Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (84 total).

Federal School Safety Clearinghouse External Advisory Board. n.d.. Bullying prevention strategies and resources for K-12 schools . Washington, DC: Federal School Safety Clearinghouse External Advisory Board, 3 pp.

Annotation: This document provides an overview of bullying prevention strategies and resources for K-12 schools. It defines bullying, outlines its negative impacts, and presents several approaches schools can implement to address and prevent bullying. The strategies discussed include developing assessments, building a safe and supportive environment, setting policies, engaging parents and youth, and implementing social and emotional learning. The document also lists various resources available through SchoolSafety.gov, including training modules, mobile apps, and assessment tools, to help schools in their bullying prevention efforts. It is intended for school staff, including administrators, teachers, and support personnel, to create safer school environments

Contact: Federal School Safety Clearinghouse External Advisory Board, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agemcu , E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cisa.gov/resources-tools/groups/federal-school-safety-clearinghouse-external-advisory-board

Keywords: Bullying, Prevention, School safety

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2023. StopBullying.gov. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration,

Annotation: This website provides information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how to prevent and respond to bullying. Contents include a blog, newsroom, videos, policies and laws, and other resources. A section of the website is devoted to content for children and adolescents. The site is also available in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Community action, Families, Federal initiatives, Parents, Primary prevention, Schools, Spanish language materials

National Education Association. 2023. Preventing violence and bullying. Washington, DC: National Education Association,

Annotation: This website presents resources from the National Education Association's (NEA's) campaign against bullying. Contents include a pledge form for parents and other caring adults willing to advocate for measures to stop bullying in their schools and communities. Additional content includes research and tools, tip sheets and stories, NEA's position and actions, prevention and intervention training, multimedia, and resources for education support professionals.

Contact: National Education Association, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 833-4000 Fax: (202) 822-7974 Web Site: http://www.nea.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Primary prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, School age children, School health, Training materials

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2023. Stop Bullying. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,

Annotation: This website provides comprehensive guidance for preventing and responding to bullying, with specific sections addressing cyberbullying, federal civil rights laws, and strategies for schools, parents, and youth. It outlines evidence-based approaches for immediate intervention when bullying occurs and offers resources for creating prevention strategies in schools and communities. The site includes instructional videos and specific guidance for emergency situations where someone may be in immediate danger.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov

Link

Keywords: Bullying, Initiatives, Prevention

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2022. KnowBullying . Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration,

Annotation: This set of resources includes a mobile app for parents, caregivers, and educators and is designed to help start a conversation with children about bullying. The materials describe strategies to prevent bullying and explain how to recognize warning signs that a child is being bullied or is bullying. Flyers, media kits, and posters are among the downloadable materials.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Bullying, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials., Mobile applications, Parent child relations, Parents, Violence prevention

National Center for Education Statistics. 2022. Bullying at school and electronic bullying. Condition of education. Washington, DC: National Center for Education Statistics, 10 pp. (Condition of Education)

Annotation: This report from the National Center for Education Statistics is based on data from the School Crime Supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey of 2019. Students aged 12-18 years reported incidences of bullying on school property, and electronic bullying. Figures and graphs illustrate age, gender, etc., of students, location of bullying incidents, type of bullying, and how incidents differed from year to year.

Contact: National Center for Education Statistics, 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Secondary Telephone: (202) 502-7442 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov

Link

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Cyberbullying, Physical abuse, Statistics, Verbal abuse

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention . 2021. Preventing bullying factsheet. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet defines bullying and the consequences that can occur, discusses prevention options and provides references for more information. It uses graphs and statistics to illustrate the seriousness of the issue, explain the impact of bullying, and lists types of prevention initiatives.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Cyberbullying, Physical abuse, Verbal abuse

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2021. Violence impacts teens’ lives. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report draws attention to the problem and consequences of youth exposure to violence. It containts suggestions for parents/families, members of schools and members of communities to help ameliorate the problem, and points to reader to other, more comprehensive publications by the CDC on the effects and on the prevention of violence.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Minority groups, Violence

David-Ferdon C, Clayton HB, Dahlberg LL, Simon TR, Holland KM, Brener N, Matjasko JL, D’Inverno AS, Leah Robin L, Gervin D . 2021. Vital Signs: Prevalence of multiple forms of violence and increased health risk behaviors and conditions among youths — United States, 2019.. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 7 pp. (Vital Signs)

Annotation: This report uses data from the 2019 YBRS (Youth Risk Behavior Survey) to quantify the problem of youth exposure to violence and enumerate the types of damage that can result. It urges the prevention of violence in order to improve youth and adult health. Tables provide statistics by demographics (age, gender, sexual orientation and race/ethnicity), as well as risky behaviors engaged in by adolescents who have been exposed to violence. References provide information on more comprehensive reports on the adverse effects of youth exposure to violence and to interventions that ameliorate the problem.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Dating violence, Violence

Delaware's Domestic Violence Coordinating Council. 2021. 2021 Domestic violence resource manual for healthcare professionals. Wilmington, DE: Delaware's Domestic Violence Coordinating Council, 74 pp.

Annotation: This report from the state of Delaware updates the 2011 manual of the same name. Using colorful illustrations, it defines domestic violence, the scope of the problem, symptoms and behaviors that victims of abuse may display, and how healthcare providers can provide screening and support for their patients. The document contains best practice tips, checklists, graphs and sections dedicated to domestic violence experienced by children and youth.

