Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about the impact of the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, on oral health in the community in 2023–2024. The report provides background information on the Office of Oral Health and discusses highlights and partnerships, impact across 75 counties, oral disease prevention, toothbrushing, fluoride varnish, dental sealants, oral health education, and media.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Community health, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Health education, Media, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This screening survey provides information about the Basic Screening Survey (BSS) for Arkansas conducted during the 2019–2020 school year. Definitions of terms used in the survey are provided, and methods are discussed. Statistical information is presented in figures, limitations are described, and findings are discussed. Key findings are also presented.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Data, Oral health, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This plan presents four interventions aimed to improve the oral health of Arkansas residents during the period 2024–2028. The interventions focus on four areas—access, education, prevention, and policy. The plan also discusses threats to oral health; the building blocks of oral health; and the burden of oral disease on children and adolescents, adults (including older adults), and special populations. An action plan is included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adult health, Arkansas, Health education, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy: State information

Annotation: This report describes a study to inform policy decisions to improve access to and use of oral health care in Arkansas and to establish baseline measures for coverage and use indicators. Topics include data sources, key findings, study demographics and dental insurance coverage profile, use of care, fluoride varnish applications, dental sealant applications, use of oral health care in medical care settings, hospital emergency department use among uninsured individuals, population-to-active-dentist ratio profile, tooth-extraction-related opioid-prescribing profile, and future research.

Contact: Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, 1401 W. Capitol Avenue, Suite 300 (Victory Building), Little Rock, AR 72201, Telephone: (501) 526-2244 Web Site: https://achi.net/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Oral health, Public policy, State information, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health trends in Arkansas. It presents graphs and charts illustrating the impact of preventive oral health practices on oral disease risk factors on Arkansas residents. Topics include: dental visits, permanent tooth extractions, edudentalism, and diabetes. Information is presented for children, adolescents, and adults. Background information on oral health, oral diseases and conditions, oral health disparities, and good oral hygiene practices is also included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Dental caries, Diabetes, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, State materials, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information about the Arkansas Office of Oral Health Surveillance System (AOHSS), which drives the objectives and activities within the Arkansas Office of Oral Health and is used to measure the prevalence of selected indicators that determine the state of oral health in Arkansas. The report presents 2021–2026 AOHSS objectives and an AOHSS logic model. It discusses oral health indicators and data sources, data dissemination and use, resources and sustainability, and privacy and data confidentiality.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Data, Data sources, Oral health, Population surveillance, Statewide planning, Statistical data

Annotation: [This issue of the Commonwealth Fund's "Transforming Care" focuses on regional partnerships that aim to bolster access to maternity care in rural communities. Included are descriptions of regional model programs aimed at expanding the maternity workforce in rural areas, ramping up maternity telemedicine programs; and creating perinatal collaboratives and provider networks.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Arkansas, Maternal health, Maternal health care, Missouri, Model programs, New Mexico, Rural health, Utah

Annotation: Through a series of three connected video interviews, current and former family representatives on AMCHP's Board of Directors share their experiences serving in these dedicated board positions, which are a key component of AMCHP's commitment to family engagement and partnership. The interviewees discuss their enthusiasm for the role, highlighting both the opportunities they've encountered and the vital importance of incorporating family perspectives at the board level. Their testimonials emphasize how these designated family representative seats ensure that family voices actively contribute to AMCHP's organizational governance and decision-making processes, while also exploring potential ways to further strengthen these partnerships.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Family engagement, Collaboration, MCH programs, Family centered services, Administrative policies, Title V programs, Arkansas,

Annotation: This report from AMCHP discusses how Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) programs can develop diverse partnerships to improve health outcomes and address social determinants of health. It presents several case studies demonstrating successful collaboration strategies, including: Arkansas's partnership with African American fraternities (Brothers United) to promote safe sleep practices and reduce infant mortality disparities; Utah's adaptation of the national MotherToBaby program to provide pregnancy and breastfeeding information in rural areas; Mississippi's collaboration with faith-based organizations to provide dental services through a mobile unit; and South Dakota's Park Prescription initiative that partners with healthcare providers to promote physical activity in state parks. Each case study illustrates different partnership strategies: intentional collaboration with community partners, leveraging national initiatives for local impact, integrating programming within faith-based communities, and aligning efforts across government and health systems to address health disparities and improve access to care for underserved populations.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Federal MCH programs, Block grants, Case studies, Infant mortality, Race, Collaboration, Community based programs, Mississippi, South Dakota, Arkansas, Utah

Annotation: This webinar highlights two innovative telehealth programs developed to address mental health and substance use disorders during the COVID-19 pandemic. The first presentation by Dr. Rachel Whitman describes Rhode Island's 24/7 buprenorphine hotline, which provides telephone-based treatment for opioid use disorder without requiring video capability, making it accessible to vulnerable populations with limited technology access. The second presentation by Dr. Gwen Latendresse showcases Utah's project to implement universal electronic screening for perinatal depression in rural public health districts and provide telehealth group therapy sessions for women with mild to moderate symptoms. Both speakers emphasize how the pandemic accelerated telehealth adoption while simultaneously creating greater barriers to care access. They address equity concerns, highlighting the importance of audio-only options to reach marginalized populations, and discuss program outcomes, future goals, and lessons learned about expanding telehealth for behavioral health treatment.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Rhode Island, Utah, Telemedicine, Pregnant women, Postpartum women, Mental health, Substance abuse, Covid-19 (suggested keyword), Case studies, Infant health, Washington, New Mexico, Iowa, Arkansas, South Carolina, Northern Mariana Islands, Native Americans

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what P.A.N.D.A. is and provides information about warning signs of child abuse and child neglect, behavioral indicators of child abuse or neglect, and the importance of learning the facts about how a child’s injury occurred. Information for dental office staff about steps in identifying and reporting suspected abuse or neglect is included. The fact sheet also includes a number to call in case of suspected child or abuse or neglect in Arkansas.

