Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This Memorandum of Understanding is between (1) the State of Connecticut Department of Public Health (DPH) and (2) the CYSHCN Regional Medical Home Support Centers (CT has contracted with 5 Managed Care Organizations). It documents the state of Connecticut's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. The objective of this agreement is to recognize shared goals and to establish methods of coordination and cooperation to ensure that children and youth served by the Regional Medical Home Support Centers who are enrolled in Connecticut's HUSKY, Part A managed care program receive timely and comprehensive health care services under the EPSDT program.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: CT.2.2.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This report provides information about why medical-dental integration (MDI), a model of care that emphasizes the connection between oral health and systemic health, is important. Topics include MDI efforts in Connecticut, emerging MDI-related trends outside Connecticut, barriers to MDI, and policy and program recommendations.

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Oral health, Public policy, Service integration, State information, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information on steps Connecticut has taken to promote oral health equity in the state, including by ensuring that the majority of its residents have access to community fluoridated water, offering dental benefits to children and adults through the HUSKY health insurance program, and providing oral health care in schools. Information is included on the status of oral health in Connecticut as well as on oral health among children, children and adolescents with special health care needs, children and adolescents from families with low incomes, adolescents, adults, pregnant women, and older adults. A discussion of Connecticut’s oral health infrastructure is also provided.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, P.O. Box 340308, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8251 Fax: (860) 509-7855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://portal.ct.gov/dph/Oral-Health/oral-health/Office-of-Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Connecticut, Health insurance, Low income groups, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, School health, State programs

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This progress report provides information about the Connecticut Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2016. The report discusses the project’s progress and significant changes that took place during the project period. A project evaluation is included, along with plans for the upcoming budget year. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PIOHQI Initiative Page

Keywords: Connecticut, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief addresses value based payment as an important model in health care reform for children's services and offers recommendations for including children's health in health care reform efforts. Efforts in Connecticut are described.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Connecticut, Costs, Health care reform, Health equity, State programs

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health in Connecticut. Four focus areas are discussed: prevention, oral health and overall health systems integration, and data collection and analysis. For each focus area, goals and objectives are presented, many of which encompass health equity. A section on oral health equity in the state is included.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Community programs, Connecticut, Data analysis, Data collection, Health care utilization, Oral health, Prevention, State planning

Annotation: This packet is designed to help educators integrate oral health education into Connecticut's school health curricula. The packet comprises 6 lesson modules for educating students in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 about oral health and healthy behaviors. Each module lists objectives, questions, and related subject areas and can be used individually or in combination with recommended supportive activities and classroom materials. The revised online curriculum has modules for pre-kindergarten, kindergarten and grade 1, grades 2-3, grades 4-5, and grades 6-8.

Contact: Connecticut State Dental Association, 835 West Queen Street, Southington, CT 06489, Telephone: (860) 378-1800 Fax: (860) 378-1807 Web Site: http://www.csda.com Available from the website.

• 2008 Edition

Keywords: Connecticut, Curricula, Oral health, Preschool education, School age children, School health education, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) and how PRAMS data can be used for evaluating the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project in Connecticut. Topics include births and maternal oral health and health care in Connecticut. Other topics include PRAMS questions on maternal oral health, oral health care for mothers by health insurance status, and implications and alternatives for project evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program evaluation, Risk assessment, State programs, State surveys

Annotation: This report describes a study that estimated the impact of the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement Project on oral health services utilization by pregnant women in Connecticut’s HUSKY Program, the state’s health care coverage program that provides low-cost or free comprehensive coverage for families or single adults with low incomes. The report provides background about Medicaid eligibility, the Medicaid dental benefit, managed care, and perinatal outreach in Connecticut. The report also discusses study methods, data, and the analytic approach and presents results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Dental care, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This flyer for parents provides information about how dental sealants can protect teeth from decay. Topics include what sealants are, which teeth should be sealed, how sealants are applied, whether decay can occur underneath sealants, how long sealants last, how sealants feel, and how Connecticut residents can get sealants. Other tips for preventing tooth decay are included. The document is available in Chinese, Creole, English, French, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: , Connecticut, Consumer education materials, Dental decay, Dental hygiene, Dental sealants, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This document for health professionals comprises questions about oral health care services for pregnant women that their offices may or may not provide. Topics include preventive and restorative services, urgent and emergency care, local anesthesia, X-rays, and restrictions related to treating pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Dental care, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, State surveys

