Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This issue brief describes maternal mortality in Kentucky, where the rate (40.8 per 100,000 live births in 2018) significantly exceeds the national average. The document examines definitions and measurement of maternal mortality, explores root causes including substance use and racial disparities, and discusses social determinants of health that contribute to maternal deaths. It details Kentucky's recent initiatives to address the problem, including the establishment of the Kentucky Maternal Mortality Review Committee in 2018, the Kentucky Perinatal Quality Collaborative in 2019, and participation in the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health in 2021. The brief outlines legislative efforts to address maternal mortality and provides recommendations for improving maternal health in the Commonwealth, including investing in data collection and analysis capacity, exploring social determinants of maternal mortality, and broadly disseminating research findings to stakeholders. It emphasizes that 78% of maternal deaths in Kentucky were identified as preventable, compared to 60% at the national level.

Contact: University Louisville, Commonwealth Institute of Kentucky, 485 E. Gray Street, Louisville, KY 40202, Telephone: (502) 852-3299 Web Site: https://louisville.edu/sphis/departments/cik

• PDF

Keywords: , Data, Kentucky, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Prevention, Quality improvement, State initiatives, Statistics

Annotation: Recorded on October 7, 2022, this webinar discusses the unwinding of the COVID-19 public health emergency. Participants include representatives from AMCHP, the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and the Kentucky Division of Maternal and Child Health (Medicaid and Title V Services). They discuss how registration for Medicaid and CHIP (Children's Health Insurance Program) increased during the pandemic, and what states have to look forward to when federal funding ends, including increased applications to state health programs. The Kentucky representatives present their plans for dealing with the change in funding and how they will meet the demands, including increased caseloads and the renewal process. Also incuded is a list of resources available for Maternal and Child Advocates from AMCHP.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Telemedicine, Covid-19, Kentucky, Medicaid, MCH programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program, Disaster planning, Title V programs,

Annotation: This report discusses the Title V Data Integration Toolkit, focusing on Kentucky's experience with integrating early childhood and public health data into their state's longitudinal data system. In 2015, KCEWS (Kentucky Center for Education and Workforce Statistics) collaborated with GOEC (Governor’s Office of Early Childhood) and the Early Childhood Advisory Council to develop a county-level "Early Childhood Profile" using KLDS (Kentucky’s Longitudinal Data System) data. This profile combines integrated data with data planned for future integration, covering areas such as kindergarten readiness, child care capacity, and early childhood indicators on family, health, and social services. It includes public health data from programs like HANDS home visitation, WIC, and First Steps early intervention. Key takeaways from Kentucky's experience include demonstrating the value of integrated data early, prioritizing privacy and confidentiality, ensuring data sources understand how their data will be used, and learning from other states' experiences with public health data integration.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Kentucky, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This presentation from AMCHP (Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs) discusses leveraging partnerships between Title V and Head Start to build better systems of care for early childhood development. It explains the role of Title V as the nation's longest-standing public health legislation focused on improving maternal and child health, including children with special health care needs. The presentation highlights how AMCHP supports states in addressing developmental screening through training, systems coordination, and data integration, with specific focus on National Performance Measure 6 (percent of children receiving developmental screening). The session addresses opportunities for cross-system collaboration, tools for aligning early childhood programs, and understanding developmental screening's role within comprehensive systems of early childhood services. Presenters Paige Bussanich and Anna Corona share resources including eLearning modules, data integration toolkits, and examples of successful state collaborations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Early Childhood Development, Title V Programs, Head Start, Kentucky, North Carolina, Rhode Island

Annotation: This plan provides information about ensuring the best possible oral health for Kentuckians by collaborating to build oral health equity through access to oral health care, education, workforce readiness, and effective use of resources. Topics include a survey of individuals interested in oral health in the state, data collection and metrics, dentistry as a business, interprofessional collaboration, prevention, oral health literacy, policy, emerging issues, and goals and action items.

Contact: Team Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Oral Health Program, 275 East Main Street, Frankfort, KY 40621, Telephone: (502) 564-3246 Web Site: https://www.chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/Pages/oralhealth.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Data collection, Health education, Health literacy, Health promotion, Kentucky, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This report summarizes literature and data describing the oral health of Kentucky's population, including the oral health status of different population groups, oral health service delivery in safety net settings, and the supply and distribution of the oral health work force in the state. Other topics include the geographic and demographic characteristics of Kentucky’s population, the history of oral health in Kentucky, the impact of dental insurance on access to and use of oral health services in the state, and oral health professional shortage areas and safety net providers.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental insurance, Geographic factors, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Health status, Kentucky, Oral health, Population surveillance, Work force

Annotation: This document summarizes common themes derived from telephone interviews with 28 oral health stakeholders in Kentucky. Common themes discussed include oral health literacy, oral health status, service integration, oral health access, geographic disparities, dental insurance status changes resulting from implementation of the Affordable Care Act, the oral health safety net, school-based and portable oral health programs, the oral health work force, and scope of practice regulations.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Dental insurance, Geographic factors, Health care reform, Interviews, Kentucky, Oral health, Regulations, Service integration, Work force

Annotation: This document describes family engagement as a critical part of Title V maternal and child health (MCH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) programs and ways that states are engaging diverse populations. Contents include case study examples in Kentucky and Texas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Case studies, Community participation, Cultural diversity, Families, Kentucky, Leadership, Public private partnerships, Role, State programs, Texas, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents the results of a statewide oral health screening of students in third and sixth grades in public elementary and middle schools in Kentucky and compares them to earlier results. Topics include percentages of students in need of early or urgent oral health care, those with untreated tooth decay, and those with and without dental sealants by race and ethnicity. Additional topics include percentages of students eligible for free or reduced-price school lunch who have experienced a toothache or tooth decay and those who visited the dentist in the past year.

Contact: Kentucky Youth Advocates, 11001 Bluegrass Parkway, Suite 100, Jeffersontown, KY 40299, Telephone: (502) 895-9767 Secondary Telephone: (888) 825-5592 Fax: (502) 895-8225 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kyyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic groups, Kentucky, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial factors, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to evaluate the impact of implementation of the Affordable Care Act in Kentucky. The report documents performance in five domains: health insurance coverage, access, cost, quality, and health outcomes. The report also provides preliminary findings from the Kentucky Health Reform Survey. Data sources, methods, and indicators are included.

Contact: Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky, 1640 Lyndon Farm Court, Suite 100, Louisville, KY 40223, Telephone: (502) 326-2583 Web Site: https://www.healthy-ky.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Health care reform, Kentucky, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Progress reports, Research, State surveys

Annotation: This final report summarizes the Healthy Tomorrows Somali Bantu Project, which took place between March 2006 and February 2012 and was developed to increase access to culturally competent healthcare services, health prevention, and health education services and to provide a medical home for families of the Somali Bantu refugee population who have settled in Louisville, KY since the year 2000. The report describes the project goals and objectives; discusses program activities and evaluation measures; presents the results and final outcomes; and addresses futures plans and sustainability. A quick reference guide on the diet, religion, language, and culture of the Somali Bantu refugees is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: 502-574-6665 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected]; [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cultural competence, Final reports, Health education, Healthy Tomorrows, Kentucky, Local programs, Minority health, Prevention programs, Refugees

Annotation: This final report describes an oral health program in Kentucky to increase children’s access to preventive and restorative oral health treatment. Topics include developing statewide oral health capacity, infrastructure, and an electronic tracking and reporting system for the dental sealant program; designing an evaluation plan; identifying barriers to increasing the number of dentists; and engaging the community in solutions. Contents include descriptions of experiences to date, significant changes, collaboration, program monitoring, and a summary of program results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Community action, Evaluation, Families, Final reports, Kentucky, Oral health, Parents, State initiatives, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Kentucky's Joining HANDS for a Comprehensive Systems of Care program, which seeks to incorporate home visiting within comprehensive, integrated early childhood systems that are capable of yielding measurable improvements in the lives of children and families as well as meaningful savings to taxpayers. In addition to providing information about the program, the brief explains what home visiting is and discusses cultivating a systems approach through home visiting.

