Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

Annotation: This report provides information about efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services' Section (OHS) to prevent and control oral disease through organized community efforts. The report introduces the issues; lists oral health services OHS provides, the number of people served, and the number of services provided; and describes the state's Nurse's Fluoride Varnish Program and School Based Dental Prevention Program. Also discussed are public health dental clinics in the state, the School Dental Transport program that transports children from schools to dental clinics, the Adult Dental Funding Program, and how OHS disseminates oral health information.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Data, Dental clinics, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Public health, School health, School-age children, State information, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This plan discusses efforts of the Tennessee Department of Health to prevent oral disease and promote oral health and development of the plan. It also provides recommendations to ensure that oral health services are available to those who need them. Topics discussed include monitoring oral disease, oral health education and advocacy, prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health work force.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: 0ral health, Health education, Health promotion, Prevention, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This document provides information about fluoride varnish for health professionals and parents. Topics include how fluoride varnish works, whether it is safe, how often it should be applied, and why it is recommended. An application protocol is provided, and the advantages of fluoride varnish are discussed.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Fluoride varnish, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This fact sheet highlights partnerships to address the neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS) epidemic in Tennessee. Topics include efforts to expand a community-based program to assist mothers with substance abuse problems and ensure a drug-free and safe home for their newborns; provide start-up costs for a regional detox center for women addicted to prescription drugs; research the effectiveness of detox from opiate drugs during pregnancy, and the long-term effect of detox treatment on NAS rates in the state; and establish a hospital-based NAS treatment process.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Drug addiction, Drug use during pregnancy, Financing, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Newborn infants, Opiates, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention program, State initiatives, Substance abuse treatment, Tennessee

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to the Medicaid and CHIP Risk-Based Managed Care in 20 States report, focuses on 20 states' Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care payment methods and spending. The states are Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report addresses two research questions: (1) how do the 20 states establish capitation rates in their Medicaid and CHIP managed care programs, and how have their approaches to and policies for rate setting changed over the past decade and (2) how does monthly Medicaid spending for four distinct managed care enrollee populations (adults and children, with and without disabilities) vary among the 20 states? The report introduces the issues and presents the study approach, methods, findings, and a discussion.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Arizona, California, Children, Children', Connecticut, Costs, Delaware, Disabilities, Florida, Managed care, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, State programs, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet highlights promising practices aimed at reducing the infant mortality rate in the state of Tennessee. It provides estimates on annual costs associated with poor birth outcomes and describes statewide programs that have shown promise in reducing adverse birth outcomes. The fact sheet highlights two promising partnership programs: (1) The BLUES (Building Lasting Unshakable Expectations into Successes) project, a program that combines socio-emotional counseling with medical care for expectant mothers; and (2) STORC (Solutions to Obstetrics in Rural Counties), a telemedicine initiative that connects at-risk pregnant women in isolated areas with physician specialists. The fact sheet is part of a promising practices series that recognizes emerging and promising programs or policies in maternal and child health.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant mortality, Model programs, Prevention, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This report focuses on how the states of Missouri and Tennessee have approached the integration of their primary care and behavioral health systems, offering lessons that can be used by other states seeking to integrate these two separate health care delivery systems. Included for each state are summaries of the current integration landscape as well as strategies related to policy, regulation, payment, contracting, and cross-system efforts. The report also provides an overview of the nation's primary care and behavioral health systems, summarizing the differences between the two and the challenges that need to be addressed as part of the integration process.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Health care systems, Missouri, Model programs, Primary care, Service integration, State initiatives, Tennessee

Annotation: This website provides information about What's the Rush?, a statewide initiative of the Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference aimed at raising awareness of the legal, financial, and social consequences of becoming an adolescent parent. The website provides downloadable resources and a list of initiative partners.

Contact: Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference, 226 Capitol Boulevard, Suite 800, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-1696 Fax: (615) 741-7459 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tndagc.com Available from the website.

• Program Web Site

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Prevention, Resource materials, State initiatives, Tennessee

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to assess the effects of raising Medicaid reimbursement rates on access to oral health care in six states (Alabama, Michigan, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Washington) and to compare these states' experiences to California's. Topics include reforms in the six study states to provide dental benefits through state-run Medicaid programs and carve-out programs; common elements of state reforms (catalysts, collaboration, program administration, and consumer education); assessing the impact of increased reimbursement rates; and California reimbursement rates and administrative concerns. The appendix contains a bibliography of studies reviewed.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Administrative policy, Adults, Alabama, California, Children, Dental care, Dental insurance, Financing, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Reimbursement, South Carolina, State health care reform, State programs, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington

Annotation: This report describes activities conducted in follow-up to the Head Start oral health forum held on May 17, 2007, in Nashville, Tennessee. It includes an overview of proposed activities and how they relate to the state action plan, activities accomplished, and a budget explanation. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Early Head Start, Families, Final reports, Head Start, Oral health, State initiatives, Tennessee

Annotation: This report examines historical and current trends in infant mortality, low birthweight, and prematurity in Chattanooga and Hamilton County, Tennessee, describes the Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) analysis of 2001-2005 data, and provides recommendations for action.

