Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This research report examines the potential impacts of eliminating enhanced Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) for Medicaid expansion, focusing on state budget implications and health coverage consequences. It presents data showing that if enhanced FMAP were eliminated in 2026, the 41 expansion states would need to increase spending on acute care for the nonelderly by an average of 25.6 percent to maintain current eligibility levels. If all states dropped Medicaid expansion in response, Medicaid enrollment would decline by 15.9 million people, with 10.8 million becoming uninsured. The report describes how Medicaid expansion has benefited enrollees through improved health care access and financial security, while also providing fiscal benefits to states through additional savings and revenue. Using the Urban Institute's Health Insurance Policy Simulation Model, the analysis examines various scenarios of state responses and includes detailed data tables showing state-by-state impacts on coverage and spending.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, State aid

Annotation: This policy cheat sheet outlines the ways in which state Medicaid agencies can obtain federal approval to fund health-related social services such as food assistance and housing support. Included are links to related documents and federal guidance, including a table of 15 concrete interventions and four pathways for federal approval. Examples of promising strategies in the states of New York, Minnesota, and Massachusetts are also provided.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Funding, Health care reform, Medicaid, Policy, Social services, State initiatives

Annotation: This issue brief examines the implementation of Medicaid/CHIP postpartum coverage extensions from 60 days to 12 months after pregnancy in five states. Based on interviews with 37 maternal health stakeholders, the authors identify key challenges and opportunities to maximize the impact of these extensions on maternal health outcomes. The report finds that while eligibility systems are functioning, limited communication about extended coverage and barriers to accessing care may reduce effectiveness. The authors recommend specific actions to improve implementation, including expanding education about extended coverage, improving quality of postpartum care, supporting continuity of care with a focus on equity, strengthening managed care organization accountability, and monitoring implementation progress. This policy analysis emphasizes that while extending coverage is necessary for improving maternal health outcomes, additional delivery system reforms are needed to address persistent racial and ethnic disparities and ensure coverage translates into access to quality care throughout the postpartum year.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Children', Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Policy development, Postpartum care, Quality Assurance, Quality improvement, South Carolina, State initiatives, and Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes state trends in the use of Medicaid funds to improve maternal health, including Medicaid extensions that cover the 12-month postpartum period; the expansion of provider types to include doula care; and coverage of postpartum mental health screening and treatment. Guidance on how states can leverage Medicaid managed care contracts to Improve maternal health outcomes is included, along with a chart comparing the percentage of women who attend timely prenatal and postpartum visits in both expansion and non-expansion states.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: childhealth@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Policy , Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Quality improvement, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This report is a compilation of research, survey data, and best practices that outlines the landscape for children's vision and eye health in the United States. Contents include information about the prevalence and impact of vision disorders in U.S. children, receipt of vision screening for infants and children from birth through age 17, and state approaches to ensuring children's vision and eye health. Additional topics include vision screening rates and requirements by state, pediatric vision benefits available under the Affordable Care Act, what is included in a strong vision health system of care, and model children's vision legislation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Prevent Blindness America, 211 West Wacker Drive, Suite 1700, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) 331-2020 E-mail: info@preventblindness.org Web Site: http://www.preventblindness.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Policy development, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Primary care, Reimbursement, Research, Screening, Service integration, Standards, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Systems development, Vision, Vision disorders

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• 2018 Update

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief addresses value based payment as an important model in health care reform for children's services and offers recommendations for including children's health in health care reform efforts. Efforts in Connecticut are described.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: info@chdi.org Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Connecticut, Costs, Health care reform, Health equity, State programs

Annotation: This report ranks states on more than 40 indicators of health system performance in five broad areas: health care access, quality, avoidable hospital use and costs, health outcomes, and health care equity. It also compares and evaluates trends across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health status, Infants, Measures, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Oral health, Preventive health services, Smoking, State initiatives, Statistics, Systems development, Trends

