Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (269 total).

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2024. MACstats: Medicaid and CHIP data book. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 155 pp.

Annotation: This data book presents data on Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). Contents include an overview with key statistics on Medicaid and CHIP; trends in Medicaid; Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and spending with information on benefits, managed care, and program administration; Medicaid and CHIP eligibility; and measures of beneficiary health, use of services, and access to care. The final section of the data book contains a technical guide that describes the data sources used, the methods used to analyze the data, and guidance in interpreting how specific data may differ from each other or from those published elsewhere.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

2024

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Medicaid, Statistical data, Trends, s health insurance program

Clark M, Millette M. 2023. State opportunities to leverage Medicaid and CHIP coverage to improve maternal health and eliminate racial inequities. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, Center for Children and Families,

Annotation: This issue brief highlights state Medicaid and Children's Health insurance Program (CHIP) eligibility options, including (1) expanding income eligibility, (2) extending the duration of postpartum Medicaid coverage to 12 months following the end of pregnancy, and (3) removing immigration-related barriers to health coverage. It describes how states can leverage their federal coverage options to broaden access to care during the perinatal period and draw down ederal matching funds.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: childhealth@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Link

Keywords: Access to care, Children', Eligibility, Expanded eligibility , Mediciaid, s Health Insurance Program

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation. 2023. Medicaid postpartum coverage extension tracker . Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation,

Annotation: This online resource tracks state actions to implement extended Medicaid postpartum coverage, including states that have implemented a 12-month postpartum extension, states that are planning to implement a 12-month extension, states with pending legislation to seek federal approval through a waiver, and states that have proposed or received approval for a limited coverage extension.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

Link

Keywords: Eligibility, Legislation , Medicaid, Postpartum care, State initiatives

Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Oral Health Program. 2023. Dental clinics and services for Maine residents. August, ME: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Oral Health Program, 48 pp.

Annotation: This directory is a resource for consumers and for health professionals and social services providers in Maine to help them assist clients who do not have a regular dentist with getting oral health care. The directory describes clinics and agencies in Maine that either provide oral health care or can help these individuals access care. Information is provided on services the clinic or agency provides, eligibility guidelines, and where to get more information. State-funded assistance programs, tribal health programs, rural community health centers, and other potential sources of care are included. Clinics and agencies are organized by county.

Contact: Maine Department of Health and Human Services, Center for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 State House Station, 286 Water Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0011, Telephone: (207) 287-8016 Secondary Telephone: (800) 606-0215 Fax: (207) 287-9058 Web Site: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/boh Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Clinics, Eligibility, Low income groups, Maine, Oral health, Public agencies, State information

Prenatal-to-Three Impact Center, Vanderbilt Universit. 2022. State options and actions to extend postpartum Medicaid coverage . Nashville, TN: Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University , 8 pp.

Annotation: This research brief describes state options and actions that can be taken to extend Medicaid-related pregnancy coverage beyond 60 days postpartum. Included are examples of state legislation and federally-approved waiver requests.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

Keywords: , Access to health care, Barriers, Expanded eligibility, Medicaid, Model legislation, Postpartum care, State legislation

Ranji U, Gomez I , Salganicoff A . 2021. Expanding postpartum Medicaid coverage . Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation,

Annotation: This issue brief discusses Medicaid’s eligibility for pregnancy and postpartum care, describes gaps in coverage, particularly for low-income women who live in states that have not expanded Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act, and highlights several state and federal efforts to extend postpartum coverage for a longer period of time.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

Link

Keywords: Eligibility, Federal legislation , Health care delivery, Medicaid, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, State initiatives

Whitener K, Alker j. 2020. Covering all children . Washington, DC: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief focuses on the remaining uninsured children in the U.S. and makes recommendations for policy changes to reach them as well as to simplify and improve children’s coverage overall. The menu of potential strategies includes (1) creating a national continuum of children's coverage; (2) strengthening Medicaid and the CHIP (Children's Health Insurance Program); (3) reducing gaps in children's coverage; and (4) improving affordability in the marketplace. Interim steps to improve coverage at both the federal and state level are also described.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: childhealth@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Child health, Expanded eligibility, Health insurance, Policy development, Uninsured persons

U. S. Government Accountability Office . 2019. Children's Health Insurance Program: Efforts to measure and address potential substitution for private health insurance. Washington, DC.: U.S. Government Accountability Office , 49 pp.

Annotation: This report describes efforts to measure and address Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) "crowd-out," when families who apply for public CHIP benefits have access to private health insurance. For the report, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) asked 42 states that have separate CHIP programs to report on two separate crowd-out indicators: (1) the percent of individuals who are enrolled in CHIP that have access to private health insurance and (2) the percent of CHIP applicants who cannot be enrolled because they have private health insurance. Included is a description of procedures that CMS and states use to address crowd-out, together with statistics on income eligibility, enrollment in public vs. private insurance, and other relevant data extracted from the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Children', Data, Eligibility, Enrollment expansion, Federal programs, National surveys, State Health insurance programs, s Health insurance Program

Gross BJ, Turner W, Machledt D. 2018. Advocate's guide to MAGI (upd.). Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 95 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

