Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This survey focuses on the oral health status of children in kindergarten and third grade in Wisconsin during the 2022–2023 school year. The survey provides an introduction explaining why good oral health is important; describes the survey methodology; and presents results in the following areas: participation, tooth decay experience; oral health care needs, statewide trends among children in third grade, and oral health by region. A convenience sample focused on American Indian and Alaska Native students is also discussed, and key findings are presented.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Oral health, School age children, State information, Tooth decay, Trends, Wisconsin

Annotation: This brief provides information about the registered dental hygienist (RDH) workforce in Wisconsin. Data is from a 2023 survey of RDHs conducted as part of their licensure renewal process. Topic include workforce demographics, the number of years RDHs have practiced in the state and how many hours per week they work, information about RDHs licenced to practice in Wisconsin but not working in Wisconsin, practice settings among RDHs working in Wisconsin, and workforce characteristics by county. Limitations of the survey are discussed.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, One West Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (608) 266-1865 Secondary Telephone: (888) 701-1251 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov Available from the website. Document Number: P-03239.

• PDF

Keywords: Demographics, Dental hygienists, Geographic factors, Oral health, State information, Wisconsin, Work force

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This guide describes a training for professionals in Wisconsin that combines oral health information with conversation techniques for discussing oral health with pregnant women and parents of infants and toddlers. The training consists of four modules: (1) oral health conversations, (2) oral health for infants and toddlers, (3) oral health for pregnant women, and (4) oral health goal setting with families. Each module includes reflection activities and videos that demonstrate how to guide an oral health discussion with pregnant women and parents. The guide also explains how to register for the training. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Communication skills, Families, Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Professional training, State Initiatives, Training materials, Wisconsin

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Wisconsin Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2019. The report offers information about project progress (including accomplishments), significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PIOHQI Initiative Page

Keywords: Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral health in Wisconsin, with a focus on how community water fluoridation (CWF) can improve oral health status. The fact sheet includes an overview of the effects of tooth decay and information on how it affects children enrolled in Head Start, children in third grade, and older adults in the state. The impact of CWF on tooth decay is discussed. Strategies to promote oral health and CWF in Wisconsin are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Oral Health Program, Division of Public Health, P.O. Box 2659, Madison, WI 53701-2659, Fax: (608) 266-3483 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/oral-health/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Fluoride, Head start, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, State materials, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: From the 2019 Peer-to-Peer Exchange, this presentation outlines Wisconsin's initiatives in early childhood data systems and quality improvement efforts. It begins with the state's five Essential Policy Questions developed during their feasibility study, focusing on children's school readiness, program access, service quality, outcome effectiveness, and economic returns on early childhood investments. Included are descriptions of the Wisconsin's Engaged Community Quality Improvement (ECQuIP) sites in three regions, with a detailed focus on the Northwoods ECQuIP site's journey from establishing the Vilas County Family Resource Coalition to developing partnerships with Ascension Healthcare and building capacity for autism spectrum disorder (ASD) services, including diagnostic capabilities, interprofessional practice, and telemedicine options.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Presentation Slides

Keywords: Wisconsin, Title V programs, State CHSCN programs, Data collection,

Annotation: This presentation provides an in-depth analysis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) prevalence and disparities in access to services in the United States. Dr. Maureen Durkin from the University of Wisconsin-Madison examines epidemiological data from the CDC's Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) Network to highlight significant increases in autism prevalence over time, from 1 in 150 children in 2000 to 1 in 59 in 2014. The presentation explores racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic disparities in autism identification, showing that white children and those from higher socioeconomic backgrounds are more likely to receive ASD diagnoses compared to Black and Hispanic children. Dr. Durkin presents evidence suggesting these disparities are largely due to inequities in access to developmental assessments and healthcare services rather than true differences in prevalence. The presentation highlights the high costs associated with autism diagnosis and treatment, the unpreparedness of service delivery systems to meet growing needs, and emphasizes the importance of ongoing monitoring, early detection, and strategies to enhance healthcare access and equity for all children with ASD.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Autism, Screening, Wisconsin, Title V programs, State CHSCN programs, Socioeconomic status, Colorado, Wisconsin

Annotation: Taken from the 2019 SPHARC (State Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange, this poster presents state-by-state profiles of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) initiatives and programs across multiple U.S. states including Wisconsin, Washington, Rhode Island, Ohio, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Maryland, Georgia, and Delaware. Each state profile includes unique state facts, data collection methods, quality improvement (QI) initiatives, and community engagement strategies. Common themes across states include efforts to address disparities in ASD screening and diagnosis, particularly among underserved and diverse populations; implementation of family navigation programs; use of data-driven approaches to identify service gaps; development of culturally competent services; and strategies to improve early identification and intervention. The profiles highlight various successful approaches such as Wisconsin's rural service delivery models, Minnesota's ADDM Network participation, Georgia's insurance coverage expansion through "Ava's Law," and Delaware's M-CHAT-R provider training pilot, while also acknowledging challenges including provider shortages, language barriers, and geographic access disparities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, State CHSCN programs, Data analysis, Wisconsin, Washington, Rhode Island, Ohio, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Maryland, Georgia, Delaware

