Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on oral health among children and adolescents ages 1–17 in Texas in 2020–2021. The information is based on results of the 2021–2022 National Survey of Children's Health. Topics include the likelihood of children from high-income vs. lower-income households having excellent or very good teeth; the likelihood of Hispanic children vs. non-Hispanic children having excellent or very good teeth, differences in having had one or more preventive oral health visit, by age; and the overall condition of children's and adolescents' teeth, as reported by parents.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-107.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Child health, Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about oral health among pregnant women in Texas. Data presented is from the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The fact sheet explains why taking care of teeth and gums during pregnancy is safe and important. It also provides the percentage of pregnant women in the state who did not visit a dentist during pregnancy because the did not think it was safe to do so; the percentage who had a dental cleaning during pregnancy; and the likelihood of receiving a dental cleaning for white, black and Hispanic pregnant women. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-112.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Data, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Safety, State information, Texas

Annotation: This report describes Improving Care Coordination and Health Outcomes for Diabetic Patients Through Medical and Dental Integration, a program run by CommUnityCare (CUC). The program’s purpose is to increase access to oral health care and general health care for people with diabetes to help improve chronic disease outcomes. It discusses how the program started, what happens during a patient visit, what CUC learned while launching the program, and plans for the future. Data showing the increase in the percentage of patients with diabetes who received care as well as of those who had a current A1c test are included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Oral health, Service integration, State programs, Texas

Annotation: This plan focuses on how different factors affect health equity in Texas. The plan contains four sections that examine which population groups are more likely to have poor access to health care, including oral health care. The sections look at the challenges faced by those living in rural areas of the state, mental and behavioral health and the ability of the state’s behavioral health care workforce to address these issues, and the role that telehealth can play in addressing health disparities. Additionally, each section considers how COVID-19 has impacted health care in Texas.

Contact: Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Department of State Health Services, P.O Box 149347, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Web Site: https://www.dshs.texas.gov/chs/shcc/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Mental health, Oral health, Oral health equity, Rural health, State information, Strategic plans, Texas, Virus diseases

Annotation: This document provides guidance on oral health care during pregnancy for prenatal care health professionals and oral health professionals in Texas. Topics include myths vs. facts, guidance for health professionals, oral conditions during pregnancy, and oral health pharmacological considerations for pregnant women. It also includes resources for consumers, available in English and in Spanish, about good oral health during pregnancy and during infancy as well as a dental referral form for pregnant women. The document was adapted from Oral Health Care During Pregnancy: A National Consensus Statement. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, Oral Health Improvement Program, P.O. Box 149347, Mail Code 1818, Austin, TX 78714-9347, Telephone: (512) 776-2008 Fax: (512) 776-7256 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/dental/default.shtm Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Resource materials, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Texas

Annotation: This report focuses on the oral health needs of Texas adults (ages 18 and older). It provides an analysis of data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System survey (BRFSS), 2012–2018. It also discusses the impact of smoking and chronic diseases, including diabetes, heart disease, and cardiovascular disease on dental visits and on partial and total tooth loss. Information on visits to the hospital emergency room because of oral health problems is also included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult health, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data, Diabetes, Health care utilization, Oral health, Smoking, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This progress report provides a summary of the project activities and accomplishments of the Texas Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project during the 1-year project period ending in 2019. The report describes the purpose of the project and information about project progress (including accomplishments), significant changes during the project period, and project evaluation. The project’s impact is also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Photocopy available at no charge.

• PDF
• PIOHQI Initiative Page

Keywords: Infant health, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, Texas

Annotation: This brief provides information based on results from the 2018–2019 Basic Screening Survey of children in kindergarten in Texas, conducted by the Texas Department of State Health Service, Oral Health Program to collect oral health data in a way that is consistent with national standards. The report describes survey methods and presents results on oral health indicators (tooth decay, untreated decay, and dental visits during the past year), 2012–2018; presents a comparison of Texas survey results to national targets for 2020; and indicates whether targets were met. Overall findings are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Kindergarten, Oral health, School age children, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This video provides information about the Healthy Texas Smiles for Moms and Babies project. The project trains home visitors on how to help pregnant women understand the importance of taking care of their oral health. The project also trains home visitors on how to teach mothers to take care of their infant’s mouth after birth. The video shows home visitors in various settings interacting with pregnant women and their families and providing them with oral health education in their homes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• Link

Keywords: Home visits, Infant health, MCH training, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, Texas, Videotapes

Annotation: This brief provides information based on results from the 2017–2018 Basic Screening Survey of children in third grade in Texas, conducted by the Texas Department of State Health Service, Oral Health Program to collect oral health data in a way that is consistent with national standards. The report describes survey methods and presents information on oral health indicators (tooth decay, untreated decay, and dental sealants), 2012–2018; presents a comparison of Texas survey results to national targets for 2020; and indicates whether targets were met. Overall findings are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, Oral health, School age children, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: This resource shows how states that participate in the Adolescent and Young Adult Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (AYA CoIIN) are identifying and implementing evidence-based strategies to improve the quality and increase access to preventive health care visits for adolescents and young adults. Included are illustrated diagrams of strategies used by Iowa, Texas, Vermont, Mississippi, and New Mexico.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Iowa, Mississippi, New Mexico, State initiatives, Texas, Vermont, Young adults, prevention

