Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information on Mississippi's community water fluoridation (CWF) plan for 2022–2025. The report offers background information on fluoride, an overview of fluoride in Mississippi's water, and Healthy People 2030 goals. Also discussed are CWF operations in the state, goals, objectives, and an action plan, and program management.

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, 570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive, Jackson, MS 39216, Telephone: (601) 576-7400 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Web Site: http://www.msdh.state.ms.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drinking water, Fluoride, Mississippi, Oral health, Program management, State information, State programs

Annotation: This report outlines AMCHP's framework for collaboration among Title V, Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV), and Early Childhood Systems (ECS) programs, which was developed with HRSA MCHB and updated in 2021-2023. The resource includes analysis of facilitators and barriers to collaboration, a refined framework for program alignment, case studies from Guam, Indiana, Louisiana, and Mississippi, and tools for implementing collaborative strategies. It's designed for program administrators and public health professionals, focusing on systems-building approaches to optimize statewide early childhood systems through improved coordination between Title V MCH Services Block Grant, MIECHV Program, and ECCS Program initiatives.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Block grants, Children', s health, Home visiting programs, Early intervention, Guam, Louisiana, Mississippi, Indiana

Annotation: This report from AMCHP discusses how Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) programs can develop diverse partnerships to improve health outcomes and address social determinants of health. It presents several case studies demonstrating successful collaboration strategies, including: Arkansas's partnership with African American fraternities (Brothers United) to promote safe sleep practices and reduce infant mortality disparities; Utah's adaptation of the national MotherToBaby program to provide pregnancy and breastfeeding information in rural areas; Mississippi's collaboration with faith-based organizations to provide dental services through a mobile unit; and South Dakota's Park Prescription initiative that partners with healthcare providers to promote physical activity in state parks. Each case study illustrates different partnership strategies: intentional collaboration with community partners, leveraging national initiatives for local impact, integrating programming within faith-based communities, and aligning efforts across government and health systems to address health disparities and improve access to care for underserved populations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Federal MCH programs, Block grants, Case studies, Infant mortality, Race, Collaboration, Community based programs, Mississippi, South Dakota, Arkansas, Utah

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the successes, challenges, and lessons learned from the CDC's Learn the Signs. Act Early. (LTSAE) state systems grant program spanning eight years (2011-2019). Administered by the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs in partnership with the Association of University Centers on Disabilities, the program funded 34 states to strengthen early identification and coordination of services for children with autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities. The document outlines three key impact areas: formalizing developmental monitoring as a priority, activating stakeholders and strengthening partnerships, and increasing awareness among caregivers and providers. Through state-specific case studies and survey data from grantees, the brief demonstrates how even modest funding ($10,000-$20,000 per state) led to sustainable system improvements, innovative cross-sector collaborations, and enhanced capacity to monitor development and connect families to early intervention services. The brief also addresses implementation challenges and emphasizes the critical role of relationship-building and family engagement in sustaining these efforts beyond the grant period.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Grants, Case studies, Nebraska, Mississippi, Virginia, Montana, Oklahoma, California, New Mexico, Massachusetts

Annotation: This document provides case studies on how communities are using their early childhood data to tailor more effective interventions and yield better results. The case studies include: (1) Indianola, MS: organizing the community around the collective goal of having children ready to learn when entering kindergarten; (2) Ventura, CA: improving the quality of early childhood services, focusing on the overall family experience and engaging a consultant to help work with neighborhood partners to achieve data-driven change; and (3) Philadelphia, PA: informing critical public policy decisions by using data to decide which neighborhoods would get new pre-kindergarten slots under a new funding stream.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Data, Early childhood education, Local programs, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Young children

Annotation: This plan provides information about the purpose of public health surveillance, the public health importance of oral health, a framework for an oral health surveillance system, and an operational definition of a state oral health surveillance system. In addition, it discusses the following aspects of Mississippi’s oral health surveillance system: purpose, objectives, indicators, data sources and data-collection timeline, data dissemination and use, privacy and confidentiality, and evaluation.

