Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This committee opinion for clinicians includes background information on the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine; statistics on HPV-associated cancers; recommendations on who should be vaccinated and when; guidelines on administering the vaccine; and information on safety, efficacy, and patient education. The 2020 committee opinion r(#809) replaces the earlier 2017 opinion (#704).

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cancer, Communication, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Women', s health services

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Cervical cancer, Guidelines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Prevention, Screening, Trends, Vaccines, Virus diseases, Women', Young adults, s health

Annotation: This guide provides information about how oral health professionals can help prevent cancer by referring patients for the human papillomavirus vaccination. The guide describes the problem and a solution. It also outlines steps for oral health professionals for preventing cancer, referring patients, collaborating with others, and creating a pro-immunization environment.

Contact: National HPV Vaccination Roundtable, 250 Williams Street, N.W., Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://hpvroundtable.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Collaboration, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Prevention, Referrals

Annotation: This paper provides information about human papilloma virus (HPV) and oropharyngeal cancer (OPC) and the possible link between the two. It discusses diagnosing HPV-related OPC, the best way to screen for OPC, the importance of receiving the HPV vaccine, and barriers to receiving the vaccine. A statement elucidating the Association of State and Territorial Heath Directors’ endorsement of the HPV vaccine to reduce the risk for HPV-related OPC is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Oral cancer, Oral health, Papilloma, Prevention, Vaccination, Vaccines, Virus disease

Annotation: This document presents a plan for reducing the burden of cancer in Maryland. Contents include goals, objectives, and strategies related to the primary prevention of cancer; high burden of cancers in Maryland; and cancer survivorship, palliative care, and hospice care. Information about the Maryland Cancer Collaborative, terms and acronyms, surveillance and data used in the plan, and special topics in cancer control is included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Center for Cancer Prevention and Control, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://phpa.health.maryland.gov/cancer/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• 2016–2020 Plan
• 2011–2015 Plan

Keywords: Cancer, Disease prevention, Maryland, Oral health, Palliative treatment, Prevention services, Screening, Statewide planning, Strategic plans, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health metrics for Indiana residents categorized by age. Topics include the oral health status of infants, children, adolescents, and adults and the proportion of each cohort that has visited the dentist or has received a preventive intervention. Data on access to fluoridated community water systems and on deaths from oral and pharyngeal cancers for all ages are also included.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, Oral Health Home, 2 N. Meridian Street, Section 7-G, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-0746 Fax: (317) 233-7001 E-mail: oralhealth@isdh.state.in.us Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh/18695.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Health status, Indiana, Infants, Intervention, Oral cancer, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: cancergovstaff@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This guideline for health professionals, public health authorities, policymakers, and laypersons in all settings offers guidance on secondary prevention of cervical cancer. Contents include key recommendations for screening; triage; and treatment of women with precursor lesions. Recommendations for special populations, such as women who are HIV positive, immunosuppressed, pregnant, postpartum, or women who have had hysterectomies are also addressed. Topics include developing infrastructure for HPV testing, diagnosis, and treatment in settings without current mass screening; cost and policy implications, guideline implementation, and future directions.

Contact: American Society of Clinical Oncology, 2318 Mill Road, Suite 800, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (571) 483-1300 Fax: (703) 299-1044 E-mail: asco@asco.org Web Site: http://www.asco.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Cervical cancer, DNA testing, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, International health, Medical treatment, Oral cancer, Oral health, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Primary care, Triage, Women', s health

Annotation: This document presents recommendations for women's preventive health care services. Topics include breast cancer screening for average-risk women, breastfeeding services and supplies, screening for cervical cancer, contraception and contraceptive counseling, screening for gestational diabetes mellitus, screening for human immunodeficiency virus, screening for interpersonal and domestic violence, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and well-woman preventive visits.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: resources@acog.org Web Site: http://www.acog.org

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breastfeeding, Cervical cancer, Contraception, Counseling, Domestic violence, Gestational diabetes, Guidelines, HIV screening, Health screening, Health services delivery, Interpersonal violence, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the use and health effects of betel quid, a combination of betel leaf, areca nut, and slaked lime. Topics include betel quid and gutka (betel quid with tobacco) use by men and women and by region. Health issues associated with the use of betel quid and gutka such as precancerous conditions, cancer, reproductive health problems, and nicotine addiction are also discussed.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Drug effects, Nicotine, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Smokeless tobacco, Tobacco use

