Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information from a survey of federally qualified health care centers on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the oral health workforce in Missouri. The survey includes questions on staffing issues and appointment wait times. Information on dentists, dental assistants, and dental hygienists is presented, and action steps to address the problem of an insufficient oral health workforce in the state are offered.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, MIssouri, Oral health, Service delivery, State materials, Surveys, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in Missouri. Topics include oral hygiene, dental sealants, treated and untreated tooth decay, treatment urgency, and history of rampant tooth decay. Information about survey participants’ ages, genders, races, and ethnicities, as related to these topics, is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Missouri, Oral health, State surveys, Treatment

Annotation: This report provides information about the Missouri Oral Health Preventive Services Program (PSP). It discusses why oral health is important and covers the following topics as they relate to PSP participants: demographics, oral hygiene, dental sealants, treatment of tooth decay, treatment urgency, caries incidence, early childhood caries incidence, and white spot lesion incidence.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Missouri, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Statistical data, Treatment

Annotation: [This issue of the Commonwealth Fund's "Transforming Care" focuses on regional partnerships that aim to bolster access to maternity care in rural communities. Included are descriptions of regional model programs aimed at expanding the maternity workforce in rural areas, ramping up maternity telemedicine programs; and creating perinatal collaboratives and provider networks.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Arkansas, Maternal health, Maternal health care, Missouri, Model programs, New Mexico, Rural health, Utah

Annotation: This presentation features Joy Burkhard and Kay Matthews, founders of 2020 Mom and Shades of Blue respectively, who outline strategies for strengthening the maternal behavioral health workforce through effective recruitment, funding, training, and retention approaches. Working with multidisciplinary teams from Nevada, Missouri, and Indiana, they aim to showcase best practices, explore diverse funding sources, and highlight innovative programs addressing maternal behavioral health needs. The speakers emphasize the critical nature of this work, noting that maternal mental health remains severely underserved with one-third of Americans living in mental health professional shortage areas, while primary care and obstetrical/gynecological services face similar resource gaps.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Staff development, Work force, Behavioral medicine, Recruitment, Retention, Nevada, Missouri, Indiana, Texas

Annotation: This report provides information about Missouri’s 2020–2025 oral health plan. It includes eight goals: (1) support access to preventive oral health services and emergency dental care; (2) provide oral health information to health professionals; (3) support oral health workforce development; (4) identify, investigate, monitor, and report on oral health problems, determinants, and disparities; (5) coordinate and participate in policy development to improve oral health in Missouri; (6) implement and collaborate with oral-disease-prevention programs; (7) reduce oral health disparities; and (8) implement, evaluate, and report on the 2020–2025 plan. Activities are described for each goal.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Fax: (573) 751-6041 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.mo.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Missouri, Oral health, Prevention, Program coordination, Public policy, State programs

Annotation: This report describes oral health trends and disparities in Missouri. It includes key findings, national comparisons, and trends. Other topics include demographics, community water fluoridation, oral health status of school-age children and adults, preventive health care for school age children and adults, tobacco use and cancer risk, older adults, perinatal oral health,hospitalizations and emergency department visits, and access to care. Regional and local data are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Missouri, Oral health, Population surveillance, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report summarizes the Medical Quality Improvement Learning Academy pilot project, created to address challenges in oral health care systems, identify opportunities for improvement, and develop and test interventions in states. The report describes the process of developing the project and discusses goals and outcomes for each selected state (Kansas, Missouri, and Ohio). It also presents lessons learned in the following areas: quality improvement infrastructure, stakeholder relationships, team commitment and collaboration, state selection, testing-improvement strategies, and state-federal partnerships.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Collaboration, Kansas, Missouri, Ohio, Oral health, Quality improvement, State initiatives

Annotation: This report provides information about community water fluoridation (CWF) in Missouri. Topics include the benefits of CWF, the percentage of the Missouri population with access to CWF compared with the U.S. population as a whole, and poverty in Missouri.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluoride, Low income groups, Missouri, Oral health, State materials, Statistical data

Annotation: This review examines and compiles literature and analyses of current evidence-based safe sleep practice guidelines, policies and initiatives that provide health care provider training and modeling, increase infant caregiver knowledge and education, and promote safe sleep polices at the local, state and federal level. This review includes: current Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID) U.S. and Missouri data; evidence-based guidelines, specifically from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP); examples of evidence-based or evidence-informed interventions and educational programs; and, of importance, specific evidence regarding the impact of poverty, race and ethnicity on SIDS, SUID and infant mortality.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence, Literature reviews, Missouri, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State data

