Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website provides strategies and materials from a national outreach and enrollment initiative. The purpose of the initiative is to raise awareness about health coverage available under Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program; create opportunities for families to get their eligible children and adolescents signed up for coverage; motivate parents to enroll their children and adolescents and renew their coverage; and help states, community organizations, schools, health professionals, and others organize and conduct successful outreach activities. Contents include customizable fact sheets, palmcards, posters, public service announcements, webinars, and a newsletter. Links to campaign partners; a video library; tools for using technology to facilitate outreach; and strategies for businesses, community health centers, schools, and youth sports are also included. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children', Enrollment, Federal initiatives, Health insurance, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outreach, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet for families explains when and how to enroll in the Health Insurance Marketplace to receive affordable coverage. It explains how Affordable Care Act (ACA) Open Enrollment is a critical time to promote the opportunity for affordable health care coverage; describes what is included in the marketplace plans and what they cost; and offers step-by-step enrollment instructions. A companion document describes the ways in which Title V maternal and child health programs can promote enrollment during the ACA open season (see unique #39525)

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children', Enrollment, Families, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Outreach, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the ways in which Title V maternal and child health programs can promote enrollment during the Affordable Care Act (ACA) open season. A companion fact sheet for families explains when and how to enroll in the Health Insurance Marketplace to receive affordable coverage (see unique #39524).

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Enrollment, Health insurance: Children', Health promotion , Title V programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs can actively engage state Medicaid agencies and work with state and local partners to ensure that Medicaid-eligible recipients continue to receive adequate health coverage once the COVID-19 federal public health emergency (PHE) funding ceases. The fact sheet focuses on the challenges posed by the required redetermination of Medicaid eligibility; the staff-intensive enrollment process; and the number of at-risk recipients whose job status changed during the pandemic.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Communicable diseases, Emergencies, Enrollment, Federal programs, Health Insurance, Medicaid, Public health, Title V, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report to Congress describes (1) the efforts undertaken by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) between 2017 and 2019 to advance access and quality of care for children and adults enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP); (2) the status of state reporting of the Child and Adult Core Set of healthcare quality measures; and (3) recommendations for legislative changes needed to improve the quality of care in Medicaid and CHIP.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Children', Data, Enrollment, Federal legislation , Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Recommendations, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes efforts to measure and address Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) "crowd-out," when families who apply for public CHIP benefits have access to private health insurance. For the report, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) asked 42 states that have separate CHIP programs to report on two separate crowd-out indicators: (1) the percent of individuals who are enrolled in CHIP that have access to private health insurance and (2) the percent of CHIP applicants who cannot be enrolled because they have private health insurance. Included is a description of procedures that CMS and states use to address crowd-out, together with statistics on income eligibility, enrollment in public vs. private insurance, and other relevant data extracted from the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Children', Data, Eligibility, Enrollment expansion, Federal programs, National surveys, State Health insurance programs, s Health insurance Program

Annotation: This brief examines the role of Medicaid in funding critical health-related services for students with disabilities. Topics include providing reimbursement for health care services that are necessary for students with disabilities to succeed in school and ensuring schools' compliance with Individuals with Disabilities Education Act requirements, helping students to stay healthy and succeed academically, and connecting students to coverage. The brief also describes the long-term benefits of Medicaid for eligible children and the potential impact of spending reductions on students, local communities, and state budgets. The appendix contains a table on state and federal Medicaid spending in schools.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, Reimbursement, Role, School health services, Schools, Special health care needs, State programs, Students

Annotation: This issue brief highlights national- and state-level enrollment-related information for the Health Insurance Marketplace open enrollment period for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. An addendum contains detailed state-level tables highlighting cumulative enrollment-related information, including enrollment in stand-alone dental plans. These data are available for states using the HealthCare.gov enrollment and eligibility platform as well as for states using their own platforms.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Addendum Including State Data Tables

Keywords: Data sources, Dental insurance, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance

Annotation: This guide describes strategies that school-based outreach groups identify as key in their efforts to successfully expand health care coverage. Contents include a review of the value and benefits of school-based outreach, steps for laying the groundwork for outreach efforts, a description of the outreach process based on lessons and experiences from successful school-based outreach programs, and links to online resources and groups who can provide additional information about the work highlighted in the guide.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Enrollment, Health insurance, Model programs, Outreach, Schools

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report summarizes outcomes of an annual review of a set of measures whose goal is to prevent and manage dental caries in children. Topics include utilization and access, cost, and quality of oral health services for children enrolled in public and private insurance programs. Contents include information about the purpose of the review, the review process, the call for public comments, user groups, code updates, and efforts to streamline the starter set of measures.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Data collection, Data sources, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease management, Disease prevention, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, Risk assessment

