Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This summary report is from a focus group convened to discuss issues related to the use of ACTG 076 to treat HIV-infected pregnant women. The chief issues covered are: women's attitudes about health care providers and the health care system; information and informed decision making; and counseling and testing. Implications, conclusions and recommended are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care, 7900 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 405, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 652-0281, ext. 16 Fax: (301) 652-0186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familycenteredcare.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Attitudes, Counseling, HIV, HIV infected patients, Pediatric HIV, Pregnant women, Testing, Treatment outcome, Treatment refusal

Annotation: The goal of this project was to assist in the formation of a collaborative effort involving the government, providers, private payers, and families in order to reconcile the operational difficulties of achieving health care cost containment while retaining quality, access, and family-centeredness. The project sought to: develop approaches to health care financing that are sensitive to the needs of families with children who have special health care needs; assist families with special health care needs in dealing with financial problems which pose barriers to obtaining appropriate health services; and disseminate information regarding financing of care for children with special health care needs. Family health benefits counselors assisted approximately 1600 over the course of the project by conducting intake interviews, informing families about health care financing options, assisting in completing applications and/or filing appeals or denials of public or private benefits and facilitating negotiations with medical creditors. Consultation with legal backup and referral for legal intervention were distinguishing aspects of the project. Benefits counselors and project attorney worked with state and county administrative and regulatory agencies, private insurers and health care providers and associations to resolve systemic problems. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199156.

Keywords: Advocacy, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Families, Family health, Financial Counseling, Financing Health Care, Health Insurance, Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs), Medicaid, Reimbursement

Annotation: This project sought to reduce infant morbidity and mortality due to low birthweight, and to demonstrate a cost-effective prenatal care program which was integrated into the existing system and can be duplicated in other states. Project objectives included: reducing the incidence of low birthweight newborns in the project; reducing the incidence of women who engage in high-risk behaviors during their pregnancy; instituting a model prenatal education, counseling, referral, and followup program in physicians' offices and other sites; and enhancing the education and counseling skills of prenatal care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103258.

Keywords: Counseling, Education of Health Professionals, Education of Patients, High risk pregnancy, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Referrals

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This survey for health professionals and staff within the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health presents questions about opinions and experiences with providing oral health care to children ages 3 and under. Selected question topics includes age of first dental visit, fluoride varnish application during dental visits, making referrals, fluoride counseling, and anticipatory guidance and education.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Counseling, Fluoride, Health care providers, Health education, Oral health, Referrals, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals on how to counsel adolescents and young adults about human papillomavirus (HPV). It includes general information about HPV and approaches to use when talking with patients ages 11–13 and patients ages 14 and older. Suggested information to share with patients as well as followup activities are included.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 2 Lafayette Street, 20th Floor, CN-65, New York, NY 10007, Telephone: (212) 676-2188 E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Counseling, Oral health, Papillomavirus, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals on how to counsel children, adolescents, and young adults about tobacco use. It includes information about smoking and vaping. It also presents ideas for providing tobacco-use-related screening, guidance, and treatment appropriate for patients of different ages, beginning at age 5.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 2 Lafayette Street, 20th Floor, CN-65, New York, NY 10007, Telephone: (212) 676-2188 E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cigarettes, Counseling, Oral health, Screening, Smoking, Tobacco use, Treatment, Young adults

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Instructions
• Training Modules

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

Annotation: This handbook is intended to increase the knowledge of dental students, residents, and fellows and dental hygiene students about obesity prevention, nutrition, and nutrition counseling for children. The handbook provides an overview of childhood obesity and its consequences, recommendations that support optimal oral health and healthy weight in children, and tools that oral health professionals can use to support childhood-obesity-prevention efforts.

Contact: Temple University, Kornberg School of Dentistry, 3223 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19140, Web Site: https://dentistry.temple.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Training

Annotation: This report provides information about prenatal oral health care trends in Florida between 2009 and 2015. It explains what PRAMS is, offers background on the importance of oral health care during pregnancy, and discusses trends in oral health care before and during pregnancy based on the state’s PRAMS data collected during this period. Data related to discussion by a health professional about having a dental visit before pregnancy, and about receipt of oral health care during and after pregnancy, are provided.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399, Telephone: (850) 245-4444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.floridahealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Florida, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, State information, Trends

Annotation: This toolkit is intended to assist oral health professionals in Georgia with helping their patients, especially pregnant women, quit smoking. It provides information about why smoking during pregnancy is harmful and how oral health professionals can contribute to helping women quit. The toolkit provides information about the 5As protocol (ask, advise, assess, assist, arrange) for helping patients quit smoking and offers detailed guidelines for how to implement the protocol with patients in a short timeframe. A table explaining how to use diagnostic codes to apply for reimbursement for tobacco-cessation counseling is included.

Contact: Georgia Tobacco Use Prevention Program, Georgia Department of Public Health, 2 Peachtree Street, NW, 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Counseling, Georgia, Oral health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, State programs

Annotation: The goal of this training is to equip oral health professionals with the skills and knowledge they need to provide nutrition counseling for obesity prevention in pediatric dental settings. The training consists of two modules. Module 1 focuses on obesity as a disease and discusses the following topics: contributors to and consequences of childhood obesity, a common-risk-factor approach to childhood obesity and tooth decay, and a socio-ecological framework for obesity risk. Module 2 includes three case studies focusing on a child healthy weight and nutrition screener, assessment of height and weight, and communication with patients about nutrition and healthy weights for children.

Contact: Temple University, Kornberg School of Dentistry, 3223 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19140, Web Site: https://dentistry.temple.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Body weight, Counseling, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Training, Weight management

Annotation: This document for oral health professionals focuses on screening and counseling for tobacco use and exposure during dental visits. The document explains why addressing tobacco use and exposure is important and provides guidelines for how to screen and provide counseling in 1–3 minutes using the “5As” protocol: ask, advise, assess, assist, arrange. Tobacco and oral health facts are also provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Counseling, Health screening, Oral health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This electronic resource provides information on bullying actions that target gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender youth and the affect on their mental health and education. Advice and resources are provided for mental health, school counseling, human rights, advocacy, and for families and friends of lesbians and gays.

Contact: Mental Health America, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor , Alexandria, VA 22311, Telephone: (703) 684-7722 Secondary Telephone: (800) 969-6MHA Fax: (703) 684-5968 Web Site: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net Available from the website.

• Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, High schools, Homosexuality, Mental health, Middle schools, Resources for professionals, School counseling, Students, Violence prevention

Annotation: This resource presents recommendations for interventions during pregnancy and after birth to promote and support breastfeeding. Contents include the recommendation statement, evidence review and summary, a clinical summary, and related information for health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Counseling, Literature reviews, MCH research, Perinatal care, Pregnant women

Annotation: This fact sheet provides recommendations on clinical preventive services for adolescents and young adults. Topics include substance use, reproductive health, mental health, nutrition and exercise, immunizations, and safety and violence. Resources are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Counseling, Health behavior, Preventive health services, Screening, Young adults

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist case managers in improving the nutrition, physical activity, and healthy eating practices of adolescent clients. Topics include adolescent nutrition, infant feeding, nutrition and physical activity screen, calcium, iron, folate and folic acid, fruits and vegetables, body image and disordered eating, weight management, physical activity, and vegetarianism. Contents include handouts for motivational counseling and education with adolescents.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Case management, Counseling, Dietary guidelines, Food consumption, Food habits, Health education, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Screening