Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These clinical practice guidelines for pediatricians and other pediatric health care providers (PHCPs) present a standard of care for evaluating and treating children with overweight and obesity and related comorbidities. The recommendations address the child's health status, family system, community context, and resources for treatment.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Guidelines, Obesity, Overweight, Resources for professionals , Therapeutics

Annotation: This is part I of a technical report that contains evidence-informed, actionable information that clinicians can use to make assessment and treatment decisions for children and adolescents with obesity. The report identifies relevant studies that address two overarching questions: 1) “What are clinically based, effective treatments for obesity?” and 2) What is the risk of comorbidities among children with obesity?” This part focuses on effective interventions for children and adolescents with obesity.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link
• Related Documents

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Intervention, Obesity, Overweight, Research, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This is part II of a technical report that contains evidence-informed, actionable information that clinicians can use to make assessment and treatment decisions for children and adolescents with obesity. The report identifies relevant studies that address two overarching questions: 1) “What are clinically based, effective treatments for obesity?” and 2) What is the risk of co-morbidities among children with obesity?” The second part contains research evidence to help clinicians screen for co-morbidities such as diabetes and dyslipidemia in children with obesity.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Part II

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Comorbidity, Obesity, Overweight, Research, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This website describes Maine's childhood obesity prevention program to increase physical activity and healthy eating for children from birth to age 18 through policy and environmental change. The program strives to reinforce the importance of healthy eating and physical activity by reaching families where they live, learn, work, and play. Contents include toolkits for early childhood, K-5, middle and high school, and health care and work place programs. Resources for parents and Spanish translated materials are also provided.

Contact: Barbara Bush Children's Hospital at Maine Medical Center, 22 Bramhall Street, Portland, ME Telephone: (207) 662-0111 Web Site: http://www.bbch.org/Pages/Home.aspx Available from the website.

• Website
• 2012 Annual Report

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health policy, Maine, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This course is designed to equip dental hygienists with skills to talk to parents about helping their child consume healthy foods and drinks to promote achieving or maintaining a healthy weight and good oral health. Topics include using non-stigmatizing language to talk about food and weight, explaining the Slow-Go-Whoa framework for making healthy food choices, demonstrating to parents how to identify sugar content in drinks, and discussing with parents how children can participate in decision-making about what to eat and drink.

Contact: New England Public Health Training Center, Boston University School of Public Health, Boston, MA Web Site: https://www.nephtc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Overweight, Prevention, Training

Annotation: These resources are designed to help child care centers improve practices and policies that will create healthier environments for infants and children from birth to age 5. Topics include nutrition, physical education, screen time, and infant feeding.

Contact: American Heart Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-4596, Telephone: (800) AHA-USA1 Secondary Telephone: 1-800-242-8721 Web Site: http://www.americanheart.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Evaluation Of Healthy Way To Grow (2020)

Keywords: Behavior change, Child care centers, Health policy, Infant feeding, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This report presents 2017–2018 infant mortality rates in the United States by maternal prepregnancy body mass index, and by infant age at death, maternal age, and maternal race and Hispanic origin.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF
• Series Page

Keywords: Infant mortality, Maternal health, Obesity

Annotation: This set of national standards describe evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. Contents include intervention strategies to prevent excessive weight gain in young children. The standards detail opportunities for facilities to work with families. Topics include nutrition requirements for infants, toddlers and preschoolers, and school-age children; meal service and supervision; food brought from home; nutrition education; food and nutrition service policies and plans; infant feeding policy; active opportunities for physical activity; playing outdoors; protection from air pollution while children are outside; caregivers/teachers' encouragement of physical activity; policies and practices that promote physical activity; and limiting media and computer time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Order from the website for a charge (3rd ed); available from the website (2nd ed).

• 3rd Edition
• 2nd Edition

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Infants, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Preschool children, Primary prevention, Program development, School-age children, Standards, Toddlers

Annotation: This handbook is intended to increase the knowledge of dental students, residents, and fellows and dental hygiene students about obesity prevention, nutrition, and nutrition counseling for children. The handbook provides an overview of childhood obesity and its consequences, recommendations that support optimal oral health and healthy weight in children, and tools that oral health professionals can use to support childhood-obesity-prevention efforts.

Contact: Temple University, Kornberg School of Dentistry, 3223 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19140, Web Site: https://dentistry.temple.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Training

Annotation: The goal of this training is to equip oral health professionals with the skills and knowledge they need to provide nutrition counseling for obesity prevention in pediatric dental settings. The training consists of two modules. Module 1 focuses on obesity as a disease and discusses the following topics: contributors to and consequences of childhood obesity, a common-risk-factor approach to childhood obesity and tooth decay, and a socio-ecological framework for obesity risk. Module 2 includes three case studies focusing on a child healthy weight and nutrition screener, assessment of height and weight, and communication with patients about nutrition and healthy weights for children.