Annotation: This fact sheet for Title V programs, clinicians, and family leaders provides information about the potential effect of Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care on children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and their families. Topics include requirements for managed care organizations in CHIP and opportunities to mitigate potential unintended negative consequences of Medicaid managed care for CYSHCN and their families. Promising practices and strategies from states are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Contract services, Enrollment, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Medicaid managed care, Medical home, Model programs, Primary care, Service delivery systems, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Youth

Annotation: This report describes and analyzes Head Start enrollment, funding, quality, and duration, state-by-state. The report focuses on the 2014–2015 program year but also provides longitudinal data beginning with the 2006–2007 program year. Contents include background on the history of Head Start; what the research says about Head Start's effectiveness; and inequalities in access, quality, duration, and funding. Conclusions and policy recommendations; national figures and overview; and a guide to state profiles, including data points, are also provided.

Contact: National Institute for Early Education Research, Rutgers University, 73 Eastern Ave., New Brunswick, NJ 08901, Telephone: (732) 932-4350 Fax: (732) 932-4360 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nieer.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Early childhood education, Enrollment, Equal opportunities, Financing, Head Start, Low income groups, National programs, Policy development, Quality assurance, Research, Standards, Teaching, Young children

Annotation: This document reports on aspects of Connecticut’s publicly funded HUSKY Program performance and quality based on findings from independent performance monitoring. Topics include continuity of health insurance coverage and enrollment changes, maternal health and birth outcomes for new families, enrollment and preventive health services use in early childhood, trends in health services access and use, the impact of a federally funded project on maternal and infant oral health services, and data-quality improvement.

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Connecticut, Early childhood, Enrollment, Evaluation, Financing, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Medicaid, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Trends

Annotation: This report examines how the length of time that children are enrolled in the Medicaid program in Connecticut affects their access to preventive well-child and preventive oral health care. Topics include care use by months enrolled and recommendations for ensuring ongoing coverage for children.

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Connecticut, Dental care, Dental insurance, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report summarizes outcomes of an annual review of a set of measures targeting the goal of addressing prevention and disease management for dental caries in children. Topics include utilization, cost, and quality of dental services for children enrolled in public and private insurance programs. Contents include information about the purpose of the review and the review process. including information about elevated risk, data-quality concerns, continuous enrollment, dental sealants for children ages 6–9, and issues and updates related to coding.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Clinical coding, Children, Costs, Data collection, Data sources, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease management, Disease prevention, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, Risk assessment

Annotation: This resource provides information about health insurance coverage, how to obtain it, and how to use it. Topics include enrolling in health insurance, understanding coverage, common terms, free preventive services, the value of health insurance, finding a provider, primary care vs. emergency care, preparing for the first doctor visit and following up, and finding a local clinic. Information about putting health first, screenings for all ages, healthy eating, staying active, quitting smoking, and getting a flu shot is also included. Additional contents include training tools, fact sheets, resources for educators and federally recognized tribal members, information for older and young adults, a video series, and information about getting help in a language other than English.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Consumer health, Enrollment, Health care utilization, Health education, Health insurance, Health literacy, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Self care, Training materials

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of new performance indicators that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid established for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program eligibility and enrollment performance indicators for states to report beginning in October 2013. The brief also discusses the initial data and the opportunities and challenges associated with reporting, analyzing, and interpreting the data. Background information is provided, as well as key findings.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Medicaid, State programs, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document describes how California has implemented the Affordable Care Act (ACA) for the benefit of young adults (ages 18 and older) who were in foster care or who came to California from foster care in another state. Topics include efforts to enact legislation, develop a simplified application form, provide instructions to counties, and develop a desk aid for eligibility workers.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Children, Eligibility, Enrollment, Foster care, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Act, State legislation, Young adults

Annotation: This brief focuses on the use of standard cell phones and smartphones for text messages and Internet access and illustrates how one text messaging initiative, Text4baby, a free, personalized maternal child health education text messaging service for pregnant women and new mothers, is helping eligible pregnant women and their families connect to health coverage. The brief describes adult cell phone ownership and use by race/ethnicity and income, the growing use of text messaging and mobile technology in health care, and the Text4baby partnership with the Connecting Kids to Coverage initiative to drive enrollment in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program through a series of interactive text messages. A discussion of the impact of the Medicaid module and its implications are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Children', Enrollment, Health insurance, Medicaid, Outreach, Pregnant women, Technology, s Health Insurance Program