Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Minnesota is engaging community health workers in a variety of ways to improve oral health education and access to oral health care. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Minnesota; the Healthy Teeth, Healthy Baby campaign; and the Healthy Brain Initiative pilot. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Minnesota is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Kansas is using community health workers (CHWs) to expand oral health education and care in the state. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Kansas, incorporating oral health into each core competency of the CHW training curriculum developed by the Kansas Community Health Worker Coalition, and reimbursement and certification of CHWs in the state. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Kansas is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Kansas, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This website provides information about public health issues that affect both Mexico and the United States. The site offers information about connections between Mexico and the United States and about health conditions of concern to both the United States and Mexico (including vaccine-preventable infectious diseases, vector-borne diseases, zoonotic diseases, illnesses spread through food and water, tuberculosis, HIV/AIDS, pandemic influenza and other global health emergencies, and chronic health conditions) as well as about the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's role in the partnership between the United States and Mexico. Information about the U.S.-Mexico border region and other interesting facts is also included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, HIV, Infectious diseases, Influenza, International health, Mexico, Prevention, Public health, Tuberculosis, Vaccines

Annotation: This website presents the Circle of Life multimedia program, a curriculum intended for American Indian/Alaska Native middle school students that is based on the medicine wheel, a teaching symbol about mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional wellness. This holistic health promotion model is meant to help students learn about making healthy choices to prevent disease such as HIV/AIDS. The curriculum is divided into seven chapter sessions that are 20-25 minutes each and is presented in a modular form that can be broken up or used in sequence either in or outside the classroom. Teacher notes and an accessible version of the curriculum are also available on the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• User's Guide

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alaska natives, American Indians, Child health, Curricula, Educational materials, HIV, Middle school students, Prevention, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This white paper provides an overview of the ways in which digital technology can be used to improve the sexual health of adolescents. It includes a brief summary of adolescents (including their demography, development, and sexual behavior) and provides an overview of the new digital technologies and media that youth are using. These include networking sites (SNS), video sharing, blogs, instant messaging, mobile technology, and virtual worlds. The paper examines technology’s potential for use in sexual health promotion as well as the risks associated with misuse of digital technology. Included are examples of innovative adolescent sexual health interventions that have used digital technology to improve their reach and effectiveness.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, HIV, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Prevention, Risk reduction, Social media, Technology

Annotation: This curriculum provides program-planning information to a target audience of HIV, primary care, and oral health professionals interested in expanding or replicating innovative models of oral health care for people living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA). Topics include the importance of oral health in PLWHA, barriers to oral health care in PLWHA, organizational models, oral health terminology, integrating oral health care in the medical setting, facts, case management, oral health education, and building organizational capacity for oral health care. The curriculum is designed to deliver hands-on instruction to simplify implementation of best practices from the federally funded Special Projects of National Significance Innovations in Oral Health Care Initiative.

Contact: U.S. HIV/AIDS Bureau, 5600 Fishers Lane, Mail Stop 09SWHO3, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1993 Web Site: http://hab.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Comprehensive health care, Curricula, HIV, Model programs, Oral health, Primary care, Program planning

Annotation: This fact sheet presents an overview of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in the United States, including trends over time, a current profile of AIDS cases, and the impact of the epidemic on particular populations. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet. The fact sheet concludes with a list of references.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, Washington, DC Office/Public Affairs Center, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.kff.org/about/bjcc/bjcc_floor.cfm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, HIV infected patients, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet examines the impact of HIV/AIDS on women and children in the United States. It includes an overview of the problem; describes how the virus is transmitted to women and from women to children; and discusses the symptoms and outcomes. The fact sheet also addresses HIV testing; the psychosocial factors and issues that can lead to HIV; and the societal and cultural stigma that can impact the lives of infected women and children. It also covers disclosure, legal issues, various forms of treatment, and the grief and loss that families experience when they lose a loved one to AIDS. A description of federal programs and services to assist families affected by HIV and AIDS is also provided. An online training tutorial on this topic is also available.

Contact: National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center, Center for Child & Youth Policy , University of California, Berkeley, 1950 Addison Street, Suite 104, , Berkeley, CA 94720-7402, Telephone: (510) 643-8390 Fax: (510) 643-7019 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aia.berkeley.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Online Tutorial

Keywords: Risk factors, Training, AIDS, Child health, Counseling, Federal programs, HIV, High risk infants, High risk mothers, Psychosocial factors, Women', s health

Annotation: This report compiles 2010 national surveillance data on infectious disease in single race Asians and Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders. Contents include background information and data sources, overviews, snapshots, discussion, and references on tuberculosis, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV and AIDS.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Communicable diseases, Data sources, Epidemiology, HIV, Hawaiians, Hepatitis, Mortality, Pacific Americans, Pacific Islanders, Population surveillance, Sexually transmitted diseases, Testing, Trends, Tuberculosis

Annotation: This webinar focuses on the new objective in Healthy People 2020's lesbian, gay, bisexual,and transgender topic area; transgender health; the development of gender identify; and health issues specific to transgender individuals. The webinar also discusses how the Affordable Care Act of 2010 affects individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender (LGBT) and how the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion is working to including LGBT issues in its health research. Efforts to increase access to care and improve the health of individuals with HIV/AIDS are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Archive Site With Materials

