Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This Cooperative Agreement is between (1) the Maryland State Department of Health and Mental Hygiene [T19] Medicaid Agency, (2) the Maternal and Child Health Agency, Family Health Administration (FHA) [T5], and (3) Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). It documents the state of Maryland's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together. The objective of this agreement is to establish roles and responsibilities between the parties for the purpose of providing coordination of services to promote prompt access to high quality prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, postnatal, and child health services for women and children eligible for benefits under Title V and XIX of the Social Security Act, and section 17 of the Child Nutrition Act of 1996, as amended.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: MD.1.1.

• PDF

Keywords: Cooperative agreements, Interagency cooperation, Maryland, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This report provides information about a survey conducted to assess the oral health status of students in public elementary schools in Maryland. The survey, conducted every 5 years, serves as a surveillance project to inform public health initiatives and interventions. The report provides background on the survey and presents survey methods and results.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Summary Under Title 2022-2023 Children's Oral Health Survey

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, Research, School age children, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This manual provides information on creating a diverse prenatal/postpartum advisory board (PPAB) with the goal of improving the oral health and overall health of women with low incomes before, during, and after pregnancy, as well as of children from families with low incomes, in Maryland. The manual is divided into three sections: (1) processes/methods (describing the frameworks and processes underpinning the PPAB), (2) relationship-building for fostering relationships among members with diverse perspectives and backgrounds, and (3) results showcasing end products from PPAB implementation.

Contact: University of Maryland, School of Dentistry, 650 West Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7101 Web Site: https://www.dental.umaryland.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural diversity, Low income groups, Manuals, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information

Annotation: This practice guidance provides information on oral health care during pregnancy for oral health professionals and prenatal care professionals in Maryland. It provides information about the oral health of pregnant women and their infants in the state, state statistics on oral health care utilization during pregnancy, clinical practice guidance, a visual guide of oral conditions that can occur during pregnancy, a pharmacological considerations chart, a sample dental referral form, and educational resources to share with pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Maryland, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, State programs

Annotation: This report describes an environmental scan focused on identifying areas of opportunity to advance the integration of oral health care into primary care in community health centers in Maryland participating in the Transforming Oral Health for Families project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. Topics include access to oral health care, oral health scope of practice, teledentistry, fluoride varnish, community water fluoridation, and strategies for the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Fluoride, Maryland, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, State programs, Teledentistry

Annotation: With tips for parents/caregivers, providers, and educators and policy makers, this guide includes FAQs on screening, links to various resources on screening, articles on development, and myths and facts about the screening process. Among the resources listed are those provided by the CDC, including the Milestone Tracker.

Contact: Kennedy Krieger Institute, Maryland Center for Developmental Disabilities , 7000 Tudsbury Road , Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (443)923-9555 Web Site: mcdd.kennedykrieger.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Maryland

Annotation: This report summarizes findings and recommendations for increasing the cultural, linguistic, and health literacy competency of health professionals and health care delivery organizations throughout Maryland. Contents include recommendations for cultural competency standards and tiered reimbursement for medical and behavioral service settings, standards for multicultural health in patient-centered medical homes and other health care settings, and standards for continuing education in cultural competency for health care professionals.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• 2013-2020 Report
• 2019-2020 Update

Keywords: Access to health care, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Equal opportunities, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health literacy, Language barriers, Maryland, Medical home, Reimbursement, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about what teledentistry is and how it can improve the oral health of Marylanders. It provides information about Maryland’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Maryland and Medicaid billing updates, other telehealth dentistry regulatory issues, steps to implement teledentistry, recommendations for using teledentistry during the pandemic, and teledentistry dos and don’ts for oral health professionals.

