Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (176 total).

Institute for Family-Centered Care. n.d.. Focus group on ACTG 076: Summary report. Bethesda, MD: Institute for Family-Centered Care, 10 pp.

Annotation: This summary report is from a focus group convened to discuss issues related to the use of ACTG 076 to treat HIV-infected pregnant women. The chief issues covered are: women's attitudes about health care providers and the health care system; information and informed decision making; and counseling and testing. Implications, conclusions and recommended are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care, 7900 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 405, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 652-0281, ext. 16 Fax: (301) 652-0186 E-mail: institute@ipfcc.org Web Site: http://www.familycenteredcare.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, Counseling, HIV, HIV infected patients, Pediatric HIV, Pregnant women, Testing, Treatment outcome, Treatment refusal

Healthy Teen Network and ETR Associates. n.d.. Weaving science & practice: Frequently asked questions about science-based approaches. Baltimore, MD: Healthy Teen Network, 20 pp.

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: info@healthyteennetwork.org Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Hitti JE, Melvin AJ, Taylor P, Rhodes W, eds. 2016. Screening and management of maternal HIV infection: Implications for mother and infant (rev. ed.). Seattle, WA: University of Washington, Northwest Regional Perinatal Program and Department of Pediatrics; Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, 40 pp.

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women's health

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2016. Women's preventive services: Required health plan coverage guidelines. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration,

Annotation: This website provides information about required health plan coverage guidelines for women's preventive services under the Affordable Care Act. It includes a table listing type of preventive service, guidelines for health insurance coverage, and frequency of coverage. Preventive service types listed include well-woman visits, gestational diabetes screening, human papillomavirus testing, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, counseling and screening for human immune-deficiency virus, contraceptive methods and counseling, and screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, HIV screening, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health services, Human papillomavirus, Interpersonal violence, Legislation, Prevention, Reproductive health, Screening, Sexually transmitted infections, Testing, Women's health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2016. Winnable battles final report. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 40 pp.

Annotation: This report describes public health priorities with large-scale impact on health, known effective strategies to address them, and progress towards meeting targeted goals. Contents include visual representations of progress and data trends, as well as summaries of federal contributions associated with each of the following topic areas: tobacco; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; food safety; health care-associated infections; motor vehicle injuries; adolescent pregnancy; and HIV.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Food safety, Goals, HIV, Health, Infections, Motor vehicle safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Tobacco use, Treatments, Trends

Women's Preventive Services Initiative. 2016. Final report to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources & Services Administration: Recommendations for preventive services for women (abridged report). Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 33 pp.

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women's health

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 2016. CDC Division of Adolescent and School Health DASH strategic plan for fiscal years 2015–2020. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 44 pp.

Annotation: This document presents a strategic framework and 5-year plan for maximizing opportunities for primary prevention of HIV and other sexually transmitted infections and pregnancy among adolescents. Contents include the history of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Division of Adolescent and School Health (DASH); information about adolescent health and schools as a venue for health promotion and disease prevention among adolescents; and DASH's mission, approach, vision, goals, core business, strategic imperatives, objectives and indicators, strategies and activities, and strategic feedback loop. The appendices contain information about school-based surveillance systems, middle and high school sexual health education topic indicators, and DASH's research agenda.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Federal initiatives, HIV, Health promotion, Primary prevention, School health education, Schools, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Strategic plans

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 2016. Developing a scope and sequence for sexual health education. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 15 pp.

