Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (116 total).

Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center. n.d.. SIDS and the child care provider. Minneapolis, MN: Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides guidelines to help reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in child care settings. It provides an overview of SIDS; a description of safe sleep practices for infants; and the rules that apply in the state of Minnesota when a death occurs in a child care setting. The brochure also describes sources of support and services that are available to providers who have lost an infant due to SIDS.

Contact: Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota, 2525 Chicago Avenue South; MS-50-2165, Minneapolis, MN 55404, Telephone: (612) 813-6285 Secondary Telephone: (800) 72-3812 Fax: (612) 813-7344 Web Site: http://www.childrensmn.org/patientfamily/family-services-a-resources/sid-center/the-minnesota-sudden-infant-death-center Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Infants, Minnesota, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, State legislation

Langelier M, Surdu S, O’Malley E. 2022. Provider and patient satisfaction with the dental therapy workforce at Apple Tree Dental. Rensselaer, NY: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, 74 pp.

Annotation: This report presents results from two surveys, one that assessed clinician and administration satisfaction with the dental therapy workforce within Apple Tree Dental centers and programs and one that described the satisfaction of patients with their health professionals at Apple Tree Dental, making comparisons across provider type. The report also provides background, which includes information about dental therapy in Minnesota—the first state to authorize dental therapy practice statewide, and about Apple Tree Dental, which was among the first employers of dental therapists in the state.

Contact: Oral Health Workforce Research Center, New York Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, SUNY, School of Public Health, 1 University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthworkforce.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs, Surveys

Roth E, Atkeson A. 2022. Community health workers and oral health: Improving access to care across the lifespan in Minnesota. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Minnesota is engaging community health workers in a variety of ways to improve oral health education and access to oral health care. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Minnesota; the Healthy Teeth, Healthy Baby campaign; and the Healthy Brain Initiative pilot. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Minnesota is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Minnesota Department of Health, Oral Health Program. [2021]. Minnesota state oral health plan 2020-2030: Building collaboration for collective action. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 78 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines goals and strategies for advancing oral health equity, increasing access to oral health care, preventing oral disease, and improving oral health in Minnesota. It included five key focus areas: oral health infrastructure; access to oral health care; health systems integration; disability, special health care needs, and inclusion; and data. Oral health disparities in Minnesota, work and achievements since Minnesota’s first state oral health plan, best practices, and future directions are also discussed.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Health care systems, Health equity, Minnesota, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Special health care needs, State planning

Minnesota Department of Health. 2021. Infant mortality in Minnesota . [St. Paul, MN]: Minnesota Department of Health, 7 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the landscape of infant mortality in Minnesota, addressing prematurity and birth defects, racial and ethnic disparities, racial justice, and statewide strategic planning to addresses health inequities and improve birth outcomes. A discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on infant mortality is included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Ethnic factors, Infant death, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Prenatal influences, Racial factors, Risk factors, State initiatives

Langelier M, Surdu S, Moore J. 2020. The contributions of dental therapists and advanced dental therapists in the dental centers of Apple Tree Dental in Minnesota. Renssalaer, NY: University at Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, Center for Health Workforce Studies, 60 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study that focused on overlaps in the provision of oral health care, particularly restorative care, by dentists, dental therapists, and advanced dental therapists. The study examined encounter data that include more than a quarter of a million encounters for 76,342 patients obtaining care in one of the seven dental centers operated by Apple Tree Dental in Minnesota. The report provides background information, discusses methods, and presents findings.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Dentists, Health care delivery, Minnesota, Oral health, State information, State programs, Statistical data

Minnesota Department of Health. 2020. Family home visiting child development screening and referrals toolkit. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health Child & Family Health, 12 pp.

