Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report builds on state and national efforts to promote information, share best practices, and educate health professionals, including prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals for the benefit of patients, including pregnant women, children, and families receiving oral health care. The report introduces the issues, discusses trends, discusses national efforts and Massachusetts' efforts to address oral health among pregnant women and children, and provides information about the role of health professionals in improving oral health among pregnant women and children. Guidelines for prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals are included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Collaboration, Dental care, Health education, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Referrals, Role, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report provides updates on Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health (OOH) , for fiscal year 2023. Information about the OOH vision, mission, values, staff, budget, and goal highlights is presented. Goal highlights include are provided for the following: surveillance, prevention, access and workforce, and integration.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Service integration, Massachusetts, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveillance, Work force

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

Annotation: This toolkit includes resources related to the project, including a community-engagement survey available in English and in Spanish, an oral health status and knowledge survey, a discussion guide for facilitators to use with communities to learn about children’s oral health needs in the Worcester and Holyoke communities, and oral health profiles for Worcester and Holyoke. A data sheet that provides information about efforts to improve access to oral health care for black and Hispanic children ages 10–14 in these Massachusetts communities is also available.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 250 Washington St., 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5590 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-health-equity Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Community programs, Health equity, Hispanic Americans, Massachusetts, Oral health

Annotation: This fact sheet is an installment of the Massachusetts Oral Health Series, developed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health (DPH). The series focuses on oral health issues in the state through topic-specific installments. This issue discusses oral health programs and presents oral health statistics for Massachusetts. It presents facts on oral health in pregnant women and in early childhood, oral health trends in Massachusetts and in the nation, and next steps for the DPH, Office of Oral Health.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, State programs, Trends, Young children

Annotation: This final report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Massachusetts Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project ending in 2019. The report includes information about project progress, significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. The project’s impact is also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PIOHQI Initiative Page

Keywords: Final reports, Infant health, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Massachusetts. It discusses the importance of oral health during pregnancy and offers recommendations for pregnant women. It provides data from the 2012–2017 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System about the percentages of women who received a dental cleaning during pregnancy according to race and Hispanic ethnicity. Barriers to accessing oral health for Massachusetts women are discussed, along with the relationship between poor maternal oral health and infant health, A description of relevant Massachusetts initiatives and recommendations for perinatal health professionals are included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Bureau of Family Health and Nutrition, Office of Data Translation, 250 Washington St., 6th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5764 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph/prams Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Health care delivery, Infant health, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about public health dental hygienists in Massachusetts. It discusses the public health issue that resulted in the creation of this new category of oral health professional, explains what public health dental hygienists are and where they may work, and lists what is required of them. The fact sheet also describes the written information sheet that they give patients at the conclusion of a visit and discusses public health dental hygienists’ responsibilities related to referrals and reporting. A companion toolkit for registered dental hygienists in Massachusetts containing information and resources about providing preventive oral health services in public health settings is also available.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Massachusetts, Oral health, Public health, State initiatives

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral health during pregnancy. It discusses oral health issues that are common during pregnancy and the possible consequences of periodontal disease during pregnancy. It also provides tips for how women can keep their mouths healthy before and during pregnancy and on how parents can keep their infant’s or toddler’s teeth healthy. Information about relevant programs in Massachusetts is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant health, Massachusetts, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Periodontitis, Pregnancy, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the importance of drinking fluoridated tap water. It discusses why it is important to drink water, whether tap water is safe to drink, and whether drinking tap water is better than drinking bottled water. It also explains what fluoridated water is and the benefits of drinking fluoridated tap water. Guidelines for fluoride intake are provided, and the quality of tap water in Massachusetts is discussed.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Massachusetts, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Water intake

Annotation: This document for primary care health professionals provides tips for promoting the identification of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) and other developmental disabilities for children from immigrant families or from families whose primary language is not English. Contents include tips for culturally- and linguistically-competent autism screening; the Modified Checklist for Autism in Toddlers (M-CHAT) screening tool in English and in four translations (Chinese, Haitian Creole, Spanish, and Vietnamese); an assortment of materials from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Learn the Signs. Act Early campaign for use in practice; and resource and referral information.

Contact: Massachusetts Act Early, MA Web Site: https://www.maactearly.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Culturally competent services, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Early identification, Immigrants, Infants, Massachusetts, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaign materials, Referrals, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This report synthesizes the activities of 10 primary care and behavioral health organizations with established integration programs in Massachusetts to identify success factors, barriers, challenges, and opportunities for change. Contents include a description of grantee organizations followed by a description of findings related to how they defined success for their integration efforts, perceptions of the critical components of integrated programs, common barriers to integration, and measures used to assess programs. The evaluation framework, a list of the process and outcome data elements collected by grantees, and grantee profiles are appended.