Annotation: This document describes family engagement as a critical part of Title V maternal and child health (MCH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) programs and ways that states are engaging diverse populations. Contents include case study examples in Kentucky and Texas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Case studies, Community participation, Cultural diversity, Families, Kentucky, Leadership, Public private partnerships, Role, State programs, Texas, Title V programs

Annotation: This report updates the December 2011 report published by the U.S. Government Accountability Office on foster children in selected states that were prescribed psychotropic medications at rates higher than nonfoster children in Medicaid in 2008. The current report examines instances of foster children being prescribed psychotropic medications in the following five states: Florida, Massachusetts, Michigan, Oregon, and Texas. The report assesses the extent that documentation supported the use of psychotropic medications, describes states' policies related to psychotropic medication, and assesses the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' actions since GAO's 2011 report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-362.

• PDF

Keywords: Drugs, Federal initiatives, Florida, Foster children, Massachusetts, Medicaid managed care, Mental health services, Michigan, Oregon, Policy analysis, State programs, Texas, Utilization review

Annotation: This fact sheet compares benefits and cost-sharing requirements in separate non-Medicaid Children's Health Insurance Programs (CHIPs) and child-only qualified health plans available to families with low and moderate incomes in five geographically representative states -- Colorado, Georgia, Oregon, Texas, and West Virginia -- that enroll all or almost all of CHIP-eligible children in separate programs. Contents include a brief summary of each state's current CHIP eligibility levels for its separate CHIP programs, type of CHIP benefit package, and type of health insurance exchanges. Additional topics include coverage for 28 mandatory and optional service categories defined under the CHIP statute.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Colorado, Comparative analysis, Cost sharing, Eligibility, Georgia, Health care reform, Individualized health plans, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oregon, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, Texas, West Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This case study highlights how state- and community-based organizations in Alabama, New York, and Texas used the root cause analysis (RCA) process to identify the social conditions (risk and protective factors) influencing adolescent pregnancy in their communities and create action plans to address these factors. Topics include using RCA to engage youth and diverse stakeholders, using RCA to develop a strategic plan, lessons learned from the RCA process, and recommendations.

Contact: John Snow, Inc., 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1211, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: (617) 482-0617 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jsi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alabama, Case studies, Community action, Community based agencies, New York, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors, State agencies, Strategic plans, Texas

Annotation: This document describes the health status of and health care use among people residing on the U.S. side of the entire U.S.-Mexico border. Topics include geographic and ethnic disparities among U.S. border residents and select indicators related to access to care, women's preventive services, oral health, infectious and communicable diseases, and mental health warranting programmatic and policy interventions. Contents include issues among residents in Arizona, California, New Mexico, and Texas, including comparison of indicators by ethnicity (Hispanic vs. non-Hispanic), rurality (rural vs. urban), and proximity to border (border vs. non-border).

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

• 2021 Edition
• 2013 Edition

Keywords: Arizona, California, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health disparities, Health status, New Mexico, Rural population, State surveys, Texas

Annotation: These proceedings document a national policy summit held on June 13-14, 2012, in Richmond, Virginia, to convene leaders involved in identifying and supporting youth with traumatic brain injury (TBI) in the juvenile justice system. The purpose of the summit was to share information, resources, and effective screening and intervention strategies to improve TBI services within states and move toward achieving a consistent national approach to screening and intervention. Contents include a participant list; background information about brain injury; the summit agenda; state project overviews including current status and identification and screening procedures; information from small group discussions on evaluation and screening, education and outreach, and treatment and intervention; and information from peer group discussions on policy implications. Recommendations for policy and future study are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229-5019, Telephone: (800) 552-5019 Secondary Telephone: (800) 552-9950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vadrs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Head injuries, Minnesota, National initiatives, Nebraska, Program improvement, Public development, Screening, Service coordination, State programs, Texas, Utah, Virginia

Annotation: This video provides a tour of the Mother's Milk Bank of North Texas. The video explores how the milk bank works, explains why breastfeeding is important for mothers and infants, and discusses why donation milk is important for helping families to support breastfeeding. The video describes the screening and approval process for donors and explains how milk is tested, stored, mixed, bottled, pasteurized, and released to hospitals for use—primarily in neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Community programs, Hospitals, Infant health, Mothers, Multimedia, Neonatal intensive care units, State programs, Texas, Videos, Women', s health

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation of the Gender Matters (Gen.M) sex education program implemented in Travis County, Texas to help reduce the rate of teen pregnancy. The report describes the program’s design, facilitators’ training and delivery of the program, and youth engagement and understanding of the material after the first year of implementation. It concludes with lessons learned that could improve future Gen M. program outcomes.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, State programs, Texas

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to the Medicaid and CHIP Risk-Based Managed Care in 20 States report, focuses on 20 states' Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care payment methods and spending. The states are Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report addresses two research questions: (1) how do the 20 states establish capitation rates in their Medicaid and CHIP managed care programs, and how have their approaches to and policies for rate setting changed over the past decade and (2) how does monthly Medicaid spending for four distinct managed care enrollee populations (adults and children, with and without disabilities) vary among the 20 states? The report introduces the issues and presents the study approach, methods, findings, and a discussion.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Arizona, California, Children, Children', Connecticut, Costs, Delaware, Disabilities, Florida, Managed care, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, State programs, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program