Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This action plan focuses on the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition’s goals related to improving the oral health of all Louisianans. It provides direction for achieving priorities set forth by stakeholders representing individual oral health champions and multiple organizations across the state. The plan describes three oral-health-promotion interventions across the state: Well Ahead Louisiana (a chronic-disease-prevention and health-care-access initiative of the Louisiana Department of Health), school dental sealant programs, and community water fluoridation. Information about the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition is provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health promotion, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State planning

Annotation: This guidebook from the state of Louisiana presents the developmental milestones that children can be expected to reach from infacy to the age of five years. It includes links to resources intended for use by educators and providers, families, and community entities. One page is devoted to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and Child Find, guarantees that children will be assessed at school and have access to appropriate education.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Education, 1201 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5243, Telephone: (877)453-2721 Web Site: https://www.louisianabelieves.com/

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental milestones, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Louisiana

Annotation: The toolkit provides guidelines, action steps, and resources to help health providers integrate care coordination elements into their practice. Using a quality improvement framework, it is divided into actionable steps and arranged for ease of use at any (or various) stages of implementation. The toolkit is intended for use by pediatric medical providers and staff (physicians, nurses, social workers, clinic managers, support staff, etc.) who want to maximize their capacity to make care coordination services as efficient and effective as possible in their clinic. This includes improving existing services, or integrating new services, into the regular clinic practice.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Bureau of Family Health, 1450 Poydras Street, Room 2035, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (504) 568-3504 Secondary Telephone: (800) 251-BABY (2229) Fax: (504) 568-3503 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://new.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/936

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Louisiana , Quality improvement, Service coordination, Service integration, State initiatives

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about how to prevent tooth decay by applying fluoride to children’s teeth. The fact sheet provides information about the oral health status of students in third grade in Louisiana, what fluoride varnish is and how it is applied, reimbursement from Medicaid for fluoride application, the cost of fluoride application, and how to become certified to apply fluoride varnish through the Smiles for Life program.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention, Reimbursement, State materials

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This document for primary care health professionals describes recommendations and the rationale for applying fluoride varnish to the teeth of infants and young children ages 6 months through 5 years. The document also provides information about training and certification prerequisites and coding for fluoride-varnish application reimbursement in Louisiana.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Certification, Fluorides, Infants, Louisiana, Oral health, Primary care, Reimbursement, State programs, Training, Young children

Annotation: This document describes family engagement as a critical part of Title V maternal and child health (MCH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) programs and highlights ways that states are engaging families. Contents include case study examples in Louisiana, Michigan, and Washington. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Cultural diversity, Families, Leadership, Louisiana, Michigan, Participation, Public private partnerships, Role, State programs, Title V programs, Washington

Annotation: These resources are part of a statewide initiative aimed at improving the health and wellness of Louisiana residents. Topics include preventing and controlling oral disease, partnering with community and professional organizations to improve oral health, providing oral health education, promoting community water fluoridation, promoting school-based and school-linked dental sealant programs, and maintaining an oral-health-surveillance system to monitor the burden of oral disease. Contents include data on dental visits by gender, age, race, income, and education; tools for finding oral health care; and oral-health-education resources for adults and older adults, school nurses and teachers, and oral health professionals and non-oral-health professionals.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Dental sealants, Disease management, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health education, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health services delivery, Life course, Louisiana, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Schools, State initiatives, Statistical data, Water

Annotation: This document provides guidance to Medicaid-contracted dental benefit plan managers on submitting encounters (records of procedures and services provided to Medicaid recipients enrolled in the plan) to the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals. Topics include responsibilities, transaction instructions, denial edit codes and descriptions, electronic data interchange certification and testing, data management of file and encounter submissions, continuous quality improvement, data assessment, adjustment process, and Medicaid administrative retroactive enrollment correction process.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Contract services, Dental care, Dental insurance, Fiscal management, Louisiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Provider networks, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about preterm birth (PTB) rates and racial disparities in PTB in the United States, the use of 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate (17P) to prevent PTB, and the role of state and territorial health agencies in promoting access to 17P. Contents include state examples of 17P interventions in Louisiana, North Carolina, and Ohio. The fact sheet also discusses costs, quality, and other challenges related to the availability of and access to 17P.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Louisiana, North Carolina, Ohio, Pharmaceutical fees, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Preventive medicine, State agencies

Annotation: This document profiles the various ways that U.S. states and communities are structuring, implementing, and evaluating intensive care coordination (ICC) using the wraparound approach for children and youth with significant mental health conditions. The document defines wraparound as a structured approach to service planning and care coordination for individuals with complex needs that is built on a system of care and adheres to specified procedures. Contents include the evidence base for wraparound and information on established, evolving, and emerging ICC/wraparound programs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Community programs, Coordination planning, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mental health, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Patient care, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Service coordination, State programs, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Youth

