Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This series of reports is a compilation and analysis of national and U.S. state-by-state data on child population, child poverty, family structure, family income, housing and homelessness, hunger and nutrition, health, early childhood, education, child welfare, juvenile justice, and gun violence. Changes in key child and national well-being indicators are included.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Report
• Search For Other Editions

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child welfare, Data, Early childhood development, Education, Ethnic groups, Family characteristics, Gun violence, High risk groups, Population surveillance, Poverty, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This document presents the Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA’s) Office of Women’s Health’s agency-wide collaborative initiative that puts into practice a strategy to address intimate partner violence (IPV). The document is organized into four priority areas describing how HRSA employees can address IPV: (1) train the health care and public health work force to address IPV, (2) develop partnerships, (3) increase access to high-quality IPV-informed health care, and (4) address gaps in knowledge about IPV. For each priority area, objectives, activities, and key outcomes are presented, and lead agencies and collaborators are identified.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, Parklawn Building, Room 18-46, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8664 Fax: (301) 443-8587 E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov Web Site: https://www.womenshealth.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Family violence, Federal initiatives, Professional training, Program development, Women’s health

Annotation: This web-based community for parents provides personalized content to reduce family risks and optimize parenting resourcefulness, family resilience, child growth, and school readiness. The website is designed to recognize early warning signs of risk in areas of health, prenatal care, parenting skills, family functioning, and child development and will alert parents and recommend supportive resources and strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child development, Child health, Community development, Domestic violence, Family economics, Family support programs, Home visiting, Injury prevention, Parenting, Program coordination, Public private partnerships, School readinesss

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find hotlines and web sites about domestic violence, including rape, abuse, incest, teen dating, legal counsel, and services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Bibliographies, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Emotional abuse, Family relations, Family violence, Hotlines, Parent child relations, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report describes progress on a national initiative to address persistent opportunity gaps faced by boys and young men of color. The report outlines the building blocks for success across key life stages and presents initial recommendations and areas of opportunity for each of the key milestones. The focus areas include entering school ready to learn, reading at grade level by third grade, graduating from high school ready for college and career, completing postsecondary education or training, entering the work force, reducing violence, and providing a second chance. Cross-cutting areas of opportunity that span all focus areas are also discussed.

Contact: White House, Executive Office of the President, 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20500, Web Site: http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Initiative Website

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescent males, Barriers, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Graduation, Juvenile justice, Learning, Life course, Men, Minority groups, Reading, School to work transition, Social factors, Violence prevention, Work family issues, Work force, Young adults

Annotation: This toolkit offers resources to help health care professionals and others identify and support clients facing intimate partner violence. Contents include strategies for preparing a health care practice to start screening; screening and intervention approaches and tools; resources tailored to pediatric, adolescent, or reproductive health care settings; strategies and resources for domestic and sexual violence advocates; and promising practices from the field.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: info@futureswithoutviolence.org Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Family violence, Intervention, Physical abuse, Resources for professionals, Screening, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report presents the findings and recommendations of a task force of leaders dedicated to protecting children from exposure to violence and to healing those who have been exposed. The report presents an overview of the problem and sets forth 10 foundational recommendations; offers a series of additional recommendations to ensure the reliable screening, assessment, and support of children exposed to violence; discusses effectively integrating prevention, intervention, and resilience across systems; and calls for a new approach to juvenile justice.

Contact: U.S. Department of Justice, 950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20530-0001, Telephone: (202) 353-1555 E-mail: askDOJ@usdoj.gov Web Site: http://www.justice.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Assessment, Children, Family support services, Intervention, Juvenile justice, Screening, Service delivery systems, Treatment, Violence, Violence prevention

Annotation: This website is designed to assist domestic violence (DV) programs in enhancing their services for infants, children, and adolescents who have experienced DV. The website provides access to a searchable database of evidence-based interventions and promising practices for serving children and youth exposed to DV.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: info@futureswithoutviolence.org Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Domestic violence, Family support programs, Infants, Children, Model programs

Annotation: This webinar, broadcast January 24, 2012, highlightes the multi-pronged approach of Project Connect at both the national and state levels and provides information for providers, advocates, and state leaders to structure effective home visiting programs. Panelists discuss how Project Connect curriculum and associated tools increase the capacity of home visiting programs to respond effectively with a research-informed approach to addressing domestic violence.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: pcs-feedback@pewtrusts.org Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Archive
• PowerPoint Slides

