Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual was developed to accompany an 8-hour class. It introduces the concept of mainstreaming and relates it to the principles of early childhood education and best practice guidelines for caring for children with special needs. Module one includes sections on the importance of working with families, ethical issues, laws protecting children with special needs, typical vs. atypical development, how children learn, suggestions for working with parents are included, and diversity resources. Module two deals with motor development and concludes with a bibliography and references. Module three covers social-emotional development and behavioral issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 6505 Alvarado Road, Suite 108, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-4373 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Americans With Disabilities Act, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Families, Learning, Legislation, Mainstreaming, Motor development, Parents, Psychosocial development, Special education

Annotation: This training manual for state, tribal, local, and territorial health departments focuses on addressing ethical issues that arise in the practice of public health. Contents include an overview of public health ethics with case studies in public health on current topics. The overview introduces public health ethics and distinguishes it from clinical and research ethics. It offers a guide for addressing challenges such as the case-based approach and stakeholder analysis. It also explores the overlap between law and ethics. Each case contains relevant scientific and regulatory background information and questions for discussion. A facilitator's manual is also available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Case studies, Health agencies, Manuals, Professional ethics, Public health, Training

Annotation: This fact sheet for accreditation coordinators and local health department (LHD) practitioners outlines steps to advance public health ethics at LHDs. Topics include why it's important to understand and promote public health ethics, considerations for establishing an ethics committee, and Public Health Accreditation Board ethics requirements.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Accreditation, City health agencies, County health agencies, Ethics, Local government, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Annotation: This paper provides guidance for health professionals and patients on ethical challenges that may be presented by short-term charitable events, such as Mission of Mercy and Give Kids a Smile, so that these challenges can be addressed and/or avoided. The paper includes questions that health professionals and patients can consider to minimize potential ethical risks of such events while maximizing the events’ benefits. The concluding checklists are intended to be a starting point that organizations hosting events can tailor to accommodate specific issues that may arise at their events.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Dentistry, Oral health, Philanthropy, Professional ethics

Annotation: This brief is designed to assist the Title V work force in improving their knowledge and skills related to the maternal and child leadership competency, ethics and professionalism. Contents include a definition of ethical behavior and professionalism and descriptions of related websites, materials, and trainings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competence, Leadership, Professional ethics, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Title V programs, Training

Annotation: This document describes competencies for dental public health and the performance indicators by which they can be measured. Contents include background on the development of the competencies, definitions,and what a specialist in dental public health will do. Topics include planning oral health programs for populations; selecting interventions and strategies for the prevention and control of oral diseases and promotion of oral health; developing resources and implementing and managing oral health programs for populations; incorporating ethical standards in oral health programs and activities; evaluating and monitoring dental care delivery systems; designing and understanding the use of surveillance systems to monitor oral health; communicating and collaborating with groups and individuals on oral health issues; advocating for, implementing, and evaluating public health policy, legislation, and regulations to protect and promote the public's oral health; critiquing and synthesizing scientific literature; and designing and conducting population-based studies to answer oral and public health questions.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• Current Version
• Original Preamble Published In The Journal Of Public Health Dentistry 58(Suppl 1):119–122

Keywords: Administration, Advocacy, Collaboration, Communication skills, Competence, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Dental education, Dentistry, Ethics, Health promotion, Oral health, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public health dentists, Research, Work force

Annotation: This brief is a guide to resources that focus on the psychological and social impacts of assisted reproductive technologies (ART) on children conceived via ART and on their families. The brief lists resources related to ethical and legal issues associated with ART. For the most part, the listed resources are available electronically at no charge. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Biotechnology, Ethics, Legal issues, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report outlines six recommendations for how local health departments should create infrastructure to address ethical issues that arise in public health practice. The appendices contain an in-depth summary of the process used to the develop the recommendations and examples of formal ethics infrastructures.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Ethics, Local government, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to provide clinical and administrative staff at community health centers with the essentials needed to build a primary care research infrastructure. Organized into eight stand-alone audio-recorded modules, the toolkit helps health center clinicians and staff find information on: (1) introduction to quality improvement and research, (2) building primary care research infrastructure, (3) data: access and utilization, (4) study design and methods overview, (5) dissemination and action, (6) funding research, (7) partnerships for research, and (8) ethics and the Institutional Review Board. Appendices are included after each module to provide access to sample agreements, forms, policies, slides, and worksheets.

