Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (1,207 total).

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. n.d.. Nutrition: Selected SPRANS abstracts FY 1988. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 173 pp.

Annotation: This publication provides information about the nutrition component of 107 projects supported by the Office of Maternal and Child Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services during 1988. Subjects of the project include prenatal care and risk reduction, systems development, breastfeeding, infant health, child health, adolescent health, chronic illness and disabling conditions, community based, comprehensive services, and training programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Out of print; available for loan.

Keywords: Nutrition, SPRANS

Churchill Media and Center for Science in the Public Interest. n.d.. Fast food: What's in it for you?. Los Angeles, CA: Churchill Media; Washington, DC: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1 videotape (16:30 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape is designed to educate students in grades 5 to 7 about the nutritional values of foods and the relationship between the foods they eat and their health. It follows two characters in the videotape as they learn about foods that are high in saturated fats, cholesterol, and sugar. It indicates ways they can make better food choices at fast food restaurants and at home. The videotape discussion guide provides a summary of the videotape, learning objectives, suggestions for discussions and activities, and a list of several related materials.

Contact: Society for Visual Education, 6465 North Avondale Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631, Telephone: (800) 253-2788 Secondary Telephone: 1-773-775-9433 Fax: 1-800-444-9855 E-mail: clearvue_service@discovery.com Web Site: http://www.clearvue.com/index.asp Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 0-7932-0796-7.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Materials for adolescents, Videotapes

South Dakota Department of Health, Nutrition Services. n.d.. Feeding our future: Guidelines for feeding children (ages 1 thru 6). Pierre, SD: South Dakota Department of Health, 1 p.

Corruccini CG. n.d.. Eating right for your baby. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Health Services, Maternal and Child Health Branch, 17 pp. (Nutrition for pregnancy and breast feeding)

Annotation: One of four in a series, this brochure is meant as a guide for planning meals for pregnant women. It is organized by food groups and lists foods, amounts, and which vitamins and minerals are supplied when eaten. The other titles in the series are: Your Weight and Weight Gain; Using Vitamin/Mineral Pills and Salt; and Relief from Common Problems: Nausea, Constipation, Heartburn.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: mchinet@cdph.ca.gov Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Price unknown.

Keywords: Menu planning, Nutritional requirements, Nutritive value, Prenatal nutrition

Prendergast A. n.d.. Planning comprehensive health services for the chronically ill/handicapped child: Need for nutrition component. Cincinnati, OH: Educational Television Services, 1 videotape.

Clark D. n.d.. Dietary score: Assessment tools and instructions. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health , 20 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Close AK, ed. n.d.. Nutrition education in child feeding programs in the developing countries. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of State, Agency for International Development, Office of Nutrition, 44 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Gerald T. Rogers Productions. n.d.. Can you tell me—which foods are good?. Los Angeles, CA: Churchill Media, 1 videotape (10 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape uses puppet characters and human actors to educate children, ages 4 to 8, about selecting good foods and choosing well-balanced meals. The videotape discusses the four food groups and the videotape discussion guide provides an introduction to the U.S. Department of Agriculture's food guide pyramid. The discussion guide provides a brief description of the content, educational objectives, and suggested topics for discussion and activities. The videotape is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Society for Visual Education, 6465 North Avondale Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631, Telephone: (800) 253-2788 Secondary Telephone: 1-773-775-9433 Fax: 1-800-444-9855 E-mail: clearvue_service@discovery.com Web Site: http://www.clearvue.com/index.asp Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Educational materials, Food pyramid, Materials for children, Spanish language materials, Videotapes

Churchill Films. n.d.. Sooper goop. (Short version). Los Angeles, CA: Churchill Films, 1 videotape (10 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape teaches children, ages 6 to 13, about nutrition and the use of advertising techniques to promote sales. The story traces the development of Sooper Goop, a breakfast cereal low in nutritional values and high in sugar, and the use of clever advertising strategies to persuade children to ask for the product. The discussion guide provides a brief description, educational objectives, suggested topics for discussion, and activities to reinforce the videotape message.