Contact: Delaware Domestic Violence Coordinating Council , 900 N. King Street, Suite 300, Wilmington, DE 19801, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dvcc.delaware.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Minority groups, Social determinants of health

Children's Safety Network. 2020. Bullying prevention: 2020 resource guide. Waltham, MA: Children's Safety Network, 14 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information and resources about bullying prevention. Contents include descriptions of organizations and websites; data, definitions, and research; programs, campaigns, and toolkits; policies, laws, and legislation; publications and resources; and information about at-risk populations and bullying and co-occurring issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Children, Injury prevention, Resources for professionals, Safety

Basile KC, Clayton HB, DeGue S, Gilford JW, Vagi KJ, Suarez NA, Zwald ML, Lowry RJ . 2020. Interpersonal violence victimization among high school students . Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 10 pp. (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR))

Annotation: This report includes data from CDC’s 2019 Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS), a cross-sectional, school-based survey conducted biennially among high school students (grades 9-12). With figures, statistics, and tables, it relates the dangers of interpersonal violence (including dating violence, sexual violence, and bullying) as self-reported by high school students. The report draws attention to the fact that various demographics are more at risk for bullying and interpersonal violence, and discusses prevention approaches.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

Link

Keywords: Bullying, Dating violence, Domestic violence, Electronic bullying, Interpersonal violence, Physical violence, School violence, Sexual violence, Statistics

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National Performance Measure 9: Percent of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who are bullied or who bully others. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, multiple items.

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 9, percent of adolescents, ages 12 through 17, who are bullied or who bully others. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) assessment; (2) communication efforts; (3) implementation of evidence-based practices; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) policy and systems approaches; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center. 2017. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 9–Bullying [NPM 9 brief]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to reduce the number of adolescents, ages 12–17, who are bullied. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Bullying, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Lai Y-H, Garcia S, Strobino D, Grason H, Payne E, Karp C, Minkovitz C. 2017. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 9 bullying evidence review. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 72 pp. (brief 3 pp.).

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to reduce the number of adolescents, ages 12–17, who are bullied. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2017. Assessing prevention capacity & implementing change: An evidence-informed and evidenced-based bullying prevention capacity assessment and change package. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 45 pp.

Annotation: This document presents two tools: the Bullying Prevention Capacity Assessment and the Change Package. The assessment was created to help state health departments (SHDs) and others working to prevent bullying to assess where their efforts are in relation to best practices in bullying prevention and to help guide the implementation of effective bullying prevention activities and programs. The change package examines evidence-informed and evidence-based drivers that build organizational strength to effect change and strategies that support prevention efforts. An appendix presents a review of the evidence on bullying prevention.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Evidence-based practice, Model programs, Organizational change, Prevention programs

Mental Health America. 2016. Bullying: LGBT youth. Alexandria, VA: Mental Health America, 2

Annotation: This electronic resource provides information on bullying actions that target gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender youth and the affect on their mental health and education. Advice and resources are provided for mental health, school counseling, human rights, advocacy, and for families and friends of lesbians and gays.

Contact: Mental Health America, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor , Alexandria, VA 22311, Telephone: (703) 684-7722 Secondary Telephone: (800) 969-6MHA Fax: (703) 684-5968 Web Site: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net Available from the website.

Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, High schools, Homosexuality, Mental health, Middle schools, Resources for professionals, School counseling, Students, Violence prevention

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health. 2016. Anti-bullying policies and enumeration: An infobrief for local education agencies. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief for local education agency staff describes enumeration in the context of anti-bullying policies, referring to any specific listing of traits or characteristics of students that could be the basis of bullying. Topics include support for and concerns about enumeration, research on the effectiveness of enumerating anti-bullying policy, and key considerations and actions for effective implementation of all anti-bullying policies.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatits, STD, and TB Prevention, Division of Adolescent and School Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop K-29, Atlanta, GA 30341-3724, Telephone: 800-232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/healthyyouth Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Local government, Policy development, Public policy, Research, School districts, State legislation, Students

Rivara F, Le Menestrel S, eds; National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Committee on the Biological and Psychosocial Effects of Peer Victimization: Lessons for Bullying Prevention. 2016. Preventing bullying through science, policy, and practice. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 310 pp.

Annotation: This document reports on the state of the science on the biological and psychosocial consequences of peer victimization and the risk and protective factors that either increase or decrease peer victimization behavior and consequences. Contents include information about the scope of the problem, social contexts that can either attenuate or exacerbate the effect of individual characteristics on bullying behavior, consequences of bullying behavior, preventive interventions, law and policy, and future directions.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Peer groups, Peer pressure, Policy development, Protective factors, Risk factors, Social behavior, Violence prevention

U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights. 2016. 2013-2014 civil rights data collection: A first look–Key data on equity and opportunity gaps in our nation's public schools. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes results from a survey of all public schools and school districts in the United States to measure student access to courses, programs, instructional and other staff, and resources that impact education equity and opportunity for students. Topics include school climate factors such as student discipline and bullying and harassment. Additional topics include restraint and seclusion, early learning, college and career readiness, chronic student absenteeism, education in justice facilities, and teacher staffing and equity.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights, Lyndon Baines Johnson Department of Education Building, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-1100, Telephone: (800) 421-3481 Fax: (202) 453-6012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Data analysis, Discipline, Equal opportunities, Learning, Measures, Public education, Public schools, School districts, Students