Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report highlights the common threads between housing and reproductive justice, emphasizing the importance of policy solutions that de-silo maternal health and address social and structural barriers. The first section describes how structural racism and structural disinvestment—including residential segregation, poor housing access and conditions, residential instability and gentrification, and the carceral apparatus—contribute to deleterious health outcomes among Black women and birthing people. The second section outlines how Black pregnancy is policed across the reproductive lifespan through forced evictions and displacement during pregnancy, double jeopardy of racism and discrimination in health care settings, and threatened Child Protective Services (CPS) involvement after birth. The third section highlights the status of housing reform in Washington, D.C. and potential opportunities for change. The report ends with Mamatoto Village’s housing justice framework, a summary of federal housing programs and policies, and links to annotated bibliography of key articles.

Contact: Georgetown University , Health Justice Alliance , 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9000 Web Site: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/health-justice-alliance/

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Civil rights, Federal programs , Housing, Housing programs, Maternal health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Racism, Social factors, Underserved communities

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist state and local efforts to support immigrant children from birth through the elementary grades and promote educational equity and opportunity for all children. Contents include a glossary and background; legal guidelines; tips for early learning programs, elementary schools, and educators; and information about education and supportive service programs and resources. The second section of the guide is a handbook for parents on topics such as why quality early learning matters, tips on immunizations, information about civil rights and program eligibility, tips for addressing barriers, and opportunities for parents and guardians.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development, Washington, DC Telephone: (202) 401-0831 Secondary Telephone: (202) 401-7888 E-mail: opepd.ppss@ed.gov Web Site: https://ed.gov/about/offices/list/opepd/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• English

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Civil rights, Early childhood education, Elementary education, Elementary schools, Eligibility, Equal opportunities, Guardianship, Immigrants, Learning, Legal issues, Parents, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide for maternal and child health (MCH) professionals comprises six modules that provide an overview of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and its implications for MCH populations, ways that individuals can access health care coverage, and an explanation of covered services. Topics include the history of and initial challenges to the ACA, key provisions of the ACA, a glossary of key insurance concepts, provisions of the Patient's Bill of Rights, pathways to coverage for MCH populations, health insurance marketplaces, and benefits. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient rights, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These voluntary guidelines are intended to support schools in creating an inclusive environment for all students in Michigan. Contents include best practice strategies for school districts to create a supportive learning environment with specific guidance on supporting transgender and gender nonconforming students. Definitions are included.

Contact: Michigan State Board of Education, 608 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3324 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-5373---,00.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Child health, Child safety, Civil rights, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Learning, Michigan, Nonconformity, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, School districts, Schools, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Sexual harassment, Students, Violence prevention, Work force

Annotation: This document provides guidance for caseworkers, foster parents, and other caregivers on supporting children and adolescents who have experienced trauma and are working to improve their mental health. Topics include understanding trauma and behavioral/mental health of youth, understanding different treatment options, seeking help for youth, and monitoring treatment and supporting progress. Tips for using the guide with youth are included.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Caregivers, Case management, Child mental health, Confidentiality, Decision making, Foster care, Foster children, Health literacy, Mental health services, Patient rights

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This brief describes the barriers that people of color face disproportionately in gaining access to necessary health care, components of an adequate health care provider network, and policies to help achieve such networks in private insurance plans. Topics include health disparities; geographic distribution, numbers, and types of health care providers; transportation, language, and culturally-competent care; hours and timeliness of care; and consumer rights under the Affordable Care Act including access to community essential providers. The brief provides examples from states and information on advocating for provider network standards to protect diverse communities.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Consumer protection, Equal opportunities, Ethnic groups, Health insurance, Networking, Patient rights, Policy development, Public health, Quality assurance, State initiatives