Contact: Churchill Media, 6465 North Avondale Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631, Telephone: (800) 253-2788 Secondary Telephone: 773-775-9433 Fax: 800-444-9855 E-mail: clearvue_service@discovery.com Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Advertising, Audiovisual materials, Child nutrition, Educational materials, Materials for adolescents, Materials for children, Videotapes

Churchill Media. n.d.. Red Riding Hood and the well-fed wolf. Los Angeles, CA: Churchill Media, 1 videotape (16 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape uses the story of Little Red Riding Hood as the basis for teaching children, ages 8 to 12, about nutrition and good meals. Red Riding Hood reviews the wolf's eating habits and suggests healthier alternatives. The revised edition introduces the U.S. Department of Agriculture's food guide pyramid. The discussion guide provides a brief summary, educational objectives, a small copy of the food guide pyramid, and suggested topics for discussion and follow-up activities.

Contact: Society for Visual Education, 6465 North Avondale Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631, Telephone: (800) 253-2788 Secondary Telephone: 1-773-775-9433 Fax: 1-800-444-9855 E-mail: clearvue_service@discovery.com Web Site: http://www.clearvue.com/index.asp Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 0-7932-3025.

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Audiovisual materials, Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Educational materials, Food pyramid, Materials for adolescents, Materials for children, Videotapes

Churchill Media. n.d.. Look before you eat. (2nd ed).. Los Angeles, CA: Churchill Media, 1 videotape (24 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape, designed for adolescents in grades 7 to 12, reviews how eating habits have changed over the years and examines how food industry advertisements and promotions affect food choices. The videotape includes a scenario where high school students are evaluating their food choices and then are trying to devise healthier meals using foods lower in sugar, salt, and fat, and higher in calcium. It also discusses the role of processed, natural, and fast foods in nutrition. The discussion guide provides a summary of the videotape, educational objectives, topics for discussions, suggested activities, and related materials that may be useful.

Contact: Society for Visual Education, 6465 North Avondale Avenue, Chicago, IL 60631, Telephone: (800) 253-2788 Secondary Telephone: 1-773-775-9433 Fax: 1-800-444-9855 E-mail: clearvue_service@discovery.com Web Site: http://www.clearvue.com/index.asp Price unknown; also available on interactive videodisc.

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Advertising, Audiovisual materials, Dietary guidelines, Educational materials, Fast food, Food habits, Food habits, Materials for adolescents, Videotapes

Great Expectations/Healthy Start. n.d.. Prenatal education curriculum. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations/Healthy Start, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This study guide consists of a series of brief training sessions on various aspects of prenatal and infant care. Curricula topics include the following: 1) anatomy and physiology of pregnancy; 2) breastfeeding; 3) alcohol, smoking, and drug abuse; 4) personal hygiene; 5) sexually transmitted diseases; 6) contraception/family planning; and 7) domestic violence. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Contraception, Curricula, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Great Expectations/New Orleans Healthy Start, Infant care, Infant health, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Prenatal nutrition, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance dependence, Training materials

Williams JR, ed., Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff. n.d.. Mount Zion survey: Housing, nutrition, education. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project , 17 pp. (Comment series no: 1-5 (37))

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Swartz JM. n.d.. Development of study of the nutritional status of children and youth registrants. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project Staff, 46 pp. (Study series no.: 1-7 (16))

Annotation: This paper is a proposal for a study to make recommendations for improvement of delivery of nutritional services in programs supported by the Maternal and Child Health Service, as well as in the development of future programs. The need for such studies, the relationship of the Children and Youth Project, the purpose and design of the proposed study, development of the observation instrument, a pilot study, and summary of study modifications are presented. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health programs, Child nutrition, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Research, Title V programs