Annotation: The Minnesota Department of Health provided this toolkit for home visitors, who can use it to help identify developmental and social-emotional issues of children at an early age. It contains recommendations for the periodicity of assessments, links to child development screening tools, the screening process, child development referrals, and follow-up. The MIECHV Home Visitor Orientation Guidance Document was created along with this toolkit, and a link to the PDF document is included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Home visiting programs, Minnesota

Bauerly BC. 2019. Policy frameworks supporting school-based dental sealant programs and their application in Minnesota. St. Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 13 pp. (Oral health issue brief)

Annotation: This brief identifies laws and policies that could encourage consideration, adoption, and implementation of state-level school-based dental sealant programs. The brief highlights the state of the laws and policies in Minnesota. Topics include considerations for forming partnerships between schools and oral health professionals, overcoming policy barriers, and statewide coordination. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental sealants, Legislation, Minnesota, Oral health, Public policy, School health programs, State programs

Kreuger J. 2019. Medical-dental integration in Minnesota: Benefits from changes in law and policy. St Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 8 pp. (Oral health issue brief)

Annotation: This brief summarizes the emergence of a conceptual framework for medical-dental integration and describes the need to address barriers to integration to promote emerging strategies to encourage increased collaboration among oral health professionals and non-oral-health professionals in Minnesota. The brief describes ways that medical-dental integration can take place, provides a national and a Minnesota context, discusses models of integrated care and barriers and strategies in law and policy, and provides examples of medical-dental integration. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Minnesota, Oral health, Public policy, Service integration, State programs

Bauerly BC, McLain L. 2019. Collaborative practice as a strategy for increasing access to oral health care in Minnesota. St Paul, MN: Network for Public Health Law, 15 pp. (Oral health issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on collaborative practice models as a strategy to increase access to oral health care for underserved communities in Minnesota. Part I outlines work force data from the Minnesota Department of Health. Part II describes how collaborative practice models can improve access to care, highlights key legal features of each of these models, and addresses barriers. Part III discusses Medicaid reimbursement policy and why raising reimbursement rates is critical to improving oral health care access. Although the brief focuses on Minnesota, much of the information may have national relevance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Children's Dental Services. 2019. Minnesota Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement Project [FY 2019 progress report]. Minneapolis, MN: Chlldren's Dental Services, 9 pp.

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Minnesota Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2019. The report offers information about project progress (including project accomplishments), significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. The project’s impact is also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Minnesota, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Minnesota Department of Health . 2019. Minnesota Department of Health White paper on the transition from pediatric to adult health care. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 20 pp.

Annotation: This report provides data on the 25.6% of Minnesota youth with special health care needs and how well they transition to adult health care, as well as recommendations on how the system can be improved in the future. At the writing of this report, only 1 in 5 youth received the care they needed. The white paper identifies factors that contribute to the lack of transition planning and readiness, and makes recommendations on how to improve the outcomes of healthcare transition in the future.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health , Children and Youth with Special Health Needs, PO Box 64882, St. Paul , MD 55164-0882, Telephone: 651-201-3650 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: www.health.state.mn.us

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Minnesota, Transitions

Children's Dental Services. 2017. Dental care during infancy, early childhood, and pregnancy. Minneapolis, MN: Children's Dental Services, 2 pp.

Annotation: This handout provides information about services offered by Children’s Dental Services (CDS), a program that offers full-spectrum preventive and restorative oral health care to families at Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) centers and 500 other locations across Minnesota. The handout also discusses why oral health care during infancy, early childhood, and pregnancy is important and the safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway Street, N.E., Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 746-1530 Secondary Telephone: (866) 543-6009 Fax: (612) 746-1531 Web Site: http://childrensdentalservices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Families, Health insurance, Infants, Low income groups, Minnesota, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, WIC program, Young children

Children's Dental Services. 2017. Dental therapy: How mid-level providers can increase access to care, lower costs, and help increase the effectiveness of community clinics. Minneapolis, MN: Children's Dental Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This document provides information about how using mid-level oral health professionals instead of dentists to perform some oral health services can help increase access to care, lower costs, and increase the effectiveness of community clinics in Minnesota. The document explains why Minnesota needs mid-level oral health professionals, lists universities in the state that offer dental therapy and advanced dental therapy degrees, and provides specifics showing how using dental therapists can decrease per-patient costs and increase the number of patients served. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway Street, N.E., Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 746-1530 Secondary Telephone: (866) 543-6009 Fax: (612) 746-1531 Web Site: http://childrensdentalservices.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Access to health care, Health care costs, Minnesota, Oral health, State programs

Healthy Youth Development Prevention Research Center. 2016-. Minnesota adolescent sexual health report. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota, Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Health, annual.