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Domestic violence, Family support services, Home visiting, Prevention, Screening

Annotation: This report presents key data on the health and well being of children across the United States. It provides information and statistics in areas such as child nutrition, poverty, family income, housing, health status, education, and juvenile justice, and presents tables that compare how children are faring in each state. Included are statistics based on the age, race, and ethnicity of children. Comparisons between the state of children in America and those in other industrialized nations are also provided. The report is intended to help inform and enable those who care about children to effectively stand up and advocate for them.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: cdfinfo@childrensdefense.org Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• 2012 Edition

Keywords: , Child health, Child nutrition, Child welfare, Child welfare, Data, Early childhood development, Education, Family characteristics, Gun violence, High risk groups, Population surveillance, Poverty, Statistics

Annotation: This community action guide describes the experiences of a woman and her infant daughter to point out resources that service providers, advocates, and health professionals can use to better understand and respond to the needs of families and children with problems related to mental health, substance abuse, and trauma. The guide also presents information, resources, and tips to foster unified communities that are responsive to families' needs. Topics include the importance of the birth-to-age-5 developmental stage, threats to resilience, levels of stress in young children and families, protective factors, a strategic framework for action, and moving forward. Brief descriptions of successful programs are included.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SMA-12-4726.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Community programs, Domestic violence, Families, Family support services, High risk groups, Infants, Mental health, Parent support services, Resilience, Resource materials, Stress, Substance abuse, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: This manual describes the Adolescent Suicide Prevention Program, why the program was developed, how it was created, and how it was maintained from 1989 to 2005. Contents include information about the program's history and components. Topics include assessment; planning; capacity and staffing; building partnerships; planning for evaluation; clinical intervention; family violence prevention; school-based prevention programs; community education, awareness, and training; social services; surveillance; record-keeping and data analysis; evaluation; and sustainability.

Contact: Suicide Prevention Resource Center, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (877) 438-7772 Secondary Telephone: (617) 964-5448 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: info@sprc.org Contact E-mail: pserna@nccbs.org Web Site: http://www.sprc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Family violence, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Data analysis, Data collection, Injury prevention, Intervention, Model programs, Needs assessment, Outreach, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public health education, Public private partnerships, School health programs, Suicide prevention, Surveillance, Sustainability, Systems development

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of recent findings from a cross-section of Agency of Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)-supported research projects on conditions especially important to women's health. Examples of topics included in the brief are cardiovascular disease, cancer screening and treatment, reproductive health, women and medications, and prevention. For each topic, facts are presented and then elaborated upon. The studies from which the facts are drawn are identified by author names, journal in which the study appears, and (in some cases) AHRQ grant or contract number.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ pub. no.10-P005.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Costs, Family planning, HIV, Homelessness, Hysterectomy, Osteoporosis, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Research, Screening, Treatment, Violence, Women', Working women, s health

Annotation: This brief describes the benefits of a home visiting program in providing information and services to new parents and families throughout pregnancy and their child's first three years. Topics include the importance of prenatal care, safe and stable housing, counseling for tobacco or substance abuse, domestic violence prevention, as well as advice on building positive, loving relationships with their children.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: pcs-feedback@pewtrusts.org Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Counseling, Domestic violence, Families, Family support services, Home visiting, Parent child relations, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This issue brief translates emerging research and program practice into action steps for providers to design and implement programs that meet the needs of children who are exposed to violence and living in homeless shelters or supportive or transitional housing. The brief aims to build the capacity of housing and homelessness service providers to offer sensitive, timely, and appropriate interventions that enhance children's safety, promote their resilience, and ensure their well-being. The brief includes case scenarios and analyses and a discussion of signs and symptoms of exposure to violence, impact of exposure to violence on children, working with families who live in homeless shelters or supportive or transitional housing, evidence-based practices, building the infrastructure, and special considerations.

