Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (388 total).

California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center. 2023. School-linked dental program manual. San Francisco, CA: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, 5 sections.

Annotation: This manual provides information about school-linked oral health programs (programs that identify children who need oral health care and then coordinate care with a health professional in the community) for local oral health agencies in California. The manual offers background information about the California Dental Disease Prevention Program and presents a school-linked program model. The model covers selecting schools; programs' educational and outreach requirements; planning, including developing referral criteria, creating a network of dentists, using a referral-management and collection platform, and establishing performance measures; and developing protocols. Also discussed are referral management and care coordination and evaluation.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: California, Care coordination, Community coordination, Community programs, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Program evaluation, Referrals, School dentistry, School health, State programs

University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center; San Joaquin County Public Health Services, Smoking and Tobacco Outreach and Prevention Program and Local Oral Health Program; and California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health. [2022]. Tobacco cessation toolkit for California dental providers. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 22 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help oral health professionals in California integrate tobacco-cessation interventions into routine oral health care. It provides tools and evidence-based resources that oral health professionals can use or share with their patients who use tobacco. Information is offered on trends in tobacco products and use in California, oral health professionals’ role in tobacco cessation, tobacco dependence and the benefits of quitting, and FDA-approved medications for tobacco cessation. Brief interventions for use in dental settings are included.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 707 Parnassus Ave., San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 502-5800 Web Site: https://dentistry.ucsf.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Intervention, Oral health, Smoking cessation, State materials, Tobacco use

Mount St. Mary's College. 2022. The report on the status of women and girls in California (rev. ed.). Los Angeles, CA: Mount St. Mary's College, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on key areas that are impacting the health and well being of women in the state of California, including poverty, employment status, technology, the media, changing demographics, leadership, women in the military, and mental and physical health. The research and statistics highlight trends and insights on why gender gaps continue to exist within the state. Data on racial and ethnic health disparities is included, along with figures that compare statistical data in the state of California with national averages. Data on obesity, infant mortality, substance abuse, breastfeeding, and other health-related variables are interspersed throughout the report, which is intended to inspire college students at Mount St. Mary's College to affect change.

Contact: Mount St. Mary's College, Doheny Campus, 10 Chester Place, Los Angeles, CA 90007, Telephone: (213) 477-2500 Web Site: http://www.msmc.la.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Gender, Geographic factors, Health status disparities, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Public Counsel. 2022. Examining racial and ethnic inequities among children served under California's developmental services system: Where things currently stand . Los Angeles, CA: Public Counsel , 43 pp.

Annotation: This report examines racial and ethnic inequities in children's access to developmental services through California's Department of Developmental Services (DDS). It quantifies and evaluates inequities in service access and expenditures and examines the effectiveness of the set of measures developed by DDS to monitor and prevent inequities related to race, culture, and primary language spoken. A summary of findings is provided along with recommendations for legislative improvements that could help eliminate disparities to services for children with developmental disabilities in the state of California.

Contact: Public Counsel , 610 South Ardmore Avenue , Los Angeles, CA 90005, Telephone: (213) 385-2977 Fax: (213) 385-9089 Web Site: https://publiccounsel.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children with developmental disabilities, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Racial factors, State legislation

Smith H, Peterson N, Lagrew D, Main E. 2022. Toolkit to support vaginal birth and reduce primary cesareans: A quality improvement toolkit, addended, part V. Stanford, CA: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, 191

Annotation: This toolkit to support vaginal birth and reduce primary cesarean sections includes evidence-based tools and resources to support pregnant patients who transfer to the hospital from a community birth center and to effectively integrate midwifery care and doula support into the hospital setting. The toolkit serves as a “how to” guide to help educate and motivate maternity clinicians to apply best practices to support vaginal birth. Included are strategies to (1) improve the culture of care, awareness, and education for cesarean reduction; (2) support intended Vaginal Birth; (3) manage labor abnormalities and safely reduce cesarean births; and (4) use data to drive reduction in cesareans. Twenty appendices include checklists, guidelines, partograms, performance measures, and assessment tools for healthcare providers.

Contact: California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative, Stanford University Medical School Office Building, 1265 Welch Road, MS 5415, Stanford, CA 94305, Telephone: (650) 725-6108 Fax: (650) 721-5751 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cmqcc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Birthing Centers, California , Cesarean section, Childbirth, Doulas, Hospitals Quality assurance, Labor, Midwives, Model programs, Pregnant women, Prevention, Vaginal birth

National Network for Oral Health Access. 2022. Using teledentistry to improve prenatal care. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 2 pp. (Health center oral health program promising practice)

Annotation: This paper describes a teledentistry program at the University of California, Irvine, Family Health Center, to improve prenatal care. It discusses how the center is implementing the use of teledentistry, how the process works, and considerations for other centers interested in implementing a teledentistry program.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: California, Health programs, Oral health, State programs, Teledentistry

Stocks M, Pollick H, Jackson R, Kumar J. 2022. California fluoridation manual. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 55 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides information about community water fluoridation (CWF) in California. It explains what CWF is and discusses its history in the state. It guides users through a step-by-step process of advocating for CWF. Topics include strategy, education and advocacy, policymaking, preventing or reversing a rollback, capital funding, and communicating with operations.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Financing, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State information, Water

California Health Care Foundation. 2022. Reducing unnecessary c-sections in California: A CHCF-supported effort from 2015-2020. Oakland, CA: California Health Care Foundation, 2pp.

