Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about the Delaware Dentist Survey 2022, which was conducted to amass information to help oral health care advocates, policymakers, and other stakeholders understand the supply and distribution of dentists across the state. The overarching survey includes two surveys, one of dentists and one of dental students and residents. Topics include methodology and demographics for both surveys; practice characteristics and spatial distribution (dentist survey only) and outlook and licensure (dental students and residents survey only).

Contact: Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4700 Secondary Telephone: (888) 459-2943 Fax: (302) 739-6659 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Delaware, Dentists, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Students, Surveys, advocacy

Annotation: This report was developed for stakeholders to encourage state and local entities to identify ways to conduct oral health surveillance. It provides information about the importance of public health surveillance and oral health, presents a framework for a state oral-health surveillance system, and describes the Delaware Oral Health Surveillance System.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Delaware, Oral health, Public health, State materials, Surveillance

Annotation: This report presents data on Delawareans’ oral disease burden, risk behaviors contributing to that burden, and state efforts to improve oral health. It identifies oral health disparities related to race, ethnicity, income level, and educational attainment. It also identifies other factors impacting oral health, such as an insufficient number of oral health professionals in the state and a lack of dental insurance coverage among Medicaid-eligible adults. In addition, it provides oral health measures and benchmarks that stakeholders can use to develop oral-health-related priorities and interventions and to measure progress toward state and federal objectives.

Contact: Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4700 Secondary Telephone: (888) 459-2943 Fax: (302) 739-6659 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Delaware, Educational factors, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Income factors, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: Taken from the 2019 SPHARC (State Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange, this poster presents state-by-state profiles of autism spectrum disorder (ASD) initiatives and programs across multiple U.S. states including Wisconsin, Washington, Rhode Island, Ohio, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Maryland, Georgia, and Delaware. Each state profile includes unique state facts, data collection methods, quality improvement (QI) initiatives, and community engagement strategies. Common themes across states include efforts to address disparities in ASD screening and diagnosis, particularly among underserved and diverse populations; implementation of family navigation programs; use of data-driven approaches to identify service gaps; development of culturally competent services; and strategies to improve early identification and intervention. The profiles highlight various successful approaches such as Wisconsin's rural service delivery models, Minnesota's ADDM Network participation, Georgia's insurance coverage expansion through "Ava's Law," and Delaware's M-CHAT-R provider training pilot, while also acknowledging challenges including provider shortages, language barriers, and geographic access disparities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, State CHSCN programs, Data analysis, Wisconsin, Washington, Rhode Island, Ohio, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Maryland, Georgia, Delaware

Annotation: These posters were presented at the 2018 annual SPHARC (State Public Health Autism Resource Center) Peer-to-Peer Exchange. 9 states discuss issues in telehealth, including their strengths, challenges, and strategies in their efforts to supply telehealth to their constituents. Each state panel is also given the opportunity to express an interesting fact about their state and what they hope to gain during this meeting.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Title V programs, CSHCN programs, Wisconsin, Washington, Virginia, Texas, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Iowa, Delaware, Children', s health

Annotation: This infographic discusses the lessons learned from the 2018 SPHARC Peer-to-Peer Exchange on using telehealth to connect children and their families, self-advocates, and providers for individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and Developmental Disabilities (DD). Discussion points include the advantages of and barriers to telehealth, as well as the need for early and continuous intervention services. Lessons emphasize the importance of meaningful inclusion of self-advocates, addressing the unique challenges of family advocates, and showcasing innovative state grantee solutions. The document concludes with priority action items for states and the need to explore culturally competent care solutions to address the needs of diverse communities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Telemedicine, Family support services, Delaware, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin, Maryland, Iowa, New Hampshire, Minnesota, Texas, Virginia