Great Expectations. n.d.. Parenting manual. New Orleans, LA: Healthy Start/Great Expectations, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This training manual is a curriculum in parenting for Great Expectation clients. The first section of the document includes a description of the eight week course; a parenting training schedule; guidelines for group leader or coordinator; ground rules for the participants; a parent pledge; and recruiting suggestions. The remainder of the manual provides resource material and handouts on these topics: orientation; health education; safety; nurturing and self esteem; communication and play; child reporting (types of abuse, types of neglect, mandated reporters, and factors that sometimes lead to abuse or neglect); and discipline. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Contact Phone: (504 ) 565-7601 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child care, Child development, Communication, Curricula, Discipline, Education, Family planning, Health education, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Nutrition, Outreach, Parenting, Play, Prenatal care, Prevention, Safety, Self-esteem

Oakland Healthy Start. n.d.. Pregnancy. Oakland, CA: Oakland Healthy Start, and Studio Three, Samuel Merritt College, 1 videotape (11:12 minutes, VHS 1/2 inches). (Oakland Healthy Start video series)

Annotation: This parent education videotape provides information on physical changes of pregnancy, medical tests, and preparing the home before the baby's arrival. Also included is advice on maintaining good health and eating nutritional foods during the pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: fhaskins@admin2.mail.co.alameda.ca.us Available at no charge.

Keywords: Amniocentesis, Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant equipment, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Ultrasonography, Videotapes

Cloud H. n.d.. Nutrition Programming for the Chronically Ill/Handicapped Child: [Final report]. Birmingham, AL: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Sparks Center for Developmental and Learning Disorders, 7 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to conduct a workshop for nutritionists, nurses, physicians, and other health professionals to update knowledge of nutritional needs of chronically ill/handicapped children, identify screening and referral procedures and develop a plan for improving nutrition services through Title V programs in the 13 states comprising Region IV and VI. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196749.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Nurses, Nutrition, Nutrition screening, Nutritionists, Physicians, Professional education

Nelson R. n.d.. Demonstration of a Regional Nutrition Program for Handicapped or At-Risk Children: [Final report]. Iowa City, IA: University of Iowa, 40 pp.

Annotation: This project's goals were to provide comprehensive community-based nutrition consultation services to children with special health needs, nutrition-related intervention to children and adolescents identified as high risk for future coronary heart disease, and nutrition-related weight management services to children and adolescents identified as obese. The objectives were to: (1) Make available a comprehensive nutritional program for children with handicapping conditions or chronic diseases by means of screening and, if needed, through their involvement in a nutrition care plan; (2) identify at an early age and screen for hypercholesterolemia those children and adolescents who have a family history of coronary heart disease and to provide them and their families with subsequent dietary and other risk factory counseling; and (3) make available a comprehensive, individualized regional weight management program for obese children and adolescents and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152916.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Handicapped High risk children, Heart Disease, Nutrition, WIC Program

van Dyck P. n.d.. Methods of Funding Nutrition Services for Children with Developmental Disabilities [Final report]. Salt Lake City, UT: Utah Department of Health, 16 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to develop and apply a model for providing comprehensive nutrition services for children in Utah who have certain developmental disabilities or disease conditions. The objectives of the project were to (1) provide comprehensive nutrition care and expand resources; (2) demonstrate the costs and benefits of providing nutrition services to those children with selected developmental disabilities using an economic model; and (3) obtain third-party reimbursement for nutrition services provided to children with selected special health needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199172.

Keywords: Cystic Fibrosis, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, Financing Health Care, Inborn Errors of Metabolism, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit(NICU), Nutrition, Reimbursement

n.d.. Indiana's Breastfeeding Promotion Program [Final report]. Indianapolis, IN: Indiana State Board of Health, 29 pp.

Annotation: This project sought to increase the incidence and duration of breastfeeding in the state. The purpose of the project was to develop statewide strategies for breastfeeding promotion. Clients targeted were those least likely to breastfeed. Activities included developing and implementing industry policies that support working, breastfeeding women; conducting a public media campaign and establishing a toll-free hotline; counseling and educating low-income and minority women through WIC and MCH programs; and providing professional education. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196871.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infants, Low income groups, Minorities, Mothers, Nutrition, Outreach, WIC Program

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.