Annotation: This report provides data on Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017, and identifies changes in these policies in the past year. It documents the role Medicaid and CHIP play for children and families with low incomes and the evolution of these programs under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and renewal processes, and premiums and cost sharing. Trend and state-by-state tables are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Children', Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, State surveys, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This paper analyzes data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System on the impact of the Affordable Care Act's (ACA's) 2014 provisions on a variety of outcomes related to health care access, risky health behaviors, and self-assessed health. The paper provides estimates of the overall effect of the ACA on these outcomes and examines differential impacts resulting from state heterogeneity with respect to the choice to expand Medicaid via the ACA.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health, Adults, Health behavior, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Population surveillance, State programs

Annotation: This report discusses difficulties related to accessing oral health care in Arizona and how licensing mid-level oral health practitioners (dental therapists) to perform routine oral health procedures could make care more accessible and affordable. Topics include the importance of oral health, crossing the border for care, reimbursement rates, dental therapy, dental therapy supervision, and the safety of dental therapy.

Contact: Goldwater Institute , 500 East Coronado Road, Phoenix, AZ 85004, Telephone: (602) 462-5000 Fax: (602) 256-7045 E-mail: info@goldwaterinstitute.org Web Site: http://www.goldwaterinstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Dental care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Models, Oral health, Policy development, State legislation, Underserved communities, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This report examines oral health care data in the context of Oregon’s health system transformation, including the launch of coordinated care organizations and expansion of the state Medicaid program, Oregon Health Plan. Topics include provider distribution, utilization, patient experience, care coordination, and oral health integration. Information about stakeholder groups, technical specifications, and a measure dashboard are included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: mchsection.mailbox@dhsoha.state.or.us Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coordination, Data analysis, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Measures, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Service integration, State programs, Statewide planning, Trends

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This brief explores opportunities presented by State Innovation Model projects and other state innovation efforts to include oral health in delivery system and payment reform. It outlines opportunities in the following areas: Medicaid benefit design and expansion, practice-level oral health reform, and statewide delivery-reform models.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Webinar

Keywords: Dental care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Medicaid, Models, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, State initiatives, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This brief presents an analysis of each state's community benefit landscape viewed through the lens of major categories of federal community benefit requirements articulated in the Affordable Care Act. It reports laws and regulations adopted, new community benefit legislation enacted, bills that were introduced but not enacted or are still pending, and conclusions. Topics include tax exemption and preventing unnecessary medical debt.

Contact: Hilltop Institute, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Sondheim Hall, Third Floor, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, Telephone: (410) 455-6854 Fax: (410) 455-6850 E-mail: info@hilltop.umbc.edu Web Site: http://www.hilltopinstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Costs, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Regulations, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to identify the root causes for states not making overall budget and policy decisions that optimize their population's health; identify, describe, and categorize innovative state-level strategies addressing the health of populations; and propose policy principles that promote upstream health improvement strategies for states' populations. Topics include multisector involvement and commitment, gaining political will, flexibility in tailoring programs to a state's context, commitment to payment reforms to align incentives with broader health goals, and evidence to initiate and sustain programs. The state site visit discussion guide and output from the root cause brainstorm are included as appendices.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: info@milbank.org Web Site: http://www.milbank.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-887748-82-7.

• Link

Keywords: Decision making, Financing, Goals, Health care reform, Health promotion, Health status, Policy development, State initiatives, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit for states provides guidance on designing statewide transformation of their Medicaid programs using the federal authorities of either State Plan Amendments or Section 1115 demonstrations. The steps in the toolkit address fundamental building blocks for effectively designing and negotiating Medicaid transformation proposals that can be modified as needed to address new developments at the state or federal level. A sample work plan and concept paper template are included.

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: webmaster@nga.org Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care reform, Medicaid, Organizational change, Program planning, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes of the federal home visiting program's state grantees in serving high-risk populations and substantially expanding home visiting services nationwide. Topics include the extent to which state grantees demonstrated improvements in each of the benchmark areas, technical assistance provided to grantees including the type of assistance provided, and recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems, Health Resources and Services Administration , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8590 E-mail: dwillis@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/home-visiting Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health services delivery, High risk groups, Home visiting, MCH research, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Technical assistance