Annotation: This report describes a project to expand a school-based health center oral health program in East Hartford, CT. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. The appendices include parent permission forms for screening and treatment in English and Spanish, a program brochure, a referral list and forms, and a sterilization log. The process, out- come, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Connecticut, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This document reports on aspects of Connecticut’s publicly funded HUSKY Program performance and quality based on findings from independent performance monitoring. Topics include continuity of health insurance coverage and enrollment changes, maternal health and birth outcomes for new families, enrollment and preventive health services use in early childhood, trends in health services access and use, the impact of a federally funded project on maternal and infant oral health services, and data-quality improvement.

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Connecticut, Early childhood, Enrollment, Evaluation, Financing, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Trends

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to determine the impact of the Perinatal Infant and Oral Health Quality Improvement Project (PIOHQIP) on access to care for pregnant women and infants in Connecticut’s HUSKY Program. Contents include an overview of PIOHQIP and information about the study methods, including subjects, instruments, data, analytical approach, and limitations. Tables provide information on the project-implementation schedule; survey respondents; changes in health care use among pregnant women, new mothers, and infants; and changes in health professional practice. The survey instrument is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Connecticut, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, State surveys

Annotation: This report summarizes a study to determine the effectiveness of using administrative data from the HUSKY Program’s medical administrative services organization to identify pregnant women for targeted oral health outreach. HUSKY is Connecticut’s public health coverage program for eligible children, parents, relative caregivers, senior citizens, individuals with disabilities, adults without children, and pregnant women within the income guidelines. The report describes study methods and presents results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Health insurance, Low income groups, Oral health, Outreach, Pregnant women, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report examines how the length of time that children are enrolled in the Medicaid program in Connecticut affects their access to preventive well-child and preventive oral health care. Topics include care use by months enrolled and recommendations for ensuring ongoing coverage for children.

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Connecticut, Dental care, Dental insurance, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This infographic presents information on the percentage of children enrolled in HUSKY A (Medicaid) in Connecticut who received preventive oral health care by race/ethnicity, factors that increased children’s likelihood of receiving preventive oral health care, the impact of each factor on the likelihood that children will receive preventive oral health care, and the impact of all three factors on the likelihood that children will receive such care. Topics include continuous coverage, receipt of well child care, and parents who received preventive oral health care. Steps to ensure that families have access to and use oral health care are also described.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This document provides recommendations and strategies for improving birth outcomes in Connecticut. Contents include the list of organizations represented on the Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes and how they used policy analysis tools to identify priorities and recommendations, and the Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network that supports the strategies outlined in the plan. Topics include addressing socioeconomic factors, making the healthy choices the easy choice, protecting individuals, implementing evidence-based interventions in clinical settings, and providing individual or public educational messages and support. Information about the perinatal landscape, emerging issues, and suggestions for using the plan are also included.

Contact: Community Foundation of Greater New Haven, 70 Audubon Street, New Haven, CT 06510-9755, Telephone: (203) 777-2386 Fax: (203) 787-6584 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cfgnh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health disparities, Infant mortality, Infants, Low birthweight, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Program improvement, Service integration, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This public health alert outlines infant fatalities and unsafe sleep conditions in Connecticut and provides recommendations for prevention. Contents include risk factors associated with infant fatality including sudden unexplained or undetermined infant death, case examples, and a definition of an unsafe sleep-related infant fatality. Additional content includes information on how often infants die from unsafe sleeping conditions; the most common unsafe sleep environments in fatality cases; infant fatalities over time and trends; and the Connecticut Department of Children and Families' role in infant death prevention and policy development. The alert includes recommendations for policymakers, in-home service providers, child care providers, pediatricians, and hospitals, and safe sleep guidelines for parents.

Contact: Connecticut Office of Governmental Accountability, Office of the Child Advocate, 999 Asylum Avenue, 1st Floor, Hartford, CT 06105, Telephone: (860) 566-2106 Secondary Telephone: (800) 994-0939 Fax: (860) 566-2251 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/oca Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Connecticut, Infant death, Infant mortality, Policy development, Protective factors, Public awareness materials, Risk factors, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State programs, Trends