Annotation: This tip sheet provides guidance for health plans on implementing the National Standards for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN). It explains that these standards offer a framework for ensuring comprehensive, coordinated, family-centered care, noting that while one in five U.S. children has special health care needs, four out of five CYSHCN families report not receiving care in a well-functioning system. The tip sheet outlines specific ways health plans can use the standards, including developing managed care programs to meet unique needs, coordinating with all entities providing care, improving enrollment and transition processes, and creating appropriate benefit plans. The second page highlights successful implementation examples from Delaware, Massachusetts, and Virginia, and describes available resources for health plans including assessment tools, a NCQA crosswalk, Medicaid managed care contracting tools, and quality measurement resources. The document directs readers to online toolkits and a mobile-friendly site for accessing these materials.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Standards, State CHSCN programs, Delaware, Massachusetts, Virginia, Assessment Tools, Medicaid

Annotation: This tip sheet outlines how healthcare providers can utilize the National Standards for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) to improve service delivery. It provides specific guidance for providers on implementing the Standards, which emphasize the importance of family partnership in decision-making and evidence-based care delivery. The Standards serve as a comprehensive framework designed to foster collaboration between healthcare providers, health plans, and state health programs to ensure coordinated, family-centered care.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Standards, State CHSCN programs, Health Care Providers, Case Studies, Georgia, Delaware, Kansas, Massachusetts

Annotation: This issue brief examines family navigation strategies implemented in Title V and community-based programs to support children and youth with special health care needs and their families. It describes how family navigators help families overcome barriers in the healthcare system by providing psychosocial support, coordinating services, and offering education. The document highlights findings from an environmental scan of Title V programs, showing that 56 of 59 Title V programs use some form of family navigation, with the majority focusing on children with special health care needs. Case studies from five states (Delaware, Iowa, Rhode Island, Washington, and Wisconsin) detail how they implemented, funded, and sustained family navigation programs, particularly for children with autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities. The brief concludes with next steps for advancing family navigation and emphasizes the importance of culturally sensitive communication when working with diverse families.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Standards, State CHSCN programs, Title V Programs, Autism, Case Studies, Delaware, Iowa, Rhode Island, Washington, Wisconsin,

Annotation: These resources are designed to help health, civic, and community-service organizations make oral health a priority. Contents include information about the burden of oral disease and the need for oral health care in Delaware and a step-by-step guide to developing oral health activities, including best practices, tips for goal setting, referral protocols, team training, monitoring, and evaluation. Additional contents include a presentation, educational brochures, an evaluation and referral worksheet, a resource guide, and sample articles.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Delaware, Oral health, Public awareness campaign materials, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide contains examples from states' health departments and nonprofits on the active use of data. Examples were selected to represent ways to collect, communicate, and use data to achieve desired outcomes and influence policy. The four main sections discuss: data collection, data analysis, data communication, and data-informed policy. The guide also contains abstracts of example programs from all around the country, with links to the full reports covering topics such as infant mortality, PRAMS (Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System) and families with children with special healthcare needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, State CSHCN programs, Surveys, Evaluation, Assessment, Data collection, Data analysis, Epidemiology, Texas, Wisconsin, Alaska, Mississippi, Massachusetts, Louisiana, Nebraska, Delaware, Florida

Annotation: This report summarizes a meeting focused on oral health equity, systems of care, and oral health literacy and attended by representatives from health organizations and community agencies held on May 8, 2015, in Dover, Delaware. The report discusses innovative initiatives from across the country and how these initiatives can be applied locally. Information about individual and organizational strategies for advancing oral health equity is included.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Consumer education, Delaware, Health literacy, Meetings, Oral health, Public health education, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Systems development

Annotation: This issue brief explores how states can capitalize on the opportunities presented by health reform to improve birth outcomes, particularly through preconception health. It highlights state Title V maternal and child health programs, particularly programs in three states (Michigan, Oklahoma, and Oregon) that participated in an action learning collaborative and are working to strengthen partnerships to implement preconception health activities, enhance preventive care for women, explore financing options for preconception care services, and use data to inform policy and program development. Delaware and Colorado also are featured as states that are working toward improved access to preconception care.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Colorado, Data, Delaware, Financing, Health care reform, Learning, Michigan, Oklahoma, Oregon, Policy development, Preconception care, Preventive health services, Program development, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue brief examines and describes oral health, focusing on children in Delaware. Topics include demographics, tooth decay, preventive care, young children needing treatment, oral health care during pregnancy, access to care, and preventive measures such as fluoridated water and dental sealants. The brief concludes with a discussion about assessing progress and improving children’s oral health.

Contact: Kids Count in Delaware, University of Delaware, Center for Community Research and Service, 297 Graham Hall, Newark, DE 19716, Telephone: (302) 831-6780 Fax: (302) 831-4225 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccrs.udel.edu/kids-count Available from the website.

• Issue Brief
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Delaware, Demographics, Dental care, Disease prevention, Oral health, Pregnant women, School age children, State initiatives, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to the Medicaid and CHIP Risk-Based Managed Care in 20 States report, focuses on 20 states' Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care payment methods and spending. The states are Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report addresses two research questions: (1) how do the 20 states establish capitation rates in their Medicaid and CHIP managed care programs, and how have their approaches to and policies for rate setting changed over the past decade and (2) how does monthly Medicaid spending for four distinct managed care enrollee populations (adults and children, with and without disabilities) vary among the 20 states? The report introduces the issues and presents the study approach, methods, findings, and a discussion.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Arizona, California, Children, Children', Connecticut, Costs, Delaware, Disabilities, Florida, Managed care, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, State programs, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report presents findings on the oral health status of children in third grade in Delaware, as well as on oral health disparities. Topics include decay experience, untreated tooth decay, needing oral health care, dental sealants, and dental visits. Findings are stratified by the child's eligibility for the National School Lunch Program and compared to Healthy People 2020 objectives. The report also contains information about resources and strategies to improve the oral health of children in Delaware. The appendices contain information about survey methods, data tables, the consent form, the screening form, and the parent questionnaire. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Delaware, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Healthy People 2020, Low income groups, Oral health, School age children, Screening, State surveys

Annotation: This report provides an overview of an oral health literacy campaign in Delaware, describes the campaign’s communications approach, and discusses sustainability and next steps. Topics include information about the campaign’s mission; successes; challenges; impact; and levers, goals, and objectives. Additional topics include campaign strategies, collaborative structure, partners, stakeholders, branding and identity, materials, mass media, and grassroots community outreach. Information about funding and about costs and measures of success is also provided.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Delaware, Health literacy, Mass media, Oral health, Program development, Public awareness campaigns, State initiatives, Sustainability

Annotation: These resources are aimed at improving oral health literacy and behaviors throughout Delaware. Contents include tips for preventing dental caries during pregnancy, infancy, and early childhood and lists of dentists by city, zip code, and specialty. Client education cards and brochures for parents are also available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Delaware, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide is designed to help individuals with a newly-diagnosed condition or special health care need and their family members find available supports and services in Delaware. It contains suggestions for where to begin a search for information and services; resources (state agencies, first steps resources, and next steps resources); definitions of medical and disability-related terms and acronyms; and family stories. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Delaware Family Voices, 61 Corporate Circle, Rooms 135 and 136, New Castle, DE 19720, Telephone: (877) 235-3588 Secondary Telephone: (302) 221-5360 Fax: (302) 324-4441 (Must put ATTN: Delaware Family Voices) Web Site: http://www.delawarefamilytofamily.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Delaware, Families, Family centered care, Family support, Health services, Infants, Special health care needs, State programs

Annotation: This report contains the findings and recommendations offered following the conclusion of a focus group study with child care center directors, child care home providers, and parents of children in child care centers across the state of Delaware. The purposes of the study, conducted in partnership with Nemours Health and Prevention Services and Delaware's Office of Child care Licensing and Child and Adult Care Food Program, were (1) to learn how child care providers and parents are responding to Delaware’s comprehensive nutrition and physical activity standards for child care facilities and (2) to understand what child care providers need to do to achieve compliance with nutrition and physical activity standards and to develop a set of recommendations to address these needs. Included in the report are a list of the questions presented to focus group participants; a summary of the focus group study findings; and recommendations related to the state guidelines and their implementation by child care providers.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Child care workers, Delaware, Focus groups, Guideline adherence, Licensing, Program improvement, Recommendations, Standards, State programs, Studies