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on national and state efforts to secure comprehensive confidentiality protections for young adults insured as dependents. Topics include Affordable Care Act provisions related to young adults, insurance communications that may compromise young adults' confidentiality and negatively impact their health, young adults' need for confidentiality as recognized by law and state law approaches to securing confidentiality in dependent coverage. Recommendations are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Confidentiality, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medical records, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient rights, Reproductive health, Sexual health, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This book focuses on how the prospects for health and well-being are influenced by social inequalities. Contents include an overview of the early history of public health and how some of the greatest achievements prefigure a contemporary health equity practice; the root causes of health inequities including class, racism, and gender inequity and heterosexism; profiles of health equity practice; elements of health equity practice that have emerged from the work of state and local health departments across the United States; and reflections on a future health equity practice.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $9.95 members; $19.95 nonmembers. Document Number: NA614.

Keywords: Civil rights, Equal opportunities, Gender discrimination, Public health agencies, Racial discrimination, Sexism, Social discrimination

Annotation: This blueprint presents a vision for the future of child welfare that all children will grow up safely in loving families and supportive communities. The blueprint is intended to be a catalyst for change and also to serve as the basis for updating and creating Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) program-specific standards of excellence. The blueprint discusses CWLA vision and values and presents eight core principles and standards on the following topics: rights of children; shared responsibility and leadership; engagement/participation; supports and services; quality improvement; work force; race, ethnicity, and culture; and funding and resources.

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org $24.95 for non-members, $19.95 for members; also available as .pdf , $11.95 for non-members, . Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58760-152-1.

Keywords: Child welfare, Children, Children', Communities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Families, Family support services, Financing, Leadership, Programs, Racial factors, Safety, Standards, s rights

Annotation: This policy brief argues that young people deserve the right to access the full range of reproductive and sexual health services they need, including abortion care. The brief explains why young women are at a higher risk for negative outcomes when parental involvement in abortion is state-mandated, and why medical experts oppose parental consent and notification laws. Included are statistics on the states that requirement parental involvement in minors' abortions and under what circumstances exceptions might be made (for example, for victims of sexual assault, incest, or neglect). The brief also explains that although judicial bypass is technically available in most states that mandate parental involvement, many minors either don't know it exists or don't have access to it.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Adolescents, Patient rights, Reproductive rights, State legislation

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: rachels@wihtinreachwa.org Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s rights

Annotation: This booklet for pregnant women presents questions and answers on cesarean section (c-section). Questions include Which is safer, vaginal birth or c-section? What are the possible benefits and harms of vaginal birth and c-section? What is it like to have a c-section? If my doctor or midwife suggests a c-section, how should I decide if it is right for me? Is it possible to safely prevent a c-section? and What happens if I need a c-section?

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: info@nationalpartnership.org Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Informed consent, Patient rights, Pregnant women, Research, Safety, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help parents, teachers, and students deal with bullying directed toward children with special health care needs. The toolkit comprises a set of resources to help users confront bullying from many angles, including talking to children, being aware of one's rights, and teaching tolerance in schools. Resources are divided into separate sections for parents, students, and teachers.

Contact: Autism Speaks, 1 East 33rd Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 252-8584 Fax: (212) 252-8676 E-mail: contactus@autismspeaks.org Web Site: http://www.autismspeaks.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Bullying, Children with special health care needs, Communication, Human rights, Parent child relations, Prevention, Resource materials, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This report analyzes how disability law and policy in the United States apply to parents with disabilities in the child welfare and family law systems. It provides a comprehensive review of the barriers and facilitators that people with intellectual, developmental, psychiatric, sensory, and/or physical disabilities experience when exercising their right to create and maintain families. It examines the pervasive and systemic discrimination against parents with disabilities and the disparate treatment that parents with disabilities and their children receive. Included are chapters that focus on parental disability and child welfare in the Native American community; custody and visitation in the family law system; and the lack of adequate adaptive services, equipment, and parental guidance in child welfare and family courts. The report also looks at support systems for parents with disabilities; promising practices to prevent the unnecessary removal and loss of children; and the need for legislation to ensure the rights of parents with disabilities and their families An examination of the impediments that prospective parents with disabilities encounter when adopting or accessing assisted reproductive technologies is also provided. The goal of this report is to advance understanding and promote the rights of parents with disabilities and their children.