2018 Update

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Schubel J. 2017. Medicaid helps schools help children. Washington, DC: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 7 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines the role of Medicaid in funding critical health-related services for students with disabilities. Topics include providing reimbursement for health care services that are necessary for students with disabilities to succeed in school and ensuring schools' compliance with Individuals with Disabilities Education Act requirements, helping students to stay healthy and succeed academically, and connecting students to coverage. The brief also describes the long-term benefits of Medicaid for eligible children and the potential impact of spending reductions on students, local communities, and state budgets. The appendix contains a table on state and federal Medicaid spending in schools.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: center@cbpp.org Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, Reimbursement, Role, School health services, Schools, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

U.S. Department of Education, Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development. 2017. Resource guide: Building a bright future for all–Success in early learning programs and elementary school for immigrant families. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development, 55 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist state and local efforts to support immigrant children from birth through the elementary grades and promote educational equity and opportunity for all children. Contents include a glossary and background; legal guidelines; tips for early learning programs, elementary schools, and educators; and information about education and supportive service programs and resources. The second section of the guide is a handbook for parents on topics such as why quality early learning matters, tips on immunizations, information about civil rights and program eligibility, tips for addressing barriers, and opportunities for parents and guardians.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Planning, Evaluation, and Policy Development, Washington, DC Telephone: (202) 401-0831 Secondary Telephone: (202) 401-7888 E-mail: opepd.ppss@ed.gov Web Site: https://ed.gov/about/offices/list/opepd/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Children, Civil rights, Early childhood education, Elementary education, Elementary schools, Eligibility, Equal opportunities, Guardianship, Immigrants, Learning, Legal issues, Parents, Spanish language materials

U.S. Department of Education. 2016. Healthy students, promising futures: State and local action steps and practices to improve school-based health. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, 16 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. State Medicaid & CHIP profiles. Baltimore, MD: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

McCoy C, Chaudhry A. 2015. Who will be covered for what in 2015 and beyond: An overview of insurance affordability programs for maternal and child health populations existing prior to or expanded under the Affordable Care Act . Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 6 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief is designed to assist state maternal and child health (MCH) programs in understanding insurance affordability programs not including employee-sponsored coverage. Contents include an overview of federal benefit and coverage requirements under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include federal minimum eligibility levels by income including identified and potential gaps in eligibility for MCH populations both with and without Medicaid expansion and projected minimum or essential health insurance benefits for MCH populations including children and youth with special health care needs for each of the following coverage options: Medicaid, Children's Health Insurance Plan (CHIP), insurance purchased through the health insurance marketplace (exchange), and safety net services for those remaining uninsured.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Medicaid, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Eligibility, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State health insurance programs

Dorn S. 2015. Integrating health and human services programs and reaching eligible individuals under the Affordable Care Act: Final report. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of findings from a project to support implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) by exploring opportunities for integration and outreach. Contents include a summary of the challenges and prospects for integration. Topics include ways in which ACA changes can help bring eligible individuals into human services programs and ways in which human services programs can aid in identifying and enrolling those newly eligible in health insurance affordability programs, including Medicaid and subsidies available through state health insurance Marketplaces. Additional topics include current integration and outreach efforts at the state and local levels and ways to help consumers make program participation choices as they navigate public benefits programs and the Marketplaces.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Integrated information systems, Medicaid, Outreach, Participation, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Service integration, State programs

Catalyst Center. 2014. Your questions answered: Are families of Medicaid-enrolled children with disabilities eligible for subsidized marketplace coverage?. Boston, MA: Catalyst Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document for families presents questions and answers about subsidized marketplace coverage eligibility for children with disabilities who are enrolled in Medicaid and their families. Topics include minimum essential coverage (MEC), the types of Medicaid coverage for children with disabilities that are MEC, and examples of eligibility based on different family circumstances. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: mcomeau@bu.edu Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Eligibility, Families, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Special health care needs

Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured. 2014. An introduction to Medicaid and CHIP eligibility and enrollment performance measures. Washington, DC: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 9 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of new performance indicators that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid established for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program eligibility and enrollment performance indicators for states to report beginning in October 2013. The brief also discusses the initial data and the opportunities and challenges associated with reporting, analyzing, and interpreting the data. Background information is provided, as well as key findings.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, State programs, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Families USA and Children's Dental Health Project. 2014. Buying children's dental coverage through the marketplace. Washington, DC: Families USA, 7 pp. (What you need to know about health insurance)

Annotation: This guide for families uses frequently asked questions to explain the children’s dental benefit (a provision of the Affordable Care Act) and how it works. Topics include guidance on buying coverage through a state marketplace, eligibility, covered services, the difference between dental coverage sold separately vs. as part of a medical plan, premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, out-of-pocket limits, and consumer protections. Information on financial assistance, coverage requirements, and buying coverage for adults is also included.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Consumer protection, Costs, Dental insurance, Eligibility determination, Families, Financing, Health care reform, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Baudouin K, Weiss A, Hensley-Quinn M. . 2014. Paving the way to simpler: Experience from maximizing enrollment states in streamlining eligibility and enrollment. Portland, OR: National Academy for State Health Policy, 25 pp. (A maximizing enrollment report)

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Eligibility determination, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

National Health Law Program. 2014. Lessons from CA: Eligibility for former foster care children. Washington, DC: National Health Law Program, 1 p.

Annotation: This document describes how California has implemented the Affordable Care Act (ACA) for the benefit of young adults (ages 18 and older) who were in foster care or who came to California from foster care in another state. Topics include efforts to enact legislation, develop a simplified application form, provide instructions to counties, and develop a desk aid for eligibility workers.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foster care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Act, State legislation, Young adults