Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (528 total).

Bronheim S, Fiel S, Schidlow D, MagrabP, Boczar K, Dillon C. n.d.. Crossings: A manual for transition of chronically ill youth to adult health care. Harrisburg, PA: Pennsylvania Department of Health, 52 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Academy of General Dentistry. n.d.. The life of a tooth: A visual timeline. Chicago, IL: Academy of General Dentistry, 1 v. (InfoBites)

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: info@knowyourteeth.com Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Partnership for Male Youth. n.d.. The Partnership for Male Youth: Health provider toolkit for adolescent and young adult males. Washington, DC: Partnership for Male Youth, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help health professionals address the unique health care needs of adolescents and young adult males (AYAs) ages 10 to 26. Contents include a checklist covering nine health domains; client interview questions and supporting materials for each domain including background information, practice tools, and references; and a video library containing presentations for continuing medical education and client education. Topics include healthy eating and physical activity, sexual and reproductive health, trauma, mental health, developmental disorders, sexual biologic basics, normal pubertal concerns and genital abnormalities, and labs and immunizations. A tutorial is also available.

Contact: Partnership for Male Youth, 900 Second Street, N.E., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20002, E-mail: barbour@partnershipformaleyouth.org Web Site: http://www.partnershipformaleyouth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Adolescent males, Comprehensive health care, Continuing medical education, Evidence based health care, Health examinations, Immunizations, Interviews, Medical history taking, Men's health, Screening, Young adults

D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs. n.d.. Sexuality information resource list. Washington, DC: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet lists resources on sexuality education, education curricula, health conditions and disabilities, online learning, educators and counselors, and national resources related to sexuality and children and adults with disabilities. Resources also cover parenting with a disability, reproductive health, sexual violence, and screening for abuse or violence.

Contact: D.C. Resource Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs, Washington, DC Web Site: http://dccshcn.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Sexuality education

Family Voices; IMPACT. n.d.. Transitions--Growing up and away. Albuquerque, NM: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides tips to help parents of adolescents with special health care needs support their sons' and daughters' transition into adulthood.

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents with special health care needs, Parenting, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Po J, Brindis CD, Adams S, Teipel K, Park MJ, Sieving R. 2020. Improving young adult health: State and local strategies for success. San Francisco, CA: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, 36 pp.

Annotation: This document presents key strategies that states can adopt to improve young adult health: (1) collect data and adopt a young adult measure; (2) build collaborative networks; (3) provide training on young adult health; (4) create targeted programs; and (5) use innovative outreach. Strategies are based on a review of young adult (YA) health policies and programs across all 59 states and territories and interviews with Title V leadership in states that have adopted a YA measure. The document includes lessons learned, resources, and methods.

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: nahic@ucsf.edu Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Health policy, Health programs, State initiatives, Young adults

Adolescent and Young Adult National Resource Center. 2019-. #ScreenToInterveneForAYAs: Adolescent and Young Adult Behavioral Health Blog. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This blog provides a space for state Title V maternal and child health professionals and their partners to learn about efforts to build better preventive care systems for optimal adolescent and young adult wellbeing across the country.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Behavior, Adolescent health, Behavioral medicine, Communication, Prevention programs, Social media, State Title V programs, State initiatives, Young adults

Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition. 2019. Check-up on oral health: A call to action. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition, 5 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the lifespan, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: http://www.chawisconsin.org/oral-health.php?pg=13 Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Lin M, Griffin SO, Gooch BF, Espinoza L, Wei L, Li CH, Thornton-Evans G, Junger M, Robison VA, Fleming EB, and Beltran E. 2019. Trends in dental caries and sealants, tooth retention and edentulism, United States 1999-2004 and 2011-2016. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 56 pp. (Oral health surveillance report, 2019)

Annotation: This report provides national estimates for selected measures for oral health status during 2011–2016, examines changes since 1999–2004, and highlights disparities in oral health by certain sociodemographic characteristics. Measures include prevalence and severity of dental caries in primary and permanent teeth, prevalence of dental sealants on permanent teeth in children and adolescents (ages 6–19), and tooth retention and edentulism among adults (ages 20–64) and older adults (ages 65 or older).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Older adults, Oral health, Socioeconomic factors, Surveillance, Trends

Freed M, Neuman T, Jacobson G. 2019. Drilling down on dental coverage and costs for Medicare beneficiaries. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 25 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief reviews the state of oral health for older adults on Medicare. It describes the health and economic consequences of foregoing oral health care, sources of dental coverage, out-of-pocket costs of oral health care, and use of oral health services. Data and methods are discussed.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Costs, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicare, Older adults, Oral health, Statistical data