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, 570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive, Jackson, MS 39216, Telephone: (601) 576-7400 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Web Site: http://www.msdh.state.ms.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Mississippi, Oral health, Public health, State materials, Statistical data, Surveillance

Annotation: This resource shows how states that participate in the Adolescent and Young Adult Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (AYA CoIIN) are identifying and implementing evidence-based strategies to improve the quality and increase access to preventive health care visits for adolescents and young adults. Included are illustrated diagrams of strategies used by Iowa, Texas, Vermont, Mississippi, and New Mexico.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, State initiatives, Texas, Vermont, Young adults, prevention

Annotation: This plan discusses the burden of oral disease in Mississippi and plans for addressing oral health issues in the state in three core areas: improving the oral health infrastructure, reducing the prevalence of oral disease, and addressing shortages in the oral health work force. For each core area, goals, objectives, and strategies are provided. Key findings related to demographics, educational attainment, poverty, access to care, sexual health, birth outcomes, and chronic disease factors are presented.

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, 570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive, Jackson, MS 39216, Telephone: (601) 576-7400 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Web Site: http://www.msdh.state.ms.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Prevention, Access to health care, Mississippi, Oral health, Program development, State programs, Work force

Annotation: This guide contains examples from states' health departments and nonprofits on the active use of data. Examples were selected to represent ways to collect, communicate, and use data to achieve desired outcomes and influence policy. The four main sections discuss: data collection, data analysis, data communication, and data-informed policy. The guide also contains abstracts of example programs from all around the country, with links to the full reports covering topics such as infant mortality, PRAMS (Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System) and families with children with special healthcare needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, State CSHCN programs, Surveys, Evaluation, Assessment, Data collection, Data analysis, Epidemiology, Texas, Wisconsin, Alaska, Mississippi, Massachusetts, Louisiana, Nebraska, Delaware, Florida

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Birth rates, Curricula, Mississippi, Sexuality education, State initiatives, Statistics

Annotation: This issue brief provides answers to frequently asked questions related to dental hygiene scope of practice in Mississippi. Topics include requirements, the process for amending the requirements, and legislation in other states.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Mississippi, Oral health, State legislation, Supervision

Annotation: This document outlines goals, outcome measures, and strategies to reduce infant mortality and improve infant health in Jackson County, Mississippi. Contents include data on infant mortality, adolescent and unintended pregnancy, racial disparities, prenatal care, smoking during pregnancy, infant death due to positional asphyxia, and infant sleep position and environment. The plan presents strategies to improve women's sexual health and experience of care before, during, and after pregnancy, as well as strategies to reduce the number of infant deaths due to positional asphyxia.

Contact: Jackson County Prenatal Task Force, One Jackson Square, 9th Floor, Jackson, MI Telephone: (517) 780-7306 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, County programs, Fetal death, Goals, Infant care, Infant death, Infant health, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Measures, Mississippi, Prenatal care, Program development, Program improvement, Strategic plans

Annotation: This resource provides information on efforts to provide oral-health-related prevention services, including screenings, fluoride-varnish applications, and dental sealants, to students in Mississippi schools. It describes dental sealants, how the program works and who is eligible, and how schools and oral health professionals can get involved. A program flyer, enrollment forms for schools and providers, a parental consent form, and an oral health evaluation results form are also included.

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services, Box 1700, Jackson, MS 39215-1700, Telephone: (601) 576-7500 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Fax: (601) 576-8190 Web Site: http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/41,0,151.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental sealants, Fluorides, Forms, Health screening, Mississippi, Oral health, Prevention programs, School age children, School based clinics, State programs

Annotation: This report examines the impact of implementing regulations aimed at preventing childhood obesity in Mississippi by improving nutrition, physical activity, and health education in public schools. The report focuses on findings from research examining the relationship between students' fitness and academic performance, onsite reviews of the nutrition environment in schools, surveys of parents and school officials, and interviews with key legislators. Policy implications are included.