Annotation: This document describes how to determine the sexual health content and skills that should be taught at each grade level within a school health education curriculum framework to lower students' risk of HIV and other sexually transmitted infections, and unplanned pregnancy. Contents include guidance on using the Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool (HECAT) to inform the breadth and arrangement of key health topics and concepts across grade levels (scope) and the logical progression of essential health knowledge, skills, and behaviors to be addressed at each grade level (sequence) from pre-kindergarten through the 12th grade. Additional contents include steps to create or revise a sexual health scope and sequence using the HECAT. A brief overview that explains what a scope and sequence is and what it is meant to accomplish is also available.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Curriculum development, HIV, Primary prevention, School districts, School health education, Schools, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States. 2015. State profiles fiscal year 2014: A portrait of sexuality education and abstinence-only-until-marriage programs in the states. New York, NY: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States,

Annotation: These resources for advocates, educators, policymakers, public health professionals, parents, youth, and community stakeholders comprise profiles of sexuality education and abstinence-only-until-marriage programs in the United States. Topics include federal funding by state, total federal spending on abstinence-only-until-marriage programs, sexuality and HIV/STD education policies by state, and descriptions of evidence-based and comprehensive approaches to pregnancy-, STD-, HIV/AIDS-prevention and sexuality education programs.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: siecus@siecus.org Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Federal MCH programs, Government financing, HIV, Model programs, Prevention programs, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State MCH programs

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2015. HRSA oral health: Across the agency. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2014. Preexposure prophylaxis for the prevention of HIV infection in the United States: 2014. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 67 pp. (A clinical practice guideline)

Annotation: This publication provides a comprehensive clinical practice guideline for the use of preexposure prophylaxis (PrEP) for the prevention of HIV infection in the United States. Contents include evidence of need for additional HIV prevention methods; evidence of safety and efficacy of antiretroviral prophylaxis; identifying indications for PrEP; providing PrEP; people with documented HIV infection; discontinuing PrEP; special clinical considerations including women who become pregnant or breastfeed while taking PrEP medication; improving medication adherence; reducing HIV risk behaviors; financial case-management issues for PrEP; decision support, training, and technical assistance; and related guidelines.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, HIV, Preventive medicine, Sexually transmitted diseases

Panel on Antiretroviral Guidelines for Adults and Adolescents. 2014. Guidelines for the use of antiretroviral agents in HIV-1-infected adults and adolescents. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 1 v.

Annotation: This guideline focuses on the optimal use of antiretroviral (ARV) agents for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection in adults and adolescents in the United States. Contents include information on the scope of the guideline, methodology for collecting the evidence that the guideline is based on, and recommendations for treatment. Companion documents and client resources are also included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, National Guideline Clearinghouse, 5600 Fishers Lane * * * DEFUNCT * * *, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 E-mail: info@guideline.gov Web Site: https://www.guideline.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Communicable diseases, Cost effectiveness, Drug therapy, Guidelines, HIV: Adolescents, Patient care, Pregnant women, Safety, Treatment effectiveness, Virus diseases

AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center. 2013-. Prevention of mother-to-child transmission. Atlanta, GA: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, (Supporting HIV education for health care professionals)

Annotation: This electronic resource presents information on the prevention of transmission of HIV infection from mother to child. It includes a clinician toolkit, antiretroviral guidelines, curricula, manuals, online training, patient information, pocket guides, prevention and testing guidelines, slides, and other materials. Topics include preconception care, HIV testing including rapid testing at labor and delivery, and counseling.

Contact: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, Rutgers School of Nursing, Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Center, 65 Bergen Street, Newark, NJ 07107, Telephone: (973) 972-5141 Fax: (973) 972-0397 E-mail: info@aidsetc.org Web Site: https://aidsetc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, HIV, Infant health, Pediatric HIV, Prevention

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013. United States—Mexico public health. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,

Annotation: This website provides information about public health issues that affect both Mexico and the United States. The site offers information about connections between Mexico and the United States and about health conditions of concern to both the United States and Mexico (including vaccine-preventable infectious diseases, vector-borne diseases, zoonotic diseases, illnesses spread through food and water, tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS, pandemic influenza and other global health emergencies, and chronic health conditions) as well as about the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's role in the partnership between the United States and Mexico. Information about the U.S.-Mexico border region and other interesting facts is also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Infectious diseases, Influenza, International health, Mexico, Prevention, Public health, Tuberculosis, Vaccines

President's Working Group on the Intersection of HIV/AIDS, Violence Against Women and Girls, and Gender-Related Health Disparities. 2013. Addressing the intersection of HIV/AIDS, violence against women and girls, and gender-related health disparities. Washington, DC: President's Working Group on the Intersection of HIV/AIDS, Violence Against Women and Girls, and Gender-Related Health Disparities, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report presents recommendations and action steps to address the barriers to care and prevention of HIV, violence against girls and women, and gender-related health disparities. Developed by an interagency federal working group created by the Obama Administration to explore the intersection of these three health issues, the report provides objectives and recommended action steps based on an inventory of existing federal programs, a review of the literature, and open discussions. The report includes background information on the working group, details on the assessment process used to develop the action steps, and citations for the evidence-based recommendations.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, HIV, Interagency cooperation, Prevention programs, Research, Violence

U.S. Office of Minority Health. 2013. The Circle of Life multimedia program. [Rockville. MD]: U.S. Office of Minority Health,

Annotation: This website presents the Circle of Life multimedia program, a curriculum intended for American Indian/Alaska Native middle school students that is based on the medicine wheel, a teaching symbol about mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional wellness. This holistic health promotion model is meant to help students learn about making healthy choices to prevent disease such as HIV/AIDS. The curriculum is divided into seven chapter sessions that are 20-25 minutes each and is presented in a modular form that can be broken up or used in sequence either in or outside the classroom. Teacher notes and an accessible version of the curriculum are also available on the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: info@minorityhealth.hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alaska natives, American Indians, Child health, Curricula, Educational materials, HIV, Middle school students, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities. 2013. Hispanics in Maryland: Health data and resources. Balitmore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the health of Maryland's Hispanic population. The report includes data highlights; basic information about this population; and information about social and economic well-being, economic characteristics, mortality, access to health care, health risk and protective factors, cancer, chronic disease, HIV and infectious diseases, maternal and infant health, and mental health. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 201 West Preston Street, Room 500, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-7117 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: http://dhmh.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Health, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Maryland, Mental heath, Minority groups, Mortality, Protective factors, Racial factors, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, State surveys, Statistical data, Women's health

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities. 2013. American Indians and Alaska Natives in Maryland: Health data and resources. Balitmore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the health of Maryland's Native American and Alaska Native population. The report includes data highlights; basic information about this population; and information about social and economic well-being, economic characteristics, mortality, access to health care, health risk and protective factors, cancer, chronic disease, HIV and infectious diseases, maternal and infant health, and mental health.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 201 West Preston Street, Room 500, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-7117 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: http://dhmh.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska natives, Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Health, Hispanic American Indians, Infant health, Maryland, Mental health, Minority groups, Mortality, Protective factors, Racial factors, Risk factors, State surveys, Statistical data, Women's health

Kachur R, Mesnick J, Liddon N, Kapsimalis C, Habel M, David-Ferdon C, Brown K, Gloppen K, Tevendale H, Gelaude DJ, Romero L, Seitz H, Heldman AB, Schindelar,J. 2013. Adolescents, technology and reducing risk for HIV, STDs and pregnancy. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, 68 pp.

Annotation: This white paper provides an overview of the ways in which digital technology can be used to improve the sexual health of adolescents. It includes a brief summary of adolescents (including their demography, development, and sexual behavior) and provides an overview of the new digital technologies and media that youth are using. These include networking sites (SNS), video sharing, blogs, instant messaging, mobile technology, and virtual worlds. The paper examines technology’s potential for use in sexual health promotion as well as the risks associated with misuse of digital technology. Included are examples of innovative adolescent sexual health interventions that have used digital technology to improve their reach and effectiveness.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, HIV, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Prevention, Risk reduction, Social media, Technology

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. 2013. Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV): Screening. Rockville, MD: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, multiple items.

Annotation: This web resource provides recommendations for screening for HIV infection. It also provides evidence reviews, a clinical summary, and related information for consumers and health professionals. It is being updated in 2018 to two sections: screening for nonpregnant adolescents and adults, and screening for pregnant women.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: HIV screening

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.