Contact: Safe Start Center, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 5515 Security Lane, Suite 800, North Bethesda, MD 20852-5007, Telephone: (800) 865-0965 E-mail: info@safestartcenter.org Web Site: http://www.safestartcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Domestic violence, Families, Family violence, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Interpersonal violence, Intervention, Research, Safety, Service delivery, Violence, programs

Annotation: This information packet was written to support child maltreatment prevention efforts by describing strategies and activities that promote protective factors. It is written for service providers, to encourage and support them as they engage and partner with parents to protect, nurture, and promote the healthy development of children. The packet includes suggestions for enhancing each of the five protective factors in families; tip sheets in English and Spanish for providers to use when working with parents and caregivers on specific parenting challenges; strategies for sharing the message about child abuse prevention in communities; and information about child abuse and neglect.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Community based services, Family support programs, Parent support services, Parenting, Prevention, Program development, Violence prevention

Annotation: This manual provides guidance for a statewide network of neighborhood-based community centers and caring family professionals serving Connecticut's first-time parents. The program addresses the challenges they face and works to identify those at risk of harming their children and reducing the incidence and severity of abuse and neglect. Topics include issues in becoming parents and issues addressing poverty, social isolation, mental health, substance abuse, and domestic violence. Contents of the manual are divided into four sections. Section one describes the Nurturing Families Network (NFN) and research and evaluation. Section two provides detail on the NFN program development and implementation; staffing requirements; job descriptions; professional development and training; clinical supervisions; and programs in nurturing connections, home visiting, and the nurturing parents group. The third section discusses working with agencies that mandate services, such as the Department of Children and Families. The final section provides documentation tools and contact information for resources throughout Connecticut.

Contact: Children's Trust Fund, 410 Capitol Avenue, Third Floor, Hartford, CT 06106, Telephone: (860) 418-8765 Fax: (860) 418-8780 E-mail: ctf@po.state.ct.us Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/ctf/site/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Community programs, Connecticut, Domestic violence, Family centered services, Family support, Manuals, Prevention programs, Professional training, Program descriptions, Training materials

Annotation: This final report describes phase II of a Healthy Start program to eliminate disparities in perinatal health in areas around northeast Portland, Oregon, from 2001-2005. Program elements include reducing high rates of infant mortality and low birth weight rates among African Americans, increasing the rates of early entry into prenatal care for pregnant Hispanic women, increasing male involvement activities, and family violence screening. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; descriptions of project implementation, management and governance; the impact of the project; a local evaluation; and the fetal and infant mortality review. Additional contents of the report include sample products developed during the project period, forms including project data, coverage of the program by local media, and local evaluation study reports. A brochure and a videotape are included as project product samples. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Blacks, Family violence, Final reports, Healthy Start, Hispanic Americans, Infant mortality, Low birth weight, MCH research, Oregon, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Screening

Annotation: This report aims to provide a picture for program managers and policymakers and to help shape future efforts as they make the most effective use of resources in meeting the needs of adolescents, their families, and their communities. The report ascertains what progress has been made at the federal level to meet the needs of adolescents in the following content areas: health and well-being, fitness, family and peer relationships, school environment, smoking, alcohol use, and violence. The report answers four questions about federal efforts to improve adolescent health: (1) is there a national policy that addresses the promotion of adolescent health?, (2) is the Department of Health and Human Services making an effort to create healthier environments for adolescents through a multi-level approach?, (3) what is the status of evaluations of federally funded adolescent health programs?, and (4) what can we learn from existing evaluations of programs that seek to influence adolescent health outcomes? Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report and in an appendix. Five appendices include an expanded methodology, tables, program resources, a bibliography, and program references. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau].

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol consumption behavior, Communities, Families, Family relations, Federal programs, Final reports, Physical fitness, Public policy, Relationships, Schools, Smoking, Violence

Annotation: This paper focuses on municipal leaders' role in strengthening American's families. Part 1 of the paper discusses how mayors, city council members, and other key city leaders can help mobilize, organize, and lead family-strengthening efforts focused on local families and the neighborhoods in which they live. Part 2 offers a set of strategies for launching and sustaining efforts to strengthen families. Part 3 looks more closely at some specific things city leaders can do to help create important connections for families. The paper contains a wide range of practical ideas for how municipal action can strengthen families.

Contact: National League of Cities, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 550, Washington, DC 20004-1763, Telephone: (877) 827-2385 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.nlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, City government, Communities, Community programs, Domestic violence, Early childhood development, Education, Employment programs, Families, Family support, Health, Housing, Local government, Neighborhoods, Nutrition, Safety, School age child care