Contact: Delta Dental of Arkansas, P.O. Box 15965, Little Rock, AR 72231, Telephone: (855) 407-2632 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.deltadentalar.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Child abuse, Child neglect, Oral health, State initiatives

Annotation: This report examines the characteristics, quality of care, and quality improvement activities of Medicaid-contracted pediatric and obstetric practices in the fee-for-service or primary care case management delivery systems in Iowa, Arkansas, and Pennsylvania. Although drawn from the experiences of just three states, the study findings presented in the report suggest opportunities for quality improvement in Medicaid pediatric and obstetric care in states across the country. Measures reported by states and pediatric preventive care scores (compared to national averages) are displayed in exhibit tables, and key data findings from individual states are presented as spotlights.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Case management, Comparative analysis, Iowa, Measure, Medicaid, Obstetrical care, Pediatrics, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems, State initiatives, data

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the role of the Family Delegate in advocating for all families in their territories (including those with special health care needs), working with both families and local systems of care as an advisor, promoter, and educator. The brief explains the importance of the Family Delegate, the process by which this person might be selected, and provides two state examples (from Kansas and Arkansas) on the selection process and the benefits of the role in their localities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Family centered health care, Family support services, Title V programs, Arkansas, Kansas

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, 4815 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-0599 Web Site: http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Infant mortality, Prevention, State initiatives, Strategic plans

Annotation: This paper examines the care-coordination experiences of five states (Arkansas, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, and Oregon) that have developed pilot projects as part of Assuring Better Child Health and Development (ABCD III) to improve care coordination for young children with or at risk for developmental delays. The paper examines common themes and policy levers that could help improve care coordination between primary care health professionals and other systems, such as systems of educational, social, or vocational services, for individuals of all ages, with a focus on policies as they relate to the cross-system care coordination being advanced in ABCD III. Topics include policies to pay for care coordination, policies supporting systemic communication, and policies supporting and sustaining quality and measurement of cross-system coordination.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Arkansas, Child health, Communication, Costs, Early childhood development, Financing, Health care systems, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pilot projects, Primary care, Public policy, Quality assurance, Service coordination, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes selected activities and interventions in the five states (Arkansas, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, and Oregon) that are part of the Assuring Better Child Health and Development (ABCD III) learning collaborative. Through ABCD III, the states are developing and testing models that can improve coordination of early childhood services in their states and provide models for others. The report includes a description of each state's project, discusses key early lessons, and provides early recommendations.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Intervention, Arkansas, Child development, Child health, Early childhood development, High risk groups, Illinois, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Service delivery systems, Services coordination, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This narrative report provides supplemental data relevant to home visiting in Arkansas. Topics include (1) a state data report, (2) a definition of community and a justification for chosen communities at risk, (3) data for communities at risk, (4) home visiting capacity in communities at risk, (5) capacity for substance abuse treatment within the state and within communities at risk, and (6) a summary of the needs assessment results.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, 4815 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-0599 Web Site: http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: State MCH programs, Arkansas, Communities, High risk groups, Home visiting, Needs assessment, Statistical data, Substance abuse, Treatment

Annotation: This report, which is the first in a series being prepared by the Center for Mental Health in Schools at UCLA, focuses on summarizing the work of eight state-level programs funded by the Department of Education's grant program, Integration of Schools and Mental Health Systems. Summaries include projects funded in 2005 (Arkansas, Ohio, Maryland), 2006 (Illlinois, Utah), and 2007 (Michigan, South Carolina, Delaware). [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Delaware, Federal programs, Grants, Illinois, Maryland, Mental health, Michigan, Ohio, Schools, South Carolina, State programs, Utah

Annotation: This report addresses key areas of the Arkansas Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment program, including informing, periodicity schedules, accessibility, diagnosis and treatment services, support services, coordination of care, utilization, and data collection, analysis, and reporting. Contents include background on the evaluation process; the scope of the review; an introduction to the state's dental services for children; and a review of descriptions, concerns, and recommendations and responses.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arkansas, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Oral health, State surveys

Annotation: This report synthesizes a study of available information on the number of children who are uninsured and related policy initiatives to substantially reduce the number of children who are uninsured in 17 southern states and the District of Columbia. Contents include an overview of previous editions of this report and source for the estimates used, Medicaid and State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) policy and eligibility for children and pregnant women in the southern states, a discussion of issue that impede health coverage opportunities for these groups, actions southern states can take to improve the eligibility process, and fact sheets showing estimates of uninsured children and uninsured pregnant women for each state and the District of Columbia. States included are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia. Appendices include the study methodology, federal poverty levels for family of four from 2003 to 2007, Medicaid enrollment in the southern states from 1997 to 2005. Statistical data are provided in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: Southern Institute on Children and Families, 140 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 140, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 779-2607 Fax: (803) 254-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thesoutherninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Full Report - Alternate Posting

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Health insurance, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pregnant women, SCHIP, South Carolina, Statistics, Tennessee, Texas, Uninsured persons, Virginia, West Virginia