Annotation: This report records how, in a pilot program conducted by the Pacific Business Group on Health (PBGH), in partnership with the California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative (CMQCC), three hospitals in the state of California were able to lower the rate of low-risk first-time Cesarian sections by 20% in one year. Subsequently, the California Health Care Foundation (CHCF) funded a state-wide initiative built on the lessons learned to lower the rate of unnecessary Cesarian section births from 26.0% to 22.9 %, between 2015 and 2020. Initiatives to accomplish this goal included collecting and sharing accurate data, providing toolkits to providers, ensuring patient engagement, and supporting policies and payment/purchaser requirements. [Original pilot funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.]

Contact: California Health Care Foundation, 1438 Webster Street, #400, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 238-1040 Fax: (510) 238-1388 Web Site: http://www.chcf.org

English

Keywords: California, Cesarean section, Health equity, Minority groups

Stewart RE, Meisel B, Mathe G, Reddy M. 2021. The USCF Special Needs Dentistry Summit: A call to action for solving California's lack of oral health care for people with special health care needs. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 12 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides information from a summit focusing on difficulties people with special health care needs face in accessing oral health care in California. Topics include oral health care for children vs. adults with special health care needs, financial considerations, and steps toward solutions.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 513 Parnassus Avenue, S 630, San Francisco, CA 94143, Web Site: https://dentistry.ucsf.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults with special health care needs, California, Children with special health care needs, Conferences, Oral health, State information

Skaggs R, Jacoby K, Walton-Haynes L, Aalboe J. 2021. California partnership for oral health plan. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 11 pp.

Annotation: This oral health plan provides an agenda for achieving a set of objectives to improve oral health equity and well-being for Californians. The plan provides information about the California Partnership, background information about oral health in California, supporting the plan, transitioning the California Oral Health Plan Advisory Committee to the Partnership for Oral Health, and the meaning of "partnership" in the context of the plan. The partnership structure and operations are discussed, and next steps are presented.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Oral health, Oral health equity, Partnerships, Statewide planning

Darsie B, Conroy SM, Kumar J. 2021. Oral health status of children: Results of the 2018-2019 California third grade smile survey. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report presents results from the 2018–2019 California Third Grade Smile Survey. The report provides background on tooth decay in children in California and presents key findings related to tooth decay experience, untreated decay, and dental sealant prevalence; disparities in tooth decay and untreated tooth decay, and dental sealant prevalence by race, ethnicity, and socioeconomic status; and regional variations in children's oral health across the state. Strategies for improving children's health as delineated in California's 2018–2028 oral health plan are discussed, along with methodology and limitations. Definitions of terms are included.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Child health, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information, Surveys

Byers J. 2021. Sugar-sweetened beverages: What we know and what we can do--Improving the oral health of Californians. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on research on the relationship of sugar-sweetened beverages (SSBs) and oral disease, especially among children. Background on the issue is presented, and a review of relevant articles is provided. Also discussed are disparities in SSB consumption and tooth decay. The article includes recommendations from key organizations, California oral health plan goals, and a discussion.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Child health, Dental caries, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information, Sugar

Barbara Aved Associates. 2020. Painful realities: General anesthesia access in Sacramento GMC dental managed care. Sacramento, CA: Sacramento County Department of Health Services, Public Health Division, Oral Health Program, 71 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study conducted to determine the availability of general anesthesia (GA) for oral health care in Sacramento County, CA, particularly for individuals with special health care needs (SHCN). The report discusses the importance of GA for those with SHCN who may be unable to tolerate oral health care without it. Topics include process and data sources, background, findings, and recommendations.

Contact: Sacramento County Department of Health Services, Public Health Division, 7001-A East Parkway, Suite 600, Sacramento, CA 95823, Telephone: (916) 875-6259 Web Site: http://www.scph.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults with special health care needs, California, Children with special health care needs, Oral health, State programs

Andrew K, Gonzales R, Alongi R. 2020. Dental care coordination and access to care: How local dental pilot projects connect children to dental care in California's state Medicaid program. [Oakland, CA]: Children Now, 31 pp.

Annotation: This brief examines elements of oral health care coordination embedded within 12 of California’s Dental Transformation Initiative Local Dental Pilot Projects (LDPPs), part of the state’s Section 1115(a) Medicaid waiver. The brief discusses how LDPPs define care coordination, how they determine the effectiveness of care coordination, challenges they face in providing care coordination, facilitator factors for providing care coordination, and challenges to and facilitators of sustainability and replicability of care-coordination efforts.