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about human papillomavirus (HPV). It explains what HPV is, whether oral health and HPV are linked, and how to prevent oral HPV. HPV warning signs are provided, and treatment is discussed. The fact sheet also includes questions about HPV to ask a primary care health professional. The fact sheet is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Patient care management, Primary care, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These resources provide information about cancer in adolescents and young adults ages 15–39. Topics include types of cancers in young people, finding a doctor and hospital, treatment choices, coping and support, after treatment, and organizations serving adolescents and young adults. Reports, research, literature, and a quiz are also available.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: cancergovstaff@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Cancer, Consumer education materials, Disease management, Family support services, Financial support, Peer support programs, Research, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, Young adults

Annotation: This handout provides information about the potentially harmful effects of chewing betel nut, including increased risk for cancer and gum disease. The handout addresses risk associated with combining betel nut and tobacco and risks for chewing betel nut for pregnant women and children. The handout also includes information about the importance of talking with a doctor and dentist about betel nut use and early cancer detection and provides phone numbers for information about oral health care in North Carolina. The handout is available in English, Burmese, and Karen.

Contact: Orange County Health Department, P.O. Box 8181, Hillsborough, NC 27278, Telephone: (919) 732-8181 Contact Phone: (919) 245-2387 Contact E-mail: sclifford@orangecountync.gov Web Site: http://www.orangecountync.gov/departments/health Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cancer, Children, Early intervention, Gingivitis, Non English language materials, North Carolina, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Substance use, Tobacco use

Annotation: This document for health care professionals provides guidance on screening for betel (areca) nut use. Topics include what betel nut is and how it used, who is likely to chew betel nut, how to tell if someone chews betel nut, and why it is important to talk to patients about betel nut. Additional topics include adverse health effects of betel nut use for oral health and pregnancy outcomes, and what health professionals can do. Sample screening questions are included.

Contact: Orange County Health Department, P.O. Box 8181, Hillsborough, NC 27278, Telephone: (919) 732-8181 Web Site: http://www.orangecountync.gov/departments/health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Communication, Culturally competent services, Drug effects, Nicotine, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Smokeless tobacco, Substance use screening, Tobacco use

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cervical cancer, Health education, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report summarizes proceedings of a summit held on November 18–20, 2013, in Chicago, IL, to develop a national framework for action on preventing oral disease. Contents include an overview of summit outcomes and activities by day, planning group members, purpose, objectives, and sponsors. Topics include the financing and economics of oral health; oral health conditions including oral cancer, periodontal disease, facial injuries, and dental caries; prevention strategies; stakeholder group perspectives; and integrated approach. Materials provided at the summit are also available.

Contact: American Dental Association, Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Accountability, Community action, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Injuries, Oral cancer, Oral health, Participation, Periodontal diseases, Planning, Service integration, Sustainability

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to improve public oral health. Strategies are reviewed and interventions outlined in three key areas: (1) prevention of dental caries, (2) prevention of oral and pharyngeal cancers, and (3) prevention of oral and facial injuries. Recommendations for community water fluoridation and school-based dental-sealant programs are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: communityguide@cdc.gov Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Community based services, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health promotion, Injuries, Oral health, Prevention services, Program evaluation, School age children, School based clinics, Water

Annotation: This report describes and discusses child deaths that occurred in Philadelphia in 2009 and 2010 and that were reviewed by the Philadelphia Child Death Review Team. The report provides background and an overview of child deaths reviewed during the period and discusses infant deaths, natural deaths, unintentional injury deaths, and intentional injury deaths.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 1401 JFK Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19102, Telephone: (215) 686-45200 Fax: (215) 686-5212 Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Cancer, Child abuse, Child death, Child death review, Cause of death, Child neglect, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Infant death, Intentional injuries, Poisoning, SIDS, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This report provides information about the health of Maryland's Hispanic population. The report includes data highlights; basic information about this population; and information about social and economic well-being, economic characteristics, mortality, access to health care, health risk and protective factors, cancer, chronic disease, HIV and infectious diseases, maternal and infant health, and mental health. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 201 West Preston Street, Room 500, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-7117 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Contact-Us.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Access to health care, Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Health, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Maryland, Mental heath, Minority groups, Mortality, Protective factors, Racial factors, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health