Contact: Temple University, Kornberg School of Dentistry, 3223 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19140, Web Site: https://dentistry.temple.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Body weight, Counseling, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Training, Weight management

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Intervention, Obesity, Research, Screening, Weight

Annotation: This report ranks states on more than 40 indicators of health system performance in five broad areas: health care access, quality, avoidable hospital use and costs, health outcomes, and health care equity. It also compares and evaluates trends across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, Infants, Measures, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Oral health, Preventive health services, Smoking, State initiatives, Statistics, Systems development, Trends

Annotation: This document outlines competencies for health professionals engaged in obesity prevention and management. Contents include general concepts related to core obesity knowledge, interprofessional obesity care, and patient interactions related to obesity that can be integrated into existing curricula or used as a model for chronic disease curricula.

Contact: Bipartisan Policy Center, 1225 Eye Street NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 204-2400 Fax: (202) 318-0876 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://bipartisanpolicy.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competence, Competency-based education, Curriculum development, Disease management, Models, Nutrition, Obesity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This executive summary provides an overview of the Healthy Futures: Engaging the Oral Health Community in Childhood Obesity Prevention National Conference and key findings. It also presents a list of proposed strategies for preventing childhood obesity in the following areas: research, dental students’ education and training, oral health professionals’ continuing education and training, advocacy/policy, consumer-based education interventions, interprofessional collaboration, and reimbursement. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Education and training, Interventions, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Young children

Annotation: This special supplement includes articles prepared for the Healthy Futures: Engaging the Oral Health Community in Childhood Obesity Prevention National Conference. The articles discuss the science related to preventing childhood obesity and reducing children’s consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages and strategies that oral health professionals and organizations can employ to prevent childhood obesity. The articles examine (1) the science related to preventing childhood obesity, (2) the science related to reducing children’s consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages or sugar-containing beverages, and (3) strategies that could be employed by oral health professionals and organizations and others to prevent childhood obesity.

Contact: John Wiley and Sons, Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Education and training, Interventions, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, Research, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes an assessment of obesity prevention content in states' child care licensing regulations for child care centers, large or group family child care homes, and small family child care homes. Regulations were assessed for text consistent with best practices drawn from selected standards in Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards: Guidelines for Early Care and Education (3rd ed.). Topics include national results, changes specific to states that made changes in the current year, states' results, and conclusion. A supplement to include supporting information and additional results related to the assessment is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• Current Edition
• Previous Editions

Keywords: Assessment, Child care, Family child care, Licensing, Obesity, Policy development, Program improvement, Regulations, Standards

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find care, services, and support and websites about overweight and obesity in children and adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Bibliographies, Body weight, Child health, Children, Diet, Electronic publications, Exercise, Families, Health behavior, Nutrition, Obesity, Weight gain, Weight management

Annotation: This progress report provides information about Partnership for a Healthier America (PHA), the goal of which is to bring many different groups together (including parents, teachers, health professionals, business owners, the faith community, and elected officials) to make it easier for all Americans to make healthy nutrition and physical activity choices. The report provides background on the problem and how to address it, the PHA framework, and methodology. PHA progress in the following areas is discussed: child care and early childhood, healthy food access, healthier choices in the marketplace, increasing physical activity, and engagement and verification.

Contact: Partnership for a Healthier America, Web Site: http://www.ahealthieramerica.org Available from the website.

• Reports For Years 2013-2016
• 2012 Report

Keywords: Child care, Children, Collaboration, Families, Health, Nutrition, Obesity, Parents, Physical activity, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This report describes public health priorities with large-scale impact on health, known effective strategies to address them, and progress towards meeting targeted goals. Contents include visual representations of progress and data trends, as well as summaries of federal contributions associated with each of the following topic areas: tobacco; nutrition, physical activity, and obesity; food safety; health care-associated infections; motor vehicle injuries; adolescent pregnancy; and HIV.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Final Report
• Progress Reports

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Food safety, Goals, HIV, Health, Infections, Motor vehicle safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Tobacco use, Treatments, Trends

Annotation: This guide for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) administrators, evaluators, and others identifies and explains the indicators, outcome measures, and preferred methodologies for tracking success; developing state- and local-level objectives; and reporting program results. Contents include outcome indicators relevant to individuals, environmental settings, sectors of influence, population results, and social norms and values.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management