Contact: National Council on Disability, 1331 F Street, N.W., Suite 850, Washington, DC 20004-1107, Telephone: (202) 272-2004 Secondary Telephone: (202) 272-2074 Fax: (202) 272-2022 E-mail: ncd@ncd.gov Web Site: http://www.ncd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Analysis, Disabilities, Legislation, Parent rights, Parents with special health care needs, Policy analysis, Reports, Reproductive rights

Annotation: This website is geared toward helping adolescents in foster care who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or questioning (LGBTQ) navigate the child welfare system. The site provides information about harassment, discrimination, and violence; homelessness and running away; health and sexuality; and state-specific resources. A 24-hour hotline is included. The site also adresses common questions, presents stories about LGBTQ adolescents, discusses life after foster care, and provides other related information.

Contact: American Bar Association, Center on Children and the Law, 740 15th Street, N.W., , Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 662-1000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 285-2221 Fax: (202) 662-1755 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.abanet.org/child Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Child welfare agencies, Children', Discrimination, Foster care, Homelessness, Homosexuality, Runaways, Sexual harassment, Violence, s rights

Annotation: This journal issue includes articles that are related to ethical issues in interventions to prevent and control childhood obesity. Topics include protecting children from harmful food marketing, policy approaches, weight bias, children with special health care needs, public vs individual rights in childhood obesity interventions, the ethical basis for promoting nutritional health in public schools, ethical family interventions, state requirements and recommendations.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1545-1151.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Civil rights, Ethics, Families, Health promotion, Human rights, Intervention, Marketing, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public policy, Research, School heath, Social bias

Annotation: This fact sheet describes legal issues related to reproductive health that women with disabilities may face. It summarizes the reproductive health issues, including sterilization, termination of pregnancy, and infertility, and reports on litigation and court rulings related to the reproductive rights of women with disabilities. The report also discusses barriers to reproductive health access and biased reproductive health practices.

Contact: National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office, 1512 E. Franklin St., Suite 110, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Telephone: (919) 968-6308 Fax: (919) 968-8855 E-mail: nhelpnc@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Legal issues, Reproductive health, Special health care needs, Women', Women', s health, s rights

Annotation: This report addresses maternal mortality and morbidity and the provision of health care within the context of human rights and offers recommendations to improve maternal health care in the United States. The report is based on research carried out during 2008 and 2009 by Amnesty International USA. In particular, the report focuses on maternal deaths and complications from pregnancy-related causes. The report provides recommendations and discusses maternal health and human rights, discrimination and maternal health, barriers to maternal health care services, systemic failures, and accountability.

Contact: Amnesty International Secretariat, Peter Benenson House, 1 Easton Street, London, UK WC1X ODW, Telephone: 44(0)20-7413-5500 Fax: 44(0)20-7956-1157 Web Site: http://www.amnesty.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-86210-458-0.

• Full Report
• Web Page With Updates

Keywords: Childbirth, Costs, Ethnic factors, Health care systems, Human rights, Income factors, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Pregnancy, Racial factors, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This document covers definitions, medical conditions and access to mental health and substance abuse treatment, reproductive health care, emancipation, HUSKY health insurance (Connecticut's Medicaid program), access to medical records, privacy rights, school based health clinics, privileged communications, mandated reporting of child abuse and neglect, statutory rape, advanced directives and living wills, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Connecticut law on bullying, access to benefits for immigrants and refugees, and utility shutoff.

Contact: Center for Children's Advocacy, Medical Legal Partnership Project, 65 Elizabeth Street, Hartford, CT 06105, Web Site: http://www.kidscounsel.org/our-work/aboutus_programs_mlpp/ Order from the website for a charge.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Children', Connecticut, Medicine, Patient rights, Reproductive health, State legislation, s rights