Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this Instructor's Manual is to assist individuals interested in conducting alcohol and other drug teaching sessions with pediatric medical students, residents, and/or faculty. The content are based on the work with medical students, residents, and faculty within The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. The Instructor's Manual contains six major sections: (1) Introduction; (2) The John Hopkins Pediatric Substance Abuse Curriculum (PSAC); (3) Developing the Program at Your Institution; (4) Teaching Strategies; (5) Substance Abuse Education Modules; and (6) Substance Abuse Educational Resources. Also provided are educational resources that can provide materials or resources to assist in conducing alcohol and other drug teaching sessions.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Manuals, Substance abuse

Annotation: This chapter of the Indian Health Manual provides an introduction to the Indian Health Service Dental Program. It discusses program organization, operations, resources, and reporting.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Federal agencies, Manuals, Oral health, Standards

Annotation: This two-part policy tool is designed to support a facilitated process for state oral health stakeholders to collectively make decisions about priorities based on suggested criteria. It also provides a planning checklist to move forward strategically. Part one assists state oral health programs in assessing opportunities for socio-political, policy, and systems change. It considers scientific data collection, professional judgment, community input, and feasibility in needs assessment and policy development to improve oral health resources and services. Part two focuses on developing policy actions or systems-development plans to take advantage of or create new opportunities to advance the public’s oral health. The guidebook contains a series of templates that can be reproduced and adapted to meet specific project needs. This tool was previously issued as "The policy tool guidebook: Steps for creating a successful oral health policy tool session" (2009).

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Community coordination, Health policy, Manuals, Needs assessment, Oral health, Public health programs, Strategic plans

Annotation: This manual provides professional recommendations and states’ expectations for school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs) under the Ohio Department of Health (ODH). Contents include local program operations, regulatory compliance, compliance with ODH policies, SBSP eligibility, sample program forms, site assessment, infection control, clinical materials and methods, quality assurance, performance benchmarks and standards, reporting, ODH program reviews, compliance with other ODH requirements, Medicaid billing and collection, reimbursement, and filing claims. The appendices contain sample forms, records, letters, and other practice-related materials.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Dental sealants, Forms, Guideline adherence, Manuals, Ohio, Oral health, Parents, Resources for professionals, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This manual provides information on creating a diverse prenatal/postpartum advisory board (PPAB) with the goal of improving the oral health and overall health of women with low incomes before, during, and after pregnancy, as well as of children from families with low incomes, in Maryland. The manual is divided into three sections: (1) processes/methods (describing the frameworks and processes underpinning the PPAB), (2) relationship-building for fostering relationships among members with diverse perspectives and backgrounds, and (3) results showcasing end products from PPAB implementation.

Contact: University of Maryland, School of Dentistry, 650 West Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7101 Web Site: https://www.dental.umaryland.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Low income groups, Manuals, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information

Annotation: This guide provides direction to state Medicaid agencies and local educational agencies (LEAs) that deliver school-based services to allow LEAs to obtain full payment for services to increase access to care for students enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). It discusses the scope and delivery of Medicaid services in schools; CHIP and school-based services; and requirements for billing, claiming, and accounting for school-based services medical and administrative costs. It includes strategies, tools, and best practices in administering these services.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child Health Insurance Program, Community agencies, Manuals, Medicaid, School districts, School health services

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This handbook provides a framework and strategies for planning, evaluating, and improving program collaboration to effectively and efficiently address oral health issues. Although many examples are targeted to oral health programs in state health agencies and statewide oral health coalitions, the materials and concepts apply to any community-based oral health program or local coalition. The handbook provides a rationale for improving program collaboration and detailed steps on how to do so.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Handbook
• Workbook

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Communication, Evaluation, Manuals, Oral health, Planning

Annotation: This document describes the value of interviewing childbearing parents/families after the death of an infant, challenges, and steps in the process, including the parental interviewer; locating and contacting families; confidentiality, consent, and ethical considerations; conducting the interview; alternative methods; bereavement support and resources, and self-care. Appendices include sample position descriptions for interviewers, protocols, handouts and forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death review, Infant death review committees, Interviews, Manuals

Annotation: This training manual for state, tribal, local, and territorial health departments focuses on addressing ethical issues that arise in the practice of public health. Contents include an overview of public health ethics with case studies in public health on current topics. The overview introduces public health ethics and distinguishes it from clinical and research ethics. It offers a guide for addressing challenges such as the case-based approach and stakeholder analysis. It also explores the overlap between law and ethics. Each case contains relevant scientific and regulatory background information and questions for discussion. A facilitator's manual is also available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Case studies, Health agencies, Manuals, Professional ethics, Public health, Training

Annotation: This FES toolkit is designed to inspire and support child- and family-serving organizations working to engage families and family-led organizations in systems-level initiatives. It is designed to work with the Family Engagement in Systems Assessment (FESAT) tool to be used to assess and improve family engagement. It provides strategies in the domains of commitment, transpoarency, representation, and impact. Related documents include the Family Engagement in Systems Assessment Tool (FESAT), a user's guide, and a score sheet.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Families, Family centered care, Family centered services, Manuals, Parent participation

Annotation: This toolkit is intended to help state policy leaders and advocates assess the current status of services for infants, toddlers, and their families, and to set priorities for improvement. A user-friendly format allows users to easily access state information from national sources, assess how their state compares to other states, and gather stakeholder input. Topics include an overview, good health, strong families, positive early learning experiences, and collaboration and system building. Additional resources include stakeholder survey questions in an editable Excel format, family survey template as PDF and Survey Monkey templates in English and Spanish, and a list of suggested stakeholders for completing the self-assessment checklist.This toolkit is intended to help state policy leaders and advocates assess the current status of services for infants, toddlers, and their families, and to set priorities for improvement. A user-friendly format allows users to easily access state information from national sources, assess how your state compares to other states, and gather stakeholder input.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood education, Families, Infants, Manuals, Program development, Program evaluation, Public health services, Public policies, Toddlers

Annotation: This manual provides information about the Maryland Mighty Tooth School Dental Sealant Program. It presents general program information and administrative protocols and discusses the following topics: operating effective community programs; tooth-surface selection, materials, and sealant application techniques; assessment and data collection; health-education curricula; and training. Sample letters and forms are included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Guidelines, Manuals, Maryland, Oral health, School age children, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This manual is designed to help dental clinic staff with all aspects of clinic development and ongoing operations. Chapter topics include essential elements, facilities and staffing, finances, administrative operations, quality management, and clinical operations. Links to sample policies, efficiency tips, professional standards, supply lists, floor plans, design tips, equipment photographs, customizable budget worksheets, funding strategies, quality-improvement plans, fact sheets, and websites are included. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Dental care, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Professional training, Program management

Annotation: This toolkit, which is primarily intended for child welfare agencies and professionals to use in partnership with their evaluators, introduces the concept of formative evaluation, a method for evaluating programs during early implementation in order to inform program improvement and assess readiness for rigorous summative evaluation.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child welfare, Manuals, Program evaluation

Annotation: This book describes grey literature and its values; databases for grey literature; searching for dissertations/theses, unpublished clinical trials, conference proceedings, papers, and posters; repositories for grey literature; search checklist; using Google; developing a search plan; and keeping current with emerging trends and learning tools.

Keywords: Literature reviews, Manuals

Annotation: This reference manual provides information about operating a dental public health program in Virginia. Topics include patient care, community program operations, dental sealant program operations, professional development, and resources. Contents include agreements, guidelines, plans, procedures, protocols, standards, surveys, trainings, and videos. Some resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Program descriptions, Protocols, Public health dentistry, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Virginia

Annotation: This guide for after school program directors, members of leadership teams, site directors, and partners provides a step-by-step approach to developing exemplary practices in healthy eating, physical activity, and food security. The guide examines each practice in terms of what it means; why it matters; and how it can be embedded into, expanded upon, and deepen current work. Examples from learning centers, including their successes and the challenges they had to overcome, are provided throughout. The guide also includes progress indicators for assessing where a program and or site is at any given point in time as they move from starting out in this process to reaching exemplary levels.

Contact: Center for Collaborative Solutions, 1337 Howe Avenue, Suite 210, Sacramento, CA 95825, Telephone: (916) 567-9911 Fax: (916) 567-0776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccscenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, After school programs, Child health, Communities, Families, Financing, Food consumption, Hunger, Learning, Low income groups, Manuals, Model programs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Program development, Schools

Annotation: This resource provides guidance on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools for all users. Topics include what we know about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing your site with users with limited literacy skills. A printable checklist of strategies, an overview of user research, and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Design, Guidelines, Health education, Information dissemination, Interactive media, Internet, Low literacy, Manuals, Online systems, Oral health

Annotation: This manual for state Medicaid agency staff provides guidance on developing and implementing oral-health-performance-improvement projects (PIPs). Topics include selecting the PIP topic, identifying the population, defining the PIP aim, selecting performance measures, establishing the data-collection plan, planning the intervention, implementing the intervention and improvement strategies, analyzing data to interpret PIP results, and planning for sustained improvement. A customizable template and a manual for health plans are also available.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Children', Manuals, Medicaid managed care, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Quality assurance, State programs, s health insurance programs