Annotation: This document describes promising practices for improving infant safe sleep and reducing infant mortality caused by Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and Sudden Unexplained Infant Death (SUID) in these areas: (1) active endorsements of American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines; (2) infant caregiver knowledge, skills, and self-efficacy; (3) community champions; and (4) supportive policies for safe sleep practices.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Related Reports

Keywords: Infant mortality, Missouri, Model programs, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information from a statewide oral health survey of students in third grade attending Missouri’s public schools conducted to assess the oral health status of students in third grade in Missouri compared with their counterparts nationwide. Topics include prevalence of decay experience and untreated decay, prevalence of dental sealants, oral health disparities, and data sources and methods.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Fax: (573) 751-6041 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.mo.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Missouri, Oral health, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents accomplishments of the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, Missouri Oral Health Preventive Services Program (PSP), during the 2015–2016 school year. It also offers findings from the oral health screening component of the program. The report provides an overview of PSP and offers general information about program participants as well as participants’ oral hygiene, dental sealant status, treated tooth decay, untreated tooth decay, treatment urgency, and dental caries status. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Missouri, Oral health, Prevention, School age children, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This issue brief provides information about a multiyear initiative to increase access to oral health care for children and adults in Missouri. Topics include increasing access to oral health services, increasing the number of providers, and expanding insurance coverage and acceptance. Additional topics include establishing the Missouri Coalition for Oral Health, hiring a state dental director, financing data collection, and disseminating and implementing a state oral health plan.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Coalitions, Community participation, Data collection, Financing, Grants, Health insurance, Missouri, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: These case studies highlight the work and accomplishments of state health agencies in Massachusetts and Missouri related to addressing chronic health conditions in the school environment. Topics include collaborating with health and education partners; strengthening school nursing infrastructure and health services, including oral health care; identifying and tracking students with chronic health conditions; and meeting management and care needs of students with chronic health conditions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Massachusetts, Missouri, Public health infrastructure, School age children, School health services, School nursing, Schools, Special health care needs, State health agencies

Annotation: These resources for health professionals and community volunteers describe a systems approach to population-based oral disease prevention in MIssouri. Contents include a brochure, a report, and two videos (5- and 17-minutes) on community-based services to reduce tooth decay in children. Topics include program components and steps to community implementation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Fluorides, Missouri, Oral health, Prevention services, Program descriptions, Referrals, Screening, State programs, Training

Annotation: These resources for dentists address how consumption of soft drinks, juices, and sports drinks can cause tooth decay and how it can be prevented. A brochure and tips for setting up an educational display in school are included.

Contact: Missouri Dental Association, 3340 American Avenue, Jefferson City, MO 65109, Telephone: (573) 634-3436 Fax: (573) 635-0764 Web Site: http://www.modental.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Missouri, Nutrition education, Oral health, Public awareness campaign materials, Resources for professionals, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This report documents the oral health status of adults and children in Missouri, including national and state data on disparities in oral health, Medicaid, emergency room use for oral health care, and community water fluoridation. The report also examines results from interviews with key stakeholders on topics such as Missouri’s oral-health-care-delivery system, sites and settings, and work force. The report concludes with a discussion of barriers to care and a description of systemic and programmatic approaches to overcoming these barriers.

Contact: REACH Healthcare Foundation, 6700 Antioch Road, Suite 200, Merriam, KS 66204, Telephone: (913) 432-4196 Secondary Telephone: (866) 866-8805 Web Site: http://www.reachhealth.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Health status, Missouri, Oral health, Service delivery systems, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: This paper explores experiences among individuals who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender that may impact their ability to lead healthy lives. The paper concludes with a review of current policies in Missouri, and offers recommendations for achieving greater health equity and improved health outcomes for all Missourians.

Contact: Missouri Foundation for Health, 415 S. 18th Street, Suite 400, St. Louis, MO 63103-2269, Telephone: (314) 345-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 655-5560 Fax: (314) 345-5599 Web Site: http://www.mffh.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Equal opportunities, Homosexuality, Missouri, Public policy, Sex role, State initiatives

Annotation: This report describes a summit held on September 13, 2011, in Kansas City, Kansas, to facilitate a discussion on oral health and to leverage resources to optimally support federal and regional oral health priorities to advance public-private partnerships. Contents include the role of federal agencies in improving access to care and a discussion of issues and potential actions for strengthening public-private partnerships in each of four states (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska). The report also discusses key challenges, significant populations affected, individual roles in addressing the issue, additional resources that may be needed, and actions that the group can take to ensure that efforts continue.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Conference proceedings, Families, Federal agencies, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives