meetings

Annotation: This pamphlet provides tips for parents and teachers on how to talk to children and adolescents after traumatic events. Information about how children and adolescents may react and behave is provided for preschool-age children, children ages 5-11, and adolescents ages 12-14. Ideas about how to help, what to say and do, and what to do when talking isn't enough are provided.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SMA12-4732.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Child behavior, Children, Communication, Disasters, Emotional trauma, Emotions

Annotation: This paper examines the effects of exposure to severe storms and hurricanes during pregnancy on birth outcomes in Texas between 1996 and 2008. The paper presents the issue and discusses background literature, data and summary statistics, empirical methods, and results.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Disasters, Infant health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Reproductive health, Research, State surveys, Statistical data, Texas

Annotation: This webcast presents the Child Care Emergency Preparedness Symposium held on November 15, 2012, in Washington, DC. The symposium brought together representatives from the emergency preparedness community and the child care community with the goal of working together to meet children's needs during times of disaster. The webinar focused on national, state, and local perspectives on child care centers' and schools' emergency preparedness.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child care, Children, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Guidelines, Infants, Safety, School age children, Schools, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides resources for helping children and adolescents cope with injury, loss of loved ones, destruction of homes and schools, and other trauma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bereavement, Children, Disasters, Emotions, Mental health, Resources for professionals, Trauma

Annotation: This course contains five modules addressing how to recognize a disaster, the rationale for pediatric disaster triage, and common triage strategies applicable to disaster response. Application of the information through the use of several case studies and embedded quizzes illustrates the concepts discussed in the training. Continuing medical education/continuing education credit is available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: emscinformation@childrensnational.org Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Continuing education, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, MCH training, Pediatric care, Triage

Annotation: This resource highlights the development and operation of oral health emergency preparedness and response at the state level. Topics include an overview of crisis preparedness and response planning in America; the need for population-based oral health to be integrated into the Emergency Response System; and the role of oral health programs in pre-event mitigation and preparedness, response, and recovery planning. Worksheets and other tools for developing an emergency preparedness plan are provided as appendices.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Guidelines, Manuals, Oral health

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study that assessed the needs of infants, children, and adolescents in relation to preparation for, response to, and recovery from all hazards, including major disasters and emergencies. The report includes specific findings, conclusions, and recommendations relating to (1) child health, mental health, and trauma; (2) child care in all settings; (3) child welfare; (4) elementary and secondary education; (5) sheltering, temporary housing, and affordable housing; (6) transportation; (7) juvenile justice; (8) evacuation; and (9) relevant activities in emergency management. The report also provides specific recommendations on the need for planning and establishing a national resource center on children and disasters and discusses the coordination of resources and services, administrative actions, policies, regulations, and legislative changes.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child care, Child health, Costs, Disaster planning, Disasters, Elementary education, Emergencies, Housing, Infant health, Juvenile justice, Legislation, Mental health, Public policy, Research, Secondary education, Service coordination, Transportation, Trauma

Annotation: This report focuses on high-risk, low-income families suffering from the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. The report provides key findings from the Gulf Coast Child and Family Health study, a longitudinal study of 1,082 randomly sampled Gulf Coast households displaced by Hurricane Katrina. The report also provides background, discusses health care delivery provided by the Children's Health Fund/LSU Baton Rouge Children's Health Project, and provides recommendations.

Contact: Children's Health Fund, 215 West 125th Street, Suite 301 , New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (212) 535-9400 Web Site: http://www.childrenshealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Disasters, Health care delivery, Homelessness, Louisiana, Low income groups, Poverty, Public health, Underserved communities

Annotation: This textbook, which is un updated version of the 2005 edition, provides prehospital medical information for the emergency care of infants and children. The textbook presents medical content using special features and an interactive course. Features include learning objectives, case studies, tips, and key terms, among others. Topics covered include pediatric assessment, using a developmental approach, respiratory emergencies, cardiovascular emergencies, medical emergencies, trauma, toxic emergencies, children in disasters, emergency delivery and newborn stabilization, children with special health care needs, sudden infant death syndrome, child maltreatment, medicolegal and ethical considerations, transportation considerations, and making a difference.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: info@jblearning.com Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0763755877.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Legal issues, Child health, Child maltreatment, Childbirth, Disasters, Emergency medical care, Infant health, Medical ethics, Newborn infants, SIDS, Training, Trauma

Annotation: This guide provides background information to help leaders and first responders make informed decisions and make the best use of the resources available at a time of crisis. The guide addresses some of the public health issues facing leaders and responders. The guide is divided into self-contained sections that can be read in any order; each section begins with a list of highlights. Topics covered include (1) public health response, (2) key functions of federal government public health agencies in an emergency, (3) food security and food supply, (4) environmental safety and testing, (5) leading through communication, (6) legal and policy considerations, (7) taking care of yourself and each other, (8) conducting exercises for preparedness, and (9) post-event: leading the community toward recovery. A bibliography and an index are included. The guide includes six appendices: (1) resources list, (2) biological agents, (3) chemical agents, (4) radiation emergencies, (5) pandemic influenza, and (6) distaster supplies kit.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Communities, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Food supply, Public health

Annotation: This guide was created to help local and state emergency managers and coordinators in their efforts to develop and maintain a supplemental document (in addition to the community's standard emergency operations plan) that addresses children's particular needs. The guide discusses why a special document for children is needed, the planning process in brief, and drafting the document. The guide include eight appendices: (1) a protocol to identify and protect displace children, (2) a child identification survey, (3) psychological effects of disasters on children, (4) special psychological needs of children following disasters, (5) disaster response information for school crisis teams, (6) hospital decontamination and the pediatric patient, (7) legal considerations for working with children in disasters, and (8) registry information from schools, child care centers, and other facilities that care for children.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Children, Communities, Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, Hospitals, Mental health, Schools

Annotation: This paper presents guidelines from the multiple areas of expertise and disciplines involved in the planning for and care of children during times of disaster and terrorist events. It provides information on the participants of the consensus conferences in 2003 and 2005 and includes recommendations in the following areas: emergency and prehospital care; hospital care; preparedness and response; biological, chemical, and radiological terrorism treatment; decontamination, quarantine, and isolation; mental health needs; school preparedness and response; training and drills; and future research agenda and funding. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Disaster Preparedness, Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 845-2300 E-mail: ncdp@columbia.edu Web Site: http://www.ncdp.mailman.columbia.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergency medical services for children, Hospital emergency services, Terrorism

Annotation: This document provides information that can help families create an emergency preparedness plan that will enable them to respond more quickly and efficiently during an emergency. Topics include evacuation and sheltering, special populations, important documents, supply kits, checklists, disease prevention and control, pandemic influenza, natural disasters, hazardous materials, injury prevention, food and water safety, coping with disasters, emergency preparedness teams, additional resources, and personal emergency phone contacts.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) ALA-1818 Fax: Web Site: http://www.adph.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education materials, Disasters, Disease prevention, Emergencies, Families, Food safety, Hazardous materials, Influenza, Water safety