Contact: Chattanooga-Hamilton County Health Department, 921 East Third Street, Chattanooga, TN 37403, Telephone: (423) 209-8000 Secondary Telephone: (423) 209-8229 Web Site: http://health.hamiltontn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Local surveys, State surveys, Tennessee

Annotation: This report synthesizes a study of available information on the number of children who are uninsured and related policy initiatives to substantially reduce the number of children who are uninsured in 17 southern states and the District of Columbia. Contents include an overview of previous editions of this report and source for the estimates used, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) policy and eligibility for children and pregnant women in the southern states, a discussion of issue that impede health coverage opportunities for these groups, actions southern states can take to improve the eligibility process, and fact sheets showing estimates of uninsured children and uninsured pregnant women for each state and the District of Columbia. States included are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Appendices include the study methodology, federal poverty levels for family of four from 2003 to 2007, Medicaid enrollment in the southern states from 1997 to 2005. Statistical data are provided in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Full Report - Alternate Posting

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Health insurance, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pregnant women, SCHIP, South Carolina, Statistics, Tennessee, Texas, Uninsured persons, Virginia, West Virginia

Annotation: This guide describes the metabolic and genetic newborn screening program in Tennessee. Topics covered include (1) Tennessee law; (2) excerpts taken from rules and regulations; (3) hospital responsibility; (4) state laboratory and maternal and child newborn screening follow-up section responsibilities; (5) weekend and holiday calls; (6) primary care provider responsibilities and follow-up; (7) list of endocrinologists, genetic, and sickle cell centers; and (8) metabolic and genetic disorders.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section , Fifth Floor, Cordell Hull Building, 425 Fifth Avenue, North, Nashville, TN 37247, Telephone: (615) 741-7353 Fax: (615) 741-1063 E-mail: Theodora. [email protected] Web Site: http://www.state.tn.us/health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Hospitals, Legislation, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Primary care, Screening tests, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This report provides findings and recommendations from a policy analysis of the Tennessee Early Intervention System conducted by Tennessee's Governor's Office of Children's Care Coordination and the Department of Education. The policy analysis examined ways in which the system might operate more effectively and serve more children. The report, which includes an executive summary, also discusses service system concepts and recommendations and administrative system concepts and recommendations. A summary and a list of reform documents are also included. The report includes six attachments: (1) questionnaire compilations, (2) functional job descriptions, (3) funding summary, (4) implementation framework, (5) glossary, and (6) participant list.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Education, Andrew Johnson Tower, Sixth Floor, Nashville, TN 37243-0375, Telephone: (615) 741-2731 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.state.tn.us/education/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Service delivery systems, State programs, Early intervention programs, Tennessee, Young children

Annotation: This report describes leading collaborations between state health agencies and private health plans in addressing childhood obesity. The report profiles three distinct cases of such partnerships and briefly discusses a fourth case involving different but related public and private collaborators.For each case study, the authors conducted in-depth interviews with key representatives from a large health plan in the state and the state health agency to learn about the factors that contributed to the success of these collaborations, as well as the challenges that were encountered. The report begins with an executive summary, an introduction, and a description of the approach. The following collaborations are then profiled: (1) Healthy Choices -- Massachusetts, (2) Highmark Health High 5 Health eTools for Schools -- Pennsylvania, and (3) BlueCross Walking Works for School -- Tennessee. The next section of the report is a table with information on the three programs. Finally, the report considers plural partnerships with a look at successful collaborations in North Carolina. A conclusion, a technical appendix, and references are included.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Collaboration, Interviews, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Obesity, Pennsylvania, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This report summarizes the Head Start oral health forum held on May 17, 2007, in Nashville, Tennessee, to develop a statewide plan of action to eliminate or reduce the oral health problems facing young children and their families enrolled in Tennessee's Early Head Start and Head Start programs. Attachments include a needs-assessment survey and the state plan. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Conferences, Early Head Start, Final reports, Head Start, Needs assessment, Oral health, Statewide planning, Tennessee, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the Healthy Start program in Shelby County, Tennessee from 2000-2004 to reduce racial and ethnic disparities, especially among African Americans, in infant mortality, low birth weight babies, births to adolescents, inadequate spacing between births, and the use of tobacco and illicit drugs. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; the project implementation; project accomplishments; the impact of the project on systems of care, the community, the state, and the role of local government. Additional information is provided about the local evaluation of the program, and the fetal and infant mortality review program. Sample products developed during the project, along with statistical data, are provided on enclosed CD-ROMs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, MCH services, Prevention programs, Substance abusing pregnant women, Tennessee

Annotation: This report, which is geared toward state public health agencies, highlights the work of five states in which the state health agency is leading a statewide approach to raise awareness of health disparities in their communities and to develop policies and programs to address this issue. The states highlighted are Texas, Minnesota, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Florida. The report contains an executive summary, a section on each of the five states, and a conclusion.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Florida, Health, Low income groups, Minnesota, Minority groups, Public health, Public policy, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State initiatives, State programs, Tennessee, Texas

Annotation: This summary report assesses the state of America's health care safety net, a term that has come to refer broadly to public hospitals, community health centers, public health departments, faith-based clinics, and others who, either by mission or mandate, provide significant amounts of health care to people who are uninsured or underinsured and who cannot cover the costs of care from their own resources. Ten communities across the country were assessed: Memphis, TN; Detroit, MI; Phoenix, AZ; San Diego, CA; Lincoln, NE; Boston, MA; Queens, NY; Fairfax County, VA; San Antonio, TX; and Atlanta, GA. Chapter contents include descriptions of the following from the ten communities studied: structure and financing, availability of services for uninsured and underserved patients, results from focus group meetings with residents in the ten communities, care and use of emergency departments of hospitals in the areas studied, and key findings and strategies for strengthening the safety net. The report also contains an executive summary, end notes, and reports on the assessment including partners and contact information. Separate and detailed reports are provided for each of the ten communities. Statistical information is provided in charts, tables, and graphs throughout the summary and in each individual community report.

Contact: Urgent Matters, 2121 K Street, N. W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-8642 Fax: (202) 973-1150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.urgentmatters.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, California, Clinics, Georgia, Health agencies, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Health facilities, Health programs, Health services delivery, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New York, Program evaluation, Public health programs, Public hospitals, Tennessee, Texas, Underserved communities, Uninsured persons, Virginia