Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster encourages cigarette smokers to quit smoking. The poster provides words of support to those trying to quit smoking.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: Environmental tobacco smoke (ETS) has been proven harmful to those who live with smokers, especially infants and children. This project worked with three culturally diverse, lower socioeconomic status communities to develop appropriate materials to educate family day care providers, parents, and children about the importance of a smoke-free environment. In addition, the project built local community networks to continue this commitment after the project was completed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198380.

Keywords: Preschoolers, Caregivers, Child care, Family child care, Parents, Respiratory Illnesses, Smoking

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This digital toolkit provides information and resources to help adolescent health partners reduce the use of e-cigarettes among middle- and high-school students. It includes a review of the different types of e-cigarettes and their harmful health effects; describes actions that key adult influencers can take to help end the e-cigarette epidemic, and provides free media and communication resources and ideas to help reach parents, educators, and health care providers. Included are fact sheets, sample health advisories, a sample newsletter article/blog post, digital and social media materials. and free materials for use in print, radio and television.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Educational materials, Media campaigns, Smoking cessation, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral-health-related behaviors among students in middle and high school in North Dakota and offers suggestions for how they can maintain or improve their oral health. Suggestions are divided into things to do and things not to do. Examples of things to do include wearing a mouth guard while playing sports, brushing and flossing teeth daily, and visiting the dentist regularly. Examples of things not to do include regularly drinking sugary beverages, getting lip or tongue piercings, and smoking or chewing tobacco.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chewing tobacco, Health care utilization, High school students, Middle schools, Mouth guards, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Smoking, State information

Annotation: This website provides guidance on preventing exposure to secondhand smoke in the home. It emphasizes that there is no safe level of secondhand smoke exposure and offers practical tips for protecting oneself and family members. The site covers strategies for maintaining a smoke-free home environment, addressing misconceptions about ventilation, and extending protection to areas outside the home such as daycares and workplaces. It also discusses the risks associated with e-cigarettes and provides resources for smoking cessation, including phone numbers, smartphone apps, and websites. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Prevention , Smoking cessation

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about the effects of tobacco on the mouth. Topics include tobacco use, smokeless tobacco use, quitting tobacco use, and oral cancer. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontitis, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website outlines the Food and Drug Administration's Youth Tobacco Prevention Plan—a series of actions designed to help prevent youth from using tobacco products, especially e-cigarettes. The plan focuses on three key areas: (1) preventing youth access to tobacco products; (2) curbing marketing of tobacco products aimed at youth; and (3) educating teens about the dangers of using any tobacco product, including e-cigarettes, as well as educating retailers about their key role in protecting youth.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Federal initiatives, Prevention, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This website describes INDEPTH (Intervention for Nicotine Dependence: Education, Prevention, Tobacco and Health), an alternative to student suspension or citation that helps schools and communities address the teenage vaping/tobacco use problem in a supportive way. Rather than focus solely on punitive measures, the INDEPTH interactive program teaches students about nicotine dependence and helps them establish healthy alternatives to tobacco use. The site explains how the program works, provides evidence of it's effectiveness, and describes how to start an INDEPTH program.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link
• Pilot Evaluation Summary

Keywords: Adolescent health, Nicotine, School linked programs , Smoking Cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website describes a tobacco cessation program designed specifically for teenagers. The program emphasizes the importance of total health and encourages teens to break their nicotine dependence through a series of interactive learning strategies based on Social Cognitive Theory of behavior change. The site describes how the program works, highlights its effectiveness, outlines the content of each session, and explains how individuals or organizations can start their own program. A self-guided online adaptation of the Not On Tobacco (N-O-T)® program is also described.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Smoking cessation, Substance use behavior, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This website describes steps parents can take to prevent secondhand smoke exposure in the home and provides links to quite lines in multiple languages, smartphone applications, and websites containing additional information and resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Parent participation, Passive smoking, Prevention, Smoking cessation

Annotation: [This website highlights the importance of smokefree environments; explains what child health clinicians can do to help; and provides links to fact sheets, presentations, and additional implementation tools.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Smoking

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about how to have a healthy mouth, including healthy teeth and gums. Topics include how to eat well to promote mouth health, keeping teeth clean, staying hydrated, considering braces, visiting the dentist regularly, and avoiding smoking and vaping. The fact sheet is also available in other languages, including Arabic, Bengali, Chinese (traditional and simplified), French, Haitian Creole, Italian, Korean, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Urdu, and Yiddish.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF
• Other Languages--scroll To Additional Resources--Posters And Brochures

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Drinking water, Health care utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Orthodontics, Prevention, Smoking, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report examines disparities in tobacco use and tobacco-related health outcomes across population groups in the United States, finding persistent inequities by race and ethnicity, income level, education level, sexual orientation and gender identity, occupation, geography, and behavioral health status. Using a multidisciplinary perspective, it reviews scientific evidence about drivers of tobacco-related health disparities, including social and environmental influences, the tobacco industry's targeted marketing practices, and the physiological and genetic factors that may influence use of flavored tobacco products. The report outlines promising interventions to reduce disparities, such as comprehensive smokefree laws, restrictions on flavored tobacco products including menthol cigarettes, barrier-free cessation services, and reducing nicotine levels in tobacco products to minimally addictive levels, while emphasizing that achieving health equity requires both tobacco-specific interventions and broader efforts to address underlying social and structural inequities.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Health equity, Health status disparities, Passive smoking, Prevention, Research, Risk factors, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal levels, and assigns grades based on tobacco control laws and regulations in effect as of January 1, 2023. The federal government, all 50 state governments, and the District of Columbia have been given grade to reflect the extent to which tobacco control laws are adequately protecting citizens. The report summarizes the results of its findings and describes major trends regarding tobacco control policy efforts at the state and federal levels. Details about the methodology and the criteria used to assess the effectiveness of tobacco control policies are included.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Data, Federal programs, Health status, Policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals on how to counsel children, adolescents, and young adults about tobacco use. It includes information about smoking and vaping. It also presents ideas for providing tobacco-use-related screening, guidance, and treatment appropriate for patients of different ages, beginning at age 5.

Contact: New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 42-09 28th Street, Long Island City , NY 11101, Telephone: E-mail: http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildoh.html Web Site: https://www.nyc.gov/site/doh/index.page Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cigarettes, Counseling, Oral health, Screening, Smoking, Tobacco use, Treatment, Young adults

Annotation: This website describes The Real Cost Cigarette Prevention Campaign--the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's youth tobacco prevention campaign aimed at ages 12-17. The site explains how the campaign works, provides research on the campaign's effectiveness, and links to quitting resources for youth. Free campaign posters and video advertisements are also available.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Educational materials , Media campaigns, Smoking Cessation, Substance use prevention, Youth