Contact: Harvard University, T.H. Chan School of Public Health, 677 Huntington Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 495-1000 Web Site: https://www.hsph.harvard.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health centers, Data collection, Data sources, Ethics, Fundraising, Primary care, Qualitative evaluation, Research, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: This resource provides a list of eight dental public health competencies and a curriculum to provide predoctoral dental students and dental hygiene students with the necessary foundation of knowledge and skills to meet the needs of the U.S. population. Topics of the courses include principles in dental public health; oral health literacy; ethics; dental public health policy and advocacy; oral health promotion and disease prevention; and evidence-based dentistry. Contents include presentations, instructor guides, syllabi, and other material.

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available from the website.

• The Links To The Individual Courses Direct To A Survey That Will Ask You For Contact Information And Agreement To Terms Of Use And License Agreement.

Keywords: Advocacy, Competency based education, Curriculum development, Dental education, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Health literacy, Health policy, Health promotion, Oral health, Professional education, Professional ethics

Annotation: This reference book is for directors and prospective directors of nonprofit corporations, from the smallest corporation that operates principally at a local or even neighborhood level, to the largest nonprofit corporation having operations that extend not only across the United States but internationally as well. Primarily written for the lay reader, it provides a description of general legal principles as they apply to nonprofit corporations and offers useful and practical suggestions and checklists. This book, written and edited by leading lawyers in the nonprofit industry, will assist directors of nonprofit corporations in performing their duties and providing an overall understanding of their role to the corporations they serve. Despite their variety of purposes, nonprofit corporations have many things in common. Although the size of the resources managed by nonprofit boards varies widely, their fundamental responsibilities are the same. This guidebook aims to help directors of all nonprofit corporations, big and small, to use their resources to the greatest effect.

Contact: American Bar Association, 321 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 285-2221 Secondary Telephone: (312) 988-5000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.abanet.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Ethics, Leadership training, Nonprofit organizations

Annotation: This publication reviews health education theories and definitions, identifies the components of evidence-based health education, and outlines the abilities necessary to engage in effective practice. Topics include the relationship between health education, health promotion, and health literacy; health behavior theories, models, and frameworks; health education planning, implementation, and evaluation; health educator core competencies; and code of ethics for the health education profession.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-9021-828-9.

• PDF

Keywords: Competence, Health behavior, Health education, Health educators, Health literacy, Health promotion, Models, Professional ethics, Program evaluation, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Theories

Annotation: This journal issue includes articles that are related to ethical issues in interventions to prevent and control childhood obesity. Topics include protecting children from harmful food marketing, policy approaches, weight bias, children with special health care needs, public vs individual rights in childhood obesity interventions, the ethical basis for promoting nutritional health in public schools, ethical family interventions, state requirements and recommendations.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1545-1151.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Civil rights, Ethics, Families, Health promotion, Human rights, Intervention, Marketing, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public policy, Research, School heath, Social bias

Annotation: This new edition offers a review of the basic science and clinical practice of obstetrics and gynecology. It discusses female reproductive anatomy, evaluation, ethics in practice, assessing the quality of medical and surgical care, the human genome, maternal-fetal medicine, reproductive endocrinology, gynecologic oncology. There are more than 225 tables and figures and an updated bibliography. Common presenting symptoms, diagnostic approaches, differential diagnoses, and management are discussed.