Contact: John Snow, Inc., 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1211, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: (617) 482-0617 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jsi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Data collection, Demonstration grants, Evaluation methods, Health care delivery, Massachusetts, Measures, Mental health, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Primary care, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service integration

Annotation: These case studies highlight the work and accomplishments of state health agencies in Massachusetts and Missouri related to addressing chronic health conditions in the school environment. Topics include collaborating with health and education partners; strengthening school nursing infrastructure and health services, including oral health care; identifying and tracking students with chronic health conditions; and meeting management and care needs of students with chronic health conditions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Massachusetts, Missouri, Public health infrastructure, School age children, School health services, School nursing, Schools, Special health care needs, State health agencies

Annotation: This report updates the December 2011 report published by the U.S. Government Accountability Office on foster children in selected states that were prescribed psychotropic medications at rates higher than nonfoster children in Medicaid in 2008. The current report examines instances of foster children being prescribed psychotropic medications in the following five states: Florida, Massachusetts, Michigan, Oregon, and Texas. The report assesses the extent that documentation supported the use of psychotropic medications, describes states' policies related to psychotropic medication, and assesses the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' actions since GAO's 2011 report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-362.

• PDF

Keywords: Drugs, Federal initiatives, Florida, Foster children, Massachusetts, Medicaid managed care, Mental health services, Michigan, Oregon, Policy analysis, State programs, Texas, Utilization review

Annotation: This document profiles the various ways that U.S. states and communities are structuring, implementing, and evaluating intensive care coordination (ICC) using the wraparound approach for children and youth with significant mental health conditions. The document defines wraparound as a structured approach to service planning and care coordination for individuals with complex needs that is built on a system of care and adheres to specified procedures. Contents include the evidence base for wraparound and information on established, evolving, and emerging ICC/wraparound programs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Community programs, Coordination planning, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mental health, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Patient care, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Service coordination, State programs, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Youth

Annotation: This paper describes wraparound services (defined as student and family supports integrated with and often delivered in schools) to address social and non-academic barriers to student learning. Contents include background, a summary of three case studies (in New York City, Tulsa, and California Healthy Start), five key features of a high-quality wraparound services model that could be implemented across Massachusetts, and a statewide cost projection. The report concludes with a discussion of policy considerations.

Contact: Massachusetts Budget and Policy Center, 15 Court Square, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 426-1228 Web Site: http://www.massbudget.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Costs, Educational reform, Family support services, Health services delivery, Learning, Local initiatives, Massachusetts, Policy development, Program models, Service integration, Social factors, State initiatives, Students

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines state and safety net provider policies and practices that support early entry into prenatal care using the patient-centered medical home (PCMH) as a conceptual framework. It is one in a series of fact sheets that showcase state policies and programs in four states -- California, Illinois, Massachusetts, and Washington -- that support improvement in early entry into prenatal care.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Fact Sheet Series Overview

Keywords: California, Community health centers, Early intervention, Illinois, Massachusetts, Medical home, Perinatal services, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Public policy, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This document describes a program in Massachusetts to provide cessation benefits through Medicaid and its impact on smoking prevalence, hospitalizations, and return on investment. Topics include the health burden and costs of tobacco use, recommended interventions, key features of Massachusetts' cessation program, opportunities to offer cessation benefits to all smokers, and the role of state public health officials in cessation efforts.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Cost effectiveness, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Smoking cessation, State initiatives, Tobacco use, Treatment effectiveness evaluation, Universal health care

Annotation: This report discusses early accomplishments, challenges, and lessons learned from four states (Maine, Massachusetts, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania) that are pursuing practice-level quality measurements aimed at improving child health care under the Children’s Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA) Quality Demonstration Grant Program. The report describes the states’ efforts to select meaningful measures, adapt health plan and state-level measures for practice-level reporting, and use technology to collect measurement data.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Data collection, Demonstration programs, Maine, Massachusetts, Measures, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Program evaluation, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report reviews community asthma interventions, describes new initiatives under way in Massachusetts to promote community-based asthma prevention for children, and discusses opportunities for state Medicaid programs to incorporate these interventions into Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program programs nationwide. The report also provides information about the prevalence and burden of childhood asthma and discusses existing Medicaid authority to increase community-based asthma intervention.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Intervention, Child health, Children', Community programs, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Prevention, State initiatives, s Health Insurance Program