Contact: Center for Mississippi Health Policy, Plaza Building , 120 North Congress Street, Suite 700, Jackson, MS 39201, Telephone: (601) 709-2133 Fax: (601) 709-2134 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mshealthpolicy.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Mississippi, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Policy development, Prevention programs, School age children, School health education, School health programs, State regulations

Annotation: This report emphasizes the important role schools play in promoting the health and safety of young people and helping them establish life-long healthy habits. It highlights research findings that demonstrate how effective school health programs can reduce risky behavior and improve learning and describes how the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) supports and advances coordinated school health programs based on partnerships between schools and community agencies and organizations. Examples of model coordinated school health programs in the states of Mississippi, New Mexico (Albuquerque), and Arizona are provided. A map of the United States shows which states received funding in 2010 for coordinated school health programs.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Community programs, Community role, Federal programs, Health promotion, Mississippi, New Mexico, Program coordination, Risk reduction, School health programs, Statistics

Annotation: This web page presents information from a 2-day institute that brought together early childhood teams from Mississippi, Oklahoma, and South Carolina to discuss ways to effectively develop their states' early childhood data systems. The web page provides information about the purpose of the meeting as well as links to the meeting agenda, presenters, and presentations.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Program coordination, Public policy, South Carolina, State programs, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report presents key findings from an oral health survey of students in third grade in Mississippi public schools. Contents include information on children's oral health status, trends in children's oral health, and factors that contribute to poor oral health in the state. Topics include oral health care, lack of care, lack of care based on income, racial disparities, dental sealants, and dietary habits. Information on the survey methodology, data tables, references, and definitions is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services, Box 1700, Jackson, MS 39215-1700, Telephone: (601) 576-7500 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Fax: (601) 576-8190 Web Site: http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/41,0,151.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Mississippi, Nutrition, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: These three resources (a report, an issue brief, and an executive summary) provide an assessment of Mississippi's system of care for children and families. The report includes an overview of findings, a discussion of the methodology, a summary, a discussion of the existing statute, and findings. The findings section is divided into three categories: (1) parents, families, and youth; (2) the three components of the statutory system of care, and (3) system of care partners. The issue brief provides an overview of the assessment and includes an explanation of what a system of care is, a discussion of the development of Mississippi's system, an assessment of the current system, key findings, and recommendations. The executive summary briefly summarizes the information contained in the report and offers detailed recommendations.

Contact: Center for Mississippi Health Policy, Plaza Building , 120 North Congress Street, Suite 700, Jackson, MS 39201, Telephone: (601) 709-2133 Fax: (601) 709-2134 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mshealthpolicy.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, Child health, Families, Health care systems, Mississippi, State initiatives

Annotation: This final report describes a project developed and implemented to address the problem of accessibility and availability and quality medical and dental care for disadvantaged children in Pontotoc County, Mississippi from March 2005 through February 2010. Goals and objectives are described, along with outlines of methodology, evaluation, and results/outcomes. Additional information is provided on publications or products developed along with future plans and followup. Appendices include data on needs assessment results, area demographics, and a sample form and survey. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Full Text Final Reports 2000-2014

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Dental care, Final reports, Mississippi, Vulnerability

Annotation: This resource provides information on efforts to provide preventive oral health services and access to care for children enrolled in Mississippi Head Start programs. Topics include how the program works and how to participate. A parental consent form, dental history form, and oral health evaluation form are also included.

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services, Box 1700, Jackson, MS 39215-1700, Telephone: (601) 576-7500 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Fax: (601) 576-8190 Web Site: http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/41,0,151.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Forms, Head Start, Health services, Mississippi, Oral health, Prevention programs, Screening, State programs, Young children