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Diagnosis, Endometriosis, Enuresis, Ethics, Gynecologic oncology, Gynecology, Laparoscopic surgery, Obstetrical care, Obstetrical surgery, Quality assurance, Reproduction, Textbooks

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on insurance coverage of contraceptives. The fact sheet offers background on the topic, particularly as these policies relate to whether employers or insurers can refuse to cover contraceptives on religious or moral grounds. The fact sheet also includes highlights of how states differ in terms of their contraceptive insurance coverage policies.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraception, Ethics, Insurance, Moral values, Religion, State legislation

Annotation: This report addresses health care refusals and denials for care to women that are rooted in political ideology or institutional or personal religious objections and evaluations their potential impact access to care. The report provides background and analysis of the ethical and legal concepts of standards of care and informed consent and then analyzes religious, ideological, and political restrictions and denials of care that conflict with and undermine established medical standards. The report also provides detailed descriptions and analysis of the standards of care that govern medical practice for a range of common health conditions and illustrates how refusals and denials of care violate those standards and put women's health at risk. Topics include standards of care, pregnancy prevention, abortion, pregnancy attainment, and healthy sexuality.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 3701 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 750, Los Angeles, CA 90010, Telephone: (310) 204-6010 Fax: (213) 386-0774 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Ethics, Informed consent, Legal issues, Pregnancy, Prevention, Religion, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Standards, Women', s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the presentations and discussions at a workshop on direct-to-consumer (DTC) genetic testing held in Washington, DC, on August 31 and September 1, 2009. The report discusses (1) scientific and ethical foundations for DTC genetic testing, (2) personal and social issues related to DTC genetic testing, (3) research and medical issues in the context of DTC genetic testing, (4) the impact on health care and public health, and (5) an overview of the current legislative and regulatory framework governing genetic testing in the United States. Each section includes a series of questions for further discussion. The report concludes with a holistic examination of areas for further study.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $28.75; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-16216-6.

• Link

Keywords: Genetic screening, Health care, Legislation, Medical ethics, Public health, Regulations, Research

Annotation: The purposes of this paper are to (1) review the issues facing state newborn screening programs related to the retention and use of residual dried blood spot specimens and (2) to lay the foundation for developing national guidance to states in this area. Topics include ethical, legal, and social issues; education, awareness, and ensuring the public trust; and financial considerations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1080 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Education, Ethics, Financing, Guidelines, Legal issues, Neonatal screening, Programs

Annotation: This textbook, which is un updated version of the 2005 edition, provides prehospital medical information for the emergency care of infants and children. The textbook presents medical content using special features and an interactive course. Features include learning objectives, case studies, tips, and key terms, among others. Topics covered include pediatric assessment, using a developmental approach, respiratory emergencies, cardiovascular emergencies, medical emergencies, trauma, toxic emergencies, children in disasters, emergency delivery and newborn stabilization, children with special health care needs, sudden infant death syndrome, child maltreatment, medicolegal and ethical considerations, transportation considerations, and making a difference.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0763755877.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Legal issues, Child health, Child maltreatment, Childbirth, Disasters, Emergency medical care, Infant health, Medical ethics, Newborn infants, SIDS, Training, Trauma

Annotation: This guide outlines the legal, ethical, and medical issues surrounding HIV and pregnancy in the United States. It addresses considerations for women and their advocates before, during, and after pregnancy, including HIV testing, treatment options for HIV-positive patients, and the legal rights of the expectant mother. It also discusses child birthing options and infant care practices that may help to reduce the risk of transmission from mother to child. The guide also underscores the public health advantage of treating women as active partners in their own and their newborn's treatment, and recognizing their right to appropriate counseling and medical care that accommodates their reproductive options. The guide includes an appendix of Web-based resources.

Contact: Center for HIV Law and Policy, 65 Broadway, Suite 832, New York, NY 10006, Telephone: (212) 430-6733 Fax: (212) 430-6734 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hivlawandpolicy.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: HIV, Health care delivery, Legal issues, Medical ethics, Newborn infants, Pregnancy complications, Pregnant women, Reproductive rights