Annotation: This manual provides information on implementing a dental sealant program in communities and schools in Louisiana. Topics include program history, school-based vs. school-linked programs, planning and promoting a program, retention checks and follow-up, evaluation, and budget. Forms for clinic operation, data collection, and evaluation are included in the appendices.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental sealants, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention programs, School age children, School health programs, State programs

Annotation: This document presents principles and values of Louisiana school-based health centers; lists standards for these centers; and provides guidelines in the areas of administration, medical and clinical services, and behavioral and mental health care. A table indicates essential and preferred services for elementary, middle, and high schools. An appendix lists topics for which Louisiana school-based health centers should have written RN clinical guidelines and a second appendix lists required contents of emergency kits to be kept at all these centers.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Adolescent School Health Program: School-Based Health Centers, Benson Towers, 1450 Poydras Street, Room 2060, New Orleans, LA 70112, Telephone: (504) 568-8164 Fax: (504) 568-8200 E-mail: Faith [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov/offices/?ID=255 Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Guidelines, Louisiana, School based clinics, Standards

Annotation: This website provides information about the 2012 Region IV & Region VI Infant Mortality Summit, held on January 12 and 13 in New Orleans, Louisiana. The summit was the launching point for a collaborative and multi-state initiative that aims to improve infant health outcomes and reduce infant mortality and prematurity across the nation, particularly among disparate populations. The website provides links to the summit agenda and materials from sessions, describes the summit goals and objectives, and provides links to related infant and child health resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Infant health, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Louisiana, Low income groups, Prevention, Resource materials, State programs

Annotation: This report presents case studies from Texas and Louisiana that illustrate innovative approaches that states are employing to help ensure that more children get a healthy start in life. The report provides background information on the complications often resulting from premature birth and discusses the essential features of Texas's Healthy Babies Initiative and Louisiana's Birth Outcomes Initiative. Resources for more information about the programs are provided.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Initiatives, Louisiana, Premature infants, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Prevention, State programs, Texas

Annotation: This document provides guidance on collaborating and partnering to implement school-based dental sealant programs in federally qualified health centers in Louisiana. Topics include applying for a license to operate portable and mobile dental equipment, infection control recommendations and standards, and information required in the consent form for student participation in the program.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Community health centers, Dental sealants, Interagency cooperation, Louisiana, Mobile health units, Oral health, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, School age children, School based clinics, Standards, State programs

Annotation: This document is designed to help federally-qualified health centers in Louisiana implement school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include applying for a license to operate portable and mobile dental equipment, infection control recommendations and standards, and information required in the consent form for student participation in the program. Information about Medicaid reimbursement is also provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Dental care, Dental sealants, Infection control, Licensing, Louisiana, Mobile health units, Oral health, Parent consent, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School age children, School based clinics, Screening, Standards, State programs

Annotation: This webcast provides information about the Maximizing Enrollment program in Louisiana. Maximizing Enrollment is an initiative of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation that seeks to help Louisiana and seven other states enroll more eligible children in government health insurance programs. The webcast discusses how the program works and the needs of Louisiana families and provides the perspectives of parents whose children are enrolled in Medicaid.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Enrollment, Families, Louisiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Poverty, State Children', State programs, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents the findings from a diagnostic assessment of the enrollment and retention systems of eight states that participate in the Robert Wood Johnson Foundations Maximizing Enrollment for Kids Program, a national program aimed to help states increase enrollment and retention of eligible children in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program and to promote promising practices among states. The eight states are Alabama, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New York, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The paper is organized by the four main areas of states' work and presents strengths, challenges, and opportunities in each area: (1) process improvement and paperwork reduction; (2) data analysis and integration; (3) leadership and agency capacity, coordination, and culture; and (4) consumer, community partner, and stakeholder engagement.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Child health, Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Illinois, Louisiana, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Medicaid, New York, Retention, State programs, Uninsured persons, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report summarizes the burden of oral disease in Louisiana also providing detailed information on oral health among all different age groups of the population. It also highlights groups and regions in the state that are at the highest risk of oral health problems, discusses strategies to prevent these conditions and provides access to dental care. Contents include a review of national and state objectives on oral health, disease burden and unmet needs among children and adults in Louisiana, disparities among various groups, the societal impact of oral disease and other health conditions, risk and protective factors affecting oral diseases, and a review of the provision of dental services in the state.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Dental care, Louisiana, Oral health, Pregnant women, State surveys, Statistical data, Work force