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Discrimination, Gender discrimination, HIV infected patients, Health insurance, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, High risk groups, Homosexuality, Legislation, Prevention, Research, Sexual identity

Annotation: This webcast is the sixth installment of the monthly "Who's Leading the Leading Health Indicators?" series. The series highlights organizations using evidence-based approaches to address a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator (LHI) topic. The webcast provides information about reproductive and sexual health. The presenters explain the impact and cost of sexually transmitted diseases, indicators for reproductive and sexual health, HIV statistics, and federal actions.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Webinar

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Federal programs, HIV, HIV infected patients, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Prevention, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This e-resource highlights some key moments in pediatric, adolescent, and maternal AIDS research to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the first reported cases of AIDS. Events are divided into the following time periods: 1981–1985, 1986–1990, 1991–1995, 1996–2000, 2001–2005, and 2006–2011. For each event described, links to additional information are provided.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Financing, Pediatric AIDS, Pregnancy, Programs, Public policy, Research, Resource materials, Screening, Statistical data, Treatment, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: The fourth edition of Facts for Life contains essential information that families and communities need to know to raise healthy children. This handbook provides practical advice on pregnancy, childbirth, childhood illnesses, child development and the care of children. This edition also features a new chapter on child protection. The book is intended for parents, families, health workers, teachers, youth groups, women’s groups, community organizations, government officials, employers, trade unions, media, and non-governmental and faith-based organizations. It is available in Arabic, Bangla, English, French, Indonesian, Kiswahili, Spanish, and Turkmen.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org $1.00. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-806-4466-1.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Birth intervals, Breastfeeding, Child health, Child health promotion, Common cold, Developing countries, Diarrhea, Hygiene, Immunization, Malaria, Maternal health, Non English language materials, Nutrition disorders, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of recent findings from a cross-section of Agency of Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)-supported research projects on conditions especially important to women's health. Examples of topics included in the brief are cardiovascular disease, cancer screening and treatment, reproductive health, women and medications, and prevention. For each topic, facts are presented and then elaborated upon. The studies from which the facts are drawn are identified by author names, journal in which the study appears, and (in some cases) AHRQ grant or contract number.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ pub. no.10-P005.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Costs, Family planning, HIV, Homelessness, Hysterectomy, Osteoporosis, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Research, Screening, Treatment, Violence, Women', Working women, s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy. The fact sheet offers background information and answers questions about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy, included who should be tested, what types of treatment are available, symptoms of AIDS in infants, and steps women can take to remain uninfected. References are included.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Treatment

Annotation: This books discusses factors affecting the health status of African Americans. Current health problems as well as relevant strategies and policy implications are examined. The book is presented in five sections. Part One provides an overview of the general health issues affecting African Americans. Part Two focuses on several diseases or health conditions that contribute to a high number of deaths in the black community. Part Three addresses health issues specific to the infant, youth, and late adult populations. Part Four presents several strategies in the area of general health promotion. Part Five provides suggestions for implementing planned changes.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55542-477-6.

Keywords: AIDS, Blacks, HIV, Health education, Minority health, Sickle cell disease, Statistics, Substance abuse, Violence, Women', s health

Annotation: This summary presents statistics about key health and health care indicators by race and ethnicity and state. The summary provides data for the following categories: (1) infant mortality rate, (2) diabetes-related mortality rate, (3) annual AIDS case rate, (4) percent living in poverty, (5) percent with Medicaid, and (6) percent uninsured.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Data, Diabetes, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Health, Infant mortality, Medicaid, Poverty, Racial factors, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report summarizes the organization's structure, purpose, and work serving children, families, and communities affected by HIV and AIDS, as well as the findings and recommendations which emerged from the work of four learning groups: strengthening families, community action, expanding access to services and protecting human rights, and social and economic policies.

Contact: Joint Learning Initiative on Children and HIV/AIDS, Harvard University FXB Center for Health and Human Rights, E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Children, Communities, Families, HIV, Poverty, Public policy

Annotation: This report identifies the prevalence, major health disparities, costs of care, and available preventive health care services in health care settings for women. The report outlines the economic underpinnings of disease and chronic conditions and the economic costs to the health care system and to the U.S. economy of chronic illness in women. The report presents the study methods and findings on chronic diseases and conditions as well as health behaviors and risks.

Contact: Jacobs Institute of Women's Health, George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4184 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jiwh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes, HIV infection, Health behavior, Health care costs, Health services delivery, Mental health, Obesity, Osteoporosis, Prevention, Risk factors, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: This online resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on group-based comprehensive risk reduction (CRR) interventions for adolescents to promote behaviors that prevent or reduce the risk of pregnancy, HIV, and other sexually transmitted infections. The findings are based on a systematic review of 62 studies that evaluated CRR interventions delivered in school or community settings to groups of adolescents aged 10 to 19 years. The website offers links to supporting documents and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Adolescents, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Literature reviews, Prevention programs, Risk taking, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases