Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This Interagency Master Agreement is between (1) the Georgia Department of Human Resources (DHR) and (2) the Georgia Department of Community Health (DCH). It documents the state of Georgia's response to legislation in Title V and Title XIX of the Social Security Act requiring state Title V programs and Medicaid agencies to develop an interagency agreement to work together.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Document Number: GA.1.1.

• PDF

Keywords: Cooperative agreements, Georgia, Interagency cooperation, Medicaid, State MCH programs, State agencies

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about PRAMS in Georgia. It offers background on the importance of oral health care during pregnancy. Data from Georgia’s 2017–2019 PRAMS on the percentage of Georgia women who reported having a dental cleaning during pregnancy and the percentage who reported having dental insurance during pregnancy are presented. Also included is the percentage of Georgia women who needed to see a dentist for a problem during pregnancy and, of those, the percentage who visited a dentist or dental clinic; the percentage who knew it was important to care for there teeth and gums during pregnancy; and the percentage who were told by a health professional how to care for their teeth and gums during pregnancy.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Data sources, Dental insurance, Georgia, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information

Annotation: This toolkit is intended to assist oral health professionals in Georgia with helping their patients, especially pregnant women, quit smoking. It provides information about why smoking during pregnancy is harmful and how oral health professionals can contribute to helping women quit. The toolkit provides information about the 5As protocol (ask, advise, assess, assist, arrange) for helping patients quit smoking and offers detailed guidelines for how to implement the protocol with patients in a short timeframe. A table explaining how to use diagnostic codes to apply for reimbursement for tobacco-cessation counseling is included.

Contact: Georgia Tobacco Use Prevention Program, Georgia Department of Public Health, 2 Peachtree Street, NW, 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov/ready-quit Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Counseling, Georgia, Oral health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, State programs

Annotation: This brochure for parents describes oral health services available to students from families with low incomes who attend schools in Georgia. It discusses program goals, outlines services, and provides tips on the importance of oral health screening and education, as well as nutrition and overall health.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 11th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2850 Web Site: https://dph.georgia.gov/oralhealthprogramga Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Georgia, Low income groups, Mobile health units, Oral health, Preventive health services, Referrals, School based clinics, School health programs, School linked programs, Screening, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet compares benefits and cost-sharing requirements in separate non-Medicaid Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) and child-only qualified health plans available to families with low and moderate incomes in five geographically representative states -- Colorado, Georgia, Oregon, Texas, and West Virginia -- that enroll all or almost all of CHIP-eligible children in separate programs. Contents include a brief summary of each state's current CHIP eligibility levels for its separate CHIP programs, type of CHIP benefit package, and type of health insurance exchanges. Additional topics include coverage for 28 mandatory and optional service categories defined under the CHIP statute.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Colorado, Comparative analysis, Cost sharing, Eligibility, Georgia, Health care reform, Individualized health plans, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oregon, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, Texas, West Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document profiles the various ways that U.S. states and communities are structuring, implementing, and evaluating intensive care coordination (ICC) using the wraparound approach for children and youth with significant mental health conditions. The document defines wraparound as a structured approach to service planning and care coordination for individuals with complex needs that is built on a system of care and adheres to specified procedures. Contents include the evidence base for wraparound and information on established, evolving, and emerging ICC/wraparound programs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Community programs, Coordination planning, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mental health, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Patient care, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Service coordination, State programs, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Youth

Annotation: This document presents information about the magnitude of oral diseases in Georgia and the state's response to the burden of oral health. Contents include background, demographics of Georgia, national and state oral health objectives, disease burden by age; oral health disparities by race and ethnicity, disability status, and socioeconomic status; access to oral health care; provider work force and distribution; protective and risk factors affecting oral diseases; and state dental public health services.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Oral Health Program, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 11th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2850 Web Site: https://dph.georgia.gov/oralhealthprogramga Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Georgia, Health disparities, Health services, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Protective factors, Risk factors, Schools, State programs, Work force

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This document provides standard-of-practice recommendations for perinatal health care professionals in Georgia. It is also intended to be a blueprint for the State Perinatal Health Care System, a system to improve the quality of reproductive health care for women and perinatal health care for pregnant women and infants. Topics include strategy for action, preconception and interconception health care, antepartum care, intrapartum care, postpartum care, and perinatal infection.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consultation, Georgia, Guidelines, Health care systems, Hospitals, Infant health, Infection control, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Perinatal services, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide combines messages directly from youth in foster care in Georgia with national research to provide insight and advice to adults working in the child welfare sector. It outlines how understanding a young person's feelings and opinions regarding the risks of early pregnancy and prevention strategies can help child welfare professionals provide more effective support.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Foster care, Georgia, Prevention programs, State programs, Unplanned pregnancy, Welfare services

Annotation: This webcast provides information about public and private health insurance options for pregnant women under the Affordable Care Act and before the Affordable Care Act goes into effect. Medicaid, health insurance marketplaces, and Title V programs are discussed. Advocates in Maryland and Georgia describe efforts in these two states related to coverage options for pregnant women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Slides

Keywords: Eligibility, Enrollment, Georgia, Health insurance, Health reform, Legislation, Maryland, Medicaid, Pregnant women, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report describes an oral health survey of students in third grade in Georgia. Findings are presented on untreated tooth decay, presence of dental sealants, reported toothache, children with dental insurance, children who visited the dentist, and which groups have the most pressing oral health care needs.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Georgia, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys

Annotation: This 5-year needs assessment for Georgia's maternal and child health (MCH) services Title V block grant provides an overview of the state and discusses the process for conducting the needs assessment, partnership building and collaboration efforts, strengths and needs of the MCH population, MCH capacity, selection of state priority needs, and federal and state outcome measures.

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Collaboration, Georgia, Needs assessment, State MCH programs, Title V, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue brief summarizes findings from a Child Health Insurance Research Initiative study of the impact of implementing primary care case management (PCCM) systems in Alabama and Georgia. PCCM systems aim to increase the use of well-child and primary care in physicians' offices while decreasing use of specialty care and emergency departments. Policy implications of what was learned from the study are included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 09-0020.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Alabama, Case management, Emergency medical services, Georgia, Health care systems, Primary care, Public policy, Research, State programs, Well child care

Annotation: This webinar, held on October 20, 2009, discusses ways to promote health literacy among parents of young children using case managers and other home visitors. The webinar presents a case study of the Enterprise Community Healthy Start program in rural Georgia. The site includes meeting materials, speaker presentations, and a video of the webinar. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case management, Case studies, Distance education, Georgia, Health literacy, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Home visiting

Annotation: This report describes efforts Georgia has made to address the rate of children's utilization of oral health services in the state and makes recommendations on actions that the state can take to increase these rates. Contents include background on the evaluation process; the scope of the review; an introduction to the state's oral health services for children; and review descriptions, concerns, and recommendations and responses.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Georgia, Health care utilization, Oral health, State surveys

Annotation: This report synthesizes a study of available information on the number of children who are uninsured and related policy initiatives to substantially reduce the number of children who are uninsured in 17 southern states and the District of Columbia. Contents include an overview of previous editions of this report and source for the estimates used, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) policy and eligibility for children and pregnant women in the southern states, a discussion of issue that impede health coverage opportunities for these groups, actions southern states can take to improve the eligibility process, and fact sheets showing estimates of uninsured children and uninsured pregnant women for each state and the District of Columbia. States included are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Appendices include the study methodology, federal poverty levels for family of four from 2003 to 2007, Medicaid enrollment in the southern states from 1997 to 2005. Statistical data are provided in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Full Report - Alternate Posting

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Health insurance, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pregnant women, SCHIP, South Carolina, Statistics, Tennessee, Texas, Uninsured persons, Virginia, West Virginia

Annotation: This final report describes activities to increase oral health prevention and treatment services in Georgia, especially for Medicaid and PeachCare beneficiaries, with funding from the State Oral Health Collaborative Systems grant program for the period September 30, 2003, to August 31, 2007. The report presents objectives and strategies to achieve these objectives and discusses evaluation and the impact and continuation of activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Final reports, Georgia, Medicaid, Oral health, Program descriptions

Annotation: This report presents a synthesis of findings from a series of case studies exploring how the Bright Futures for Infants, Children, and Adolescents initiative has been used in six states (Georgia, Louisianna, Maine, South Carolina, Virginia, and Washington) to promote children's health. The report includes background about Bright Futures, a discussion of the methodology, a snythesis of case study findings, ideas for the future, and a conclusion. Case studies for each state are included, as well.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bright Futures, Case studies, Child health, Georgia, Health supervision, Louisiana, Maine, South Carolina, State initiatives, Virginia, Washington

Annotation: This report presents information about the health conditions and concerns of Georgia's children ages 5-9. The report provides key demographics for Georgia's 622,129 children in this age group and discusses the group's access to health care. The report also highlights gaps in knowledge and research about middle childhood, points out significant problem areas, describes best practices, and outlines areas for assessment and further evaluation to ensure that Georgia's children ages 5-9 are healthy, able to achieve in school, and able to reach their maximum potential later in life. The report dscusses several key concerns for children in this age group, including asthma, oral health, and overweight and obesity. Next steps are included. The report also includes references and source documents and one appendix: 40 developmental assets for middle childhood.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asthma, Child development, Child health, Children, Demography, Georgia, Obesity, Oral health, School readiness