Annotation: This PowerPoint presentation discusses health equity considerations in autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities (ASD/DD) services, emphasizing the importance of understanding both how and why disparities affect different groups based on race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and geographic location. It presents two key takeaways: first, that prevalence data must be viewed through an equity lens using frameworks like the Equitable Evaluation Framework, and second, that solutions often already exist within communities and require input from compensated local context experts and impacted leaders. The presentation illustrates these points through Wisconsin's community-centered approach and emphasizes the value of community expertise in identifying and scaling up existing assets. The slides include embedded videos and links to additional resources.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• PDF

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Staff development, Health care system, Process evaluation, Data collection, Wisconsin

Annotation: This PowerPoint updates findings from previous publications on adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) from the Wisconsin Behavioral Risk Factors Survey. Topics include the prevalence of ACEs, co-occurence of ACEs, mental health outcomes, health risk behaviors, physical health outcomes, socioeconomic status, health care access and Medicaid enrollment, and quality of life, followed by policy recommendations. The 2010 report includes vignettes from adults who experienced ACEs and who describe the impact those experiences have had on their lives.

• Link

Keywords: State surveys, Access to health care Medicaid, Child abuse, Child health, Children, Health behavior, Health policy, Mental health, Physical health, Risk factors, Wisconsin

Annotation: These posters were presented at the 2018 annual SPHARC (State Public Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange. 9 states discuss issues in telehealth, including their strengths, challenges, and strategies in their efforts to supply telehealth to their constituents. Each state panel is also given the opportunity to express an interesting fact about their state and what they hope to gain during this meeting.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Title V programs, CSHCN programs, Wisconsin, Washington, Virginia, Texas, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Iowa, Delaware, Children', s health

Annotation: This infographic discusses the lessons learned from the 2018 SPHARC Peer-to-Peer Exchange on using telehealth to connect children and their families, self-advocates, and providers for individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and Developmental Disabilities (DD). Discussion points include the advantages of and barriers to telehealth, as well as the need for early and continuous intervention services. Lessons emphasize the importance of meaningful inclusion of self-advocates, addressing the unique challenges of family advocates, and showcasing innovative state grantee solutions. The document concludes with priority action items for states and the need to explore culturally competent care solutions to address the needs of diverse communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Telemedicine, Family support services, Delaware, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin, Maryland, Iowa, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Texas, Virginia

Annotation: This issue brief examines family navigation strategies implemented in Title V and community-based programs to support children and youth with special health care needs and their families. It describes how family navigators help families overcome barriers in the healthcare system by providing psychosocial support, coordinating services, and offering education. The document highlights findings from an environmental scan of Title V programs, showing that 56 of 59 Title V programs use some form of family navigation, with the majority focusing on children with special health care needs. Case studies from five states (Delaware, Iowa, Rhode Island, Washington, and Wisconsin) detail how they implemented, funded, and sustained family navigation programs, particularly for children with autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities. The brief concludes with next steps for advancing family navigation and emphasizes the importance of culturally sensitive communication when working with diverse families.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Standards, State CHSCN programs, Title V Programs, Autism, Case Studies, Delaware, Iowa, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin,

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a project that aimed to increase the number of children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHN) served within a medical home by 20% and specifically a mapping project that examined how care coordination is being implemented for CYSHN currently in Wisconsin, what gaps exist, and what assets can be built upon and shared. It describes findings of interviews conducted with a diverse group of systems, providers, and family representatives between October 2015 and December 2016. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, One West Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (608) 266-1865 Secondary Telephone: (888) 701-1251 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Medical home, Program coordination, State programs, Title V programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: The posters in this document were presented at the 2017 SPHARC (State Public Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange, hosted by Rhode Island's Autism Program. Eight states presented posters drawing attention to the challenges, strategies, and strengths concerning family navigation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, State CSHCN programs, Wisconsin, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington, North Carolina, New Hampshire, Maryland, Iowa, Posters

Annotation: This report summarizes information from a summit held on September 9, 2015, to discuss strategies for improving oral health for pregnant women and infants in Wisconsin. The report describes five themes supported by both oral health communities and overall health communities: reimbursements and insurance availability, coordination and integration, training, awareness, and practice settings. Contents include a statewide plan to reduce the prevalence of oral disease among pregnant women and infants who are underserved by integrating high-quality oral health care into the health-care-delivery system. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community action, Conference proceedings, Dental care, Dental insurance, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Service coordination, Service integration, Statewide planning, Training, Wisconsin, Work force

Annotation: This guide contains examples from states' health departments and nonprofits on the active use of data. Examples were selected to represent ways to collect, communicate, and use data to achieve desired outcomes and influence policy. The four main sections discuss: data collection, data analysis, data communication, and data-informed policy. The guide also contains abstracts of example programs from all around the country, with links to the full reports covering topics such as infant mortality, PRAMS (Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System) and families with children with special healthcare needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, State CSHCN programs, Surveys, Evaluation, Assessment, Data collection, Data analysis, Epidemiology, Texas, Wisconsin, Alaska, Mississippi, Massachusetts, Louisiana, Nebraska, Delaware, Florida