Contact: Children Now, 1212 Broadway, Fifth Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 763-2444 Fax: (510) 763-1974 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrennow.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: , Access to health care, California, Medicaid, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, State initiatives

Children's Partnership, and California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine with First 5 Riverside, and First 5 San Bernardino. 2020. The virtual dental home in the Inland Empire: Building best practices into the oral health care delivery system for children. [Los Angeles, CA]: Children's Partnership, 17 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about the virtual dental home (VDH) implemented by four communities in five California counties as part of their local dental pilot projects (LDPPs). The aim of the LDPPs is to increase use of oral health care among children enrolled in Medi-Cal through innovative pilot projects. The brief outlines implementation of the VDH, identifies lessons learned and best practices, and provides recommendations for sustaining the VDH and integrating best practices into the oral health care delivery system. It also considers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on VDH implementation.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 811 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 341-1222 Fax: (213) 293-1483 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , California, Community health services, Disease transmission, Health care delivery, Infectious diseases, Oral health, State programs, Virus diseases

California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine and Children's Partnership. 2020. The virtual dental home: Building best practices into California's oral health care delivery system for children. [Los Angeles, CA]: Children's Partnership, 16 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about the virtual dental home (VDH) implemented by four communities in five California counties as part of their local dental pilot projects (LDPPs). The aim of the LDPPs is to increase use of oral health care among children enrolled in Medi-Cal through innovative pilot projects. The brief provides background on the VDH, outlines how it was implemented, identifies lessons learned and best practices, and provides recommendations for integrating the VDH into California’s oral-health-care-delivery system. It also considers the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on VDH implementation.

Contact: Children's Partnership, 811 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1000, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 341-1222 Fax: (213) 293-1483 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenspartnership.org Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Medical home, Medicare, Oral health, State programs

Kattlove J, Glassman P. 2020. The virtual dental home in Orange County: Building best practices into the oral health care delivery system for children. Elk Grove, CA: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 14 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about the virtual dental home (VDH) implemented by four communities in five California counties as part of their local dental pilot projects (LDPPs). The aim of the LDPPs is to increase use of oral health care among children enrolled in Medi-Cal through innovative pilot projects. The brief outlines how the VDH has been implemented by community health centers in Orange County, identifies lessons learned and best practices related to the VDH, and provides recommendations for sustaining best practices and integrating them into the oral-health-care-delivery system throughout Orange County and the state.

Contact: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 9700 West Taron Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95757, Telephone: 916-686-7300 Web Site: http://dentalmedicine.cnsu.edu/ Available from the website.

2020 Report

Keywords: California, Medical home, Medicare, Oral health, State programs

Kattlove J, Glassman P. 2020. The virtual dental home in Sacramento: Building best practices into the oral health care delivery system for children. Elk Grove, CA: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 15 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about the virtual dental home (VDH) implemented by four communities in five California counties as part of their local dental pilot projects (LDPPs). The aim of the LDPPs is to increase use of oral health care among children enrolled in Medi-Cal through innovative pilot projects. The brief outlines how the VDH has been implemented by community health centers in Sacramento County, identifies lessons learned and best practices related to the VDH, and provides recommendations for sustaining best practices and integrating them into the oral-health-care-delivery system throughout Sacramento County and the state.

Contact: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 9700 West Taron Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95757, Telephone: 916-686-7300 Web Site: http://dentalmedicine.cnsu.edu/ Available from the website.

2020 Report

Keywords: California, Medical home, Medicare, Oral health, State programs

Kattlove J, Glassman P. 2020. The virtual dental home in San Joaquin County: Building best practices into the oral health care delivery system for children. Elk Grove, CA: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about the virtual dental home (VDH) implemented by four communities in five California counties as part of their local dental pilot projects (LDPPs). The aim of the LDPPs is to increase use of oral health care among children enrolled in Medi-Cal through innovative pilot projects. The brief outlines how the VDH has been implemented by community health centers in San Joaquin County, identifies lessons learned and best practices related to the VDH, and provides recommendations for sustaining best practices and integrating them into the oral-health-care-delivery system throughout San Joaquin County and the state.

Contact: California Northstate University, College of Dental Medicine, 9700 West Taron Drive, Elk Grove, CA 95757, Telephone: 916-686-7300 Web Site: http://dentalmedicine.cnsu.edu/ Available from the website.

2020 Report

Keywords: California, Medical home, Medicare, Oral health, State programs

University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry. 2020. Special needs dentistry: Summit synopsis. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from the Special Needs Dentistry Summit attended by stakeholders across community, education, government, and industry sectors to develop consensus on the conditions necessary to improve access to care for people with special health care needs and steps to address the problem of poor access. Report topics include barriers to accessing care and causes of the problem. Goals for progress in the short, medium, and long term are presented.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry, 513 Parnassus Avenue, S 630, San Francisco, CA 94143, Web Site: https://dentistry.ucsf.edu/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults with special health care needs, California, Children with special health care needs, Oral health, State initiatives