Contact: Pew State and Consumer Initiatives, 901 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004-2008, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 Fax: (202) 552-2299 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewstates.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Families, Home visiting, Infants, Kentucky, Programs, Service delivery systems, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This webcast is the third installment of the monthly "Who's Leading the Leading Health Indicators?" series. The series highlights organizations using evidence-based approaches to address a Healthy People 2020 leading health indicator (LHI) topic. The webcast provides an overview of the March LHI topic—maternal, infant, and child health—and provides information about maternal, infant, and child activities in DHHS's region IV. Also discussed is how the Kentucky Department of Public health, with the help of national, state, and local partners, has successfully combatted rising rates of premature birth.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Webinar
• Link

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Federal programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Infant health, Kentucky, Local programs, Premature infants, Prematurity, Prevention, State programs, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This website provides links to all sections of the Kentucky Public Health Practice Reference, January 2011. The reference contains detailed clinically based information to support patient-centered health care in clinic and community settings. In addition, it provides guidelines, protocols, definitions, and actions to help health professionals and local health departments provide population-based services.

Contact: Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Office of the Secretary, 275 East Main Street, Frankfort, KY 40621, Telephone: (800) 372-2973 Secondary Telephone: (800) 627-4702 Web Site: http://chfs.ky.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Clinics, Communities, Health care, Kentucky, Public health, Reference materials, State programs

Annotation: This report presents findings of a study of school health services offered in Kentucky school districts during the 2008-2009 school year and offers highlights of promising practices across the state. The study addressed physical, oral, and mental health and substance abuse services. Study topics included school health service funding, school health services offered, and types of school health services provided. In addition to the findings, the report presents background and an overview of the school health survey project.

Contact: Kentucky Youth Advocates, 11001 Bluegrass Parkway, Suite 100, Jeffersontown, KY 40299, Telephone: (502) 895-9767 Secondary Telephone: (888) 825-5592 Fax: (502) 895-8225 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kyyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Adolescent health, Child health, Financing, Health services, Kentucky, Mental health, School districts, School health, State programs, State surveys, Substance abuse prevention programs

Annotation: This manual guides individuals and organizations in implementing the Healthy Babies are Worth the Wait (HBWW) initiative, a multi-dimensional, community-based approach to preventing preventable preterm births. It is designed for use by perinatal providers across disciplines and organizational settings through development of interdisciplinary, interagency collaborations. It focuses on partnerships and collaborations; provider initiatives; patient support; public engagement; and progress measurement. It also describes lessons learned from a pilot project of the HBWW in Kentucky.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• Manual; Requires Free Registration
• Campaign Information

Keywords: Infants, Kentucky, Manuals, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This one-page referral form is designed to help community agencies, hospitals, and prenatal clinics arrange professional home visiting services for new and expectant parents, particularly first-time mothers, and their infants. The document is designed to capture information such as demographics, prenatal care initiation, age, income level, language, and need for interpretation services. Separate forms are available for referral to programs in Kentucky and Ohio. The forms are used by Every Child Succeeds (ECS). a voluntary prevention program that operates two evidence-based national models (Healthy Families America® and Nurse Family Partnership®) to promote positive parent-child interaction, healthy child development, and family self-sufficiency.

Contact: Every Child Succeeds, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, 3333 Burnet Avenue, ML 3005, Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-2830 Fax: (513) 636-2460 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildsucceeds.org Available from the website.

• Ohio
• Kentucky

Keywords: Forms, Home visiting, Kentucky, Ohio, Referrals, State initiatives

Annotation: This document discusses Kentucky's Title V maternal and child health (MCH) block grant 5-year needs assessment. Topics include the process for conducting a needs assessment, partnership building and collaboration efforts, strengths and needs of the MCH population groups, MCH program capacity by pyramid levels, selection of state priority needs, and federal and state outcome measures.

Contact: Kentucky Commission for Children with Special Health Care Needs, 982 Eastern Parkway, Louisville, KY 40217, Telephone: (502) 595-4459 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-1160 Fax: (502) 595-4673 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://chfs.ky.gov/ccshcn/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Infant health, Kentucky, Needs assessment, Outcome evaluation, State MCH programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from a study of the Kentucky Homeplace program, designed to assist Kentucky residents in need of health care but who lack access to services, especially preventive care. The report provides an overview of the program, which addresses health disparities throughout rural Kentucky, where cancer, diabetes, and heart disease prevalence are high. It summarizes the cost of the program and return on investment, the measures and outcomes of interest, and the key findings from the study. Data taken from the Kentucky Homeplace project database covers the period from July 2001 through October 2009.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Kentucky, Prevention, State programs, Studies