Annotation: This report provides information about the sexual health of adolescents in Minnesota. Contents include adolescent pregnancy and birth statistics,, including information about trends in adolescent pregnancy and birth, national comparison, and subsequent births. Additional topics include geographic and racial/ethnic disparities in adolescent pregnancy, birth, and sexually transmitted infections; sexual orientation; and adverse childhood experiences.

Contact: University of Minnesota, Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Health, Department of Pediatrics, 717 Delaware Street, S.E., 3rd Floor, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2959, Telephone: (612) 626-2134 Fax: (612) 6264-0997 Web Site: https://www.pediatrics.umn.edu/divisions/general-pediatrics-and-adolescent-health Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Childbirth, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Health disparities, Minnesota, Risk taking, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Statistical data, Trends

Wovcha S. 2016. Children’s Oral Healthcare Access Program [final report]. Minneapolis, MN: Children's Dental Services, 26 pp. plus appendices.

Annotation: This report describes a project to integrate comprehensive oral health care into a school-based health center in Minneapolis, MN. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. A project brochure; a CQI plan; a memorandum of under- standing template; a permission form; and the process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Minnesota, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups Program. 2016. Oral health: Child and Teen Checkups (C&TC) fact sheet for primary care providers. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups Program, 2 pp. (Child and teen checkups (C&TC) fact sheet for primary care providers)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and nurses about their role in and responsibility for supporting the oral health of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 20 who are eligible for Minnesota’s Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment program. The fact sheet discusses requirements for the visit, personnel training, and documentation of counseling and referral; provides recommendations for oral health risk assessment and fluoride-varnish application; and explains why preventive oral health care is important. Anticipatory guidance, professional recommendations, and resources are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups Program, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Web Site: https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/childrenyouth/ctc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Children, EPSDT, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Minnesota, Oral health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training

Minnesota Oral Health Project. 2015–. Crush Cavities!. Minneapolis, MN: Minnesota Oral Health Project, multiple items.

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section. 2015. Infant mortality reduction plan for Minnesota, part one: A partnership between the Minnesota Department of Health and the residents of Minnesota. St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, 79 pp.

Annotation: This document for stakeholders in the private, public, academic, or non-profit sectors outlines a strategic plan to address the infant mortality problem in Minnesota, particularly persistent racial and ethnic disparities in poor birth outcomes. Contents include background and key findings on the sources of long-standing disparities in infant mortality, particularly among American Indians and African Americans, and perspectives on what changes could be made in systems, policies, and practices to improve birth outcomes. Additional contents include broad recommendations to further reduce infant mortality in the state; vision, goals, and objectives; and a call to action.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Fax: (651) 201-3590 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm Available from the website.

Keywords: American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Community action, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Racial discrimination, Statewide planning, Strategic plans

Petty D. 2015. Eliminating tooth decay in the Karen refugee population. Plymouth, MN: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 1 video (40 min., 27 sec.).

Annotation: This video describes qualitative and quantitative research on oral health knowledge and behavior within the Karen refugee community in Minnesota, and how the results were used to target educational oral health topics to Karen leaders, parents, adolescents, and children. The video covers evidence-based oral health topics for the Karen refugee community and strategies for collaboration among oral health professionals, educators, and refugee community leaders.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community based services, Health behavior, Health literacy, Local initiatives, Minnesota, Non English language materials, Oral health, Preventive health services, Public health education, Public private partnerships, Refugees, Research