Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This data report provides information about Michigan's dental sealant program, SEAL! Michigan, during the grant period October 1, 2022, through September 30, 2023. Data was obtained from child-level forms submitted by grantees to the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services. Topics include number of students screened by gender, grade, race, and insurance status; untreated tooth decay; tooth decay experience; presence of sealants, urgency of needed treatment; referral for treatment; number of decayed or filled molars, other teeth, and primary teeth; and types of fluoride treatment provided. Also included is information about special health care needs among students screened.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health screenings, Michigan, Oral health, Referrals, State information, State programs

Annotation: This index provides information on current and projected statewide health care workforce shortages for 36 health care occupations in Michigan. The methodology for creating the index is described, and report regions are presented in a figure. Each occupation is ranked according to growth, shortages, wages, and turnover and is given an overall rank. Results are discussed, and recommendations for how to reduce shortages are presented.

Contact: Michigan Health Council, 2121 University Park Drive, Suite 150, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (517) 347-3332 Web Site: https://www.mhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Michigan, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This state oral health plan (SOHP) outlines steps that the MIchigan Oral Health Coalition (MHOC) can take over the next four years to positively impact oral health in the state. The plan describes MHOC and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, the SOHP development and discovery process, and SOHP implementation. Other topics include optimal oral health foundational principles; oral health equity; and SOHP goals, strategies, and activities.

Contact: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 106 W. Allegan Street, Suite 310, Lansing, MI 48933, Telephone: (517) 827-0466 Fax: (517) 381-8008 Web Site: http://www.mohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health literacy, Michigan, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, State information, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about whether new mothers in Michigan intend to take their infant for a dental visit by the infant’s first birthday. It offers background on why taking infants for a dental visit is important. Information about maternal intention stratified by age, educational attainment, household income, and insurance status is provided in text and in a table.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Health care utilization, Infant health, Michigan, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information

Annotation: This report provides information from an assessment conducted to learn about Michigan ora health professionals' oral cancer screenings practices and knowledge about human papillomavirus (HPV). The report discusses methods and presents information about the oral health professionals surveyed. Selected survey questions and results are presented on the following topics: whether the dental office has a written policy for screening oral cancer, on which patients does the oral health professional conduct oral cancer screenings; how often the oral health professional conducts oral cancer screenings, which screening methods oral health professionals use, number of areas (e.g., lips, cheeks) screened, comfort level with doing an oral cancer screening, and what health professionals do after finding a suspicious lesion.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health screening, Human papillomavirus, Michigan, Oral health, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This brief provides information from the 2017 Michigan Head Start Smiles, a statewide survey of preschool children enrolled in Head Start in Michigan. It provides information about prevalence of tooth decay and of untreated decay, need for treatment, and oral health disparities. Tables presenting data are included.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Low income groups, Michigan, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This report discusses the oral health status of a sample of children enrolled in Head Start in Michigan. It provides an overview of the importance of oral health for children and of dental benefits for children in the state who are Medicaid recipients. Key findings about children enrolled in Head Start in Michigan are presented.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental insurance, Head Start, Low income groups, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about age 1 oral health services in Michigan. It includes background about the importance of good oral health in early childhood and offers statistics, by county, on infants and children under age 2 who participate in Medicaid who had at least one dental visit in 2017. Factors contributing to lack of access to oral health care are presented. Information about Michigan Perinatal Oral Health Guidelines and a dental periodicity chart are included.

Contact: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 106 W. Allegan Street, Suite 310, Lansing, MI 48933, Telephone: (517) 827-0466 Fax: (517) 381-8008 Web Site: http://www.mohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Infants, Local initiatives, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Preventive health visits, State programs

Annotation: This report describes a three-year demonstration project dedicated to sustainable health care practice change for Michigan medically underserved children and adolescents. The report addresses project sites, activities, and qualitative and quantitative key findings. A report, summary, webinar, and power point slides are available.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, At risk children, At risk populations, Child health, Michigan, State programs, Underserved communities

Annotation: This document presents findings from a study on oral disease and access to oral health care for children in third grade in Michigan. It also addresses oral health concerns by regions in the state. The document provides background information and describes study methods. Open-mouth screening results are presented for the following areas: demographics, caries experience, untreated decay, dental sealants, and treatment urgency. Oral health behavior results are presented for the following areas: toothache in past 6 months, last dental visit, and no dental care in past year.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Access to health care, Michigan, Oral health, School age children, Studies, Treatment

Annotation: This document describes family engagement as a critical part of Title V maternal and child health (MCH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) programs and highlights ways that states are engaging families. Contents include case study examples in Louisiana, Michigan, and Washington. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Cultural diversity, Families, Leadership, Louisiana, Michigan, Participation, Public private partnerships, Role, State programs, Title V programs, Washington

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Building Healthy Communities, a school-based prevention program in Michigan to help children adopt healthy habits at a young age by providing access to healthy food, health education, physical education, and physical activity. Contents include a description of the program's development and implementation process, outcomes, and next steps. Topics include partnering organization efforts to pool funding, resources, and expertise to engage elementary schools and expand to middle and high schools throughout the state.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Collaboration, Curriculum, Elementary schools, Health behavior, Health promotion, High schools, Michigan, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Obesity, Outcome and process assessment, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, School health education, School health programs, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: These voluntary guidelines are intended to support schools in creating an inclusive environment for all students in Michigan. Contents include best practice strategies for school districts to create a supportive learning environment with specific guidance on supporting transgender and gender nonconforming students. Definitions are included.

Contact: Michigan State Board of Education, 608 W. Allegan Street, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3324 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mde/0,4615,7-140-5373---,00.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bullying, Child health, Child safety, Civil rights, Health promotion, Homosexuality, Injury prevention, Learning, Michigan, Nonconformity, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, School districts, Schools, Sex characteristics, Sex role, Sexual harassment, Students, Violence prevention, Work force

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evaluation, Michigan, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Tooth decay, Young children

Annotation: This booklet for parents provides information on how to care for an infant’s or child’s oral health from birth through the elementary school years. The booklet also includes information about how to find and pay for oral health care and activities that parents can do with their child to help them learn together about the importance of good oral health. The booklet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish. A brochure and a video are also available.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infants, Michigan, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preschool children, Preventive health services, School age children, State programs

Annotation: This guide provides information about reducing infant mortality and promoting perinatal oral health in Michigan. It discusses a statewide perinatal oral health initiative, an infant-mortality-reduction plan, the national and local landscapes, and transmission of cariogenic bacteria. It also includes guidance for perinatal care health professionals and oral health professionals, a visual guide for common oral health conditions, and referral resources to assist in facilitating oral health care for pregnant women.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Forms, Infant mortality, Infants, Michigan, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Referrals, State programs

Annotation: This report describes findings from a literature review and an analysis of data sources on the oral health status of various population groups in Michigan. Topics include the history of advocacy to improve oral health in Michigan, financing for oral health services, oral health professional shortage areas and safety net providers, and Michigan’s oral health work force.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Financing, Health status, Michigan, Oral health, Population surveillance, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes a pilot project to reduce tobacco use and improve oral health by training oral health professionals on recommended guidelines for tobacco dependence treatment. Contents include information about the participating dental clinics, reimbursements for clients receiving tobacco dependence interventions, administrative support activities, project outcomes, and next steps. Training pretest, mid, and posttest surveys results; and final report numbers and comments are included.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Forms, Intervention, Michigan, Oral health, Pilot projects, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use, Training