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 12: Percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult care. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 set of linked pages.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 12: Percent of adolescents with and without special health care needs who received services necessary to make transitions to adult care. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) youth and family education and leadership development; (2) health care professional workforce development; (3) care coordination; (4) communications and social media; and (5) measurement and assessment. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Model programs, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs, State programs, Title V programs, Transition to adult services, Young adults

Virginia Health Catalyst. 2019. Providing comprehensive care for your patients: An oral health integration toolkit for health care providers. Glen Allen, VA: Virginia Health Catalyst, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. The report explains what care integration is. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: info@vahealthcatalyst.org Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2018. Summary report: 2018 synopses of state dental public health programs–Data for FY 2016–2017. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a 2018 study examining the status of state oral health programs during the 2016–2017 fiscal year. Topics include demographics, state infrastructure, work force, administration, and oral health programs funded or operated by states.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Oral health, Program descriptions, Public health programs, State initiatives, Statistical data

Doherty M, Bingham D, Kislak R, Kolo S, Barzel R, Holt K (eds.). 2018. Safety net dental clinic manual (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center,

Annotation: This manual is designed to help dental clinic staff with all aspects of clinic development and ongoing operations. Chapter topics include essential elements, facilities and staffing, finances, administrative operations, quality management, and clinical operations. Links to sample policies, efficiency tips, professional standards, supply lists, floor plans, design tips, equipment photographs, customizable budget worksheets, funding strategies, quality-improvement plans, fact sheets, and websites are included. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

Keywords: Adults, Dental care, Dental clinics, Manuals, Oral health, Professional training, Program management

White P, Schmidt A, McManus M, Irwin CI Jr. 2018. Incorporating health care transition services into preventive care for adolescents and young adults: A toolkit for clinicians. Washington, DC: Got Transition; San Francisco, CA: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, 18 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit for clinicians provides suggested questions and anticipatory guidance specific to adolescents' transition to adult health care, and is meant to be used alongside Bright Futures. It covers early adolescence (11-14 years) through early adulthood (22-25 years), and includes transition and preventive health care guidance. It is aimed at the entire health care team. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: info@GotTransition.org Web Site: http://gottransition.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Coordination, Pediatric care, Self care, Spanish language materials, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center. 2018. Transforming heath care for adolescents and young adults: Change package concepts, strategies, and materials to improve access to and quality of preventive service visits. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center,

Annotation: This set of slides describes change concepts and implementation strategies for increasing awareness, knowledge and perceived benefit of the annual well-visit (AWV) for adolescents and young adults. Initial slides are narrated via audio, rest are visual only.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Health supervision, Program improvement, Young adults

Honsberger K, Eichner H. 2018. How states use the national standards for CYSHCN to strengthen Medicaid managed care for children with special health care needs. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy,

Annotation: This fact sheet provides examples of state actions to use the National Standards for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) to strengthen their managed care systems for CYSHCN. Topics include analyzing and enhancing specialized managed care plans, providing a framework to design and strengthen care delivery systems, strengthening contract language to address the needs of CYSHCN, and improving care coordination and transition to adult care. The various state examples outlined here resulted from a 12-month learning collaborative facilitated by NASHP, in partnership with the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP), with support from the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health (LPFCH).

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Managed care, Medicaid, Standards, State programs, Title V programs, Young adults

Eichner H, Handler M, Honsberger K, Normile B, Bussanich P. 2018. The national standards for children and youth with special health care needs: A compendium of national data and quality measure sets. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This measures compendium provides states and other key stakeholders with a reference tool that highlights relevant quality measures aligned with key domains of the National Standards for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN). Topics include family-professional partnerships, cultural competence, indentification, screening, assessment, referral, insurance coverage, access to care, medical home, community-based services and supports, transition to adulthood, and health information technology.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Data sources, Standards, Young adults

National Academy for State Health Policy. 2017 ca.. Toolkit: National standards for children and youth with special health care needs. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy,

Annotation: This toolkit provides a portal to critical tools, fact sheets, and other resources that states can use to design, strengthen, and improve health care systems serving children and youth with special health care needs and their families. Materials include publications, managed care, tools and tips, webinars, and quality measurement.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Standards, Young adults

Radley DC, McCarthy D, Hayes SL. 2017. Aiming higher: Results from the Commonwealth Fund scorecard on state health system performance–2017 edition. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, annual.

Annotation: This report ranks states on more than 40 indicators of health system performance in five broad areas: health care access, quality, avoidable hospital use and costs, health outcomes, and health care equity. It also compares and evaluates trends across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, Infants, Measures, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Oral health, Preventive health services, Smoking, State initiatives, Statistics, Systems development, Trends

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.