Contact: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 10015 Old Columbia Road, Suite B-215, Columbia, MD 21046, Telephone: (410) 312-5456 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdac.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Guidelines, Infectious diseases, Maryland, Oral health, State programs, Teledenistry, Telehealth

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Maryland Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2019. The report includes information about project progress (presented separately for each project objective), significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. The project’s impact is also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PIOHQI Initiative Page

Keywords: Infant health, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: parents and pregnant women about the importance of fluoride for keeping teeth healthy. The brochure includes links to resources that can help parents and pregnant women learn more about fluoride, how to get dental coverage in Maryland, and how to find a dentist for a child. Information about Maryland’s Medicaid Dental Program is included. The poster emphasizes that drinking fluoridated water helps prevent tooth decay in children. The brochure and the poster are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 10015 Old Columbia Road, Suite B-215, Columbia, MD 21046, Telephone: (410) 312-5456 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdac.us Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Brochures, Fluoride, Health insurance, Maryland, Oral health, Parents, Posters, Pregnant women, Prevention, Spanish language materials, State programs

Annotation: This manual provides information about the Maryland Mighty Tooth School Dental Sealant Program. It presents general program information and administrative protocols and discusses the following topics: operating effective community programs; tooth-surface selection, materials, and sealant application techniques; assessment and data collection; health-education curricula; and training. Sample letters and forms are included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Guidelines, Manuals, Maryland, Oral health, School age children, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This flipbook for health professionals to share with pregnant women and parents with infants covers oral health during pregnancy and infancy. Topics include changes in the mouth during pregnancy, nausea, how to take care of teeth during pregnancy, how caring for the mouth during pregnancy helps infants, and how fluoride strengthens the teeth of both women and infants. Information about how eating healthy foods and drinking water can promote oral health and overall health is included. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: These tip sheets for pregnant women and families provide information about how to keep the mouth healthy during pregnancy and in infancy and early childhood. The pregnancy tip sheet discusses practicing good oral hygiene, eating healthy foods, getting oral health care, and practicing other healthy behaviors. The safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy and coverage through Maryland Medicaid are also discussed. The infant tip sheet discusses how to keep infants and children cavity free. The pregnancy tip sheet is on one side of the page, and the infant tip sheet is on the back of the pregnancy sheet. The tip sheets are available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Maryland, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This poster for pregnant women includes information about how the health of a pregnant woman’s mouth can affect her infant’s health, the safety of getting oral health care during pregnancy, and the importance of making a dental appointment early in pregnancy. Information about public dental coverage during pregnancy in Maryland is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Maryland, Oral health, Posters, Pregnant women, State initiatives

Annotation: This report on a survey provides information on the of the oral health status of schoolchildren in Maryland. The survey is the most recent in a series. The report discusses background and purpose and presents methods, results, and a discussion.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Maryland, Oral health, School age children, Statistical data, Surveillance

Annotation: This document presents a plan for reducing the burden of cancer in Maryland. Contents include goals, objectives, and strategies related to the primary prevention of cancer; high burden of cancers in Maryland; and cancer survivorship, palliative care, and hospice care. Information about the Maryland Cancer Collaborative, terms and acronyms, surveillance and data used in the plan, and special topics in cancer control is included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Center for Cancer Prevention and Control, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://phpa.health.maryland.gov/cancer/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• 2016–2020 Plan
• 2011–2015 Plan

Keywords: Cancer, Disease prevention, Maryland, Oral health, Palliative treatment, Prevention services, Screening, Statewide planning, Strategic plans, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women from Maryland’s Healthy Teeth Healthy Kids program explains why oral health care during pregnancy is important. It also provides tips on brushing, flossing, visiting the dentist, and choosing healthy foods and drinks. The brochure is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Maryland, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This checklist for home visitors and their clients in Maryland is designed to help them establish goals for oral health during pregnancy. Topics include making a dentist appointment, going to the dentist, brushing with fluoridated toothpaste, flossing, drinking tap water, drinking less soda and other sugar-sweetened beverages, and eating fruits and vegetables. The checklist is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Goals, Home visiting, Maryland, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource guide was developed to highlight the scope and cost of injury in Maryland and increase recognition of the role that public health can play in preventing injuries. There are 11 topics in this guide. Each topic in the guide has its own section that includes the following information: (a) Data on how that injury issue affects the United States (b) Data on how that injury issue affects Maryland; (c) Possible strategies on how to address that injury issue; (d) Maryland-based resources to highlight efforts to address the injury issue; and (e) References on data sources cited in each section. Topics include alcohol and injury; all terrain vehicle safety; child abuse and neglect; distracted driving; falls in older adults; home fires; intimate partner violence; motorcycles; prescription drug overdose; teen driver safety; traumatic brain injury;

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Injury prevention, Maryland, State initiatives